DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “one or more complementary electrical connecting elements are attached to the motor casing by a threaded connection” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 7 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites “an inverter casing,” “ a connector,” “an inverter,” “an electrical interconnecting bar,” “tracks,” “a plurality of orifices,” which were already recited in claim 1.
Claim 7 recites “a motor casing,” “an electric motor,” “complementary electrical connecting elements,” which were already recited in claims 1 and 4.
Claim 11 recites “an inverter casing,” “a connector,” which was already recited in claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Claim 1 recites “in order to electrically connect them to one another,” which is unclear as to what “them” is referring to. For examination purposes, “them” will be understood as referring to “a plurality of connecting elements” and “a complementary electrical connecting element.”
Claims 2-14 are rejected for depending upon claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For examination purposes and broadest reasonable interpretation, the phrase after “such as” is not included in the limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yim et al. (US 2020/0355405 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yim discloses connector (600) intended to make an electrical connection between an electric motor (400) and an inverter (300), the connector (600) comprising:
a plurality of connecting elements (622), each connecting element (622) being intended to interlock with a complementary electrical connecting element (¶ [0296] electrically conductive member provided in the output terminal housing part 430) of the electric motor (400) in order to electrically connect them to one another; and
a plurality of connecting pins (621), each connecting pin (621) being electrically connected to one of the connecting elements (622) and configured to pass through an orifice (312b) in order to come into contact with a track (printed circuit board 340 inherently has electrical tracks) of an electrical interconnecting bar (342) of the inverter (300), the orifice (312b) being formed in a wall (310) of an inverter casing (310, 320) comprising the inverter (300).
Regarding claim 3/1, Yim was discussed above in claim 1. Yim further discloses system (10) comprising an inverter casing (310, 320), a connector (600) according to claim 1 attached to the inverter casing (310, 320), an inverter (300) housed inside the inverter casing (310, 320) and an electrical interconnecting bar (342) which is housed inside the inverter casing (310, 320), is electrically connected to the inverter (300) and comprises tracks (printed circuit board 340 inherently has electrical tracks), the inverter casing (310, 320) comprising a plurality of orifices (312b);
each orifice (312b) being positioned opposite one of the tracks of the electrical interconnecting bar (342);
each connecting pin (621) passing through one of the orifices (312b; FIG. 12) and being in contact with one of the tracks (through bar 342).
Regarding claim 4/3, Yim was discussed above in claim 3. Yim further discloses the inverter casing (310, 320) forms a cover (310) intended to close a motor casing (100) inside which an electric motor (400) is housed (FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 5/4, Yim was discussed above in claim 4. Yim further discloses the connecting elements (622) of the connector (600) are each adapted to interlock with a complementary electrical connecting element (¶ [0296] electrically conductive member provided in the output terminal housing part 430) of the electric motor (400) during a movement of closing the motor casing by the inverter casing (310, 320; FIG. 11-13).
Regarding claim 6/4, Yim was discussed above in claim 4. Yim further discloses the connecting elements (622) of the connector (600) are configured to interlock with the complementary electrical connecting elements (¶ [0296] electrically conductive member provided in the output terminal housing part 430) in mutually parallel interlocking directions (the insertion part 431 would require parallel connection) and wherein the inverter casing (310, 320) is configured to close the motor casing (100) in a closing movement directed in a closing direction and wherein the closing direction is parallel to the interlocking directions (FIG. 12-13).
Regarding claim 7/4, Yim was discussed above in claim 4. Yim further discloses a motor casing (100) and an electric motor (400) housed in the motor casing, the electric motor (400) comprising complementary electrical connecting elements (¶ [0296] electrically conductive member provided in the output terminal housing part 430); the inverter casing (310, 320) and the motor casing configured to be positioned in a relative closed position in which the connecting elements (622) of the connector (600) are interlocked with the complementary electrical connecting elements (¶ [0296]) of the electric motor (400).
Regarding claim 8/7, Yim was discussed above in claim 7. Yim further discloses the inverter casing (310, 320) and the motor casing (100) are configured so that there is only one relative closed position (FIG. 6).
