DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/31/2026, 09/18/2025, 05/23/2025 and 03/142/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-13, 15-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyata et al. (“Miyata”, US 2020/0266230) in view of Jiyuan (CN108511469).
Regarding claim 1, Miyata discloses an image sensor, comprising:
an array of metasurface structures and an array of optical-to-electrical conversion units, wherein the array of metasurface structures is located above the array of optical-to-electrical conversion units (Miyata: see fig. 2 and par. [0069], wherein an array of micro-spectroscopic elements 101 and an array of pixels, wherein the array of micro-spectroscopic is located above the array of pixels);
a first optical-to-electrical conversion unit in the array of optical-to-electrical conversion units comprises a plurality of optical-to-electrical conversion elements, wherein each optical-to- electrical conversion element in the first optical-to-electrical conversion unit corresponds to one frequency band in a spectrum (Miyata: see fig. 3B and par. [0083], in which a first pixel unit in the array of pixels comprises a plurality of pixels DB, DG, DR, each pixel in the first pixel unit corresponds to one frequency band in a spectrum as the light is spatially separated into three wave length regions);
a first metasurface structure in the array of metasurface structures comprises a first substrate and a microstructure located above the first substrate, wherein the microstructure and the first substrate are configured to transmit an optical signal at each frequency band to an optical-to- electrical conversion element corresponding to each frequency band (Miyata: see fig. 3B and pars. [0069], [0083], note that a first micro-spectroscopic structure in the array of micro-spectroscopic structures comprises a first substrate 111 and micro-spectroscopic element 101 insides the first substrate 111, the micro-spectroscopic and the substrate 111 are configured to transmit an optical signal at each frequency band to pixel corresponding to each frequency band as the light is spatially separated into three wavelength regions in the xz plane by the micro-spectroscopic elements 101, and is received by the three pixels 102 immediately under each micro-spectroscopic element 101), the microstructure is a rotationally symmetric structure (Miyata: see fig.8A-8H and par. [0103], wherein the micro-spectroscopic is rotationally symmetric structure as the shape surface as a four-fold rotational symmetry); and
wherein there is a medium between the first metasurface structure and the first optical-to- electrical conversion unit, and the medium comprises a second substrate (Miyata: see fig. 3B, wherein there is a medium 111 below micro spectroscopic element 101 is considered in two part, as top part and bottom part, therefore, there is a bottom part between the first meta surface structure 101 and the first optical to electrical conversion unit 102, and the medium comprices a second substrate as bottom part of 111).
Miyata does not explicitly disclose that a rotation angle of the rotationally symmetric structure is less than or equal to 90 degrees.
However, Jiyuan teaches that a rotation angle of the rotationally symmetric structure is less than or equal to 90 degrees (Jiyuan: see page 6, third paragraph, wherein the nano-fin rotation angle θ (x, y) at coordinates (x, y) (0 ⟨ θ (x, y) ⟨ π). As the range of nano-fin rotation angle is (0 ⟨ θ (x, y) ⟨ π). Therefore, that range overlaps the range which is less than or equal to 90 degrees. In addition, the micro-nano grating array converts incident non-polarized light (such as natural light) into polarized light, which is then transmitted to the nano-fin array for focusing).
One would have been modified to include a rotation angle as taught by Jiyuan in the apparatus of Miyata to enhance the image (Jiyuan: see page 6, last paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jiyuan with the Miyata’s system to include that a rotation angle of the rotationally symmetric structure is less than or equal to 90 degrees.
Regarding claims 8, 10 and 12, claims 8, 10 and 12 are directed to a method corresponding to the apparatus claimed in claim 1, respectively. Claims 8, 10 and 12 are similar scope to claim 1, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale. In addition, the limitation of claim 10 including “assembling the array of metasurface structures and the array of optical-to-electrical conversion units to obtain an image sensor” can be found in fig. 2 and par. [0026] of Miyata showing an image capture element. The limitation of claim 12 including “an electronic device” can be express as an image capture device in Miyata, in fig. 1 and par. [0065].
