DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “POWER TRANSMISSION DEVICE WITH PHASE COMPENSATION OF TARGET VOLTAGE CONTROL BASED ON TYPE OF POWER RECEPTION DEVICE”. Other similar titles indicative of the inventive features of the application would also be appropriate.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 objected to because of the following informalities:
Re claim 1, it is recommended the 4th paragraph be amended: “a control unit configured to th to last line should also be amended: “a storage unit that stores the control information…” to consistently refer to the element previously introduced.
Re claim 1, 5th paragraph, the limitation: “phase compensation for adjusting a phase characteristic of a system that charges the second power supply unit” is confusing and lacks basic context/relationship with the components of the power transmission device and power reception device introduced so far. There is no clear relationship of “a system” with the power transmission device or power reception device, and no context for what a “phase characteristic” for the generic system would thus be. Failure to provide further introduction would result in confusion and potentially unintended interpretations of what adjusting the phase characteristic is supposed to mean in this context. It is strongly recommended Applicant amend the claims to provide basic relation to rest of the components introduced, and provide further basic details from the Specification as to the manner in which the control adjusts phase characteristics (i.e., corresponding PGPUB, US2025/0289327: [0048-0051], Figs. 2, and similar appear to suggest that voltage comparator output is provided to a PID compensator which has its phase margin between input and output of control target provided by transfer function to thereby control the power conversion unit). It is noted that introduction of “a system” and its relationships does not appear necessary unless referring to a transfer function representing input power to transmitter side in relationship to output voltage on the receiving side as in claim 4 (PGPUB: [0045]). Failure to adequately provide corresponding details of the manner of phase compensation would potentially raise issues under 35 USC 112 if the scope of the recitation becomes unclear or is insufficiently supported by Applicant’s Specification. See also further suggestions in the Conclusion.
Re claim 2, it is recommended the claim be amended: “wherein the power transmission device is configured to .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Specific reference is made to corresponding PGPUB (US2025/0289327). Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
power transmission unit: in claim 1, corresponding to coil and resonant circuit for power transmission, and equivalents thereof (see PGPUB: [0031], Fig. 1-2, 4-5).
power conversion unit: in claim 1, corresponding to a power conversion circuit and equivalents thereof (see PGPUB: [0030], Fig. 1-2, 4-5).
control unit: in claim 1, corresponding to a processor/CPU/control device and equivalents thereof (see PGPUB: [0035], Figs. 1-2, 4-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanishi (US2021/0399583) in view of Draak (US2022/0337093).
Re claim 1. Nakanishi teaches a power transmission device (transmitting side components, see Nakanishi: [0040-0042], Figs. 1, 3) comprising:
a power transmission unit (coil <3> and resonance capacitors <11>, see Nakanishi: [0041-0042], Figs. 2-3) configured to transmit power to a power reception device (receiving side components, see Nakanishi: [0040-0042], Figs. 1, 3 regarding inductive wireless power transmission) by contactless power transmission;
a power conversion unit (DC/AC conversion circuit <2>) configured to generate supply power to be supplied to the power transmission unit using power of a first power supply unit (battery <101>, see Nakanishi: [0042], [0047-0048], Fig. 3 regarding wireless power transmission operation), and supply the supply power to the power transmission unit; and
a control unit (control device <14>, see Nakanishi: [0043], Fig. 3) configured to be allowed to acquire information about a terminal voltage (load voltage information <VX> about load voltage <V>, see Nakanishi: [0050], Fig. 3) of a second power supply unit (AC/DC conversion circuit <5>) charged with power received by the power reception device and control the power conversion unit, and configured to execute power feeding control for controlling the supply power via the power conversion unit such that the terminal voltage comes to a target voltage (voltage command value, see Nakanishi: [0050-0051], Fig. 3 regarding control device receiving load voltage information <VX> by wireless communication and control of DC/AC conversion circuit <2> such that the voltage reaches the set voltage command value),
wherein the power feeding control includes phase compensation for adjusting a phase characteristic of a system that charges the second power supply unit (see Nakanishi: [0050-0051], Fig. 3 regarding phase shift control of DC/AC conversion circuit, i.e. phase compensation for adjusting a phase characteristic of a system, as part of the voltage feedback control), and
the control unit is configured to:
acquire control information required for the phase compensation; and
perform the phase compensation based on the acquired control information (see Nakanishi: [0050-0051], Fig. 3 regarding phase shift control of DC/AC conversion circuit). See Nakanishi: [0040-0051], Figs. 1-3.
