DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
In response to communications filed on 17 March 2026, claims 1-20 are presently pending in the application, of which, claims 1, 14 and 20 are presented in independent form. The Examiner acknowledges amended claims 1, 14, and 20. No claims were cancelled or newly added.
Priority
The Examiner acknowledges the instant application claims priority to U.S. Patent Application No. 18/311,137, filed 02 May 2023, now issued as U.S. Patent 12,271,269, which is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 16/456,955, filed 28 June 2019, now issued as U.S. Patent 11,681,586, and has been accorded the earliest effective file date.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 17 March 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. 11,681,586 and U.S. 12,271,269 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
All objections and/or rejections issued in the previous Office Action, mailed 16 December 2025, have been withdrawn, unless otherwise noted in this Office Action.
Applicant's arguments filed 17 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments are directed to amended features of the claims and therefore have been incorporated into the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Juniwal, Garvit, et al (U.S. 2019/0050301 and known hereinafter as Juniwal) in view of Kiang, Andy, et al (U.S. 2014/0259190 and known hereinafter as Kiang).
As per claim 1, Juniwal teaches a method for operating a data management system, comprising:
transmitting one or more instructions indicating a cloud-based storage account to generate a first snapshot of a set of data based at least in part on a set of data backup policies (e.g. Juniwal, see paragraphs [0028-0030], which discloses the integrated data management and storage system identifies a set of preferred disks based on chunk storage locations associated with other chunks within the same snapshot of the virtual machine or within the same snapshot chain as the snapshot.);
transmitting one or more instructions indicating the cloud-based storage account to generate a first search index (e.g. Juniwal, see paragraph [0067], which discloses a virtual machine search index may include a list of files that have been stored using a virtual machine and version history for each of the files in the list. Each version of a file may be mapped to the earliest point in time snapshot of the virtual machine that includes the version of the file.) indicating a mapping from identified content to locations (e.g. Juniwal, see paragraph [0059], which discloses metadata information may include the name of a file, a size of the file, file permissions associated with the file, when the file was last modified, and file mapping information associated with an identification of the location of the file stored within a cluster of physical machines.) within the first snapshot based at least in part on a first maximum file size (e.g. Juniwal, see paragraphs [0078-0080], which discloses the first set of files may be stored using a distributed file system, where the first set of files includes a set of virtual machine snapshots that include different versions of the virtual machines, in which the file size of the incremental snapshots may both be less than the file size of the base image corresponding to the version of the snapshot.);
transmitting one or more instructions indicating the cloud-based storage account to store the first search index within the cloud-based storage account using storage resources (e.g. Juniwal, see paragraphs [0078-0080], which discloses the first set of files may be stored using a distributed file system, where the first set of files includes a set of virtual machine snapshots that include different versions of the virtual machines, in which the file size of the incremental snapshots may both be less than the file size of the base image corresponding to the version of the snapshot.);
wherein the second maximum file size is based at least in part on the available physical disk space not satisfying the threshold (e.g. Juniwal, see paragraphs [0078-0080], which discloses the first set of files may be stored using a distributed file system, where the first set of files includes a set of virtual machine snapshots that include different versions of the virtual machines, in which the file size of the incremental snapshots may both be less than the file size of the base image corresponding to the version of the snapshot.).
Juniwal does not explicitly disclose wherein the first maximum file size is based at least in part on an available physical disk space satisfying a threshold; detecting a change in the storage resources corresponding to the available physical disk space available within the cloud-based storage account; and transmitting one or more instructions indicating, in response to detecting the change in the storage resources, the cloud-based storage account to regenerate the first search index based at least in part on a second maximum file size that is different from the first maximum file size.
Kiang teaches wherein the first maximum file size is based at least in part on an available physical disk space satisfying a threshold (e.g. Kiang, see paragraphs [0052-0060], which discloses in a cloud-based services, an administrator can choose to enter just a minimum file size to search for all files greater than the entered size or just a maximum file size to search for all files less than the entire size.);
detecting a change in the storage resources corresponding to the available physical disk space available within the cloud-based storage account (e.g. Kiang, see Table 1, paragraphs [0049-0052], which discloses the content manager and/or administrator of an enterprise account may set how often the content item is to be updated, including file size, frequency, creation date, owner, etc.); and
transmitting one or more instructions indicating, in response to detecting the change in the storage resources, the cloud-based storage account to regenerate the first search index based at least in part on a second maximum file size that is different from the first maximum file size (e.g. Kiang, see paragraphs [0063-0067], which discloses the content manager includes the file type mapping engine which can receive specific mapping between a specific file type and a specific kind and store the received mapping in a file type database. See additionally paragraph [0072-0075], which discloses an administrator can select from the following search filter, creation date, update date, size, owner, tag, file name, folder name, etc. Additionally, see paragraph [0099-0104], which discloses content-related event module, analysis engine, activity log database, where the activity log includes user events that includes properties such as creation, deletion, edits, access changes, and failed login, etc.).
