CTNF 19/060,571 CTNF 85798 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION This office action is in response to the application filed 2/21/2025 in which Claims 1-15 pending. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-4, 6-8, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0326361 to Gwon et al (“Gwon”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0129539 to Kim et al (“Kim”) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0206330 to Kim et al (“Kim 2”) . As to Claim 1, Gwon teaches a display device comprising: a substrate comprising an active area and a bezel area adjacent to the active area (organic light-emitting display device having a touch sensor has…an active area AA disposed on the substrate 111 and a non-active area NA [bezel area] disposed adjacent to the active area AA, see ¶ 0027; Fig. 2) ; a plurality of pixels on the active area (active area AA displays an image through unit pixels arranged in a matrix form, see ¶ 0028) ; an encapsulation unit on the pixels (encapsulation unit 140 prevents external moisture or oxygen from entering the light-emitting element 120, see ¶ 0136; Fig. 2) ; a touch sensor on the encapsulation unit (touch-sensing lines 154 and touch-driving lines 152 are disposed on the second inorganic encapsulation layer 146 of the encapsulation unit 140, see ¶ 0040) ; Gwon does not expressly disclose a black matrix on the touch passivation layer, a color filter on the touch passivation layer. Kim teaches a black matrix on the touch passivation layer, a color filter on the touch passivation layer (A black matrix 194 is arranged between the color filters 192…a touch planarization film 196 is formed on the substrate 111 provided with the color filters 192 and the black matrix 194 formed thereon. The touch planarization film 196 serves to flatten the substrate 111 provided with the color filters 192 and the black matrix 194 formed thereon, see ¶ 0085) . Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Gwon with Kim to teach a black matrix on the touch passivation layer, a color filter on the touch passivation layer. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to prevent light leakage and optical coherence between neighboring sub-pixel regions (see ¶ 0085). Gwon and Kim do not expressly disclose a touch passivation layer on the touch sensor; the black matrix overlapping a non-emissive area of the active area and the bezel area; the color filter overlapping an emissive area of each of the pixels; and an organic passivation layer on the black matrix and the color filter. Kim 2 teaches a touch passivation layer on the touch sensor (The plurality of touch routing lines RL may be covered with a touch insulating layer 118 [touch passivation layer]. Thus, the plurality of touch routing lines RL may be disposed below the plurality of touch electrodes and covered with the touch insulating layer 118, see ¶ 0196) , the black matrix overlapping a non-emissive area of the active area and the bezel area (the black matrix 193 define a plurality of transmissive parts overlapping the light emitting area EA of each pixel area PA, see ¶ 0128) ; the color filter overlapping an emissive area of each of the pixels (The color filter layer 195 may be disposed in each of the plurality of transmissive parts provided by the black matrix 193. As an example, the color filter layer 195 may include any one of a red color filter, a green color filter, and a blue color filter, see ¶ 0121) ; and an organic passivation layer on the black matrix and the color filter (the barrier layer 191 may be formed on the front surface of the sealing layer to cover the color filter layer 195 and the black matrix 193, and may provide a planarized surface onto the black matrix 193 and the color filter layer 195, see ¶ 0130) . Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Gwon and Kim with Kim 2 to teach a touch passivation layer on the touch sensor; a black matrix on the touch passivation layer, the black matrix overlapping a non-emissive area of the active area and the bezel area; a color filter on the touch passivation layer, the color filter overlapping an emissive area of each of the pixels; and an organic passivation layer on the black matrix and the color filter. