DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 11-15, and 17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-5, 12, and 18 of U.S. Patent No 12,594,752. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘752 patent anticipate claims 1-5 and 7-8 of the instant application. Claim 11 is anticipated by claim 18 of the ‘752 patent and claims 12-15 and 17 of the instant application are obvious in view of a simple combination of claim 18 of the ‘752 patent and claims 3-8 and 12. The courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, see MPEP §2143. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine claim 18 with other claims such as 3-8 or 12 with a reasonable expectation of success as disclosed in the ‘752 patent.
Claims 1, 3-5, and 8 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 5, 8, and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,296,571. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘571 patent anticipate claims 1, 3-5, and 8 of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wei (US 2022/0332106, made of record on the IDS dated 6/29/2026.)
Regarding claim 1, Wei meets the claimed, An in-line process of producing a thermoplastic composite article using an in-line system, the in-line process comprising: combining reinforcing materials and a thermoplastic material in an aqueous solution; (Wei [0079] describes combining thermoplastic material and reinforcing fibers together in an aqueous solution) disposing the aqueous solution with the combined reinforcing materials and the thermoplastic material onto a moving support; (Wei [0080] describes depositing the aqueous mixture onto moving support 410) removing water from the disposed aqueous solution on the moving support to form a web comprising open cell structures formed from the reinforcing materials and the thermoplastic material; drying the web on the moving support to provide a porous core layer; (Wei [0081] describes removing water with a vacuum and drying to form a core layer 512 with high porosity and open celled structures) heating the dried, porous core layer on the moving support to melt the thermoplastic material of the heated, porous core layer; (Wei [0081] describes further heating the core layer 512 above the melting temperature of the thermoplastic material) disposing a first skin layer on a first surface of the heated, porous core layer on the moving support, wherein the first skin layer comprises a printable surface; (Wei [0082] describes applying a skin layer such as a film layer 610, [0092] specifies the film 610 can be printed on) and applying pressure to the heated, porous core layer comprising the disposed first skin layer to provide the thermoplastic composite article (Wei [0086] describes applying pressure to the composite article to bond the film 610 to the core layer 512.)
Regarding claim 2, Wei meets the claimed, The in-line process of claim 1, further comprising printing a design onto the printable surface of the disposed first skin layer (Wei [0075] discloses printing a design onto the film after disposing the film on the core layer.)
Regarding claim 3, Wei meets the claimed, The in-line process of claim 1, further comprising disposing a second skin layer on a second surface of the heated, porous core layer on the moving support (Wei [0084] describes adding a second skin layer 620 to a second surface of the core layer 512.)
Regarding claim 4, Wei meets the claimed, The in-line process of claim 1, further comprising adding a lofting agent to the aqueous solution with the combined reinforcing materials and the thermoplastic material (Wei [0091] describes adding a lofting agent.)
Regarding claim 5, Wei meets the claimed, The in-line process of claim 1, further comprising configuring the first skin layer as a film layer (Wei [0082] describes a film layer 610 as the skin layer.)
Regarding claim 6, Wei meets the claimed, The in-line process of claim 5, wherein the film layer comprises reinforcement (Wei [0074] describes films may include fibers or other additives which meet the broadest reasonable interpretation of “reinforcement.”)
Regarding claim 7, Wei meets the claimed, The in-line process of claim 5, wherein the film layer comprises one or more of a polyolefin and a polyester (Wei [0092] describes a polyolefin film 610.)
Regarding claim 8, Wei meets the claimed, The in-line process of claim 1, wherein the thermoplastic material comprises a polyolefin and the reinforcing materials comprise inorganic fibers (Wei [0008], [0089], and [0092] describe the thermoplastic material is polyolefin and the reinforcing fibers are inorganic fibers.)
Regarding claim 11, Wei meets the claimed, An in-line process of producing a thermoplastic composite article using an in-line system, the in-line process comprising: combining reinforcing materials and a thermoplastic material in an aqueous solution; (Wei [0079] describes combining thermoplastic material and reinforcing fibers together in an aqueous solution) disposing the aqueous solution with the combined reinforcing materials and the thermoplastic material onto a moving support; (Wei [0080] describes depositing the aqueous mixture onto moving support 410) removing water from the disposed aqueous solution on the moving support to form a web comprising open cell structures formed from the reinforcing materials and the thermoplastic material; drying the web on the moving support to provide a porous core layer; (Wei [0081] describes removing water with a vacuum and drying to form a core layer 512 with high porosity and open celled structures) heating the dried, porous core layer on the moving support to melt the thermoplastic material of the heated, porous core layer; (Wei [0081] describes further heating the core layer 512 above the melting temperature of the thermoplastic material) disposing a first skin layer on a first surface of the heated, porous core layer on the moving support, wherein the first skin layer comprises a printable surface; (Wei [0082] describes applying a skin layer such as a film layer 610, [0092] specifies the film 610 can be printed on) and printing a design onto the printable surface of the first skin layer to provide the thermoplastic composite article (Wei [0075] discloses printing a design onto the film after disposing the film on the core layer.)
