DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
In the reply filed January 30, 2026, the applicant amended claims 1 and 14.
Currently claims 1-20 are under examination.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,241,315 in view of Watkins (U.S. Patent No. 4,403,658). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the applicant’s invention are fully encompassed by the limitations of U.S. Patent No. 12,241,315 with the exception of a connector protrusion being provided on an outer surface of the connector.
Watkins discloses a connector housing with a connector comprising a connector protrusion provided on an outer surface of the connector (Figure 9: 78 can be seen in contact with the outer surface of 72).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention’s filing to have utilized the connector protrusion positioning of Watkins within the invention of U.S. Patent No. 12,241,315, with the well-known and predictable result of fixing the connection together in a manner that allows flow paths between inner and outer portions of the connection to remain aligned.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-5, 10, 14, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watkins (U.S. Patent No. 4,403,658).
Regarding Claim 1, Watkins discloses a system for connecting one or more flow lines, the system comprising:
A connector housing (Watkins: 38) comprising:
At least one inner guide ledge (Watkins: space for 78) formed on a connector housing inner surface (Watkins: inner surface of 38), the at least one inner guide ledge (Watkins: space for 78) comprising a slot (Watkins: space for 78); and
A first connection passage (Watkins: 92) formed through a wall of the connector housing (Watkins: 38);
A connector (Watkins: 72) comprising a connector protrusion (Watkins: 78) provided on an outer side surface of the connector (Figure 9: 78 can be seen in contact with the outer surface of 72), wherein the connector protrusion (Watkins: 78) is fitted within the slot to rotationally fix the connector (Watkins: 72) within the connector housing (Watkins: 38)(Watkins: 108 and 92 must rotationally align in order to function); and
A first annular flow path connection (Watkins: 108) formed between the connector housing (Watkins: 38) and the connector (Watkins: 72), wherein the first annular flow path connection (Watkins: 108) is formed by a first connector annular flow path connection groove (Watkins: 80) formed in an outer side surface of the connector (Watkins: 72), wherein the first connection passage (Watkins: 92) through the connector housing (Watkins: 38) intersects with the first annular flow path connection (Watkins: 108).
Regarding Claim 2, Watkins discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the connector (Watkins: 72) comprises a connector plate (Watkins: 128, 130) mounted to a top surface of the connector housing (Watkins: 38), where the connector plate (Watkins: 128, 130) comprises a cut-out (Watkins: space for 96) aligned with an umbilical connection.
Regarding Claim 3, Watkins discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the connector housing (Watkins: 38) includes a seal (Watkins: 110) extending about a circumference of the inner surface of the connector housing (Watkins: 38) to seal the first annular flow path connection (Watkins: 108).
Regarding Claim 4, Watkins discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the connector housing (Watkins: 38) is attached to an end of a frame of a BOP stack (Watkins: Column 2: lines 10-24: BOP is part of connected system).
Regarding Claim 5, Watkins discloses the system of claim 1, wherein:
The connector (Watkins: 72) has a body comprising a first bore (Watkins: 106);
The first bore (Watkins: 106) being formed through the body of the connector (Watkins: 72).
Regarding Claim 10, Watkins discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one inner guide ledge (Watkins: space for 78) further comprises a sloped guide ledge (Watkins: inner surface of 98 is generally sloped until adjacent 78), wherein the sloped guide ledge (Watkins: inner surface of 98 is generally sloped until adjacent 78) extends from a top of the connector housing (Watkins: 38) in an axially downward direction and terminates at the slot.
Regarding Claim 14, Watkins discloses a method, comprising:
Providing a connector housing (Watkins: 38) connected to a BOP stack Watkins: Column 2: lines 10-24: BOP is part of connected system), the connector housing (Watkins: 38) comprising:
At least one inner guide ledge (Watkins: space for 78) formed on a connector (Watkins: 72) housing inner surface (Watkins: inner surface of 38); and
A first connection passage (Watkins: 92) formed through a wall of the connector housing (Watkins: 38);
Connecting the riser to a connector (Watkins: 72) via a riser connection (Watkins: 131), wherein the connector (Watkins: 72) comprises:
A connector protrusion (Watkins: 78) provided on an outer side surface of the connector (Watkins: 72; Figure 9: 78 can be seen in contact with the outer surface of 72); and
A first bore (Watkins: 106) formed through a body of the connector (Watkins: 72);
Inserting the connector (Watkins: 72) into the connector housing (Watkins: 38), comprising:
Contacting the connector protrusion (Watkins: 78) to the at least one inner guide ledge (Watkins: space for 78); and
Guiding the connector protrusion (Watkins: 78) along the at least one inner guide ledge (Watkins: space for 78) to rotationally align (Watkins: 108 and 92 must rotationally align in order to function) the connector (Watkins: 72) within the connector housing (Watkins: 38) as the connector (Watkins: 72) is inserted into the connector housing (Watkins: 38) until the connector (Watkins: 72) is in a fixed position within the connector housing (Watkins: 38), wherein, when the connector (Watkins: 72) is in the fixed position:
A first annular flow path connection (Watkins: 108) is formed between the connector housing (Watkins: 38) and the connector (Watkins: 72) by;
A first housing annular flow path connection groove formed in an inner surface of the connector housing (Watkins: 38), a first connector annular flow path connection groove (Watkins: 80) formed in an outer side surface of the connector (Watkins: 72), or a combination of the first housing annular flow path connection groove (Watkins: 80) axially aligned with the first connector annular flow path connection groove (Watkins: 80), the first connection passage (Watkins: 92) through the connector housing (Watkins: 38) intersects with the first annular flow path connection (Watkins: 108), and the first bore (Watkins: 106) is in fluid communication with the first annular flow path connection (Watkins: 108).