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the black matrix and the color filter layer to be disposed between the sealing layer and the touch sensor layer including the plurality of touch routing line, the touch insulating layer and the plurality of touch electrodes (see ¶ 0201). As to Claim 2, Gwon and Kim depending from Claim 1, Kim teaches a touch routing line on the bezel area (The touch driving lines 152 and the touch sensing lines 154 including the touch electrodes 152 e and 154 e and the bridges 152 b and 154 b are connected to a touch driving assembly (not shown) through routing lines 160 and touch pads 170 arranged in a non-active (bezel) area, see ¶ 0051) , the touch routing line connected to the touch sensor (The routing lines 160 transmit a touch driving pulse generated by the touch driving assembly to the touch driving lines 152 through the touch pads 170, and transmit a touch signal from the touch sensing lines 154 to the touch pads 170, see ¶ 0052) , wherein the touch routing line includes: a lower routing line on the encapsulation unit (The routing lines 160 contact the side surface of the touch buffer film 148 or the encapsulation assembly 140 so as to cover the side surface of the encapsulation assembly 140, see ¶ 0054; The routing lines 160 having a multilayer structure shown in FIG. 3 include first routing lines 162 formed of the same material as or a different material from the first bridges 152 b , and second routing lines 164 formed of the same material as the second bridges 154 b , see ¶ 0055) , and an upper routing line on the lower routing line with an insulating layer therebetween, and connected to the lower routing line through a contact hole in the insulating layer (the routing lines 160 are exposed through routing contact holes 166 formed through the touch insulating film 156, see ¶ 0056). Kim 2 illustrates routing lines 164 [upper] and 162 [lower] connected through touch contact hole 166 and separated by touch insulating film 156 in Figure 3; transparent conductive films 161 and opaque conductive films 163 formed on or under the transparent conductive films 161 in a mesh configuration the routing line 160 and the touch pad 170 include transparent conductive films 161 and opaque conductive films 163 formed on or under the transparent conductive films 161 in the same pattern as the transparent conductive films 161, see ¶ 0064; Fig. 9. Examiner interprets the transparent conductive films 163 as the touch routing lines). As to Claim 3, Gwon, Kim and Kim 2 depending from Claim 2, Kim teaches wherein the upper routing line and the lower routing line overlap the black matrix in the bezel area (the blackened layer 163 is formed on the opaque conductive layer 161 of the first and second touch electrodes 152 e and 154 e and the second bridges 152 b and the second routing lines 164 so as to cover the entire upper surface of the opaque conductive layer 161, see ¶ 0079) . As to Claim 4, Gwon, Kim and Kim 2 depending from Claim 2, Kim teaches wherein the black matrix has an opening overlapping the emissive area (Figure 8 illustrates black matrices 194 with openings that overlap emissive areas) . As to Claim 6, Gwon, Kim and Kim 2 depending from Claim 4, Kim teaches wherein the pixels have a bank defining the emissive area and the non- emissive area, and the bank has a light-shielding material (The bank layer BL, which defines the light emitting area EA for each of the plurality of pixel areas PA, may also be referred to as a pixel definition layer (or a separation film), see ¶ 0102; By being disposed on the barrier layer 191 to overlap the bank layer BL provided on the substrate 110, the black matrix 193 may define a plurality of transmissive parts overlapping the light emitting area EA of each pixel area PA, see ¶ 0120) . As to Claim 7, Gwon, Kim and Kim 2 depending on Claim 1, Kim 2 teaches wherein the substrate is flexible (The opposite substrate 190 may cover the plurality of pixels P disposed on the substrate 110. For example, the opposite substrate 190 may be a glass substrate, a flexible substrate, see ¶ 0070) . As to Claim 8, Gwon, Kim and Kim 2 depending on Claim 1, Kim teaches wherein the color filter contacts the black matrix (a black matrix 194 is arranged between the color filters 192, see ¶ 0085) . As to Claim 15, Gwon, Kim and Kim 2 depending on Claim 1, Gwon teaches wherein each of the plurality of pixels includes a thin film transistor having a source electrode, a drain electrode and a gate electrode (a driving thin-film transistor 130 includes a semiconductor layer 134 disposed on a buffer layer 112, a gate electrode 132 overlapping the semiconductor layer 134 with a gate insulating film 102 interposed