DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 02/21/2025 has been considered.
Claim Objections
Claims 2,3,4 and 5 objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
a. Claim 2 should be replaced as follows, “The optical network management device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to release latter portions of the predetermined optical channels and allocate a reservation of the group of the third number of the first optical channels to the free optical channels in the database after some of the predetermined optical channels are released”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
b. Claim 3 should be replaced as follows, “The optical network management device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to allocate, to the database, a reservation of the group of the third number of the first optical channels used between each of the unit optical networks and the another unit optical network, the third number being a multiple of the first number”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
c. Claim 3 should be replaced as follows, “The optical network management device according claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to, when it is determined that an optical path is set for a part of the group of the third number of the first optical channels, release allocation of a reservation to a remaining part of the group of the third number of the first optical channels and permit reuse of the remaining part”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
d. Claim 4 should be replaced as follows, “The optical network management device according claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to, when it is determined that an optical path is set for a part of the group of the third number of the first optical channels, release allocation of a reservation to a remaining part of the group of the third number of the first optical channels and permit reuse of the remaining part”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
e. Claim 5 should be replaced as follows, “The optical network management device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to display a message suggesting addition of a new unit optical network different from any of the unit optical networks and the another unit optical network when the database does not have enough free optical channels and the number of unused optical channels in the group of the third number of the first optical channels is less than a threshold number”. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claims 1 and 8 applicant claims, “determine whether there are enough free optical channels” and “release some of the predetermined optical channels” on lines 12,17 for claim 1 and on lines 9,14 for claim 8 respectively. It is not clear how many free optical channels are enough and how many predetermined optical channels corresponds to the release of the “some” of the predetermined optical channels and thus making the claims 1 and 8 vague ad indefinite. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
Examiner’s Note: Claims 2-7 are also rejected under 35 USC 112b for being dependent upon the rejected independent claim 1 under 35 USC 112b.
Claims 1,6,7 and 8 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Fujisawa et al; (US 2019/0037288) in view of Bhatt et al; (Optimization of Resource Allocation in Optical Networks – 2022 attached)
Regarding claim 1, Fujisawa discloses an optical network management device that manages an optical network in which unit optical networks are optically connected,( an optical network controller 100 and an optical network 200 and the optical network 200 is composed of optical node devices 300-1 to 300-5 and optical fiber communication channels 301-1 to 301-6 and the optical network 200 that is composed of five optical node devices 300-1 to 300-5 connected to each other through six optical fiber communication channels 301-1 to 301-6, see paragraph 56 and figure 2) the optical network management device ;(optical network controller 100, see figure 2) comprising: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory ;(optical network controller 100 with database 110, see figure 2) and configured to: acquire a first number from setting information including the first number and a second number the first number being the number of first optical channels used between the unit optical networks ,the second number being the number of second optical channels used in a network of each of the unit optical networks belonging to the optical network; (the wavelength slot fragmentation detection means 154 included in the optical network controller 103 detects the allocation of wavelength slots in the optical fiber communication channels 301-1 to 301-6, regularly or at a timing when an optical path is allocated, see paragraph 132 and figures 14,15) determine whether there are enough free optical channels in a database managing optical channels used in the optical network before a group of a third number of first optical channels that are used between each of the unit optical networks (Then an unused wavelength slot whose number of slots goes below the minimum number of occupied wavelength slots of an optical path (hereinafter, referred to as “wavelength fragmentation”) is monitored (step S410). The number of unused wavelength slot regions that goes below the minimum number of occupied wavelength slots of an optical path in an optical fiber included in each optical fiber communication channel, is defined as “a fragmentation indicator”, by which the wavelength fragmentation is quantitatively evaluated, see paragraph 132 and figure 15) and release some of predetermined optical channels that have been already reserved when the database does not have enough free optical channels, and allocate a reservation of the group of the third number of the first optical channels to free optical channels in the database after the some of the predetermined optical channels are released (The optical network controller 103 determines whether the fragmentation indicator of the optical fiber communication channel exceeds the reallocation start threshold (step S420). If the fragmentation indicator of the optical fiber communication channel exceeds the reallocation start threshold (step S420/YES), the optical network controller 103 performs a reallocation process (release) of demand traffic (step S430), see paragraph 133 and figure 15).
However, Fujisawa does not explicitly disclose when addition of another unit optical network different from any of the unit optical networks to the optical network is requested, and the another unit optical network, is reserved in the database, the third number being a number according to the first number.