Relative closed position is understood as recited in claim 7 above, where “the connecting elements of the connector are interlocked with the complementary electrical connecting elements of the electric motor.”
Regarding claim 12/5, Yim was discussed above in claim 5. Yim further discloses the connecting elements (622) of the connector (600) are configured to interlock with the complementary electrical connecting elements (¶ [0296] electrically conductive member provided in the output terminal housing part 430) in mutually parallel interlocking directions (the insertion part 431 would require parallel connection) and wherein the inverter casing (310, 320) is configured to close the motor casing (100) in a closing movement directed in a closing direction and wherein the closing direction is parallel to the interlocking directions (FIG. 12-13).
Regarding claim 13/5, Yim was discussed above in claim 5. Yim further discloses a motor casing (100) and an electric motor (400) housed in the motor casing, the electric motor (400) comprising complementary electrical connecting elements (¶ [0296] electrically conductive member provided in the output terminal housing part 430); the inverter casing (310, 320) and the motor casing configured to be positioned in a relative closed position in which the connecting elements (622) of the connector (600) are interlocked with the complementary electrical connecting elements (¶ [0296]) of the electric motor (400).
Regarding claim 14/6, Yim was discussed above in claim 6. Yim further discloses a motor casing (100) and an electric motor (400) housed in the motor casing, the electric motor (400) comprising complementary electrical connecting elements (¶ [0296] electrically conductive member provided in the output terminal housing part 430); the inverter casing (310, 320) and the motor casing configured to be positioned in a relative closed position in which the connecting elements (622) of the connector (600) are interlocked with the complementary electrical connecting elements (¶ [0296]) of the electric motor (400).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yim et al. (US 2020/0355405 A1) in view of Shimokawa et al. (US 2020/0021151 A1).
Regarding claim 2/1, Yim was discussed above in claim 1. Yim further discloses the connecting elements (622) and the connecting pins (621) each comprise an insulating body (630) and electrical conductors (621 and 622 are electrical conductors).
Yim does not disclose each insulating body being notably made of a plastic material such as polymers.
Shimokawa discloses each insulating body (3) being notably made of a plastic material such as polymers (¶ [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yim in view of Shimokawa to disclose each insulating body being notably made of a plastic material such as polymers, as evidenced by Shimokawa in ¶ [0039], polymer as an insulator is commonly used within the art.
Regarding claim 11/2, Yim in view of Shimokawa was discussed above in claim 2. Yim further discloses system (10) comprising an inverter casing (310, 320), a connector (600) according to claim 2 attached to the inverter casing (310, 320), an inverter (300) housed inside the inverter casing (310, 320) and an electrical interconnecting bar (342) which is housed inside the inverter casing (310, 320), is electrically connected to the inverter (300) and comprises tracks (printed circuit board 340 inherently has electrical tracks), the inverter casing (310, 320) comprising a plurality of orifices (312b);
each orifice (312b) being positioned opposite one of the tracks of the electrical interconnecting bar (342);
each connecting pin (621) passing through one of the orifices (312b; FIG. 12) and being in contact with one of the tracks (through bar 342).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yim et al. (US 2020/0355405 A1) in view of Chang (US 10,263,490 B2).
Regarding claim 9/8, Yim was discussed above in claim 8. Yim does not disclose the one or more complementary electrical connecting elements are attached to the motor casing by a threaded connection.
Chang discloses the one or more complementary electrical connecting elements (410) are attached to the motor casing (100) by a threaded connection (500).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yim in view of Chang to disclose the one or more complementary electrical connecting elements are attached to the motor casing by a threaded connection, for the advantages of directly mounting the terminals to the motor housing.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yim et al. (US 2020/0355405 A1).
Regarding claim 10/7, Yim was discussed above in claim 7. Yim does not disclose the limitations as recited in claim 10, but claim 10 is a product-by-process. A product-by-process claim’s patentability is based on the product itself, not the process of making the product. As Yim discloses all the structure of the product of claim 10, claim 10 is unpatentable over Yim. See MPEP 2113.
Conclusion
/MINKI CHANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2834