Juniwal is directed to identifying a set of disks within a cluster and then storing a plurality of data chunks into the set of disks. Kiang is directed to enhanced security and management mechanism for enterprise administrators in a cloud-based environment. Both are analogous art because they are directed to cloud-based services and management and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the teachings of Juniwal with the teachings of Kiang to include the claimed feature with the motivation to improve the efficiency of cloud-based services.
As per claim 14, Juniwal teaches an apparatus for operating a data management system, comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (e.g. Juniwal, see Figure 1A, which discloses a storage device that contains memory coupled to one or more processors.); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code (e.g. Juniwal, see Figure 1A, which discloses a storage device that contains memory coupled to one or more processors.) to cause the apparatus to:
transmitting one or more instructions indicating a cloud-based storage account to generate a first snapshot of a set of data based at least in part on a set of data backup policies (e.g. Juniwal, see paragraphs [0028-0030], which discloses the integrated data management and storage system identifies a set of preferred disks based on chunk storage locations associated with other chunks within the same snapshot of the virtual machine or within the same snapshot chain as the snapshot.);
transmitting one or more instructions indicating the cloud-based storage account to generate a first search index (e.g. Juniwal, see paragraph [0067], which discloses a virtual machine search index may include a list of files that have been stored using a virtual machine and version history for each of the files in the list. Each version of a file may be mapped to the earliest point in time snapshot of the virtual machine that includes the version of the file.) indicating a mapping from identified content to locations (e.g. Juniwal, see paragraph [0059], which discloses metadata information may include the name of a file, a size of the file, file permissions associated with the file, when the file was last modified, and file mapping information associated with an identification of the location of the file stored within a cluster of physical machines.) within the first snapshot based at least in part on a first maximum file size (e.g. Juniwal, see paragraphs [0078-0080], which discloses the first set of files may be stored using a distributed file system, where the first set of files includes a set of virtual machine snapshots that include different versions of the virtual machines, in which the file size of the incremental snapshots may both be less than the file size of the base image corresponding to the version of the snapshot.);
transmitting one or more instructions indicating the cloud-based storage account to store the first search index within the cloud-based storage account using storage resources (e.g. Juniwal, see paragraphs [0078-0080], which discloses the first set of files may be stored using a distributed file system, where the first set of files includes a set of virtual machine snapshots that include different versions of the virtual machines, in which the file size of the incremental snapshots may both be less than the file size of the base image corresponding to the version of the snapshot.);
wherein the second maximum file size is based at least in part on the available physical disk space not satisfying the threshold (e.g. Juniwal, see paragraphs [0078-0080], which discloses the first set of files may be stored using a distributed file system, where the first set of files includes a set of virtual machine snapshots that include different versions of the virtual machines, in which the file size of the incremental snapshots may both be less than the file size of the base image corresponding to the version of the snapshot.).
Juniwal does not explicitly disclose wherein the first maximum file size is based at least in part on an available physical disk space satisfying a threshold; detecting a change in the storage resources corresponding to the available physical disk space available within the cloud-based storage account; and transmitting one or more instructions indicating, in response to detecting the change in the storage resources, the cloud-based storage account to regenerate the first search index based at least in part on a second maximum file size that is different from the first maximum file size.
