DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 3-5 recited the limitation “…the first display device estimates a task for the first fastening location by using a position of a hand of a wearer of the first display device ….”, however “estimates a task” is not well described, “estimating a task” is not describing what kind of task it is estimating. Therefore, the claims 3-5 are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomizuka et al. (US 20220222606) in view of Taqtile et al. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7fxqdm6dmLs).
Regarding claim 1.
Tomizuka teaches:
A task support system configured to support a task (Tomizuka [0010] This disclosure is directed to techniques for handing off tasks to one or more users via an XR collaboration application.),
the task support system comprising:a first display device and a second display device configured to display virtual objects to overlap the real space (Tomizuka [0010] This disclosure is directed to techniques for handing off tasks to one or more users via an XR collaboration application. In one aspect, the XR collaboration application may be configured to provide an XR environment via a head-mounted device (HMD), a handheld device, and/or other types of XR capable user devices. The XR environment may represent a real-world environment and may include one or more objects. The XR collaboration application may receive a user command from an XR author to interact with the one or more objects. The objects can be real objects or virtual objects that may represent real objects in the real-world environment.),
each of the plurality of fastening locations being assigned to one of a plurality of groups (Tomizuka [0013] A task may be placed on a queue and then transmitted to a selected collaborator according to the schedule configuration. Additionally, or alternatively, a task may be assigned to the first available collaborator or assigned via round-robin or other task routing schemes. In some aspects, a plurality of collaborators may participate in an auction to place a bid to complete a task. A collaborator may be selected from the plurality of collaborators based at least on the submitted bid.),
the first display device displaying a first virtual object for a first fastening location included in a first group, the first group being one of the plurality of groups (Tomizuka [0021] For instance, a first user profile may be tagged with a team identifier that is associated with a team and a project identifier that is associated with the team's project. A second user profile may be tagged with the same team identifier and an additional project identifier that is associated with a different project. Accordingly, two user profiles associated with different collaborators on the same team may be tagged with the same team identifier but different projects. A collaborator that is associated with the first user profile may be selected to perform a task that is associated with the team's project. [0053] In one example, a task may include instructions to interact with one or more objects and/or virtual content within the XR environment. In another example, a task may include instructions to create, edit, modify, view, and/or retrieve virtual content. A task may also include prerequisites to perform the task. For instance, the prerequisites may specify system requirements, technical requirements, credential requirements, and/or so forth.),
the second display device displaying a second virtual object for a second fastening location included in a second group, the second group being another one of the plurality of groups (Tomizuka [0021] For instance, a first user profile may be tagged with a team identifier that is associated with a team and a project identifier that is associated with the team's project. A second user profile may be tagged with the same team identifier and an additional project identifier that is associated with a different project. Accordingly, two user profiles associated with different collaborators on the same team may be tagged with the same team identifier but different projects. A collaborator that is associated with the first user profile may be selected to perform a task that is associated with the team's project. [0053] In one example, a task may include instructions to interact with one or more objects and/or virtual content within the XR environment. In another example, a task may include instructions to create, edit, modify, view, and/or retrieve virtual content. A task may also include prerequisites to perform the task. For instance, the prerequisites may specify system requirements, technical requirements, credential requirements, and/or so forth.).
Tomizuka fails to teach:
for a plurality of fastening locations of an article present in a real space (Taqtile [1:50 – 2:20] This video shows how the digital AR glasses show how to fasten and where to fasten certain thing (in this case the fasteners are screws) and allows for the users to see in a virtual space to see where to screw into. As also see in figure 1.)
Taqtile teaches:
for a plurality of fastening locations of an article present in a real space (Taqtile [1:50 – 2:20] This video shows how the digital AR glasses show how to fasten and where to fasten certain thing (in this case the fasteners are screws) and allows for the users to see in a virtual space to see where to screw into. As also see in figure 1.)
Figure 1.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Tomizuka with Taqtile. Finding different fastening locations in a virtual space, as in Taqtile, would benefit the Tomizuka teachings by allowing for a way to find different places to fasten and being able to have multiple users be using it. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, being able to show fastening locations in a virtual space, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 8.