In a related field endeavor, Bhatt discloses when addition of another unit optical network different from any of the unit optical networks to the optical network is requested,( resource allocation in communication networks employs different algorithms to efficiently allocate several resources like time, bandwidth, so on as demanded by the user at the source requiring establishing communication with another user at the destination, see Abstract) and the another unit optical network, is reserved in the database, the third number being a number according to the first number ;(the requests arriving at the source node requesting to establish some form of communication to the destination over various paths/routes across the optical links are allotted based on the wavelength channels available at each link in a route. The paths having at least one wavelength channel freely available is chosen and respective amount of requests are allocated. This is done to avoid wavelength conversion at each links in a path/route when requests have to be allocated from source to the destination, see page 3 column 2 and paragraph 1).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the resource allocation in a photonic network of Bhatt with Fujisawa to efficiently allocate several resources like time, bandwidth demanded by the user and the motivation is to provide to establish communication with another user at the destination.
Regarding claim 6, Fujisawa discloses the optical network management device according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the unit optical networks includes a plurality of nodes connected in a mesh form, ;( optical node devices are mutually connected by optical fibers in a mesh shape, or a mesh-shaped logical layer topology configuration with optical node devices mutually connected in a ring shape by optical fibers, see paragraph 16) and
However, Fujisawa does not explicitly disclose each of the plurality of nodes outputs an input optical signal without converting a wavelength of the input optical signal.
In a related field of endeavor, Bhatt discloses each of the plurality of nodes outputs an input optical signal without converting a wavelength of the input optical signal ;(the paths having at least one wavelength channel freely available is chosen and respective amount of requests are allocated. This is done to avoid wavelength conversion at each links in a path/route when requests have to be allocated from source to the destination, see page 3 column 2 and paragraph 1). Motivation same as claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Fujisawa does not explicitly disclose the optical network management device according to claim 1, wherein a single wavelength is allocated for each of a plurality of optical paths accommodated in the unit optical networks for each optical communication service.
In a related field of endeavor, Bhatt discloses the optical network management device according to claim 1, wherein a single wavelength is allocated for each of a plurality of optical paths accommodated in the unit optical networks for each optical communication service ;(the paths having at least one wavelength channel freely available is chosen and respective amount of requests are allocated. This is done to avoid wavelength conversion at each links in a path/route when requests have to be allocated from source to the destination, see page 3 column 2 and paragraph 1). Motivation same as claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Fujisawa discloses an optical network management method for managing an optical network in which unit optical networks are optically connected, ,( an optical network controller 100 and an optical network 200 and the optical network 200 is composed of optical node devices 300-1 to 300-5 and optical fiber communication channels 301-1 to 301-6 and the optical network 200 that is composed of five optical node devices 300-1 to 300-5 connected to each other through six optical fiber communication channels 301-1 to 301-6, see paragraph 56 and figure 2) the method comprising: acquiring a first number from setting information including the first number and a second number when the first number being the number of first optical channels used between the unit optical networks, the second number being the number of second optical channels used in a network of each of the unit optical networks belonging to the optical network; (the wavelength slot fragmentation detection means 154 included in the optical network controller 103 detects the allocation of wavelength slots in the optical fiber communication channels 301-1 to 301-6, regularly or at a timing when an optical path is allocated, see paragraph 132 and figures 14,15) determining whether there are enough free optical channels in a database managing optical channels used in the optical network before a group of a third number of first optical channels that are used between each of the unit optical networks and releasing some of predetermined optical channels that have been already reserved when the database does not have enough free optical channels, (then an unused wavelength slot whose number of slots goes below the minimum number of occupied wavelength slots of an optical path (hereinafter, referred to as “wavelength fragmentation”) is monitored (step S410). The number of unused wavelength slot regions that goes below the minimum number of occupied wavelength slots of an optical path in an optical fiber included in each optical fiber communication channel, is defined as “a fragmentation indicator”, by which the wavelength fragmentation is quantitatively evaluated, see paragraph 132 and figure 15) and allocating a reservation of the group of the third number of the first optical channels to free optical channels in the database after the some of the predetermined optical channels are released (The optical network controller 103 determines whether the fragmentation indicator of the optical fiber communication channel exceeds the reallocation start threshold (step S420). If the fragmentation indicator of the optical fiber communication channel exceeds the reallocation start threshold (step S420/YES), the optical network controller 103 performs a reallocation process (release) of demand traffic (step S430), see paragraph 133 and figure 15).
