DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Brouwer et al. (2015/0103447).
Regarding independent claims 1 and 6, Brouwer teaches (Fig. 1) a decentralised system for controlling an electrical network of an aircraft, the system comprising a plurality of distinct cells (MECs – 44, 46, 48), each cell comprising a plurality of electrical contactors ([0054]) and each cell being connected to an electrical supply ([0043]; generators 34, 36), wherein each cell comprises at least one microcontroller ([0043]) for controlling at least one contactor, and in that the cells are interfaced with each other by a digital communication network and/or a network for exchanging physical information, the cells exchanging electrical powers through the network exchanging physical information ([0053]).
Regarding claim 2, Brouwer teaches each cell comprises a microcontroller controlling a plurality of contactors of cell ([0054]).
Regarding claim 4, Brouwer teaches within one and the same cell, the contactors are interfaced with each other by a digital communication network and/or a network exchanging physical information ([0053], [0054])
Regarding claim 5, Brouwer teaches the contactors exchange electrical power through the network exchanging physical information ([0046]; “power channel”).
Regarding claim 7, Brouwer teaches (Fig. 1) at least one cell is connected to an electrical supply of a primary network (34/36) of the aircraft, and at least one other cell is connected to an electrical supply of an emergency electrical network (54) of the aircraft ([0041]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brouwer et al. (2015/0103447). Brouwer teaches the decentralized system as described above. Brouwer teaches each cell comprising a microcontroller independently controlling the contactors of the cell ([0043]). Brouwer fails to explicitly teach each cell comprising as many microcontrollers as there are contactors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each cell comprising as many microcontrollers as there are contactors (i.e. have the microcontroller separated into as many microcontrollers as there are contactors), since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Conclusion
DMP
1/21/2026
/DANIEL KESSIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836