DETAILED ACTION
This is Office action is based on the amendments filed August 22, 2026 for application 19/060,554. Claims 1, 8, and 9 have been amended, claims 13 and 14 have been cancelled, and claims 16-19 are newly presented; claims 1-12 and 16-19 are currently pending.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed August 22, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Wersland discloses that the temperature control module (234) includes a magnet (244) on the bottom thereof that is configured to connect to another magnet (246) such that the temperature control module (234) is not located in a through hole directly in communication with the human body, it is noted that while this is true for the embodiment disclosed with respect to Figures 27-31 directed to an exemplary garment assembly (210) including a garment portion (248) having the magnet (246) positioned thereon or therein for securing the temperature control module (234) (¶ 0158), the rejection of claim 1 (now including the limitations of claims 13 and 14) relies on the embodiment illustrated in Figures 36-37 of Wersland. This embodiment is directed to a wrist strap (252) including a cavity (253) which is shown as a through hole in communication with an inner side of a body portion (264) of the wrist strap (252), wherein the temperature control module (234) in this embodiment does not include magnets (244, 246) such that the thermal element (240) is configured to be located through the cavity (253) close to the user’s limb (Fig. 36; ¶ 0172).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bond et al. (US 2024/0130882), in view of Wang et al. (US 2024/0390172), and in further view of Wersland et al. (US 2023/0074407).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Bond discloses a wrist guard (orthopedic device 100) comprising:
a wrist guard body (body mount 200) suitable for wrapping around a hand and providing a therapy component (therapeutic add-ons such as means 600 / body warmer 620 / body stimulator 640) for treating the hand, the wrist guard body (200) comprising a base corresponding to a back to the hand and at least one first component (controller interface 250) arranged in the base and being connected to the therapy component (600/620/640) (Figs. 7-14; ¶ 0053, 0082, 0086, 0117-0119, & 0122-0123); and
a control device (controller 500) comprising a shell (housing 510) that functions as a least one second component (housing 510) configured for being detachably connected to the at least one first component (250), a display (display 552), an operation button (user input 556), a charge port (power port 528), and an energy storage component (energy storage 522) being electrically connected to the at least one second component (510), wherein after the at least one second component is (510) is connected to the at least one first component (250), the energy storage component (520) is configured to supply energy to the therapy component (600/620/640) (Figs. 2 & 12-14; ¶ 0053, 0056-0057, 0059-0061, 0065-0066, & 0070);
wherein the therapy component (600/620/640) is arranged on the wrist guard body (200) so as to be in communication with a body part of interest (¶ 0118 & 0122);
wherein the shell (510) defines a cavity therein (housing 510 is a conventional case that houses and protects the electronics of the controller 500 thereby implicitly including a cavity therein), a top surface, a bottom surface opposite the top surface, and a periphery surface connecting the top surface and the bottom surface (housing 510 encloses electronics thereby implicitly including top, bottom, and periphery surfaces to enable enclosure of the electronics), the energy storage component (522) is located in the cavity (Fig. 2; ¶ 0056 & 0089); and
the display (552) is arranged on the top surface of the shell (510) and the charge port (528) is arranged on the periphery surface of the shell (510) (Fig. 12).
Although Bond illustrates the operation button (556) being arranged on the top surface of the shell (510) (Fig. 12), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to move the location of the operation button to the periphery surface of the shell since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention that would not have modified the operation of the device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Further, although Bond discloses that the control device (500) is removably coupled to the wrist guard body (200) via a toolless couple between the at least one first component (250) and the at least one second component (510) such that the control device (500) can be indirectly communicably coupled to body sensors (300) by wireless communications, inductively, capacitively, magnetically, etc. (¶ 0054-0055, 0057, 0086), Bond fails to expressly teach that the at least one first and second components are conductive components, wherein the at least one second component is arranged on the bottom surface of the shell.
