DETAILED ACTION
The Art Unit location of your application in the PTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Group Art Unit 2691.
This communication is responsive to the claims filed 02/21/20259.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Azima et al. (U. S. Pat. No. - 6,332,029).
Regarding claim 1, Amiza et al. disclose a vibration generating structure (9) comprising: a vibration member (2) including a first surface ( connected to 21) and a second surface (connected to 21) opposite to the first surface; a pad portion (19, 21) on the first surface of the vibration member; a first vibration apparatus (13-15 and 18) on the first surface of the vibration member and coupled to the pad portion; and a second vibration apparatus (13-15 and 18) on the second surface of the vibration member and coupled to the pad portion (Figs. 2, 11a and 17) as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, Amiza et al. further disclose the vibration generating structure, comprising: a signal supply member (connected to 13/18) electrically connected to the pad portion on the first surface of the vibration member (Figs. 2, 11a and 17).
Regarding claim 3, Amiza et al. further disclose the vibration generating structure, comprising: a first connection member (21) electrically connected to the pad portion and the first vibration apparatus and a second connection member (21) electrically connected to the pad portion and the second vibration apparatus, wherein the pad portion includes a connection portion (28) electrically connected to the first connection member and the second connection member (col. 24, lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 4, Amiza et al. further disclose the vibration generating structure, wherein the connection portion is configured to pass through the first surface and the second surface of the vibration member (Figs. 2, 11a and 17).
Regarding claim 5, Amiza et al. further disclose the vibration generating structure, wherein the connection portion includes: a hole passing through the first surface and the second surface of the vibration member; and a conductive material present in the hole (Figs. 2, 11a and 17).
Regarding claim 6, Amiza et al. further disclose the vibration generating structure, wherein each of the first vibration apparatus and the second vibration apparatus includes: a vibration portion including a piezoelectric material (27), the vibration portion including a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface; a first electrode portion on the first surface of the vibration portion; a second electrode portion on the second surface of the vibration portion; and an auxiliary electrode portion on the first surface of the vibration portion, the auxiliary electrode portion being electrically separated from the first electrode portion and electrically connected to the second electrode portion (Figs. 2, 11a, 13-15 and 17) as claimed.
Regarding claim 7, Amiza et al. further disclose the vibration generating structure, wherein the auxiliary electrode portion (to 28) of the first vibration apparatus either overlaps or does not overlap the auxiliary electrode portion of the second vibration apparatus with the vibration member interposed therebetween (Figs. 13-15).
Regarding claim 14, Amiza et al. further disclose the vibration generating structure, comprising: a first cover member (14) configured on a portion of the first surface of the vibration member and the first vibration apparatus; and a second cover member (14) configured on a portion of the second surface of the vibration member and the second vibration apparatus (Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 15, Amiza et al. further disclose the vibration generating structure, comprising: a signal supply member (28) electrically connected to the pad portion on the first surface of the vibration member; and a cover member (14) on the first vibration apparatus, the pad portion, and a portion of the signal supply member and configured on the first surface of the vibration member (Figs. 1, 8, 11a, 15 and 17-22).
Regarding claim 16, Amiza et al. further disclose the vibration generating structure, comprising: a signal supply member (28) electrically connected to the pad portion on the first surface of the vibration member; a first cover member (14) on the first vibration apparatus, the pad portion and a portion of the signal supply member and configured on the first surface of the vibration member; and a second cover (14) member configured on the second surface of the vibration member to cover the second vibration apparatus, the pad portion and a portion of the signal supply member (Figs. 1, 8, 11a, 15 and 17-22).
Regarding claim 17, Amiza et al. further disclose the vibration generating structure, wherein the signal supply member (28) includes a first signal line and a second signal line, which are accommodated between the vibration member and the first cover member (Figs. 1, 8, 11a, 15 and 17-22).
Regarding claim 18, Amiza et al. further disclose the vibration generating structure, wherein the first signal line is electrically connected to a second electrode portion of the first vibration apparatus and a first electrode portion of the second vibration apparatus, and wherein the second signal line is electrically connected to the first electrode portion of the first vibration apparatus and the second electrode portion of the second vibration apparatus (Figs. 1, 8, 11a, 15 and 17-22).
Regarding claim 19, Amiza et al. disclose a sound apparatus (Figs. 27-58) comprising: an enclosure having an inner space; and a vibration generating structure (9) in the inner space, wherein the vibration generating structure includes: a vibration member (2) including a first surface ( connected to 21) and a second surface (connected to 21) opposite to the first surface; a pad portion (19, 21) on the first surface of the vibration member; a first vibration apparatus (13-15 and 18) on the first surface of the vibration member and coupled to the pad portion; and a second vibration apparatus (13-15 and 18) on the second surface of the vibration member and coupled to the pad portion (Figs. 2, 11a and 17) as claimed.
Regarding claim 20, Amiza et al. disclose a vehicular apparatus (Figs 36-42) comprising: an interior material exposed to an indoor space; and at least one sound generating apparatus configured to output sound to the indoor space, wherein the at least one sound generating apparatus (9) includes a sound apparatus, wherein the sound apparatus includes: an enclosure (14) including an inner space; and a vibration generating structure (9) in the inner space, wherein the vibration generating structure includes: a vibration member (2) including a first surface ( connected to 21) and a second surface (connected to 21) opposite to the first surface; a pad portion (19, 21) on the first surface of the vibration member; a first vibration apparatus (13-15 and 18) on the first surface of the vibration member and coupled to the pad portion; and a second vibration apparatus (13-15 and 18) on the second surface of the vibration member and coupled to the pad portion (Figs. 2, 11a and 17) as claimed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SUHAN NI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691