Although Nakanishi generally mentions the transmission device efficiency may be affected by different loads (see Nakanishi: [0068]), Nakanishi does not explicitly disclose the transmission device acquiring information about the type of power reception device and control information based thereon to adjust the phase compensation. Draak, however, teaches that it is known in the art of wireless power transmission devices in communication with receiver for feedback control to include operations to acquire type information indicating a type of a power reception device to which power is to be transmitted (see Draak: [0159-0163], Fig. 2 regarding transmitter acquiring receiver type identity information from receiver), acquire control information corresponding to the power reception device to which the power transmission device transmits power, based on the type information, from a storage unit that stores control information required for the compensation for each type of the power reception device (see Draak: [0107], [0167-0175], Fig. 2 regarding using type identity to retrieve configuration information from external server that may be used to calculate properties of the receiver and suitable adjustments/coupling coefficient/transfer function for the power transmission driving/converter control to provide desired power supply to load); and perform the compensation based on the acquired control information (see Draak: [0107], [0167-0175], Fig. 2 regarding using calculated properties of the receiver to determine suitable adjustments/coupling coefficient/transfer function for the power transmission driving/converter control to provide desired power supply to load). One of ordinary skill would thus appreciate that Draak suggests that the acquired type information may be used to acquire further information such as transfer functions to provide adjustment/compensation to the normal power feedback to target value control of the power transmission device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Nakanishi to incorporate the teachings of Draak by having the control unit further acquire type information and further control information to compensate the phase control of Nakanishi based on different receiver properties for purposes of allowing the power transmission device to adjust operation to account for different types of receivers which may have different wireless power coupling properties that would require different adjustments to power transmission control to regulate to desired values (see Draak: [0107], [0167-0175], Fig. 2). Note the combination generally results in the compensation based on the acquired control information being a form of phase compensation since Nakanishi controls its power conversion unit by phase shift control as discussed above.
Re claim 2. Nakanishi in view of Draak teaches the power transmission device according to claim 1, wherein the power transmission device is configured to be allowed to communicate with a server via a network, and the storage unit is provided in the server (see Draak: [0167], Fig. 2 regarding control information stored in external server/database which transmitter accessed by Internet).
Re claim 3. Nakanishi in view of Draak teaches the power transmission device according to claim 2, wherein the control unit includes a compensator configured to perform the phase compensation, and the control information is information indicating a setting value of the compensator (see Nakanishi: [0050-0051], Fig. 3; Draak: [0107], [0167-0175], Fig. 2 regarding transmission converter controller including components to calculate suitable compensation/adjustments to control based on coupling coefficient/transfer function corresponding to set values for variables being controlled; note generally the claim provides no context or structure for the compensator or manner of phase compensation as discussed in the Objection).
Re claim 4. Nakanishi in view of Draak teaches the power transmission device according to claim 2, wherein the control unit includes a compensator configured to perform the phase compensation, the control information is transfer function information related to a transfer function of the system, and the control unit generates information indicating a setting value of the compensator based on the acquired transfer function information (see Nakanishi: [0050-0051], Fig. 3; Draak: [0107], [0167-0175], Fig. 2 regarding transmission converter controller including components to calculate suitable compensation/adjustments to control based on deriving a transfer function corresponding to set values for variables being controlled; note generally the claim provides no context or structure for the compensator, details of transfer function, or how the transfer function affects the phase compensation as discussed in the Objection).