Kiang teaches wherein the first maximum file size is based at least in part on an available physical disk space satisfying a threshold (e.g. Kiang, see paragraphs [0052-0060], which discloses in a cloud-based services, an administrator can choose to enter just a minimum file size to search for all files greater than the entered size or just a maximum file size to search for all files less than the entire size.);
detecting a change in the storage resources corresponding to the available physical disk space available within the cloud-based storage account (e.g. Kiang, see Table 1, paragraphs [0049-0052], which discloses the content manager and/or administrator of an enterprise account may set how often the content item is to be updated, including file size, frequency, creation date, owner, etc.); and
transmitting one or more instructions indicating, in response to detecting the change in the storage resources, the cloud-based storage account to regenerate the first search index based at least in part on a second maximum file size that is different from the first maximum file size (e.g. Kiang, see paragraphs [0063-0067], which discloses the content manager includes the file type mapping engine which can receive specific mapping between a specific file type and a specific kind and store the received mapping in a file type database. See additionally paragraph [0072-0075], which discloses an administrator can select from the following search filter, creation date, update date, size, owner, tag, file name, folder name, etc. Additionally, see paragraph [0099-0104], which discloses content-related event module, analysis engine, activity log database, where the activity log includes user events that includes properties such as creation, deletion, edits, access changes, and failed login, etc.).
Juniwal is directed to identifying a set of disks within a cluster and then storing a plurality of data chunks into the set of disks. Kiang is directed to enhanced security and management mechanism for enterprise administrators in a cloud-based environment. Both are analogous art because they are directed to cloud-based services and management and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the teachings of Juniwal with the teachings of Kiang to include the claimed feature with the motivation to improve the efficiency of cloud-based services.
As per claim 20, Juniwal teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for operating a data management system, the code comprising instructions executable by one or more processors (e.g. Juniwal, see Figure 1A, which discloses a storage device that contains memory coupled to one or more processors.) to:
transmitting one or more instructions indicating a cloud-based storage account to generate a first snapshot of a set of data based at least in part on a set of data backup policies (e.g. Juniwal, see paragraphs [0028-0030], which discloses the integrated data management and storage system identifies a set of preferred disks based on chunk storage locations associated with other chunks within the same snapshot of the virtual machine or within the same snapshot chain as the snapshot.);
transmitting one or more instructions indicating the cloud-based storage account to generate a first search index (e.g. Juniwal, see paragraph [0067], which discloses a virtual machine search index may include a list of files that have been stored using a virtual machine and version history for each of the files in the list. Each version of a file may be mapped to the earliest point in time snapshot of the virtual machine that includes the version of the file.) indicating a mapping from identified content to locations (e.g. Juniwal, see paragraph [0059], which discloses metadata information may include the name of a file, a size of the file, file permissions associated with the file, when the file was last modified, and file mapping information associated with an identification of the location of the file stored within a cluster of physical machines.) within the first snapshot based at least in part on a first maximum file size (e.g. Juniwal, see paragraphs [0078-0080], which discloses the first set of files may be stored using a distributed file system, where the first set of files includes a set of virtual machine snapshots that include different versions of the virtual machines, in which the file size of the incremental snapshots may both be less than the file size of the base image corresponding to the version of the snapshot.);
transmitting one or more instructions indicating the cloud-based storage account to store the first search index within the cloud-based storage account using storage resources (e.g. Juniwal, see paragraphs [0078-0080], which discloses the first set of files may be stored using a distributed file system, where the first set of files includes a set of virtual machine snapshots that include different versions of the virtual machines, in which the file size of the incremental snapshots may both be less than the file size of the base image corresponding to the version of the snapshot.);
wherein the second maximum file size is based at least in part on the available physical disk space not satisfying the threshold (e.g. Juniwal, see paragraphs [0078-0080], which discloses the first set of files may be stored using a distributed file system, where the first set of files includes a set of virtual machine snapshots that include different versions of the virtual machines, in which the file size of the incremental snapshots may both be less than the file size of the base image corresponding to the version of the snapshot.).
Juniwal does not explicitly disclose wherein the first maximum file size is based at least in part on an available physical disk space satisfying a threshold; detecting a change in the storage resources corresponding to the available physical disk space available within the cloud-based storage account; and transmitting one or more instructions indicating, in response to detecting the change in the storage resources, the cloud-based storage account to regenerate the first search index based at least in part on a second maximum file size that is different from the first maximum file size.
