DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 10-13, 16 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 is indefinite because there is no antecedent basis for “the LTA-type zeolite-based catalyst”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-5, 10-13, 16 and 19-22 are indefinite because the claim has a broad range and a narrow range within the same claim. The limitations would be better be understood as separate dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-3, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Vermeiren, US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0207038 (hereinafter referred to as Vermeiren).
Regarding claims 1-3, 5 and 7, Vermeiren discloses a process comprising: a) subjecting a bio feedstock to hydrodeoxygenation to prepare n-paraffins, and optionally hydrotreatment (Para. [0046]-[0048]); b) subjecting the n-paraffins to a hydroconversion reaction under hydroconversion conditions in the presence of a catalyst that converts n-C7 paraffins into linear paraffins in the C₂ -C₆ range (Para. [0077]-[0099]); c) collecting a stream with an increased C₂ -C₆ n-paraffin concentration (naphtha and LPG) at the expense of the n-C₇ + concentration from the hydroconversion reaction and pyrolyzing same in a steam cracker into lower olefins (Para. [0100]-[0103]).
LPG and naphtha obtained from hydrocracking is sent to steamcracking (Para. [0139]). Based on the feedstock composition of Vermeiren and operating parameters of the corresponding steps, it is beyond any doubt that n- paraffin are obtained in the hydrodeoxygenation step; that n-C₇ paraffins are hydrocracked into linear paraffins in the C₂ -C₆ range (Para. [0029]-[0045]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6 and 8-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vermeiren in view of Chen et al., International Publication No. WO/2022/144802 (hereinafter referred to as Chen).
Regarding claims 4, 6 and 8-23, Vermeiren discloses all the limitations discussed above but does not disclose the presence of a LTA-type zeolite-based catalyst.
Chen discloses a process for selective hydroconversion of normal paraffins. The catalyst used is a LTA-based zeolite. The catalyst can comprise palladium, platinum or gold and also nickel, molybdenum or tungsten. In the examples an LTA zeolite having a silica to alumina ratio of 25 is loaded with palladium and pelletised. The reaction is run in the presence of a specific type of zeolite-based catalyst, with the zeolite having a requisite topology and acid site density. The present zeolite is of a framework type with voids greater than 0.50 nm in diameter. After the hydroconversion the product can be directly fed to a steam cracker. The feedstock is a hydrocarbon feedstock comprising at least 5 wt.% normal paraffins. The product comprises large amounts of C2 to C6 paraffins (Para. [0013], [0033]-[0038] and [0047] and see Claims 1-19 and see Examples 1-3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the catalyst of Chen in the process of Vermeiren in order to evaluate and select zeolite- based catalysts which can be used in hydrocracking a n-paraffin containing feedstock with minimal iso-paraffin production. The present hydrocracking process thereby permits one to utilize a straight-forward and efficient catalytic process for hydroconverting normal paraffins into lighter normal paraffins while avoiding the present expensive and inefficient commercial separation processes (Para. [0014] of Chen).
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of co-pending application No. 19/509,781. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '781 application discloses the same limitations as does the instant application and would therefore be obvious in light of the disclosures discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Double Patenting II
Claims 1-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of co-pending application No. 19/509,676. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '676 application discloses the same limitations as does the instant application and would therefore be obvious in light of the disclosures discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Conclusion
/VISHAL V VASISTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771