DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In light of Applicant’s amendment, claim(s) 18, 24-26, 28-29, and 35-37 is/are amended. Claims 18-37 are now pending examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 18, Applicant amended the claim to include the limitation “the flat distal-facing surface of the wiper configured to be positioned adjacent to an outer tissue surface of a patient”. Applicant argues that in the device of Bettuchi, the object seal 1026 and resilient seal 1030 are located within cannula housing 1002, thus cannot be placed against the tissue of a patient. In response to applicant's argument, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. As such, manner of operating the device does not differentiate apparatus claim from the prior art (see MPEP 2114.II). Specifically, the retention anchor disclosed in Bettuchi has the same structural elements as the claimed retention anchor, thus would be fully capable of performing the claimed function. Specifically, the seals 1026 and 1030 are designed to form a seal around an object inserted within the aperture (“Resilient seal 1030 defines aperture 1034 and is arranged to form a substantial seal about an instrument inserted therethrough” (Paragraph 0030)). As such, if used with a cannula (100) including an elongated shaft (104+106), the seals would be located on the exterior of the cannula and be fully capable of contacting the surface of a patient’s tissue.
Similarly, claim 29 includes the same amended language, and if used with cited cannula (100) including an elongated shaft (104+106), the seals would be located on the exterior of the cannula and be fully capable of contacting the surface of a patient’s tissue.
As such, the rejection is maintained, and the claims remain anticipated by Bettuchi.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18-25, 27-35, and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bettuchi et al. (US 20100094228 A1) (previously of record).
Regarding claim 18, Bettuchi discloses a retention anchor (1026) of a surgical access device(Figure 10, Paragraph 0030), comprising:
an annular body (1028) including a proximally-facing surface (labeled in Annotated Figure 10) disposed at a proximal end of the annular body and a distally-facing surface (labeled in Annotated Figure 10) disposed at a distal end of the annular body, an inner side surface of the annular body defining a channel between the proximal end and the distal end for reception and passage of an elongated shaft (104+106) of the surgical access device therethrough (Figure 1, 7; Paragraph 0030; 0033), the proximally-facing surface defining a proximal opening into the channel at the proximal end of the annular body; and
a wiper (1030) having a flat distal-facing surface aligned with the distally-facing surface of the annular body to define a distal opening (1034) into the channel for establishing a sealed relation about the elongated shaft (Figure 7; Paragraph 0030), the flat distal-facing surface of the wiper is fully capable of being configured to be positioned adjacent to an outer tissue surface of a patient ("[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.), the distal opening having a smaller diameter than the proximal opening (Figure 7, 10).
Regarding claim 19, Bettuchi further discloses a plurality of ridges extending radially inward from the inner side surface of the annular body into the channel (Annotated Figure 10), wherein each ridge of the plurality of ridges has a flat surface and an angled surface (Annotated Figure 10, Figure 10 (Zoomed)).
Regarding claim 20, Bettuchi further discloses wherein the angled surface of each ridge of the plurality of ridges defines an acute angle with respect to the flat surface (Annotated Figure 10 (Zoomed)).
Regarding claim 21, Bettuchi further discloses wherein each ridge of the plurality of ridges is longitudinally spaced relative to an adjacent ridge of the plurality of ridges (Figure 10).
Regarding claim 22, Bettuchi further discloses wherein the flat surface of each ridge of the plurality of ridges is proximally facing (the proximal regions of the flat surfaces are proximally facing) (Annotated Figure 10 (Zoomed)).
Regarding claim 23, Bettuchi further discloses wherein the angled surface of each ridge of the plurality of ridges is distally facing (Annotated Figure 10 (Zoomed)).
Regarding claim 24, Bettuchi further discloses wherein the inner side surface of the annular body frictionally engages the elongated shaft (106) the surgical access device (Paragraph 0030; 0033). Further, "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim, thus the object seal 1026 is fully capable of engaging an elongated shaft as it is structurally similar to the annular body of the instant invention.
Regarding claim 25, Bettuchi further discloses wherein the wiper includes a disc-shaped body having a flat proximal facing surface (proximal surface of 1030) and the flat distal facing surface (distal surface of 1030) (Figure 7; 10; Paragraph 0030).
Regarding claim 27, Bettuchi further discloses wherein the annular body and the wiper are monolithically formed from a common material (Paragraph 0030).
Regarding claim 28, Bettuchi further discloses wherein the wiper extends radially inward from the inner side surface into the channel at the distal end of the annular body (Figure 7, 10).