therebetween, and source and drain electrodes 136 and 138, see ¶ 0031; The anode 122 is electrically connected to the drain electrode 138 of the driving thin-film transistor 130, which is exposed through a pixel contact hole penetrating a pixel planarization layer 118, see ¶ 0033) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0326361 to Gwon et al (“Gwon”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0129539 to Kim et al (“Kim”) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0206330 to Kim et al (“Kim 2”) and in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0243498 to Wang et al (“Wang”) . As to Claim 5, Gwon, Kim and Kim 2 depending from Claim 4, Gwon, Kim and Kim 2 do not expressly disclose wherein the black matrix has a width larger than that of a touch electrode of the touch sensor. Wang teaches wherein the black matrix has a width larger than that of a touch electrode of the touch sensor (an orthographic projection of the second pressure sensitive electrode 14 on the color filter substrate falls within in the black matrix 11, see ¶ 0041) . Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Gwon, Kim and Kim 2 with Wang to teach wherein the black matrix has a width larger than that of a touch electrode of the touch sensor. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to avoid the pressure sensitive electrode from affecting the display function (see ¶ 0041) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0326361 to Gwon et al (“Gwon”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0129539 to Kim et al (“Kim”) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0206330 to Kim et al (“Kim 2”) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0179466 to Kim et al (“Kim 3”) . As to Claim 9, Gwon, Kim, Kim 2 depending on Claim 1, Gwon, Kim and Kim 2 do not expressly disclose wherein the organic passivation layer and the touch passivation layer are in contact with each other in the bezel area. Kim 3 teaches wherein the organic passivation layer and the touch passivation layer are in contact with each other in the bezel area (The organic passivation layer 340 may be in the non-display area NDA, and may be spaced apart from the dam 120. Also, the organic passivation layer 340 may cover an edge of the power line 330. That is, one end of the power line 330 may be covered by the planarization layer 250, and the other end may be covered by the organic passivation layer 340, see ¶ 0119; The organic passivation layer 340 may be formed simultaneously with at least one of the planarization layer 250, the bank 270, and the spacer 275 of each of the pixels P, and may be formed of the same material as that of at least one of the planarization layer 250, the bank 270, and the spacer 275. For example, the organic passivation layer 340 may be formed of the same material as that of the bank 270, and simultaneously with the bank 270, see ¶ 0120). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Gwon, Kim and Kim 2 with Kim 3 to teach wherein the organic passivation layer and the touch passivation layer are in contact with each other in the bezel area. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the organic passivation layer to be formed simultaneously with the planarization layer (see ¶ 0120). As to Claim 10, Gwon, Kim and Kim 2 depending on Claim 3, Gwon teaches a crack prevention layer disposed in a bending area located in the bezel area (the connection electrodes 182, 172 and 174 connecting the routing line 160 and the touch pad 170 to each other are disposed in the bending area BA across the bending area BA. As shown in FIG. 3, the crack prevention layer 188 is disposed in the bending area BA so that the bending area BA is easily bent, see ¶ 0059); a touch link line connected to the touch routing line in a jumping unit adjacent to the bending area, the touch link line being disposed so as to extend via a lower part of the crack prevention layer (second connection electrode 174 [touch link line] is exposed through the pad contact hole 176, which penetrates the crack prevention layer 188 and is electrically connected to the touch pad 170, see ¶ 0057; the connection electrodes 182, 172 and 174 [touch link line] connecting the routing line 160 and the touch pad 170, see ¶ 0059. Figure 5 illustrates second connection electrode 174 [touch link line] connected to touch routing line in a jumping unit and extended through a lower part of crack prevention layer 188); and a touch pad connected to