DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
No restriction is being required at this time between the article of claims 32-44 and the method of claims 45-47. Although the article could be used in a materially different way, the method claim is minimal, and requires a significant portion of the article (via incorporation of claim 32). Further steps such as “placing the wrapped item within a package or box” and “shipping the package or box” are extensively well-known and are obvious, thus there is currently no search burden.
The applicant is advised however that significant amendments to the method step, which are not simple, obvious steps, and would require search outside the originally filed claims, would likely result in withdrawal by original presentation (the “original presentation” being the article, with minimal method steps of using that article).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “said expandable slit sheet paper being rolled in a generally cylindrical configuration in an unexpanded state” (claim 32) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 32-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Independent claim 32, the recitation “said expandable slit sheet paper being rolled in a generally cylindrical configuration in an unexpanded state”, is not enabled. The Specification does not describe how the paper is rolled in an unexpanded state; one would readily recognize that bending forces in a rolling operation would at least somewhat expand the paper. There are furthermore no Figures (see Drawing objection) that would inform how one of ordinary skill in the art would roll the paper in an unexpanded state.
Claims 32-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In independent claim 32, the recitation “said expandable slit sheet paper being rolled in a generally cylindrical configuration in an unexpanded state”, is not unclear and indefinite. The claim is a claim to an article, and thus the “cylindrical configuration” merely appears to be a functional recitation i.e. the article is capable of being rolled into a generally cylindrical configuration, since neither or the Specification or Drawings shows or explains how this cylindrical configuration is maintained. Thus, for examination, it will be construed as a functional limitation. In independent claim 32, the recitation “about 5/8 inches or less” is further indefinite. The term “about” indefinitely renders the upper bound of the slit length. The term “about” is repeated in further dependent claims, which are further indefinite for the same reason as above.
In respect to claim 34, the recitation “wherein said adhesive adheres layers of said expandable sheet paper to one another” is unclear and indefinite. Claim 32 is drawn to an expandable sheet paper. Claim 34 lacks proper antecedent basis for the term “layers of said expandable sheet paper”. It is unclear if a single sheet contains layers, which is suggested by the claim. However, this directly conflicts with the Specification, which uses adhesive to adhere multiple sheets in a stack. Thus, the claim is unclear, as well as all claims dependent from claim 34.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 32-33 and 40-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mulvey et al. (US 2017/0341845) in view of Goodrich et al. (US 5,667,871).
In respect to claims 32 and 40-42, the claims are not enabled and indefinite/unclear for several reasons detailed in the 35 USC 112(a) and 35 USC 112(b) rejections above, however, Mulvey et al. disclose an expandable slit sheet paper comprising: an array of slits 12 extending across a width of the expandable slit sheet paper (Fig. 1), expanding in thickness with said slits forming hexagonal cells when manually stretched (Fig. 4B); said slits having a slit length of “about 5/8 inches or less” as can be readily inferred (the “height” 20 may be six inches, and there are approximately 12 slits, also provided with spacing therebetween, thus less than 0.5” (Fig. 1)); adhesive may be applied to only one side of the sheet across a width (0036); the expandable slit sheet paper is capable of being rolled into a generally cylindrical configuration in an unexpanded state; the expandable slit sheet paper is capable of being manually wrapped around items, and in fact is explicitly disclosed to do so (Fig. 4A).
Mulvey et al. disclose the invention, including that expandable slit sheet paper is paper, but do not explicitly disclose Kraft paper, however, Goodrich et al. disclose a very similar expandable slit sheet paper which utilizes Kraft paper, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to provide the paper taught in Mulvey et al. as Kraft paper in view of Goodrich et al. as a suitable paper since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
In respect to claim 33, Mulvey et al. disclose that the paper weight may be preferably be 50# (0033).
In respect to claims 34-36, 38-39, and 43-44, the claims are impossible to ascertain. The extent of adhesive and use of a “releasable” adhesive is impossible to construe from a single “expandable slit sheet paper”, particularly between “layers” thereof, which lacks any antecedent basis. Thus, any comparative analysis to the cited prior art cannot be made. As best can be determined, the prior art discloses the claims.
In respect to claims 45-47, Mulvey et al. further disclose manually stretching: the sleeve (rolled expandable slit sheet paper) is “inserted onto an object” which wraps around the object, where the object (item) is then placed in a box (Abstract); the box is shipped (0032).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lawrence (WO 2020/172109) and Cheich et al. (US 11,260,615) disclose similar inventions.
/KYLE R GRABOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637