Regarding claim 12, Wei meets the claimed, The in-line process of claim 11, further comprising disposing a second skin layer on a second surface of the heated, porous core layer on the moving support (Wei [0084] describes adding a second skin layer 620 to a second surface of the core layer 512.)
Regarding claim 13, Wei meets the claimed, The in-line process of claim 11, further comprising adding a foam to the aqueous solution with the combined reinforcing materials and the thermoplastic material (Wei [0079] describes adding foam to the aqueous solution.)
Regarding claim 14, Wei meets the claimed, The in-line process of claim 11, further comprising adding a lofting agent to the aqueous solution with the combined reinforcing materials and the thermoplastic material (Wei [0091] describes adding a lofting agent.)
Regarding claim 15, Wei meets the claimed, The in-line process of claim 11, further comprising configuring the first skin layer as a film layer (Wei [0082] describes a film layer 610 as the skin layer.)
Regarding claim 16, Wei meets the claimed, The in-line process of claim 15, wherein the film layer comprises reinforcement (Wei [0074] describes films may include fibers or other additives which meet the broadest reasonable interpretation of “reinforcement.”)
Regarding claim 17, Wei meets the claimed, The in-line process of claim 15, wherein the film layer comprises one or more of a polyolefin and a polyester (Wei [0092] describes a polyolefin film 610.)
Regarding claim 18, Wei meets the claimed, The in-line process of claim 11, wherein the thermoplastic material comprises a polyolefin and the reinforcing materials comprise inorganic fibers (Wei [0008], [0089], and [0092] describe the thermoplastic material is polyolefin and the reinforcing fibers are inorganic fibers.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (US 2022/0332106) modified by Pervan (US 2019/0263101.)
Regarding claim 9, Wei describes printing but does not specify digital printing and does not meet the claimed, The in-line process of claim 2, wherein the printing comprises printing the design using a digital image and a digital printer.
Analogous in the field of composite laminates, Pervan also discloses a substrate 4 (film) applied onto a thermoplastic/fiber composite and meets the claimed, The in-line process of claim 2, wherein the printing comprises printing the design using a digital image and a digital printer (Pervan [0117]-[0119] describe a process of using a digital printer 40 and a digital image to print binder 30 onto a substrate 4 on the composite material, see also [0046].)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the printing method disclosed in Wei with the digital printing method and digital image disclosed in Pervan in order to provide an image with superior image quality, see Pervan [0117].
Regarding claim 10, Pervan further meets the claimed, The in-line process of claim 9, further comprising curing the printed design (Pervan [0118] discloses the binder 30 printed by the printer is cured.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the printing method of Wei with the step of curing the design as described in Pervan in order to bond ink particles to the biner on the substrate, see Pervan [0118].
Regarding claim 19, Wei describes printing but does not specify digital printing and does not meet the claimed, The in-line process of claim 11, wherein the printing comprises printing the design using a digital image and a digital printer.
Pervan meets the claimed, The in-line process of claim 11, wherein the printing comprises printing the design using a digital image and a digital printer (Pervan [0117]-[0119] describe a process of using a digital printer 40 and a digital image to print binder 30 onto a substrate 4 on the composite material, see also [0046].)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the printing method disclosed in Wei with the digital printing method and digital image disclosed in Pervan in order to provide an image with superior image quality, see Pervan [0117].
Regarding claim 20, Pervan further meets the claimed, The in-line process of claim 19, further comprising curing the printed design (Pervan [0118] discloses the binder 30 printed by the printer is cured.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the printing method of Wei with the step of curing the design as described in Pervan in order to bond ink particles to the biner on the substrate, see Pervan [0118].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2007/0137769: see the description beginning at [0035] describing collecting thermoplastic fibers on a forming belt, using a vacuum unit, applying heat, and applying a print to the surface of the formed web
US 2017/0129145: see [0086] describing forming a thermoplastic/fiber aqueous dispersion, [0087] describing disposing the dispersion onto a moving support and drying it, [0089] describes melting the thermoplastic material and adding a film
/V.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/XIAO S ZHAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1744