DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-11, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Jeong”, EP 3 168 999 A1) in view of the Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art (hereinafter referred to as “AAPA”), and further in view of Aryafar et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Aryafar”, US 2016/0029404).
As to claim 1, Jeong discloses a method comprising: receiving, by a terminal side apparatus from a network side apparatus, first measurement configuration information and second measurement configuration information (Fig. 2, step 200, paragraphs [0028]-[0029], transmitting by transmitter (or network side apparatus) identifiers), wherein the first measurement configuration information indicates a to-be-measured receive beam (Fig. 2, step 202, paragraph [0029]).
Jeong does not expressly disclose receiving, by a terminal side apparatus from a network side apparatus, second measurement configuration information; and the second measurement configuration information indicates a received signal strength indication (RSSI) measurement timing configuration (RMTC) window; and performing, by the terminal side apparatus, directional RSSI measurement on the to-be-measured receive beam in the RMTC window.
AAPA further discloses receiving, by a terminal side apparatus from a network side apparatus, second measurement configuration information; and the second measurement configuration information indicates a received signal strength indication (RSSI) measurement timing configuration (RMTC) window (RMTC window, specification, paragraph [0007]); and performing, by the terminal side apparatus, the RSSI measurement on the to-be-measured receive beam in the RMTC window (RMTC window, specification, paragraph [0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to receive, by a terminal side apparatus from a network side apparatus, second measurement configuration information; and the second measurement configuration information indicates a received signal strength indication (RSSI) measurement timing configuration (RMTC) window; and to perform, by the terminal side apparatus, the RSSI measurement on the to-be-measured receive beam in the RMTC window in order to inform the terminal device to perform RSSI measurement on a specified channel and/or beam.
Aryafar further teaches performing, by the terminal side apparatus, directional RSSI measurement on one or more receive beams (paragraph [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform, by the terminal side apparatus, directional RSSI measurement on one or more receive beams in order to determine optimized beam or antenna to be used by a network device to transmit signals (paragraph [0041]).
As to claim 2, Jeong does not expressly disclose determining, by the terminal side apparatus, the to-be-measured receive beam based on the first measurement configuration information.
AAPA further discloses determining, by the terminal side apparatus, the to-be-measured receive beam based on the first measurement configuration information (specification, paragraph [0007].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine, by the terminal side apparatus, the to-be-measured receive beam based on the first measurement configuration information in order to inform the terminal device to perform RSSI measurement on a specified channel and/or beam.
As to claim 3, Jeong further discloses the first measurement configuration information comprises a signal index of a downlink reference signal (i.e., beam direction identity information, S200, paragraph [0028], lines 55-58, paragraph [0046], last line), and the determining, by the terminal side apparatus, the to-be-measured receive beam based on the first measurement configuration information (S202, paragraph [0028])comprises: determining, by the terminal side apparatus, a transmit beam corresponding to the signal index of the downlink reference signal (S202, paragraph [0029]); determining, by the terminal side apparatus, a receive beam corresponding to the transmit beam (paragraphs [0029]-[0030]); and determining, by the terminal side apparatus, that the to-be-measured receive beam comprises the receive beam (paragraphs [0028] and [0030]).
As to claim 9, Jeong does not expressly disclose the RMTC window comprises a measurement time and a target frequency band.
AAPA further discloses the RMTC window comprises a measurement time and a target frequency band (specification, paragraph [0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the RMTC window comprises a measurement time and a target frequency band in order to inform the terminal device to perform RSSI measurement on a specified channel and/or beam.
As to claim 10, Jeong does not expressly disclose the second configuration information comprises one or more of: measurement period, measurement duration, offset of RMTC measurement duration, measurement bandwidth, or measurement absolute radio frequency channel number (ARFCN) for inter-frequency measurements.
AAPA further discloses the second configuration information comprises one or more of: measurement period, measurement duration, offset of RMTC measurement duration, measurement bandwidth, or measurement absolute radio frequency channel number (ARFCN) for inter-frequency measurements (specification, paragraph [0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the second configuration information comprises one or more of: measurement period, measurement duration, offset of RMTC measurement duration, measurement bandwidth, or measurement absolute radio frequency channel number (ARFCN) for inter-frequency measurements in order to inform the terminal device to perform RSSI measurement on a specified channel and/or beam.
As to claim 11, Jeong does not expressly disclose transmitting, by the terminal side apparatus, RSSI measurement report, wherein the RSSI measurement report comprises a RSSI measurement result.
AAPA further discloses transmitting, by the terminal side apparatus, RSSI measurement report, wherein the RSSI measurement report comprises a RSSI measurement result (specification, paragraph [0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to transmit, by the terminal side apparatus, RSSI measurement report, wherein the RSSI measurement report comprises a RSSI measurement result in order to inform the terminal device to perform RSSI measurement on a specified channel and/or beam.
