DETAIL ACTION
Priority
This application claims priority to U.S provisional Patent Application No. 63657235, filed on 6/7/2024, No. 63646367, filed on 5/13/2024 and is hereby incorporated by references.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 6/23/2025 and 3/6/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 16-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pahwa et al (US 11355112 B1) in view of Burakov et al (US 20230125662 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pahwa discloses a computer system [e.g. FIG. 1 and 9; computer device] configured to communicate with a display generation component [e.g. 11 or 916] and an input device [e.g. 920] comprising:
one or more processors [e.g. FIG. 9; process(s) 904]; and
memory [e.g. memory 906] storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors [e.g. software or firmware running in the processor], the one or more programs including instructions for:
detecting an input including a request to perform a first task associated with a first application [e.g. FIG. 1-2 and 4; a request to “what’s the weather”];
in response to detecting the input including the request to perform the first task associated with the first application, performing the first task associated with the first application [e.g. performing response to user’s question];
detecting a first user speech input including a request to perform a second task associated with a second application different from the first application [e.g. FIG. 1, 4 and 9; a voice command for playing a music or a cease command];
in response to detecting the first user speech input including the request to perform the second task [e.g. playing music like a song] associated with the second application different from the first application [e.g. reporting the weather],
performing the second task associated with the second application different from the first application [e.g. FIG. 1, 4-5 and 9];
detecting a second user speech input including a request to reverse performance of a most recently performed task [e.g. FIG. 4; cease command];
in response to detecting the second user speech input including the request to reverse performance of the most recently performed task [e.g. FIG. 4B]:
in accordance with a determination that a user interface [e.g. FIG. 9; I/O device interface] corresponding to content is being displayed via the display generation component [e.g. FIG. 9; 916] and the first task associated with the first application is the most recently performed task [e.g. FIG. 4B], reversing performance of the first task associated with the first application [e.g. FIG. 4B; delete audio data]; and
in accordance with a determination [e.g. FIG. 1 and 4; determine audio data including second WW] that a digital assistant session [e.g. FIG. 4B and 9; device 10 performing speech processing] in which the first user speech input was received is ongoing and the second task associated with the second application different from the first application is the most recently performed task, reversing performance of the second task associated with the second application different from the first application [e.g. FIG. 4B; ceasing command].
Although Pahwa discloses a display component for display content and applications such as weather forecasts, restaurant reservations, shopping services, and Internet searches, it is noted that Pahwa differs to the present invention in that Pahwa fails to explicitly displaying the applications.
However, Burakov teaches the well-known concept of in accordance with a determination that a user interface [e.g. FIG. 1 and 5; user interface 520] corresponding to an application [e.g. alarm application] is being displayed via the display generation component [e.g. FIG. 1; [0021]].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the computer system disclosed by Pahwa to exploit the well-known displaying an application technique taught by Burakov as above, in order to provide a user interface for controlling different features of the application [See Burakov; [0021]].
Regarding claim 2, Pahwa and Burakov further disclose in response to detecting the second user speech input including the request to reverse performance of the most recently performed task [e.g. Pahwa: FIG. 4B]: in accordance with a determination that the user interface corresponding to the first application is being displayed via the display generation component and the second task associated with the second application different from the first application is the most recently performed task, forgoing reversing performance of the first task associated with the first application [e.g. Pahwa: FIG. 1, 4 and 9; Burakov: FIG. 1 and 5].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the computer system disclosed by Pahwa to exploit the well-known displaying an application technique taught by Burakov as above, in order to provide a user interface for controlling different features of the application [See Burakov; [0021]].
Regarding claim 3, Pahwa and Burakov further disclose in response to detecting the second user speech input including the request to reverse performance of the most recently performed task [e.g. Pahwa: FIG. 4B]: in accordance with a determination that the digital assistant session in which the first user speech input was received is ongoing and the first task associated with the first application is the most recently performed task, forgoing reversing performance of the second task associated with the second application different from the first application [e.g. Pahwa: FIG. 4B; ceasing command].
Regarding claim 4, Pahwa and Burakov further disclose in response to detecting the second user speech input including the request to reverse performance of the most recently performed task [e.g. Pahwa: FIG. 4B]: in accordance with a determination that the digital assistant session in which the first user speech input was received is ongoing and the user interface corresponding to the first application is not being displayed via the display generation component [e.g. Pahwa: FIG. 4B and 9; ceasing command; display only display content not applications; Burakov: FIG. 1 and 5], reversing performance of the second task associated with the second application different from the first application [e.g. Pahwa: FIG. 4B].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the computer system disclosed by Pahwa to exploit the well-known displaying an application technique taught by Burakov as above, in order to provide a user interface for controlling different features of the application [See Burakov; [0021]].