Wang discloses an orthosis comprising a body having a first conductive component (magnetic connectors or conductive fabric electrodes are embedded into the orthosis) and a control device (controller module) having a second conductive component (magnetic electronic functional module) arranged on a bottom surface of the control device and configured for being detachably connected to the first conductive component (since the magnetic electronic functional module is installed on an outer surface of the orthosis, it must be arranged on a bottom surface of the control device in order to effectively contact the magnetic connectors or conductive fabric electrodes embedded into the orthosis), wherein after the second conductive component is connected to the first conductive component, an energy storage component (power module) is capable of supplying energy through wire tapes on the body due to the magnetic attraction between the first and second conductive components to form an electric circuit communication (¶ 0018, 0044-0045, & 0058).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the physical therapy wrist guard taught by Bond such that the at least one first component and the at least one second component are conductive components and the at least one second component is arranged on the bottom surface of the shell as taught by Wang for the purpose of forming a functional electric circuit between the control device and the wrist guard body.
However, the combination of Bond and Wang fails to teach that the wrist guard body is provided with a through hole in communication with an inner side of the wrist guard body where the hand is receive, and the therapy component is mounted in the though hole and comprises a connecting part and a therapy part, a size of the connecting part is greater than that of the through hole such that the connecting part is mounted on the wrist guard body, and a size of the therapy part is less than that of the through hole such that the therapy part is configured to be located in the through hole close to the hand.
Wersland discloses a physical therapy device (wrist strap 252) comprising a body (main body portion 264) provided with a through hole (cavity 253) in communication with an inner side of the body (264) where a user’s limb is received, and a therapy component (temperature control module 234) mounted in the through hole (253), wherein the therapy component (234) comprises a connecting part (module housing 242) and a therapy part (thermal element 240), a size of the connecting part (242) is greater than that of the through hole (253) such that the connecting part (242) is mounted on the body (264), and a size of the therapy part (240) is less than that of the through hole (253) such that the therapy part (240) is configured to be located in the through hole (253) close to the user’s limb (Figs. 36-37; ¶ 0170 & 0172).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the physical therapy wrist guard taught by the combination of Bond and Wang such that the wrist guard body is provided with a through hole in communication with an inner side of the wrist guard body where the user’s hand is received, wherein the therapy component is mounted in the though hole such that the therapy part is configured to be located close to the hand as taught by Wersland for the purpose of enabling direct contact between the therapy component and the user’s skin.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Bond / Wang / Wersland discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as described above, and Bond further discloses that an extension direction of the at least one first conductive component (250) is perpendicular to a surface where the base is located, and an extension direction of the at least one second conductive component (510) is perpendicular to a surface of the control device (500) facing the base, wherein the at least one second conductive component (510) is detachably connected to the at least one first conductive component (250) by insertion and removal to restrict the movement of the control device (500) within the surface where the base is located (Figs. 2, 10, & 12; ¶ 0057, 0082, & 0086).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Bond / Wang / Wersland discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as described above, and Bond further discloses that the at least one first conductive component (250) and the at least one second conductive component (510) may be magnetically connected (¶ 0054) and Wang further discloses that the first conductive component and the second conductive component are both made of magnetic material and are magnetically connected to restrict the movement of the control device in the direction perpendicular to the surface of the base so that after the second conductive component is connected to the first conductive component and the relative position between the control device and the base is fixed (¶ 0044 & 0058).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Bond / Wang Wersland discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as described above, and Wersland further discloses another embodiment of a physical therapy device (garment assembly 210) comprising a body (garment portion 248) having a first conductive component (magnet 246) and a control device (control module 234) having a second conductive component (magnet 244) configured for being detachably connected to the first conductive component (246), wherein the first conductive component (246) comprises multiple first conductive components (246) so that the second conductive component (244) is capable of being connected to the first conductive components (246) in different directions thereby changing the installation direction of the control device (234) (Figs. 27-28 & 30-33; ¶ 0158-0162 & 0164-0165).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the control device of the physical therapy wrist guard taught by the combination of Bond / Wang / Wersland such that the at least one first conductive component comprises multiple first conductive components so that the at least one second conductive component is capable of being connected to the first conductive components in different directions thereby changing the installation direction of the control device as taught by Wersland for the purpose of giving a user wearing the physical therapy wrist guard a plurality of options for where to position the control device.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Bond / Wang / Wersland discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as described above. Although the combination of Bond / Wang / Wersland fails to expressly teach that a magnetic force between the at least one first conductive component and the at least one second conductive component is greater than a gravity of the control device, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to construct the physical therapy wrist guard taught by the combination of Bond / Wang / Wersland such that a magnetic force between the at least one first conductive component and the at least one second conductive component is greater than a gravity of the control device for the purpose of preventing the control device from simply falling off the wrist guard body.