Kiang teaches wherein the first maximum file size is based at least in part on an available physical disk space satisfying a threshold (e.g. Kiang, see paragraphs [0052-0060], which discloses in a cloud-based services, an administrator can choose to enter just a minimum file size to search for all files greater than the entered size or just a maximum file size to search for all files less than the entire size.);
detecting a change in the storage resources corresponding to the available physical disk space available within the cloud-based storage account (e.g. Kiang, see Table 1, paragraphs [0049-0052], which discloses the content manager and/or administrator of an enterprise account may set how often the content item is to be updated, including file size, frequency, creation date, owner, etc.); and
transmitting one or more instructions indicating, in response to detecting the change in the storage resources, the cloud-based storage account to regenerate the first search index based at least in part on a second maximum file size that is different from the first maximum file size (e.g. Kiang, see paragraphs [0063-0067], which discloses the content manager includes the file type mapping engine which can receive specific mapping between a specific file type and a specific kind and store the received mapping in a file type database. See additionally paragraph [0072-0075], which discloses an administrator can select from the following search filter, creation date, update date, size, owner, tag, file name, folder name, etc. Additionally, see paragraph [0099-0104], which discloses content-related event module, analysis engine, activity log database, where the activity log includes user events that includes properties such as creation, deletion, edits, access changes, and failed login, etc.).
Juniwal is directed to identifying a set of disks within a cluster and then storing a plurality of data chunks into the set of disks. Kiang is directed to enhanced security and management mechanism for enterprise administrators in a cloud-based environment. Both are analogous art because they are directed to cloud-based services and management and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the teachings of Juniwal with the teachings of Kiang to include the claimed feature with the motivation to improve the efficiency of cloud-based services.
As per claims 2 and 15, the modified teachings of Juniwal and Kiang teaches the method of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 14, respectively, wherein transmitting one or more instructions indicating the cloud-based storage account to generate the first snapshot further comprises:
transmitting one or more instructions indicating the cloud-based storage account to generate the first snapshot based at least in part on a periodic duration indicated by the set of data backup policies (e.g. Juniwal, see paragraph [0028], which discloses in an integrated data management and storage system, the system acquires a file associated with snapshot of a virtual machine, partition the file into a plurality of segments, generating a plurality of data chunks corresponding with the plurality of segments.).
As per claims 3 and 16, the modified teachings of Juniwal and Kiang teaches the method of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 15, respectively, wherein the threshold is greater than the first maximum file size and the second maximum file size (e.g. Kiang, see paragraphs [0052-0060], which discloses in a cloud-based services, an administrator can choose to enter just a minimum file size to search for all files greater than the entered size or just a maximum file size to search for all files less than the entire size.).
As per claims 4 and 17, the modified teachings of Juniwal and Kiang teaches the method of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 14, respectively, wherein a file size of the first search index is based at least in part on a set of fields associated with the first search index (e.g. Kiang, see Table 1, paragraphs [0049-0052], which discloses the content manager and/or administrator of an enterprise account may set how often the content item is to be updated, including file size, frequency, creation date, owner, etc.).
As per claims 5 and 18, the modified teachings of Juniwal and Kiang teaches the method of claim 4 and the apparatus of claim 17, respectively, wherein the set of data comprises a plurality of electronic messages, and wherein the set of fields comprise a respective subject line field, a respective sender field, a respective receiver field, or any combination thereof for the plurality of electronic messages (e.g. Kiang, see paragraphs [0063-0067], which discloses the content manager includes the file type mapping engine which can receive specific mapping between a specific file type and a specific kind and store the received mapping in a file type database. See additionally paragraph [0072-0075], which discloses an administrator can select from the following search filter, creation date, update date, size, owner, tag, file name, folder name, etc. Additionally, see paragraph [0099-0104], which discloses content-related event module, analysis engine, activity log database, where the activity log includes user events that includes properties such as creation, deletion, edits, access changes, and failed login, etc.).
As per claims 6 and 19, the modified teachings of Juniwal and Kiang teaches the method of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 14, respectively, further comprising:
detecting that the first snapshot of the set of data is to be captured and stored within the cloud-based storage account (e.g. Juniwal, see paragraph [0028], which discloses in an integrated data management and storage system, the system acquires a file associated with snapshot of a virtual machine, partition the file into a plurality of segments, generating a plurality of data chunks corresponding with the plurality of segments.).
As per claim 7, the modified teachings of Juniwal and Kiang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining the first maximum file size further comprises:
determining the first maximum file size for storing the first search index based at least in part on a frequency with which the first snapshot is updated at the cloud-based storage account (e.g. Juniwal, see paragraphs [0028-0030], which discloses the integrated data management and storage system identifies a set of preferred disks based on chunk storage locations associated with other chunks within the same snapshot of the virtual machine or within the same snapshot chain as the snapshot.).