the touch link line, the touch pad being disposed in a pad area of the bezel area (second connection electrode 174 [touch link line] is exposed through the pad contact hole 176, which penetrates the crack prevention layer 188 and is electrically connected to the touch pad 170, see ¶ 0057; the connection electrodes 182, 172 and 174 [touch link line] connecting the routing line 160 and the touch pad 170 , see ¶ 0059; transparent conductive films 161 and opaque conductive films 163 formed on or under the transparent conductive films 161 in a mesh configuration the routing line 160 and the touch pad 170 include transparent conductive films 161 and opaque conductive films 163 formed on or under the transparent conductive films 161 in the same pattern as the transparent conductive films 161, see ¶ 0064; Fig. 9. Examiner interprets the transparent conductive films 163 as the touch routing lines). Gwon does not expressly disclose wherein the black matrix does not overlap the bending area and the pad area of the bezel area. Kim 3 teaches wherein the black matrix does not overlap the bending area and the pad area of the bezel area (the first touch electrodes TE and the second touch electrodes RE may overlap the bank 270 to prevent an opening area of each subpixel SP from being reduced, see ¶ 0130; a black matrix that may overlap the bank 270, see ¶ 0141. Figure 6 illustrates that bank 270 does not overlap the bending area and the pad area of the bezel area. Therefore, Examiner construes that the bank 270 does not overlap the bending area BA and pad area PA as well). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Gwon, Kim and Kim 2 with Kim 3 to teach wherein the black matrix does not overlap the bending area and the pad area of the bezel area. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the touch connection lines to extend from the display area to the pad area (see ¶ 0131). As to Claim 11, Gwon, Kim, Kim 2 and Kim 3 depending on Claim 10, Gwon teaches wherein the touch routing line is connected to the touch link line via a first contact hole in the jumping unit (The second upper connection electrode 174 is electrically connected to the lower connection electrode 182, which is exposed through a second connection contact hole 184b, which penetrates the interlayer insulating film 114. second connection electrode 174 [touch link line] is exposed through the pad contact hole 176 [first contact hole], which penetrates the crack prevention layer 188 and is electrically connected to the touch pad 170, see 1 0057; the connection electrodes 182, 172 and 174 [touch link line] connecting the routing line 160 and the touch pad 170, see ¶ 0059. Figure 5 illustrates second connection electrode 174 [touch link line] connected to touch routing line in a jumping unit and extended through a lower part of crack prevention layer 188); and a touch pad connected to the touch link line and disposed in the pad area (second connection electrode 174 [touch link line] is exposed through the pad contact hole 176, which penetrates the crack prevention layer 188 and is electrically connected to the touch pad 170, see ¶ 0057; the connection electrodes 182, 172 and 174 [touch link line] connecting the routing line 160 and the touch pad 170, see ¶ 0059; transparent conductive films 161 and opaque conductive films 163 formed on or under the transparent conductive films 161 in a mesh configuration the routing line 160 and the touch pad 170 include transparent conductive films 161 and opaque conductive films 163 formed on or under the transparent conductive films 161 in the same pattern as the transparent conductive films 161, see ¶ 0064; Fig. 9. Examiner interprets the transparent conductive films 163 as the touch routing lines). As to Claim 12, Gwon, Kim, Kim 2 and Kim 3 depending on Claim 10, Gwon teaches wherein the side edges of the organic passivation layer and the touch passivation layer coincide are disposed on the jumping unit (The organic passivation layer 340 may be in the non-display area NDA, and may be spaced apart from the dam 120. Also, the organic passivation layer 340 may cover an edge of the power line 330. That is, one end of the power line 330 may be covered by the planarization layer 250, and the other end may be covered by the organic passivation layer 340, see ¶ 0119; The organic passivation layer 340 may be formed simultaneously with at least one of the planarization layer 250, the bank 270, and the spacer 275 of each of the