Regarding claim 1, Fujisawa discloses an optical network management device that manages an optical network in which unit optical networks are optically connected,( an optical network controller 100 and an optical network 200 and the optical network 200 is composed of optical node devices 300-1 to 300-5 and optical fiber communication channels 301-1 to 301-6 and the optical network 200 that is composed of five optical node devices 300-1 to 300-5 connected to each other through six optical fiber communication channels 301-1 to 301-6, see paragraph 56 and figure 2) the optical network management device ;(optical network controller 100, see figure 2) comprising: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory ;(optical network controller 100 with database 110, see figure 2) and configured to: acquire a first number from setting information including the first number and a second number the first number being the number of first optical channels used between the unit optical networks ,the second number being the number of second optical channels used in a network of each of the unit optical networks belonging to the optical network; (the wavelength slot fragmentation detection means 154 included in the optical network controller 103 detects the allocation of wavelength slots in the optical fiber communication channels 301-1 to 301-6, regularly or at a timing when an optical path is allocated, see paragraph 132 and figures 14,15) determine whether there are enough free optical channels in a database managing optical channels used in the optical network before a group of a third number of first optical channels that are used between each of the unit optical networks (then an unused wavelength slot whose number of slots goes below the minimum number of occupied wavelength slots of an optical path (hereinafter, referred to as “wavelength fragmentation”) is monitored (step S410). The number of unused wavelength slot regions that goes below the minimum number of occupied wavelength slots of an optical path in an optical fiber included in each optical fiber communication channel, is defined as “a fragmentation indicator”, by which the wavelength fragmentation is quantitatively evaluated, see paragraph 132 and figure 15) and release some of predetermined optical channels that have been already reserved when the database does not have enough free optical channels, and allocate a reservation of the group of the third number of the first optical channels to free optical channels in the database after the some of the predetermined optical channels are released (The optical network controller 103 determines whether the fragmentation indicator of the optical fiber communication channel exceeds the reallocation start threshold (step S420). If the fragmentation indicator of the optical fiber communication channel exceeds the reallocation start threshold (step S420/YES), the optical network controller 103 performs a reallocation process (release) of demand traffic (step S430), see paragraph 133 and figure 15).
However, Fujisawa does not explicitly disclose addition of another unit optical network different from any of the unit optical networks to the optical network is requested, the another unit optical network, is reserved in the database, the third number being a number according to the first number.
In a related field endeavor, Bhatt discloses addition of another unit optical network different from any of the unit optical networks to the optical network is requested, ,( resource allocation in communication networks employs different algorithms to efficiently allocate several resources like time, bandwidth, so on as demanded by the user at the source requiring establishing communication with another user at the destination, see Abstract) the another unit optical network, is reserved in the database, the third number being a number according to the first number ;(the requests arriving at the source node requesting to establish some form of communication to the destination over various paths/routes across the optical links are allotted based on the wavelength channels available at each link in a route. The paths having at least one wavelength channel freely available is chosen and respective amount of requests are allocated. This is done to avoid wavelength conversion at each links in a path/route when requests have to be allocated from source to the destination, see page 3 column 2 and paragraph 1).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the resource allocation in a photonic network of Bhatt with Fujisawa to efficiently allocate several resources like time, bandwidth demanded by the user and the motivation is to provide to establish communication with another user at the destination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as reproduced below.
a. Togo et al; (US 9042726) discloses an optical transport network system includes a plurality of NEs, each transmitting wavelength-multiplexed optical signals. Each NE includes a routing information DB that is used to store reachable area information, which contains identifiers of other NEs in a range within which the optical signals can be transmitted from the own NE without using an REG, see figure 1.
b. Wellbrock et al ;(US 2012/0321306) discloses network management system 125 assign via network management module 127 an optical carrier of the selected optical channel to a new bandwidth location. In block 420, network management system 125 may shift traffic to the optical carrier assigned to the new bandwidth location. In block 425, network management system 125 may turn-off the optical carrier from which the traffic has been moved, see figure 4.
c. Yassine et al; (Joint resource optimization and flexible QoS provision using
hybrid optical core node architecture – January 2024 attached) discloses an all-optical networks (AON) provide large bandwidth, high-speed switching, and quality of service (QoS), see figure 2.
/AMRITBIR K SANDHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634