Regarding claim 2, Miyata in the combination with Jiyuan discloses the image sensor according to claim 1, wherein the microstructure and the first substrate are configured to generate a spatial transmission phase in a tangential direction of the array of metasurface structures, to obtain a spatial transmission phase gradient, wherein the spatial transmission phase gradient is used to transmit the optical signal at each frequency band to the optical-to-electrical conversion element corresponding to each frequency band (Miyata: see fig. 3B and par. [0083], in which the micro spectroscopic element 101 and the first substrate 111 are configured to generate a spatial transmission phase in tangential direction of the array of micro spectroscopic element as light comes in and strikes to pixels, to obtain a spatial transmission phase gradient as the light is spatially separated into three wavelength regions, wherein the spatial transmission phase gradient is used to transmit the optical signal at each frequency band as blue/green/red to the pixel corresponding to each frequency band).
Regarding claim 3, Miyata in the combination with Jiyuan discloses the image sensor according to claim 2, wherein the spatial transmission phase is related to a wavelength of the optical signal at each frequency band, a position at which the optical signal at each frequency band is incident to the first metasurface structure, a position at which the optical signal at each frequency band is transmitted to the optical-to-electrical conversion element corresponding to each frequency band, and a refractive index of the medium (Miyata: see fig. 3B and par. [0083], in which the spatial transmission phase is related to a wavelength of the optical signal at each frequency band as wavelength of red/green/blue, a position at which the optical signal at each frequency band is incident to the micro spectroscopic , a position at which the optical signal at each frequency band as 3 wave length regions is transmitted to pixel corresponding to each frequency band as red/green/blue wavelength regions, respectively).
Regarding claim 5, Miyata in the combination with Jiyuan discloses the image sensor according to claim 1, wherein the microstructure comprises a cross-shaped structure (Miyata: see fig. 8D).
Regarding claim 6, Miyata in the combination with Jiyuan discloses the image sensor according to claim 1, wherein a material of the microstructure comprises titanium dioxide, gallium nitride, or silicon carbide (Miyata: see par. [0142], wherein a material of micro-spectroscopic comprises TiO2, GaN, or SiC).
Regarding claims 9, 11, 13, 15-16, 18 and 20, claims 9, 11, 13, 15-16, 18 and 20 are directed to a method corresponding to the apparatus claimed in claims 2-3 and 5-6, respectively. Claims 9, 11, 13, 15-16, 18 and 20 are similar scope to claims 2-3 and 5-6, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyata et al. (“Miyata”, US 2020/0266230) in view of Jiyuan (CN108511469) and further in view of Chandrasekar et al. (“Chandrasekar”, US 2020/0025610).
Regarding claim 7, Miyata in the combination with Jiyuan discloses the image sensor according to claim 1.
Miyata in the combination with Jiyuan does not explicitly disclose that the plurality of optical-to- electrical conversion elements correspond to V different frequency bands in the spectrum, and V is an integer greater than 3.
On the other hand, Chandrasekar teaches that the plurality of optical-to- electrical conversion elements correspond to V different frequency bands in the spectrum, and V is an integer greater than 3 (Chandrasekar: see claim 8, wherein the metasurface is adjustable to work within a plurality of wavelengths including ultraviolet, visible, and infrared; each wavelengths including a lot of frequency bands).
One would have been modified to include the meta surface as taught by Chandrasekar in the apparatus of Miyata and Jiyuan to have efficient light incident to the pixels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Chandrasekar with the Miyata and Jiyuan’s system to include that the plurality of optical-to-electrical conversion elements correspond to V different frequency bands in the spectrum, and V is an integer greater than 3.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is directed to a method corresponding to the apparatus claimed in claim 7. Claim 17 is similar scope to claim 7, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-10, 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12253414 in view of Miyata et al. (“Miyata”, US 2020/0266230)
Instant Application 19/060,268
U.S. Patent No. 12,253,414
1.An image sensor, comprising:
an array of metasurface structures and an array of optical-to-electrical conversion units, wherein the array of metasurface structures is located above the array of optical-to-electrical conversion units;
a first optical-to-electrical conversion unit in the array of optical-to-electrical conversion units comprises a plurality of optical-to-electrical conversion elements, wherein each optical-to- electrical conversion element in the first optical-to-electrical conversion unit corresponds to one frequency band in a spectrum;
a first metasurface structure in the array of metasurface structures comprises a first substrate and a microstructure located above the first substrate, wherein the microstructure and the first substrate are configured to transmit an optical signal at each frequency band to an optical-to- electrical conversion element corresponding to each frequency band, the microstructure is a rotationally symmetric structure, and a rotation angle of the rotationally symmetric structure is less than or equal to 90 degrees; and
wherein there is a medium between the first metasurface structure and the first optical-to- electrical conversion unit, and the medium comprises a second substrate.