Regarding claim 29, Bettuchi discloses a surgical access device (10), comprising:
a cannula (100) including an elongated shaft (104+106) (Figure 1; Paragraph 0033); and
a retention anchor (1026) movably positioned along the elongated shaft (Paragraph 0030), the retention anchor comprising:
an annular body (1028) including a proximally-facing surface (labeled in Annotated Figure 10) disposed at a proximal end of the annular body and a distally-facing surface (labeled in Annotated Figure 10) disposed at a distal end of the annular body, an inner side surface of the annular body defining a channel between the proximal end and the distal end for reception and passage of an elongated shaft therethrough (Figure 1, 7; Paragraph 0030)
a wiper (1030) having a flat distal-facing surface aligned with the distally-facing surface of the annular body to define a distal opening (1034) into the channel for establishing a sealed relation about the elongated shaft (Figure 7; Paragraph 0030), the flat distal-facing surface of the wiper is fully capable of being configured to be positioned adjacent to an outer tissue surface of a patient ("[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.).
Regarding claim 30, Bettuchi further discloses wherein the proximally-facing surface defines a proximal opening (labeled in Annotated Figure 10) into the channel at the proximal end of the annular body, and wherein the distal opening (1034) has a smaller diameter than the proximal opening (Figure 7, 10).
Regarding claim 31, Bettuchi further discloses the retention anchor further comprising: a plurality of ridges extending radially inward from the inner side surface of the annular body into the channel (Annotated Figure 10), wherein each ridge of the plurality of ridges has a flat surface and an angled surface (Annotated Figure 10 (zoomed)).
Regarding claim 32, Bettuchi further discloses wherein each ridge of the plurality of ridges is longitudinally spaced relative to an adjacent ridge of the plurality of ridges (Figure 10).
Regarding claim 33, Bettuchi further discloses wherein the flat surface of each ridge of the plurality of ridges is proximally facing (the proximal regions of the flat surfaces are proximally facing) (Annotated Figure 10 (Zoomed)).
Regarding claim 34, Bettuchi further discloses wherein the angled surface of each ridge of the plurality of ridges is distally facing (Annotated Figure 10 (Zoomed)).
Regarding claim 35, Bettuchi further discloses wherein the wiper includes a disc-shaped body having a flat proximal-facing surface (proximal surface of 1030) and the flat distal-facing surface (distal surface of 1030) (Figure 7; 10; Paragraph 0030).
Regarding claim 37, Bettuchi further discloses wherein the wiper extends radially inward from the inner side surface into the channel at the distal end of the annular body (Figure 7, 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bettuchi.
Regarding claim 26, Bettuchi discloses the retention anchor of claim 19, and further discloses wherein the wiper has a uniform thickness (Figure 7), wherein each ridge of the plurality of ridges has a variable thickness (Figure 10), but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the uniform thickness of the wiper being less than a minimal thickness of the variable thickness of each ridge of the plurality of ridges.
There are a number of choices available to a person of ordinary skill in the art for the thickness of the wiper. Either the thickness of the wiper can be less than, equal to, or greater than a minimal thickness of the variable thickness of each ridge of the plurality of ridges. Therefore, “When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under 103” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. __, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). Further, based on Figure 10, the thickness of the wiper visually looks to be less than the smallest of thickness of the plurality of ridges.
Regarding claim 36, Bettuchi discloses the retention anchor of claim 29, and further discloses wherein the wiper has a uniform thickness (Figure 7), wherein each ridge of the plurality of ridges has a variable thickness (Figure 10), but fails to explicitly disclose the uniform thickness of the wiper being less than a minimal thickness of the variable thickness of each ridge of the plurality of ridges.
There are a number of choices available to a person of ordinary skill in the art for the thickness of the wiper. Either the thickness of the wiper can be less than, equal to, or greater than a minimal thickness of the variable thickness of each ridge of the plurality of ridges. Therefore, “When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under 103” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. __, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). Further, based on Figure 10, the thickness of the wiper visually looks to be less than the smallest of thickness of the plurality of ridges.
Double Patenting
Claim 18-37 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. US 12268414 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims recite the same subject matter.
Regarding claim 18, claim 1 of US 12268414 B2 claims a retention anchor (Col 6, line 47), comprising:
an annular body including a proximally-facing surface disposed at a proximal end of the annular body and a distally-facing surface disposed at a distal end of the annular body (Col 6, line 49-52), an inner side surface of the annular body defining a channel between the proximal end and the distal end for reception and passage of an elongated shaft therethrough (Col 6, line 52-55), the proximally-facing surface defining a proximal opening into the channel at the proximal end of the annular body (Col 6, line 55-57); and
a wiper having a flat distal-facing surface aligned with the distally-facing surface of the annular body to define a distal opening into the channel for establishing a sealed relation about the elongated shaft, the flat distal-facing surface of the wiper is fully capable of being configured to be positioned adjacent to an outer tissue surface of a patient (the limitation is seen as intended use and does not affect the physical structure of the device such that the parent claim would not anticipate the claims), the distal opening having a smaller diameter than the proximal opening (Col 6, line 63- Col 7, line 3).