Regarding claim 5, Pahwa and Burakov further disclose in response to detecting the second user speech input including the request to reverse performance of the most recently performed task: in accordance with a determination that a user interface corresponding to the second application is being displayed via the display generation component [e.g. Pahwa: FIG. 1, 4 and 9; Burakov: FIG. 1 and 5], reversing performance of the second task associated with the second application different from the first application [e.g. Pahwa: FIG. 4B; ceasing command].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the computer system disclosed by Pahwa to exploit the well-known displaying an application technique taught by Burakov as above, in order to provide a user interface for controlling different features of the application [See Burakov; [0021]].
Regarding claim 6, Pahwa and Burakov further disclose in accordance with a determination that the user interface corresponding to the first application is being displayed via the display generation component and the digital assistant session in which the first user speech input was received has ended [e.g. Pahwa: FIG. 4B; audio data], reversing performance of the first task associated with the first application [e.g. Pahwa: FIG. 4B; ceasing command].
Regarding claim 16, Pahwa and Burakov further disclose in accordance with a determination that the second user speech input including the request to reverse performance of the most recently performed task includes a request to perform another task [e.g. Pahwa: FIG. 1, 4 and 9]: after reversing performance of the most recently performed task, performing a third task [e.g. Pahwa: FIG. 1, 4 and 9; column 9 lines 27-48; raising/lowering a window, setting a thermostat, and/or adjusting a seat) and/or providing diagnostic information].
Regarding claim 17, Pahwa and Burakov further disclose the third task includes a modification to the most recently performed task [e.g. Pahwa: FIG. 1, 4 and 9; column 9 lines 27-48; raising/lowering a window, setting a thermostat, and/or adjusting a seat) and/or providing diagnostic information].
Regarding claim 19, this is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that includes same limitation as in claim 1 above, the rejection of which are incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 20, this is a method that includes same limitation as in claim 1 above, the rejections of which are incorporated herein.
Claim(s) 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pahwa et al (US 11355112 B1) in view of Burakov et al (US 20230125662 A1) and YUN et al (US 20140223438 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Pahwa and Burakov further disclose a record of recent tasks performed with the first application includes the performance of the first task associated with the first application [e.g. Burakov: FIG. 1 and 5; select for receiving the action request based on which application most recently provided an output and/or received an input], but Pahwa and Burakov fail to disclose a record of the tasks performed.
However, YUN teaches the well-known concept of recording the tasks performed with the first application includes a record of the performance of the first task associated with the first application [e.g. FIG. 1-2; recording task list implemented and used by user].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the computer system disclosed by Pahwa to exploit the well-known displaying an application technique taught by Burakov and the well-known concept of creating the record of tasks user used technique taught by YUN as above, in order to provide a user interface for controlling different features of the application [See Burakov; [0021]] and improved functions personalized for a user [See YUN; [0007]].
Regarding claim 8, Pahwa, Burakov and YUN further disclose a record of recent tasks performed with the second application includes a record of the performance of the second task associated with the second application different from the first application [e.g. Pahwa: FIG. 1, 4 and 8-9; Burakov: FIG. 1 and 5; YUN: FIG. 1-2 and 9].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the computer system disclosed by Pahwa to exploit the well-known displaying an application technique taught by Burakov and the well-known concept of creating the record of tasks user used technique taught by YUN as above, in order to provide a user interface for controlling different features of the application [See Burakov; [0021]] and improved functions personalized for a user [See YUN; [0007]].
Regarding claim 9, Pahwa, Burakov and YUN further disclose a record of recent tasks performed by a digital assistant includes [e.g. Pahwa: FIG. 1, 4]: a record of the performance of the second task associated with the second application different from the first application [e.g. Pahwa: FIG. 1, 4 and 8-9; YUN: FIG. 1-2 and 9]; in accordance with a determination that the first task associated with the first application was reversed [e.g. Pahwa: FIG. 4B and 9; ceasing command, a record of the reversal of the performance of the first task associated with the first application; and in accordance with a determination that the second task associated with the second application was reversed, a record of the reversal of the performance of the second task associated with the second application different from the first application [e.g. Pahwa: FIG. 1, 4 and 8-9; YUN: FIG. 1-2 and 9].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the computer system disclosed by Pahwa to exploit the well-known displaying an application technique taught by Burakov and the well-known concept of creating the record of tasks user used technique taught by YUN as above, in order to provide a user interface for controlling different features of the application [See Burakov; [0021]] and improved functions personalized for a user [See YUN; [0007]].
Regarding claim 10, Pahwa, Burakov and YUN further disclose a record of recent tasks performed while displaying [e.g. Pahwa: FIG. 1, 4 and 8-9; Burakov: FIG. 1 and 5; YUN: FIG. 1-2 and 9], via the display generation component, a home screen user interface includes a task performed while displaying the home screen user interface [e.g. Burakov: FIG. 1 and 5; YUN: FIG. 1-2 and 9].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the computer system disclosed by Pahwa to exploit the well-known displaying an application technique taught by Burakov and the well-known concept of creating the record of tasks user used technique taught by YUN as above, in order to provide a user interface for controlling different features of the application [See Burakov; [0021]] and improved functions personalized for a user [See YUN; [0007]].