Claims 4-6, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bond in view of Wang and Wersland as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and in further view of Farris et al. (US 2021/0275382).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Bond / Wang / Wersland discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as described above, and Bond further discloses that the at least one first conductive component (250) is embedded in the base (¶ 0082 & 0086).
However, the combination of Bond / Wang / Wersland fails to teach that a middle of the at least one first conductive component is provided with a first groove and a middle of the at least one second conductive component is provided with a first protrusion corresponding to the first groove, wherein the at least one second conductive component and the at least one first conductive component can be plugged and connected through the cooperation of the first groove and the first protrusion.
Farris discloses a two-part coupling system comprising a first conductive component (first magnetic/electrical coupling 60) and a second conductive component (second magnetic/electrical coupling 210) configured for being detachably connected to the first conductive component (60), wherein a middle of the first conductive component (60) is provided with a first groove (central recess 63) and a middle of the second conductive component (210) is provided with a first protrusion (central protrusion 213) corresponding to the first groove (63), and the second conductive component (210) and the first conductive component (60) can be plugged and connected through the cooperation of the first groove (63) and the first protrusion (213) (Figs. 14-15 & 17; ¶ 0062-0065 & 0071-0074).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the physical therapy wrist guard taught by the combination of Bond / Wang / Wersland such that a middle of the at least one first conductive component is provided with a first groove and a middle of the at least one second conductive component is provided with a first protrusion corresponding to the first groove, wherein the at least one second conductive component and the at least one first conductive component can be plugged and connected through the cooperation of the first groove and the first protrusion as taught by Farris for the purpose of ensuring proper alignment of the at least one first and second conductive components.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Bond / Wang / Wersland / Farris discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as described above, and Farris further discloses that a side of the first groove (63) away from the first conductive component (60) and a side of the first protrusion (213) away from the second conductive component (210) both have a chamfer capable of facilitating the insertion of the first protrusion (213) into the first groove (63) (Figs. 15 & 17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the physical therapy wrist guard taught by the combination of Bond / Wang / Wersland / Farris such that a side of the first groove away from the wrist guard body and a side of the first protrusion away from the control device both have a chamfer capable of facilitating the insertion of the first protrusion into the first groove as further taught by Farris for the purpose of providing a self-aligning coupling.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Bond / Wang / Wersland / Farris discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as described above, and Farris further discloses that a cross-section of the first groove (63) is circular (Fig. 14) and Wersland further discloses another embodiment of a physical therapy device (garment assembly 210) comprising a body (garment portion 248) having a first conductive component (magnet 246) and a control device (control module 234) having a second conductive component (magnet 244) configured for being detachably connected to the first conductive component (246), wherein the first conductive component (246) comprises two first conductive components (246) (Figs. 27-28 & 30-33; ¶ 0158-0162 & 0164-0165).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the physical therapy wrist guard taught by the combination of Bond / Wang / Wersland / Farris such that the at least one first conductive component comprises two first conductive components as taught by Wersland for the purpose of giving a user wearing the physical therapy wrist guard at least two options for where to position the control device.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Bond / Wang / Wersland discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as described above, but fails to teach that a middle of the at least one first conductive component is provided with a first groove and a middle of the at least one second conductive component is provided with a first protrusion corresponding to the first groove, wherein the at least one first conductive component and the at least one second conductive component are capable of being plugged and connected through the cooperation of the first groove and the first protrusion.