Regarding claim 19, claim 1 of US 12268414 B2 further claims a plurality of ridges extending radially inward from the inner side surface of the annular body into the channel, wherein each ridge of the plurality of ridges has a flat surface and an angled surface (Col 6, line 58-60).
Regarding claim 20, claim 1 of US 12268414 B2 further claims wherein the angled surface of each ridge of the plurality of ridges defines an acute angle with respect to the flat surface (Col 6, line 60-62).
Regarding claim 21, claim 3 of US 12268414 B2 claims wherein each ridge of the plurality of ridges is longitudinally spaced relative to an adjacent ridge of the plurality of ridges.
Regarding claim 22, claim 4 of US 12268414 B2 claims wherein the flat surface of each ridge of the plurality of ridges is proximally facing.
Regarding claim 23, claim 5 of US 12268414 B2 claims wherein the angled surface of each ridge of the plurality of ridges is distally facing.
Regarding claim 24, claim 2 of US 12268414 B2 claims wherein the inner side surface of the annular body frictionally engages an elongated shaft of a cannula.
Regarding claim 25, claim 6 of US 12268414 B2 claims wherein the wiper includes a disc-shaped body having a flat proximal facing surface and a flat distal facing surface.
Regarding claim 26, claim 7 of US 12268414 B2 claims wherein the wiper has a uniform thickness, wherein each ridge of the plurality of ridges has a variable thickness, and wherein the uniform thickness of the wiper is less than a minimal thickness of the variable thickness of each ridge of the plurality of ridges.
Regarding claim 27, claim 8 of US 12268414 B2 claims wherein the annular body and the wiper are monolithically formed from a common material.
Regarding claim 28, claim 9 of US 12268414 B2 claims wherein the wiper extends radially inward from the inner side surface of the annular body into the channel.
Regarding claim 29 claim 1 of US 12268414 B2 claims a surgical access device (Col 6, line 45), comprising:
a cannula including an elongated shaft (Col 6, line 46); and
a retention anchor movably positioned along the elongated shaft, the retention anchor comprising (Col 6, line 47-49):
an annular body including a proximally-facing surface disposed at a proximal end of the annular body and a distally-facing surface disposed at a distal end of the annular body (Col 6, line 49-52), wherein an inner side surface of the annular body defines a channel between the proximal end and the distal end for reception and passage of the elongated shaft therethrough (Col 6, line 52-55); and
a wiper having a flat distal-facing surface aligned with the distally-facing surface of the annular body to define a distal opening into the channel for establishing a sealed relation about the elongated shaft (Col 6, line 63- Col 7, line 1), the flat distal-facing surface of the wiper is fully capable of being configured to be positioned adjacent to an outer tissue surface of a patient (the limitation is seen as intended use and does not affect the physical structure of the device such that the parent claim would not anticipate the claims).
Regarding claim 30, claim 1 of US 12268414 B2 further claims wherein the proximally-facing surface defines a proximal opening into the channel at the proximal end of the annular body (Col 6, line 55-57), and wherein the distal opening has a smaller diameter than the proximal opening (Col 7, line 1-3).
Regarding claim 31, claim 1 of US 12268414 B2 claims retention anchor further comprising: a plurality of ridges extending radially inward from the inner side surface of the annular body into the channel, wherein each ridge of the plurality of ridges has a flat surface and an angled surface (Col 6, line 58-60).
Regarding claim 32, claim 3 of US 12268414 B2 claims wherein each ridge of the plurality of ridges is longitudinally spaced relative to an adjacent ridge of the plurality of ridges.
Regarding claim 33, claim 4 of US 12268414 B2 claims the flat surface of each ridge of the plurality of ridges is proximally facing.
Regarding claim 34, claim 5 of US 12268414 B2 claims wherein the angled surface of each ridge of the plurality of ridges is distally facing.
Regarding claim 35, claim 6 claims wherein the wiper includes a disc-shaped body having a flat proximal facing surface and a flat distal facing surface.
Regarding claim 36, claim 7 of US 12268414 B2 claims wherein the wiper has a uniform thickness and each ridge of the plurality of ridges has a variable thickness, the uniform thickness of the wiper being less than a minimal thickness of the variable thickness of each ridge of the plurality of ridges.
Regarding claim 37, claim 9 of US 12268414 B2 claims wherein the wiper extends radially inward from the inner side surface of the annular body into the channel.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Z.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/SHAUN L DAVID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771