Re claim 5. Nakanishi in view of Draak teaches the power transmission device according to claim 4, but does not explicitly discuss the specific properties/form of the transfer function. Official Notice is hereby taken that it is well-known in the art of system control for transfer functions to include poles and zeros, and that it is known that transfer functions may be represented to include this information. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Nakanishi in view of Draak such that the determined transfer function information includes information indicating a pole and a zero of the transfer function for purposes of providing known means for representing properties/behavior of the transfer function such that it can be predictably used for the power transmission control adjustment as recited (see Draak: [0173-0175], Fig. 2).
Re claim 6. Nakanishi in view of Draak teaches the power transmission device according to claim 1, wherein the power transmission device is provided in a vehicle (see Nakanishi: [0002], [0042], Fig. 3). Nakanishi in view of Draak does not explicitly disclose the battery drives a motor of the vehicle, but it is strongly implied given disclosure of an EV/PHEV that the battery would drive the vehicle motor given common knowledge in the art. Official Notice is also taken that it is very well-known in the art of electric vehicles to have the main vehicle battery drive the vehicle motor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system of Nakanishi in view of Draak to further include having an electric motor as a drive source driven by power of the first power supply unit for purposes of providing well-known electric vehicle arrangement that predictably enables electric driving of vehicle motor from vehicle battery which may also be operated for vehicle-to-home power transmission.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanishi (US2021/0399583) in view of Draak (US2022/0337093), as applied respectively above, further in view of Omori (US2022/0037926).
Re claim 7. Nakanishi in view of Draak teaches the power transmission device according to claim 1, and although discloses arrangement for power transmission from vehicle to ground (see Nakanishi: [0002], [0042], [0045]), does not describe transmission in the opposite direction to charge the vehicle. Those of ordinary skill would know it is very well-known in the art of vehicle to home systems enabling transmission to location where vehicle is parked that the system usually also allows charging of the vehicle from the parked location. Omori, for example, teaches that it is known for such vehicle-to-home/V2H/V2G transmission systems to be bidirectional with transmission feedback control provided on both sides which can both act as power transmission device, thus having arrangement wherein the power transmission device is provided in a place where a vehicle is allowed to be parked, the vehicle having the power reception device and an electric motor as a drive source driven by power of the second power supply unit (see Omori: [0002], [0052-0053], Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Nakanishi in view of Draak to incorporate the teachings of Omori by applying and duplicating the transmission control system to also be mirrored on the ground side as suggested by Omori for purposes of predictably enabling controlled power transmission in both directions for a V2G system depending on power needs of the vehicle and home.
Additionally, although Nakanishi in view of Draak, further in view of Omori, does not explicitly disclose the battery drives a motor of the vehicle, it is strongly implied given disclosure of an EV/PHEV that the battery would drive the vehicle motor given common knowledge in the art. Official Notice is also taken that it is very well-known in the art of electric vehicles to have the main vehicle battery drive the vehicle motor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system of Nakanishi in view of Draak, further in view of Omori to further include having an electric motor as a drive source driven by power of the second power supply unit for purposes of providing well-known electric vehicle arrangement that predictably enables electric driving of vehicle motor from vehicle battery which may also be operated for vehicle-to-home power transmission.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-5 of copending Application No. 19/062035, hereinafter Reference Application, in view of Draak (US2022/0337093).
Re claim 1, Reference Application claims 1, 3-4 recites essentially the same limitations (note the “acquired control information” corresponds to the transfer function information in Reference Application claim 4, and phase compensation for adjusting a phase characteristic corresponds to the associated phase margin in Reference Application claim 4), but does not explicitly recite that the control information is acquired from a storage unit based on acquired type information of the type of a power reception device. Draak, however, teaches that it is known in the art of wireless power transmission devices in communication with receiver for feedback control to include operations to acquire type information indicating a type of a power reception device to which power is to be transmitted (see Draak: [0159-0163], Fig. 2 regarding transmitter acquiring receiver type identity information from receiver), acquire control information corresponding to the power reception device to which the power transmission device transmits power, based on the type information, from a storage unit that stores control information required for the compensation for each type of the power reception device (see Draak: [0167-0175], Fig. 2 regarding using type identity to retrieve configuration information from external server). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Reference Application to incorporate the teachings of Draak by having the control unit further acquire type information in order to acquire corresponding control information for purposes of providing known predictable means for the power transmission device to retrieve associated characteristic information of the wireless power receiver without requiring direct data storage and transmission on the receiver or transmitter (see Draak: [0167-0175], Fig. 2).