Regarding Claim 17, Watkins discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the at least one inner guide ledge (Watkins: space for 78) comprises a sloped guide ledge (Watkins: inner surface of 98 is generally sloped until adjacent 78) and a slot, wherein the sloped guide ledge (Watkins: inner surface of 98 is generally sloped until adjacent 78) extends from a top of the connector housing (Watkins: 38) in an axially downward direction and terminates at the slot, and wherein when the connector (Watkins: 72) is in the fixed position, connector protrusion (Watkins: 78) is fitted within the slot.
Regarding Claim 18, Watkins discloses the method of claim 14,wherein inserting the connector (Watkins: 72) comprises sealing (Watkins: via 110) the first annular flow path connection (Watkins: 108) via a seal (Watkins: 110).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9, 11-13, 15, 16, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The use of language directed toward a second housing annular flow path connection groove, and its relationship with the second annular flow path connection, the second bore, the connector and the connector housing, when combined with the other limitations of claim 6, would not be obvious to include in the applicant’s invention and is therefore sufficient to distinguish the applicant’s invention from prior art. The use of language directed toward a piston actuated stab and its relationship with the connector, connector housing and first bore, when combined with the other limitations of claims 9 and 20 is sufficient to distinguish the applicant’s invention from prior art. The use of language directed toward the placement of a winch-receiving cavity that extends from a bottom surface of the connector and into the body of the connector and its associated latch, when combined with the other limitations of claim 11, is sufficient to distinguish the applicant’s invention from prior art. The use of language directed toward the method of using a winch system on a frame containing a blowout preventer to pull the connector into the connector housing, when combined with the other limitations of claim 15, is sufficient to distinguish the applicant’s invention from prior art. The use of additional language directed toward the placement and angles of the first, second, and third bores through the connector and connector housing, when combined with the other limitations of claim 19, is sufficient to distinguish the applicant’s invention from prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 30, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive
Regarding claims 1 and 14, the applicant argues that Watkins does not disclose the claimed annular flow path connection formed by a groove formed in an inner surface of a connector housing and/or outer side surface of a connector, instead showing an annular groove (80) in which a pawl (78) is latched into, which is not a flow path.
The applicant further argues that Watkins fails to disclose a connection passage through the connector housing that intersects with the annular flow path connection, instead showing bores (106, 108) that intersect with housing ports that are separate from a spaced apart from the pawl groove (80).
The applicant also argues that Watkins does not teach the claimed inner guide ledge, slot, or protrusions required by “at least one inner guide ledge formed on a connector housing inner surface, the at least one guide ledge comprising a slot… a connector comprising a connector protrusion provided on an outer side surface of the connector, wherein the connector protrusion is fitted within the flow to rotationally fix the connector within the connector housing.
Lastly, the applicant argues that there is no mention in Watkins of axially rotating the termination housing 38 to form a connection.
The examiner respectfully submits that while it is true that the pawl groove (80) being used to anticipate the annular flow path connection does not operate as a flow path for fluid, there is no limitation in the claim requiring that it does so. 80 does however function to connect the fluid connection between 72 and 98 (through 106, 108, 92, and 90), and can therefore considered to be an annular flow path connection.
The examiner further respectfully submits that while it is additionally true that Watkins does not disclose a connection passage through the connector housing that intersects with the annular flow path connection (80), this is not required by the claims as they are currently written which requires that the first annular flow path connection be formed by a first connector annular flow path connection groove. As the use of the annular flow path connection/pawl groove (is used) to make up the connection between 38 and 72, and therefore the flow path within these parts when connected, the annular flow path groove/pawl groove (80) can be said to be at least partially responsible for forming the first annular flow path connection by facilitating the connection of 38 and 72.
The examiner also respectfully submits that Watkins does disclose “at least one inner guide ledge (Watkins: space for 78) formed on a connector housing inner surface (Watkins: inner surface of 38), the at least one inner guide ledge (Watkins: space for 78) comprising a slot (Watkins: space for 78) “ as well as “a connector (Watkins: 72) comprising a connector protrusion (Watkins: 78) provided on an outer side surface of the connector (Figure 9: 78 can be seen in contact with the outer surface of 72), wherein the connector protrusion (Watkins: 78) is fitted within the slot to rotationally fix the connector (Watkins: 72) within the connector housing (Watkins: 38)(Watkins: 108 and 92 must rotationally align in order to function)”. The protrusion/pawls (78), while not an integral part of the outer surface of the connector (72), are indeed provided on the outer surface of the connector as required by the claims.
Lastly, the examiner submits that while Watkins does not specifically describe a rotational motion to align the flow paths in the termination housing, the invention of Watkins would not be functional without the rotational alignment of said passageways. Watkins further discloses that (Watkins: Column 6: lines 25-42) that once the termination head 72 is in place the passageways are then aligned. As the only manner in which these passageways may be aligned, while termination head 72 is already seated, is in a rotational manner, the invention of Watkins anticipates the rotational motion to align the termination housing to form a connection as required by the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DOUGLAS S. WOOD
Examiner
Art Unit 3679
/DOUGLAS S WOOD/Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/MATTHEW R BUCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672