As per claim 8, the modified teachings of Juniwal and Kiang teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
transmitting one or more instructions indicating the cloud-based storage account to extract a subset of fields stored in the first snapshot (e.g. Juniwal, see paragraphs [0054, 0067-0069, 0078], which discloses the virtual machine search index may include a list of files that have been stored using a virtual machine and a version history for each of the files in the list, where each version is mapped to the earliest point in time snapshot. The snapshot further includes the file size within the point in time capture.).
As per claim 9, the modified teachings of Juniwal and Kiang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein transmitting one or more instructions indicating the cloud-based storage account to store the first search index further comprises:
transmitting one or more instructions indicating the cloud-based storage account to store the first search index based at least in part on determining that a file size of the first search index is not greater than the first maximum file size (e.g. Juniwal, see paragraphs [0054, 0067-0069, 0078], which discloses the virtual machine search index may include a list of files that have been stored using a virtual machine and a version history for each of the files in the list, where each version is mapped to the earliest point in time snapshot. The snapshot further includes the file size within the point in time capture.), wherein the first search index comprises a plurality of search keys for the first snapshot and a mapping between the plurality of search keys and a plurality of corresponding locations within the first snapshot (e.g. Kiang, see paragraphs [0063-0067], which discloses the content manager includes the file type mapping engine which can receive specific mapping between a specific file type and a specific kind and store the received mapping in a file type database. See additionally paragraph [0072-0075], which discloses an administrator can select from the following search filter, creation date, update date, size, owner, tag, file name, folder name, etc. Additionally, see paragraph [0099-0104], which discloses content-related event module, analysis engine, activity log database, where the activity log includes user events that includes properties such as creation, deletion, edits, access changes, and failed login, etc.).
As per claim 10, the modified teachings of Juniwal and Kiang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein detecting the change in the storage resources includes detecting a reduction in a total amount of disk space available to the cloud- based storage account (e.g. Juniwal, see paragraphs [0078-0080], which discloses the first set of files may be stored using a distributed file system, where the first set of files includes a set of virtual machine snapshots that include different versions of the virtual machines, in which the file size of the incremental snapshots may both be less than the file size of the base image corresponding to the version of the snapshot.).
As per claim 11, the modified teachings of Juniwal and Kiang teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
transmitting one or more instructions indicating the cloud-based storage account to generate a second snapshot (e.g. Juniwal, see paragraph [0028], which discloses in an integrated data management and storage system, the system acquires a file associated with snapshot of a virtual machine, partition the file into a plurality of segments, generating a plurality of data chunks corresponding with the plurality of segments.); and
transmitting one or more instructions indicating the cloud-based storage account to generate and store a second search index for the second snapshot such that a generated file size for the second search index is not greater than the second maximum file size (e.g. Juniwal, see paragraphs [0054, 0067-0069, 0078], which discloses the virtual machine search index may include a list of files that have been stored using a virtual machine and a version history for each of the files in the list, where each version is mapped to the earliest point in time snapshot. The snapshot further includes the file size within the point in time capture.), wherein the second maximum file size is greater than the first maximum file size (e.g. Juniwal, see paragraphs [0078-0080], which discloses the first set of files may be stored using a distributed file system, where the first set of files includes a set of virtual machine snapshots that include different versions of the virtual machines, in which the file size of the incremental snapshots may both be less than the file size of the base image corresponding to the version of the snapshot.).
As per claim 12, the modified teachings of Juniwal and Kiang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the set of data comprises a plurality of electronic messages, and wherein the first snapshot comprises a full image snapshot of the plurality of electronic messages at a first point in time (e.g. Juniwal, see paragraphs [0054, 0067-0069, 0078], which discloses the virtual machine search index may include a list of files that have been stored using a virtual machine and a version history for each of the files in the list, where each version is mapped to the earliest point in time snapshot. The snapshot further includes the file size within the point in time capture.).
As per claim 13, the modified teachings of Juniwal and Kiang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first search index includes a word- level inverted index for the first snapshot (e.g. Juniwal, see paragraph [0067-0068], which discloses a virtual machine search index that may include a list of files that are stored in a snapshot.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See attached PTO-892 that includes additional prior art of record describing the general state of the art in which the invention is directed to.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/FARHAN M SYED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2161 April 27, 2026