As to claim 19, Jeong discloses a terminal side apparatus comprising: at least one processor coupled to at least one memory storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform operations (Fig. 7, control unit (or processor 711, memory 705, paragraphs [0105]-[0107]) comprising: receiving, first measurement configuration information (Fig. 2, step 200, paragraphs [0028]-[0029], transmitting by transmitter (or network side apparatus) identifiers), wherein the first measurement configuration information indicates a to-be-measured receive beam (Fig. 2, step 202, paragraph [0029]).
Jeong does not expressly disclose receiving, by a terminal side apparatus from a network side apparatus, second measurement configuration information; and the second measurement configuration information indicates a received signal strength indication (RSSI) measurement timing configuration (RMTC) window; and performing, by the terminal side apparatus, directional RSSI measurement on the to-be-measured receive beam in the RMTC window.
AAPA further discloses receiving, by a terminal side apparatus from a network side apparatus, second measurement configuration information; and the second measurement configuration information indicates a received signal strength indication (RSSI) measurement timing configuration (RMTC) window (specification, paragraph [0007]); and performing, by the terminal side apparatus, the RSSI measurement on the to-be-measured receive beam in the RMTC window (RMTC window, specification, paragraph [0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to receive, by a terminal side apparatus from a network side apparatus, second measurement configuration information; and the second measurement configuration information indicates a received signal strength indication (RSSI) measurement timing configuration (RMTC) window; and to perform, by the terminal side apparatus, the RSSI measurement on the to-be-measured receive beam in the RMTC window in order to inform the terminal device to perform RSSI measurement on a specified channel and/or beam.
Aryafar further teaches performing, by the terminal side apparatus, directional RSSI measurement on one or more receive beams (paragraph [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform, by the terminal side apparatus, directional RSSI measurement on one or more receive beams in order to determine optimized beam or antenna to be used by a network device to transmit signals (paragraph [0041]).
Claim(s) 7 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong in view of AAPA, further in view of Aryafar, and further in view of Wilson et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Wilson”, US 20190082438).
AS to claim 7, Jeong, AAPA, and Aryafar do not expressly disclose that the downlink reference signal is an SSB or a CSI-RS.
Wilson further discloses that that the downlink reference signal is an SSB or a CSI-RS (paragraphs [0103]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the downlink reference signal is an SSB or a CSI-RS since downlink CSI-RS allows terminal to perform various measurements that enables, for example, beam acquisition, tracking, refinement, recovery, and so forth.
As to claim 12, Jeong and AAPA do not expressly disclose that the first measurement configuration information and the second measurement configuration information are carried in a same radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
Wilson further teaches that beam measurement message comprises various beam parameters such as RSSI of a received beam, an RSRP of a received beam, SINR of a received beam, and so forth, and is carried in the same RRC signaling (paragraph [0104]).
It would have been obvious that the first measurement configuration information and the second measurement configuration information are carried in a same radio resource control (RRC) signaling in order to provide a reliable, high-level, and flexible framework for beam configuration and mobility management.
Claim(s) 13-14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong in view of AAPA, and further in view of Wilson et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Wilson”, US 20190082438).
As to claim 13, Jeong discloses a directional measurement method, comprising: determining, by a network side apparatus, first measurement configuration information (paragraphs [0028]-[0029], transmitter (or network side apparatus) transmits (and determines) identifiers) sending, by a base station, first measurement configuration information to a terminal device (Fig. 2, step 200, paragraphs [0028]-[0029]), wherein the first measurement configuration information is used to indicate a to-be-measured receive beam (Fig. 2, step 202, paragraph [0029]).
Jeong does not expressly disclose sending, by the network side apparatus, the first measurement configuration information and the second measurement configuration information in a same message; sending, by the base station, second
measurement configuration information to the terminal device, wherein the second measurement configuration information is used to indicate an RSSI measurement timing configuration (RMTC window).
AAPA further discloses sending, by the base station, second measurement
configuration information to the terminal device, wherein the second measurement
configuration information is used to indicate an RSSI measurement timing configuration
(RMTC window, specification, paragraph [0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to send, by the base
station, second measurement configuration information to the terminal device, wherein
the second measurement configuration information is used to indicate an RSSI
measurement timing configuration in order to inform the terminal device to perform
RSSI measurement on a specified channel and/or beam.
Wilson further teaches that beam measurement message comprises various beam parameters such as RSSI of a received beam, an RSRP of a received beam, SINR of a received beam, and so forth, and is carried in the same RRC signaling (paragraph [0104]).