1.An image sensor, comprising: an array of metasurface structures and an array of optical-to-electrical conversion units, wherein the array of metasurface structures is located above the array of optical-to-electrical conversion units; and a first optical-to-electrical conversion unit in the array of optical-to-electrical conversion units comprises a plurality of optical-to-electrical conversion elements, each optical-to-electrical conversion element in the first optical-to-electrical conversion unit corresponds to one frequency band in a spectrum, a first metasurface structure in the array of metasurface structures comprises a first substrate and a microstructure located above the first substrate, the microstructure and the first substrate are configured to transmit an optical signal at each frequency band to an optical-to-electrical conversion element corresponding to each frequency band, the microstructure is a rotationally symmetric structure, a rotation angle of the rotationally symmetric structure is less than or equal to 90 degrees, and wherein: the microstructure and the first substrate are configured to generate a spatial transmission phase in a tangential direction of the array of metasurface structures, to obtain a spatial transmission phase gradient, and the spatial transmission phase ϕ(x, y, λn) meets:
wherein x, y represents coordinates of a position on the first metasurface structure, λn represents a wavelength of an optical signal at an n.sup.th frequency band, fn represents a focal length corresponding to the optical signal at the n.sup.th frequency band, xf,n and yf,n represent coordinates of a position at which the optical signal at the n.sup.th frequency band is transmitted to an optical-to-electrical conversion element corresponding to the nth frequency band, nsub represents a refractive index of a medium between the first metasurface structure and the first optical-to-electrical conversion unit, and C is a phase.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12253414 does not explicitly disclose that a medium between the first metasurface structure, and the first optical-to-electrical conversion unit, and the medium comprises a second substrate.
However, Miyata teaches that a medium between the first metasurface structure, and the first optical-to-electrical conversion unit, and the medium comprises a second substrate (Miyata: see fig. 3B, wherein there is a medium 111 below micro spectroscopic element 101 is considered in two part, as top part and bottom part, therefore, there is a bottom part between the first meta surface structure 101 and the first optical to electrical conversion unit 102, and the medium comprises a second substrate as bottom part of 111).
One would have been modified to include a medium as taught by Miyata in the apparatus of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,253,414 to have alternative design for the system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Miyata with the U.S. Patent No. 12,253,414’s system to include that a medium between the first metasurface structure, and the first optical-to-electrical conversion unit, and the medium comprises a second substrate.
Instant Application 19/060,268
U.S. Patent No. 12,253,414
2.The image sensor according to claim 1, wherein the microstructure and the first substrate are configured to generate a spatial transmission phase in a tangential direction of the array of metasurface structures, to obtain a spatial transmission phase gradient, wherein the spatial transmission phase gradient is used to transmit the optical signal at each frequency band to the optical-to-electrical conversion element corresponding to each frequency band.
1. wherein: the microstructure and the first substrate are configured to generate a spatial transmission phase in a tangential direction of the array of metasurface structures, to obtain a spatial transmission phase gradient…
2.The image sensor according to claim 1, wherein the spatial transmission phase gradient is used to transmit the optical signal at each frequency band to the optical-to-electrical conversion element corresponding to each frequency band.
3.The image sensor according to claim 2, wherein the spatial transmission phase is related to a wavelength of the optical signal at each frequency band, a position at which the optical signal at each frequency band is incident to the first metasurface structure, a position at which the optical signal at each frequency band is transmitted to the optical-to-electrical conversion element corresponding to each frequency band, and a refractive index of the medium.
3.The image sensor according to claim 2, wherein the spatial transmission phase is related to a wavelength of the optical signal at each frequency band, a position at which the optical signal at each frequency band is incident to the first metasurface structure, a position at which the optical signal at each frequency band is transmitted to the optical-to-electrical conversion element corresponding to each frequency band, and a refractive index of a medium between the first metasurface structure and the optical-to-electrical conversion element.