Tomizuka teaches:
A task support system method, comprising: (Tomizuka [0010] This disclosure is directed to techniques for handing off tasks to one or more users via an XR collaboration application.),
assigning each of the plurality of fastening locations to one of a plurality of groups (Tomizuka [0013] A task may be placed on a queue and then transmitted to a selected collaborator according to the schedule configuration. Additionally, or alternatively, a task may be assigned to the first available collaborator or assigned via round-robin or other task routing schemes. In some aspects, a plurality of collaborators may participate in an auction to place a bid to complete a task. A collaborator may be selected from the plurality of collaborators based at least on the submitted bid.),
causing a first display device to display a first virtual object for a first fastening location included in a first group, the first display device being configured to display a virtual object to overlap the real space, the first group being one of the plurality of groups (Tomizuka [0021] For instance, a first user profile may be tagged with a team identifier that is associated with a team and a project identifier that is associated with the team's project. A second user profile may be tagged with the same team identifier and an additional project identifier that is associated with a different project. Accordingly, two user profiles associated with different collaborators on the same team may be tagged with the same team identifier but different projects. A collaborator that is associated with the first user profile may be selected to perform a task that is associated with the team's project. [0053] In one example, a task may include instructions to interact with one or more objects and/or virtual content within the XR environment. In another example, a task may include instructions to create, edit, modify, view, and/or retrieve virtual content. A task may also include prerequisites to perform the task. For instance, the prerequisites may specify system requirements, technical requirements, credential requirements, and/or so forth.),
andcausing a second display device to display a second virtualobject for a second fastening location included in a second group, the second display device being configured to display a virtual object to overlap the real space, the second group being another one of the plurality of groups (Tomizuka [0021] For instance, a first user profile may be tagged with a team identifier that is associated with a team and a project identifier that is associated with the team's project. A second user profile may be tagged with the same team identifier and an additional project identifier that is associated with a different project. Accordingly, two user profiles associated with different collaborators on the same team may be tagged with the same team identifier but different projects. A collaborator that is associated with the first user profile may be selected to perform a task that is associated with the team's project. [0053] In one example, a task may include instructions to interact with one or more objects and/or virtual content within the XR environment. In another example, a task may include instructions to create, edit, modify, view, and/or retrieve virtual content. A task may also include prerequisites to perform the task. For instance, the prerequisites may specify system requirements, technical requirements, credential requirements, and/or so forth.).
Tomizuka fails to teach:
supporting a task for a plurality of fastening locations of an article present in a real space (Taqtile [1:50 – 2:20] This video shows how the digital AR glasses show how to fasten and where to fasten certain thing (in this case the fasteners are screws) and allows for the users to see in a virtual space to see where to screw into. As also see in figure 1.);
Taqtile teaches:
supporting a task for a plurality of fastening locations of an article present in a real space (Taqtile [1:50 – 2:20] This video shows how the digital AR glasses show how to fasten and where to fasten certain thing (in this case the fasteners are screws) and allows for the users to see in a virtual space to see where to screw into. As also see in figure 1.);
Figure 1.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Tomizuka with Taqtile. Finding different fastening locations in a virtual space, as in Taqtile, would benefit the Tomizuka teachings by allowing for a way to find different places to fasten and being able to have multiple users be using it. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, being able to show fastening locations in a virtual space, to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomizuka et al. (US 20220222606) in view of Taqtile et al. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7fxqdm6dmLs), and Tanida et al. (WO 2020075232).
Regarding claim 6.
Tomizuka and Taqtile teaches:
The task support system according to claim 1,
Tomizuka and Taqtile fails to teach:
wherein the first virtual object includes at least one selected from a specified torque value necessary for screw-tightening at the first fastening location, a torque value detected in the screw- tightening at the first fastening location, and a screw-tightening count at the first fastening location (Tanida [Pg 3 Par 6] Further, the actual tool RT uses the tightening torque information corresponding to an arbitrary bolt size and bolt material obtained from the augmented reality server 12 or the torque management server 28, and the information that the actual bolt RBn is tightened with a predetermined tightening torque. It has a display unit (not shown). Since this display unit is intended to convey the above information to the worker, instead of installing the display unit side by side with the actual tool RT, this information is displayed on the transmissive screen 14, or It may be displayed on the display unit of another wearable terminal provided on the wrist or the like. [Pg 7 Par 3] The specified tightening torque TS has a passing range from the lower limit value (TSL) to the upper limit value (TSH), and the display portion of the actual tool RT has a tightening torque TL in the passing range (lower limit value TSL). In the following, the pass range and the pass range (upper limit value TSH) and above can be represented by different colors. Note that, instead of the operation of the display unit included in the real tool RT, such information may be displayed on the transmissive screen 14 or may be displayed on the display unit of another wearable terminal provided on the worker's wrist or the like.),
and the second virtual object includes at least one selected from a specified torque value necessary for screw-tightening at the second fastening location, a torque value detected in the screw-tightening at the second fastening location, and a screw- tightening count at the second fastening location (Tanida [Pg 3 Par 6] Further, the actual tool RT uses the tightening torque information corresponding to an arbitrary bolt size and bolt material obtained from the augmented reality server 12 or the torque management server 28, and the information that the actual bolt RBn is tightened with a predetermined tightening torque. It has a display unit (not shown). Since this display unit is intended to convey the above information to the worker, instead of installing the display unit side by side with the actual tool RT, this information is displayed on the transmissive screen 14, or It may be displayed on the display unit of another wearable terminal provided on the wrist or the like. [Pg 7 Par 3] The specified tightening torque TS has a passing range from the lower limit value (TSL) to the upper limit value (TSH), and the display portion of the actual tool RT has a tightening torque TL in the passing range (lower limit value TSL). In the following, the pass range and the pass range (upper limit value TSH) and above can be represented by different colors. Note that, instead of the operation of the display unit included in the real tool RT, such information may be displayed on the transmissive screen 14 or may be displayed on the display unit of another wearable terminal provided on the worker's wrist or the like.).