It would have been obvious that the first measurement configuration information and the second measurement configuration information are carried in a same radio resource control (RRC) signaling (or message) in order to provide a reliable, high-level, and flexible framework for beam configuration and mobility management.
As to claim 14, Jeong further discloses that the first measurement configuration
information comprises one more of: a signal index of a downlink reference signal;
configuration information of an uplink reference signal; or an identifier of a transmit
beam of the network side apparatus (i.e., beam direction identity information, S200,
paragraph [0028], lines 55-58, paragraph [0046], last line).
As to claim 20, Jeong discloses a network side apparatus comprising: at least one processor coupled to at least one memory storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform operations (Fig. 6, control unit (or
processor 611, memory 605, paragraphs [0098]-[0101]) comprising: determining, by a network side apparatus, first measurement configuration information (paragraphs [0028]-[0029], transmitter (or network side apparatus) transmits (and determines) identifiers) sending, by a base station, first measurement configuration information to a terminal device (Fig. 2, step 200, paragraphs [0028]-[0029]), wherein the first measurement configuration information is used to indicate a to-be-measured receive beam (Fig. 2, step 202, paragraph [0029]).
Jeong does not expressly disclose sending, by the network side apparatus, the first measurement configuration information and the second measurement configuration information in a same message; sending, by the base station, second measurement configuration information to the terminal device, wherein the second measurement configuration information is used to indicate an RSSI measurement timing configuration (RMTC window).
AAPA further discloses sending, by the base station, second measurement
configuration information to the terminal device, wherein the second measurement
configuration information is used to indicate an RSSI measurement timing configuration
(RMTC window, specification, paragraph [0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to send, by the base
station, second measurement configuration information to the terminal device, wherein
the second measurement configuration information is used to indicate an RSSI
measurement timing configuration in order to inform the terminal device to perform
RSSI measurement on a specified channel and/or beam.
Wilson further teaches that beam measurement message comprises various beam parameters such as RSSI of a received beam, an RSRP of a received beam, SINR of a received beam, and so forth, and is carried in the same RRC signaling (paragraph [0104]).
It would have been obvious that the first measurement configuration information and the second measurement configuration information are carried in a same radio resource control (RRC) signaling (or message) in order to provide a reliable, high-level, and flexible framework for beam configuration and mobility management.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Jeong in view of AAPA, further in view of Wilson, and further in view of Takahashi et al. (hereinafter referred to as "Takahashi", US 2021/0321462).
As to claim 15, Jeong, AAPA, and Wilson do not expressly disclose sending, by the network side apparatus, the RRC signaling to the terminal side apparatus, wherein the RRC signaling comprises one or more of: a first correspondence between random
access information and a signal index of a downlink reference signal, or a second
correspondence between configuration information of an uplink reference signal and a
signal index of a downlink reference signal.
Takahashi further discloses sending, by the network side apparatus, the RRC
signaling to the terminal side apparatus, wherein the RRC signaling comprises one or
more of: a first correspondence between random access information and a signal index
of a downlink reference signal (paragraphs [0090], [0149], and [0171]), or a second
correspondence between configuration information of an uplink reference signal and a
signal index of a downlink reference signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to send, by the
network side apparatus, the RRC signaling to the terminal side apparatus, wherein the
RRC signaling comprises one or more of: a first correspondence between random
access information and a signal index of a downlink reference signal, or a second
correspondence between configuration information of an uplink reference signal and a
signal index of a downlink reference signal in order to provide a reliable, high-level, and
flexible framework for beam configuration and mobility management.
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Jeong in view of AAPA, further in view of Wilson, further in view of Takahashi, and further in view of Lou et al. (hereinafter referred to as "Lou", CN 108347751 A).
As to claim 16, Jeong, AAPA, Wilson, and Takahashi do not expressly disclose that the random access information further comprises a random access time-frequency position.
Lou further discloses that the random access information further comprises a
random access time-frequency position (Lou states "the second RRC message may
also include the random access configuration parameter of at least one network slice in
the first network slice set respectively corresponding to, for example, the available random access preamble information, physical random access channel (Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) resource time- frequency resource position information.", specification, description of Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the random access information further comprises a random access time-frequency position in order
to provide a reliable, high-level, and flexible framework for beam configuration and
mobility management.
As to claim 17, Jeong and AAPA do not expressly disclose that the random
access information further comprises a random access preamble.
Takahashi further discloses that the random access information further comprises a random access preamble (paragraphs [0090] and [0149]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the random
access information further comprises a random access preamble in order to provide a reliable, high-level, and flexible framework for beam configuration and mobility management.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 8, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRESHTEH N AGHDAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 8/3/2026