4.The image sensor according to claim 2, wherein the spatial transmission phase ϕ(x, y, λn) meets:
wherein x, y represents coordinates of a position on the first metasurface structure, λn represents a wavelength of an optical signal at an n.sup.th frequency band, fn represents a focal length corresponding to the optical signal at the n.sup.th frequency band, xf,n and yf,n represent coordinates of a position at which the optical signal at the n.sup.th frequency band is transmitted to an optical-to-electrical conversion element corresponding to the nth frequency band, nsub represents a refractive index of a medium between the first metasurface structure and the first optical-to-electrical conversion unit, and C is any phase.
1. the spatial transmission phase ϕ(x, y, λn) meets:
wherein x, y represents coordinates of a position on the first metasurface structure, λn represents a wavelength of an optical signal at an n.sup.th frequency band, fn represents a focal length corresponding to the optical signal at the n.sup.th frequency band, xf,n and yf,n represent coordinates of a position at which the optical signal at the n.sup.th frequency band is transmitted to an optical-to-electrical conversion element corresponding to the nth frequency band, nsub represents a refractive index of a medium between the first metasurface structure and the first optical-to-electrical conversion unit, and C is a phase.
5.The image sensor according to claim 1, wherein the microstructure comprises a cylindrical structure, a square column structure, or a cross-shaped structure.
5. The image sensor according to claim 1, wherein the microstructure comprises a cylindrical structure, a square column structure, or a cross-shaped structure.
6. The image sensor according to claim 1, wherein a material of the microstructure comprises titanium dioxide, gallium nitride, or silicon carbide.
6. The image sensor according to claim 1, wherein a material of the microstructure comprises titanium dioxide, gallium nitride, or silicon carbide.
7. The image sensor according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of optical-to- electrical conversion elements correspond to V different frequency bands in the spectrum, and V is an integer greater than 3.
7. The image sensor according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of optical-to-electrical conversion elements correspond to V different frequency bands in the spectrum, and V is an integer greater than 3.
8. An image sensor preparation method, wherein the method comprises: preparing an array of optical-to-electrical conversion units; and preparing an array of metasurface structures on the array of optical-to-electrical conversion units, wherein: a first optical-to-electrical conversion unit in the array of optical-to-electrical conversion units comprises a plurality of optical-to-electrical conversion elements, wherein each optical-to- electrical conversion element in the first optical-to-electrical conversion unit corresponds to one frequency band in a spectrum; a first metasurface structure in the array of metasurface structure comprises a first substrate and a microstructure located above the first substrate, the microstructure and the first substrate are configured to transmit an optical signal at each frequency band to an optical-to-electrical conversion element corresponding to each frequency band, the microstructure is a rotationally symmetric structure, and a rotation angle of the rotationally symmetric structure is less than or equal to 90 degrees; and wherein there is a medium between the first metasurface structure and the first optical-to- electrical conversion unit, and the medium comprises a second substrate.
8. An image sensor preparation method, wherein the method comprises: preparing an array of optical-to-electrical conversion units; and preparing an array of metasurface structures on the array of optical-to-electrical conversion units, wherein a first optical-to-electrical conversion unit in the array of optical-to-electrical conversion units comprises a plurality of optical-to-electrical conversion elements, each optical-to-electrical conversion element in the first optical-to-electrical conversion unit corresponds to one frequency band in a spectrum, a first metasurface structure in the array of metasurface structure comprises a first substrate and a microstructure located above the first substrate, the microstructure and the first substrate are configured to transmit an optical signal at each frequency band to an optical-to-electrical conversion element corresponding to each frequency band, the microstructure is a rotationally symmetric structure, and a rotation angle of the rotationally symmetric structure is less than or equal to 90 degrees…
Claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12253414 does not explicitly disclose that a medium between the first metasurface structure, and the first optical-to-electrical conversion unit, and the medium comprises a second substrate.