Tanida teaches:
wherein the first virtual object includes at least one selected from a specified torque value necessary for screw-tightening at the first fastening location, a torque value detected in the screw- tightening at the first fastening location, and a screw-tightening count at the first fastening location (Tanida [Pg 3 Par 6] Further, the actual tool RT uses the tightening torque information corresponding to an arbitrary bolt size and bolt material obtained from the augmented reality server 12 or the torque management server 28, and the information that the actual bolt RBn is tightened with a predetermined tightening torque. It has a display unit (not shown). Since this display unit is intended to convey the above information to the worker, instead of installing the display unit side by side with the actual tool RT, this information is displayed on the transmissive screen 14, or It may be displayed on the display unit of another wearable terminal provided on the wrist or the like. [Pg 7 Par 3] The specified tightening torque TS has a passing range from the lower limit value (TSL) to the upper limit value (TSH), and the display portion of the actual tool RT has a tightening torque TL in the passing range (lower limit value TSL). In the following, the pass range and the pass range (upper limit value TSH) and above can be represented by different colors. Note that, instead of the operation of the display unit included in the real tool RT, such information may be displayed on the transmissive screen 14 or may be displayed on the display unit of another wearable terminal provided on the worker's wrist or the like.),
and the second virtual object includes at least one selected from a specified torque value necessary for screw-tightening at the second fastening location, a torque value detected in the screw-tightening at the second fastening location, and a screw- tightening count at the second fastening location (Tanida [Pg 3 Par 6] Further, the actual tool RT uses the tightening torque information corresponding to an arbitrary bolt size and bolt material obtained from the augmented reality server 12 or the torque management server 28, and the information that the actual bolt RBn is tightened with a predetermined tightening torque. It has a display unit (not shown). Since this display unit is intended to convey the above information to the worker, instead of installing the display unit side by side with the actual tool RT, this information is displayed on the transmissive screen 14, or It may be displayed on the display unit of another wearable terminal provided on the wrist or the like. [Pg 7 Par 3] The specified tightening torque TS has a passing range from the lower limit value (TSL) to the upper limit value (TSH), and the display portion of the actual tool RT has a tightening torque TL in the passing range (lower limit value TSL). In the following, the pass range and the pass range (upper limit value TSH) and above can be represented by different colors. Note that, instead of the operation of the display unit included in the real tool RT, such information may be displayed on the transmissive screen 14 or may be displayed on the display unit of another wearable terminal provided on the worker's wrist or the like.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Tomizuka and Taqtile with Tanida. Showing a certain torque value to fasten to and having a coordinate system, as in Tanida, would benefit the Tomizuka and Taqtile teachings by allowing for the fastening to be more precise by showing how much to torque. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, showing a certain torque value to fasten to, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 7.
Tomizuka and Taqtile teach:
The task support system according to claim 1,
Tomizuka and Taqtile fail to teach:
wherein the first display device and the second display device set a three-dimensional coordinate system in a virtual space by using a marker located in the real space as an origin (Tanida [Pg 3 Par 9 – Pg 4 Par 1] The work information server 26 does not necessarily need to be independent of the design information server 22, and the work information server 26 and the design information server 22 may be operated as one common information server. When the analysis server 29 performs large-scale (image) analysis on the image captured by the camera 10 to obtain detailed coordinates (for example, coordinates indicating a three-dimensional position) of the work target in the real space or virtual space. Used for etc.).
Tanida teaches:
wherein the first display device and the second display device set a three-dimensional coordinate system in a virtual space by using a marker located in the real space as an origin (Tanida [] The work information server 26 does not necessarily need to be independent of the design information server 22, and the work information server 26 and the design information server 22 may be operated as one common information server. When the analysis server 29 performs large-scale (image) analysis on the image captured by the camera 10 to obtain detailed coordinates (for example, coordinates indicating a three-dimensional position) of the work target in the real space or virtual space. Used for etc.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Tomizuka and Taqtile with Tanida. Showing a certain torque value to fasten to and having a coordinate system, as in Tanida, would benefit the Tomizuka and Taqtile teachings by allowing for the fastening to be more precise by showing how much to torque. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, showing a certain torque value to fasten to, to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
/DENIS VASILIY MINKO/Examiner, Art Unit 2612
/Said Broome/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2612