DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
In the reply filed August 19, 2026, the applicant amended claims 1 and 14.
Currently claims 1-20 are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lochte (U.S. Patent No. 4,350,371).
Regarding Claim 1, Lochte discloses a system for connecting one or more flow lines, the system comprising:
A connector housing (Lochte: 16) comprising:
At least one inner guide ledge (Lochte: inner surface of 28) formed on a connector housing (Lochte: 16) inner side surface, the at least one inner guide ledge (Lochte: inner surface of 28) comprising a slot (Lochte: 33); and
A first connection passage (Lochte: 32) formed through a wall of the connector housing (Lochte: 16);
A connector (Lochte: 41, 77) comprising a connector protrusion (Lochte: 89) provided on an outer side surface of the connector (Lochte: 41, 77), wherein the connector protrusion (Lochte: 89) is axially slidable (before 118 is fully engaged) along the at least one inner guide ledge (Lochte: inner surface of 28) and fitted within the slot (Lochte: 33) to rotationally fix the connector (Lochte: 41, 77) within the connector housing (Lochte: 16); and
A first annular flow path connection (Lochte: 29) extending annularly between the connector housing (Lochte: 16) and the connector (Lochte: 41, 77), wherein the first annular flow path connection (Lochte: 29) is formed by a first housing annular flow path connection groove formed in an inner surface of the connector housing (Lochte: 16), a first connector (Lochte: 41, 77) annular flow path connection groove formed in an outer side surface of the connector (Lochte: 41, 77), or a combination of the first housing annular flow path connection groove axially aligned with the first connector (Lochte: 41, 77) annular flow path connection groove, wherein the first connection passage (Lochte: 32) through the connector housing (Lochte: 16) intersects with the first annular flow path connection (Lochte: 29).
Regarding Claim 2, Lochte discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the connector (Lochte: 41, 77) comprises a connector plate (Lochte: 28) mounted to a top surface of the connector housing (Lochte: 16), where the connector plate (Lochte: 28) comprises a cut-out (Lochte: 34) aligned with an umbilical connection (Lochte: 24).
Regarding Claim 3, Lochte discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the connector housing (Lochte: 16) includes a seal (Lochte: 63, 64) extending about a circumference of the inner surface of the connector housing (Lochte: 16) to seal (Lochte: 63, 64) the first annular flow path connection (Lochte: 29).
Regarding Claim 4, Lochte discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the connector housing (Lochte: 16) is attached to an end of a frame of a BOP stack (Lochte: 17a, 17b).
Regarding Claim 5, Lochte discloses the system of claim 1, wherein: the connector (Lochte: 41, 77) has a body comprising a first bore (Lochte: 69);
The first bore (Lochte: 69) being formed through the body of the connector (Lochte: 41, 77).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-20 are allowable
Claims 6-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The use of language directed toward a second housing annular flow path connection groove, and its relationship with the second annular flow path connection, the second bore, the connector (Lochte: 41, 77) and the connector housing (Lochte: 16), when combined with the other limitations of claim 6, would not be obvious to include in the applicant’s invention and is therefore sufficient to distinguish the applicant’s invention from prior art.
The use of language directed toward a piston actuated stab and its relationship with the connector, connector housing and first bore, when combined with the other limitations of claim 9 is sufficient to distinguish the applicant’s invention from prior art.
The use of language directed toward comprises a sloped guide ledge, wherein the sloped guide ledge extends from a top of the connector housing in an axially downward direction and terminates at the slot, when combined with the other limitations of claim 10 is sufficient to distinguish the applicant’s invention from prior art.
The use of language directed toward the placement of a winch-receiving cavity that extends from a bottom surface of the connector and into the body of the connector (and its associated latch, when combined with the other limitations of claim 11, is sufficient to distinguish the applicant’s invention from prior art.
The use of language combining the method of providing the connection in a BOP stack, combined with language directed toward the protrusion and slot facilitated rotational alignment (rather than simply rotational fixing) of the connector, specifically: “wherein the connector comprises: a connector protrusion provided on an outer side surface of the connector; and a first bore formed through a body of the connector; inserting the connector into the connector housing, comprising: contacting the connector protrusion to the at least one inner guide ledge; and guiding the connector protrusion along the at least one inner guide ledge to rotationally align the connector within the connector housing as the connector is inserted into the connector housing” when further combined with the other limitations of claim 14, is sufficient to distinguish the applicant’s invention from prior art and obvious variations thereof.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 30, 2026, have been fully considered and are not persuasive, however upon further consideration, claims 1-3 and 5 are anticipated by the invention of Lochte as detailed above.
Regarding the non-statutory double patenting rejection over Peralez (US 12241315) in view of Watkins (US 4403658), due to the addition of language directed toward the form of the connector protrusion, specifically, that the connector protrusion is “axially slidable along the at least one inner guide ledge” to distinguish the applicant’s invention from these pieces of prior art, the applicant’s arguments are persuasive and the double patenting rejection is withdrawn.
Conclusion
DOUGLAS S. WOOD
Examiner
Art Unit 3672
/DOUGLAS S WOOD/Examiner, Art Unit 3672
/Nicole Coy/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3672