Regarding claim 11, Pahwa, Burakov and YUN further disclose selecting a task that was most recently performed based on the record of recent tasks performed with the first application, the record of recent tasks performed with the second application, the record of recent tasks performed by a digital assistant, and the record of recent tasks performed while displaying a home screen user interface [e.g. Pahwa: FIG. 1, 4 and 8-9; Burakov: FIG. 1 and 5; YUN: FIG. 1-2 and 9].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the computer system disclosed by Pahwa to exploit the well-known displaying an application technique taught by Burakov and the well-known concept of creating the record of tasks user used technique taught by YUN as above, in order to provide a user interface for controlling different features of the application [See Burakov; [0021]] and improved functions personalized for a user [See YUN; [0007]].
Claim(s) 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pahwa et al (US 11355112 B1) in view of Burakov et al (US 20230125662 A1) and Wang (US 20190147869 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Pahwa and Burakov further disclose in accordance with a determination that a user interface [e.g. user interface] corresponding to the first application is being displayed via the display generation component and the first task associated with the first application is the most recently performed task [e.g. Pahwa: FIG. 1, 4 and 8-9; Burakov: FIG. 1 and 5] prior to reversing performance of the first task associated with the first application, but Pahwa and Burakov fail to explicitly disclose the detail of a prompt.
However, Wang teaches the well-known concept of providing a prompt requesting confirmation of reversal of performance of the first task associated with an application [e.g. FIG. 1 and 3; [0045-0046]; TABLE-0001-0002; user’s demand is to create the alarm clock].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the computer system disclosed by Pahwa to exploit the well-known displaying an application technique taught by Burakov and the well-known concept of voice interaction technique taught by Wang as above, in order to provide a user interface for controlling different features of the application [See Burakov; [0021]] and improved the user's experience under the voice interaction scenario [See Wang; [0055-0056]].
Regarding claim 13, Pahwa, Burakov and Wang further disclose reversing performance of the first task associated with the first application is performed in response to detecting an input confirming reversal of performance of the first task associated with the first application [e.g. Pahwa: FIG. 1, 4 and 8-9; Wang: FIG. 1 and 3; [0046-0064]].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the computer system disclosed by Pahwa to exploit the well-known displaying an application technique taught by Burakov and the well-known concept of voice interaction technique taught by Wang as above, in order to provide a user interface for controlling different features of the application [See Burakov; [0021]] and improved the user's experience under the voice interaction scenario [See Wang; [0055-0056]].
Regarding claim 14, Pahwa, Burakov and Wang further disclose the prompt includes a high-level description of the first task [e.g. Pahwa: FIG. 1, 4 and 8-9; Wang: FIG. 1 and 3; [0046-0064]].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the computer system disclosed by Pahwa to exploit the well-known displaying an application technique taught by Burakov and the well-known concept of voice interaction technique taught by Wang as above, in order to provide a user interface for controlling different features of the application [See Burakov; [0021]] and improved the user's experience under the voice interaction scenario [See Wang; [0055-0056]].
Regarding claim 15, Pahwa, Burakov and Wang further disclose the prompt includes a detailed description of the first task [e.g. Pahwa: FIG. 1, 4 and 8-9; Wang: FIG. 1 and 3; [0046-0064]].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the computer system disclosed by Pahwa to exploit the well-known displaying an application technique taught by Burakov and the well-known concept of voice interaction technique taught by Wang as above, in order to provide a user interface for controlling different features of the application [See Burakov; [0021]] and improved the user's experience under the voice interaction scenario [See Wang; [0055-0056]].
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pahwa et al (US 11355112 B1) in view of Burakov et al (US 20230125662 A1) and Haugen et al (US 20150195232 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Pahwa and Burakov further disclose in accordance with a determination that performance of the most recently performed task [e.g. Pahwa: FIG. 1, 4 and 8-9], but Pahwa and Burakov fail to disclose the details of performed task.
However, Haugen teaches the well-known concept of that a task is unable to be reversed [e.g. sending an email after a delayed time period], providing an output including an indication of a reason that the most recently performed task is unable to be reversed [e.g. determining a longer delay time period for being able to undo sending email, otherwise cannot undo sending email].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the computer system disclosed by Pahwa to exploit the well-known displaying an application technique taught by Burakov and the well-known concept of constrain on sending email message technique taught by Haugen as above, in order to provide a user interface for controlling different features of the application [See Burakov; [0021]] and increased performance of websites and web applications [See Haugen; [0002]].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
MA et al (US 20230368788 A1).
Goh et al (US 20240028385 A1).
/ZHUBING REN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2658