Re claim 2, Reference Application in view of Draak teaches the further limitations (see Draak: [0167], Fig. 2 regarding control information stored in external server/database which transmitter accessed by Internet).
Re claims 3-5, Reference Application in view of Draak teaches the further limitations (see Reference Application claims 3-4).
Re claim 6, Reference Application in view of Draak teaches the further limitations (see Reference Application claim 5).
Re claim 7, Reference Application in view of Draak teaches general application to vehicle charging systems (see Reference Application claim 5) but does not explicitly recite arrangement where transmission device charges vehicle. Official Notice is hereby taken that it is well-known in V2H/V2G systems for the system to be bidirectional and have similarly charging of the vehicle, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply/duplicate the transmission device components on the vehicle charger side to predictably provide the same feedback control benefits for wireless power transmission to the vehicle.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-7 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 7 of copending Application No. 19/062032, hereinafter Reference Application, in view of Draak (US2022/0337093).
Re claim 1, Reference Application claims 1-3 recites essentially the same limitations (note the “acquired control information” corresponds to the transfer function information in Reference Application claims 2-3, and phase compensation for adjusting a phase characteristic corresponds to the associated phase margin in Reference Application claim 3), but does not explicitly recite that the control information is acquired from a storage unit based on acquired type information of the type of a power reception device. Draak, however, teaches that it is known in the art of wireless power transmission devices in communication with receiver for feedback control to include operations to acquire type information indicating a type of a power reception device to which power is to be transmitted (see Draak: [0159-0163], Fig. 2 regarding transmitter acquiring receiver type identity information from receiver), acquire control information corresponding to the power reception device to which the power transmission device transmits power, based on the type information, from a storage unit that stores control information required for the compensation for each type of the power reception device (see Draak: [0167-0175], Fig. 2 regarding using type identity to retrieve configuration information from external server). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Reference Application to incorporate the teachings of Draak by having the control unit further acquire type information in order to acquire corresponding control information for purposes of providing known predictable means for the power transmission device to retrieve associated characteristic information of the wireless power receiver without requiring direct data storage and transmission on the receiver or transmitter (see Draak: [0167-0175], Fig. 2).
Re claim 2, Reference Application in view of Draak teaches the further limitations (see Draak: [0167], Fig. 2 regarding control information stored in external server/database which transmitter accessed by Internet).
Re claims 3-5, Reference Application in view of Draak teaches the further limitations (see Reference Application claims 2-3).
Re claim 6, Reference Application in view of Draak teaches the further limitations (see Reference Application claim 7).
Re claim 7, Reference Application in view of Draak teaches general application to vehicle charging systems (see Reference Application claim 7) but does not explicitly recite arrangement where transmission device charges vehicle. Official Notice is hereby taken that it is well-known in V2H/V2G systems for the system to be bidirectional and have similarly charging of the vehicle, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply/duplicate the transmission device components on the vehicle charger side to predictably provide the same feedback control benefits for wireless power transmission to the vehicle.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
In summary, it is recommended Applicant amend the claims to address the noted Objections, and consider providing further details to the particular manner that special control information such as the transfer function in claim 4 is specifically applied to adjust phase characteristic for control of the power conversion unit consistent with Applicant’s Specification/Drawings in order to clearly distinguish from similar prior art of record. For example, Applicant is recommended to consider further details in corresponding PGPUB (US2025/0289327): [0048-0051], Figs. 2 to provide a more accurate and clear description of the manner in which the transfer function is applied to adjust phase characteristics of the control system that drives switching of the power conversion unit. Applicant should also address the Provisional Double Patenting rejections as appropriate. Applicant may contact the Examiner to discuss possible amendments or the office action as needed.
/DAVID A SHIAO/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/DANIEL CAVALLARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836