Farris discloses a two-part coupling system comprising a first conductive component (first magnetic/electrical coupling 60) and a second conductive component (second magnetic/electrical coupling 210) configured for being detachably connected to the first conductive component (60), wherein a middle of the first conductive component (60) is provided with a first groove (central recess 63) and a middle of the second conductive component (210) is provided with a first protrusion (central protrusion 213) corresponding to the first groove (63), and the first conductive component (60) and the second conductive component (210) are capable of being plugged and connected through the cooperation of the first groove (63) and the first protrusion (213) (Figs. 14-15 & 17; ¶ 0062-0065 & 0071-0074).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the physical therapy wrist guard taught by the combination of Bond / Wang / Wersland such that a middle of the at least one first conductive component is provided with a first groove and a middle of the at least one second conductive component is provided with a first protrusion corresponding to the first groove, wherein the at least one first conductive component and the at least one second conductive component are capable of being plugged and connected through the cooperation of the first groove and the first protrusion as taught by Farris for the purpose of ensuring proper alignment of the at least one first and second conductive components.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Bond / Wang / Wersland discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as described above, but fails to teach that the at least one first conductive component comprises multiple first conductive components, the at least one second conductive component comprises multiple second conductive components, wherein the multiple first conductive components and the multiple second conductive components are uniformly distributed, including linear array distribution, square shape distribution, and circular shape distribution.
Farris discloses a two-part coupling system comprising a body (first magnetic/electrical coupling 60) having multiple first conductive components (ferrous contacts 66) and a device (second magnetic/electrical coupling 210) having multiple second conductive components (magnetic elements 216) configured for being detachably connected to the multiple first conductive components (66), wherein the multiple first conductive components (66) and the multiple second conductive components (216) are uniformly distributed, including a circular shape distribution (Fig. 17; ¶ 0065 & 0073-0075).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the physical therapy wrist guard taught by the combination of Bond / Wang / Wersland such that the at least one first conductive component comprises multiple first conductive components, the at least one second conductive component comprises multiple second conductive components, wherein the multiple first conductive components and the multiple second conductive components are uniformly distributed, including linear array distribution, square shape distribution, and circular shape distribution as taught by Farris for the purpose of providing a stronger magnetic connection between the wrist guard body and the control device.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bond in view of Wang and Wersland as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Farris as applied to claim 4 above, and in even further view of Clausen et al. (US 2022/0168117).
The combination of Bond / Wang / Wersland / Farris discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as described above, but fails to teach that a cross-section of the first groove is non-circular.
Clausen discloses a magnetic coupling comprising a first component (bottom portion 250) provided with a groove (slot 210) and a second component (support device 100) provided with a protrusion (protrusion 212) corresponding to the groove (210), wherein a cross-section of the groove (210) may be non-circular (Figs. 7L-7M; ¶ 0087-0088).
Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the physical therapy wrist guard taught by the combination of Bond / Wang / Wersland / Farris such that a cross-section of the first groove is non-circular as taught by Clausen since Applicant has not disclosed that such a shape solves any stated problem or is anything more than one of numerous shapes or configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing a groove for receiving a corresponding protrustion. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bond in view of Wang and Wersland as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Toya et al. (US 2008/0053979).
The combination of Bond / Wang / Wersland discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as described above, and Bond further disclose that the energy storage component (520) is a battery (522) (¶ 0060).
However, the combination of Bond / Wang / Wersland fails to teach that the battery is a lithium-ion battery or a lithium-ion battery pack, and the lithium-ion battery and the lithium-ion battery pack provides a voltage in a range of 2.4-4.2V.
Toya discloses a physical therapy device (hand warmer) comprising a therapy component (heaters 3) and an energy storage component (battery 1) configured to supply energy to the therapy component (3), wherein the energy storage component (1) is a lithium-ion battery or a lithium-ion battery pack, and the lithium-ion battery and the lithium-ion battery pack provides a voltage in a range of 2.4-4.2V (Fig. 7; ¶ 0085-0086).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the physical therapy wrist guard taught by the combination of Bond / Wang / Wersland such that the battery is a lithium-ion battery or a lithium-ion battery pack, and the lithium-ion battery and the lithium-ion battery pack provides a voltage in a range of 2.4-4.2V as taught by Toya for the purpose of providing a suitable battery for providing an appropriate power for operating the therapy component of the physical therapy wrist guard.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of independent claim 1.
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of independent claim 1 and intervening claim 17.
Claim 19 is allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KERI J NELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786 10/26/2026