DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2 are pending and under examination.
Priority
Acknowledge is made for priority claiming from US provisional application 63/556,170, filed on 02/21/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/30/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US20220040261).
The limitation of claims 1-2 are met Lee et al. by disclosing a cosmetic composition in the form of gel comprising recombinant silk protein and water ([0061], claims 8-10), and recombinant silk protein is in the form of gel since the composition is a gel. Any carrier in the cosmetic such as water is regarded as cosmetic base, and the limitation of “improved pigmentation” is considered as inherency of prior art composition. Since prior art teaches the same composition, this same composition must have the same property such as improved pigmentation. MPEP 2112, "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
In arguendo that claim 2 is interpreted as recombinant silk protein is added as gel form, this is considered as product by process. With respect to the USC 102 rejection above, please note that in product-by-process claims, “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection [is] made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference.” MPEP 2113. This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 is proper because the “patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production.” In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). As a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith.” In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972). Please note that the Patent and Trademark Office is not equipped to conduct experimentation in order to determine whether Applicants’ hydrated (vitrified matrix) collagen gel differs and, if so, to what extent, from that of the discussed reference. Therefore, with the showing of the reference, the burden of establishing non-obviousness by objective evidence is shifted to the Applicants.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romer et al. (US20200270316).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Romer et al. teaches a cosmetic composition comprising recombinant silk protein (abstract; claims 1, 9-10 and 45) in the form of aqueous gel or hydrogel (claim 7; [0046]).
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
The difference between the instant application and Romer et al. is that Romer et al. is not specific enough for anticipation.
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce the instant invention.
Regarding claims 1-2, Romer et al. teaches a cosmetic composition comprising recombinant silk protein in the form of aqueous gel or hydrogel, and recombinant silk protein is in the form of gel since the composition is a gel. Any carrier in the cosmetic such as water is regarded as cosmetic base, and the limitation of “improved pigmentation” is considered as inherency of prior art composition. Since prior art teaches the same composition, this same composition must have the same property such as improved pigmentation. MPEP 2112, "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus. the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
In arguendo that claim 2 is interpreted as recombinant silk protein is added as gel form, this is considered as product by process. With respect to the USC 103 rejection above, please note that in product-by-process claims, “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection [is] made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference.” MPEP 2113. This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 is proper because the “patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production.” In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). As a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith.” In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972). Please note that the Patent and Trademark Office is not equipped to conduct experimentation in order to determine whether Applicants’ hydrated (vitrified matrix) collagen gel differs and, if so, to what extent, from that of the discussed reference. Therefore, with the showing of the reference, the burden of establishing non-obviousness by objective evidence is shifted to the Applicants.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 37 of copending Application No. 17626258 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application teaches a cosmetic composition comprising recombinant silk protein, and the recombinant silk protein is added as gel form is considered as product by process, not limiting. The limitation of “improved pigmentation” is considered as inherency of prior art composition. Since prior art teaches the same composition, this same composition must have the same property such as improved pigmentation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 14 of copending Application No. 18017216 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application teaches a cosmetic composition comprising recombinant silk protein (recombinant silk polypeptide), and the recombinant silk protein is added as gel form is considered as product by process, not limiting. The limitation of “improved pigmentation” is considered as inherency of prior art composition. Since prior art teaches the same composition, this same composition must have the same property such as improved pigmentation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 38 of copending Application No. 17626258 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application teaches a cosmetic composition comprising recombinant (spider) silk protein and plasticizer, and the recombinant silk protein is added as gel form is considered as product by process, not limiting. The limitation of “improved pigmentation” is considered as inherency of prior art composition. Since prior art teaches the same composition, this same composition must have the same property such as improved pigmentation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18706281 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application teaches a cosmetic composition comprising recombinant silk protein (recombinant silk polypeptide), and the recombinant silk protein is added as gel form is considered as product by process, not limiting. The limitation of “improved pigmentation” is considered as inherency of prior art composition. Since prior art teaches the same composition, this same composition must have the same property such as improved pigmentation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/JIANFENG SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613