pixels P, and may be formed of the same material as that of at least one of the planarization layer 250, the bank 270, and the spacer 275. For example, the organic passivation layer 340 may be formed of the same material as that of the bank 270, and simultaneously with the bank 270, see ¶ 0120; The first upper connection electrode 172 is connected to the lower connection electrode 182, which is exposed through a first connection contact hole 184a that penetrates the interlayer insulating film 114. The first upper connection electrode 172 is exposed through the routing contact hole 150, which penetrates the crack prevention layer 188, and is connected to the routing line 160, see ¶ 0056; Figure 5 illustrates these contact holes stacked on top of each other and is construed as the jumping unit; transparent conductive films 161 and opaque conductive films 163 formed on or under the transparent conductive films 161 in a mesh configuration the routing line 160 and the touch pad 170 include transparent conductive films 161 and opaque conductive films 163 formed on or under the transparent conductive films 161 in the same pattern as the transparent conductive films 161, see ¶ 0064; Fig. 9. Examiner interprets the transparent conductive films 163 as the touch routing lines). As to Claim 13, Gwon, Kim, Kim 2 and Kim 3 depending on Claim 10, Gwon teaches wherein the touch pad comprises: a lower touch pad connected to the touch link line (the routing line 160 [touch link line] include transparent conductive films 161 [lower touch pad] and opaque conductive films 163 formed on or under the transparent conductive films 161 in the same pattern as the transparent conductive films 161, see ¶ 0064, Fig. 5); and an upper touch pad connected to the lower touch pad through a second contact hole in the pad area (opaque conductive film 163 [upper touch pad] connected to transparent conductive film 161 [lower touch pad] through a pad contact hole 176 [second contact hole] in the touch pad 170, see ¶ 0057). As to Claim 14, Gwon, Na, Kim and Kim 2 depending on Claim 13, Gwon teaches wherein the upper touch pad is disposed on the same layer as a touch electrode of the touch sensor (the routing line 160 and the touch pad 170 include transparent conductive films 161 [lower touch pad] and opaque conductive films 163 formed on or under the transparent conductive films 161 in the same pattern as the transparent conductive films 161, see ¶ 0064-0067; Figure 10 illustrates touch pad 170 formed on the same layer as connection electrodes 172 and 174 [electrodes belonging to touch sensor unit]; transparent conductive films 161 and opaque conductive films 163 formed on or under the transparent conductive films 161 in a mesh configuration the routing line 160 and the touch pad 170 include transparent conductive films 161 and opaque conductive films 163 formed on or under the transparent conductive films 161 in the same pattern as the transparent conductive films 161, see ¶ 0064; Fig. 9. Examiner interprets the transparent conductive films 163 as the touch routing lines). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to EBONI N GILES whose telephone number is (571)270-7453. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 9 am - 6 pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, PATRICK EDOUARD can be reached at (571)272-7603. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /EBONI N GILES/Examiner, Art Unit 2622 /PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622 Application/Control Number: 19/060,571 Page 2 Art Unit: 2622 Application/Control Number: 19/060,571 Page 3 Art Unit: 2622 Application/Control Number: 19/060,571 Page 4 Art Unit: 2622 Application/Control Number: 19/060,571 Page 5 Art Unit: 2622 Application/Control Number: 19/060,571 Page 6 Art Unit: 2622 Application/Control Number: 19/060,571 Page 7 Art Unit: 2622 Application/Control Number: 19/060,571 Page 8 Art Unit: 2622 Application/Control Number: 19/060,571 Page 9 Art Unit: 2622 Application/Control Number: 19/060,571 Page 10 Art Unit: 2622 Application/Control Number: 19/060,571 Page 11 Art Unit: 2622 Application/Control Number: 19/060,571 Page 12 Art Unit: 2622 Application/Control Number: 19/060,571 Page 13 Art Unit: 2622 Application/Control Number: 19/060,571 Page 14 Art Unit: 2622 Application/Control Number: 19/060,571 Page 15 Art Unit: 2622 Application/Control Number: 19/060,571 Page 16 Art Unit: 2622 Application/Control Number: 19/060,571 Page 17 Art Unit: 2622