However, Miyata teaches that a medium between the first metasurface structure, and the first optical-to-electrical conversion unit, and the medium comprises a second substrate (Miyata: see fig. 3B, wherein there is a medium 111 below micro spectroscopic element 101 is considered in two part, as top part and bottom part, therefore, there is a bottom part between the first meta surface structure 101 and the first optical to electrical conversion unit 102, and the medium comprises a second substrate as bottom part of 111).
One would have been modified to include a medium as taught by Miyata in the apparatus of claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,253,414 to have alternative design for the system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Miyata with the U.S. Patent No. 12,253,414’s system to include that a medium between the first metasurface structure, and the first optical-to-electrical conversion unit, and the medium comprises a second substrate.
Instant Application 19/060,268
U.S. Patent No. 12,253,414
9.The method according to claim 8, wherein the microstructure and the first substrate are configured to generate a spatial transmission phase in a tangential direction of the array of metasurface structures, to obtain a spatial transmission phase gradient, wherein the spatial transmission phase gradient is used to transmit the optical signal at each frequency band to the optical-to-electrical conversion element corresponding to each frequency band.
8. wherein: the microstructure and the first substrate are configured to generate a spatial transmission phase in a tangential direction of the array of metasurface structures, to obtain a spatial transmission phase gradient…
9. The method according to claim 8, wherein the spatial transmission phase gradient is used to transmit the optical signal at each frequency band to the optical-to-electrical conversion element corresponding to each frequency band.
13.The method according to claim 9, wherein the spatial transmission phase is related to a wavelength of the optical signal at each frequency band, a position at which the optical signal at each frequency band is incident to the first metasurface structure, a position at which the optical signal at each frequency band is transmitted to the optical-to-electrical conversion element corresponding to each frequency band, and a refractive index of the medium.
10. The method according to claim 9, wherein the spatial transmission phase is related to a wavelength of the optical signal at each frequency band, a position at which the optical signal at each frequency band is incident to the first metasurface structure, a position at which the optical signal at each frequency band is transmitted to the optical-to-electrical conversion element corresponding to each frequency band, and a refractive index of a medium between the first metasurface structure and the optical-to-electrical conversion element.
14.The method according to claim 9, wherein the spatial transmission phase ϕ(x, y, λn) meets:
wherein x, y represents coordinates of a position on the first metasurface structure, λn represents a wavelength of an optical signal at an n.sup.th frequency band, fn represents a focal length corresponding to the optical signal at the n.sup.th frequency band, xf,n and yf,n represent coordinates of a position at which the optical signal at the n.sup.th frequency band is transmitted to an optical-to-electrical conversion element corresponding to the nth frequency band, nsub represents a refractive index of a medium between the first metasurface structure and the first optical-to-electrical conversion unit, and C is any phase.
8. the spatial transmission phase ϕ(x, y, λn) meets:
wherein x, y represents coordinates of a position on the first metasurface structure, λn represents a wavelength of an optical signal at an n.sup.th frequency band, fn represents a focal length corresponding to the optical signal at the n.sup.th frequency band, xf,n and yf,n represent coordinates of a position at which the optical signal at the n.sup.th frequency band is transmitted to an optical-to-electrical conversion element corresponding to the nth frequency band, nsub represents a refractive index of a medium between the first metasurface structure and the first optical-to-electrical conversion unit, and C is a phase.
15.The method according to claim 8, wherein the microstructure comprises a cylindrical structure, a square column structure, or a cross-shaped structure.
12. The method according to claim 8, wherein the microstructure comprises a cylindrical structure, a square column structure, or a cross-shaped structure.
16.The method according to claim 8, wherein a material of the microstructure comprises titanium dioxide, gallium nitride, or silicon carbide.
6. The image sensor according to claim 1, wherein a material of the microstructure comprises titanium dioxide, gallium nitride, or silicon carbide.
17.The method according to claim 8, wherein the plurality of optical-to-electrical conversion elements correspond to V different frequency bands in the spectrum, and V is an integer greater than 3.
7. The image sensor according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of optical-to-electrical conversion elements correspond to V different frequency bands in the spectrum, and V is an integer greater than 3.
Claims 10-12 and 18-20 recites similar subject matter as previously discussed in claims 1-5.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 14 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if the Double Patenting rejection noted above is overcome.
Conclusion
/CHAN T NGUYEN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2638
/LIN YE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2638