DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,254,864. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 - 20 of the instant application are similar in scope and content of the claims of the cited US patent.
It would have been obvious to an artisan at the time the invention was made to use the teaching of claims 1 – 20 of the '864' Patent as a general teaching for predicting new encoded speech sequences, to perform method as claimed in the present invention. The instant claims obviously encompass the claimed invention of the '864' Patent and differ only in the method steps. The extent that the instant claims are broaden and therefore generic to claimed invention of '864' Patent [species], In re Goodman 29 USPQ 2d 2010 CAFC 1993, states that a generic claim cannot be issued without a terminal disclaimer, if a species claim has been previously been claimed in a patent. And since the structure is as recited, the method step is obtained and therefore, obvious.
Here is a comparison between claim 1 of the instant application and claim 5 of the cited patent (12,254,864).
Instant Application 19/060,895
Cited Patent 12,254,864
Comparison
1. A computer-implemented method, comprising:
5. A method comprising:
Same
receiving first audio data representing first speech;
receiving first audio data representing first speech;
Same
generating, using the first audio data, first encoded data representing semantic information and feature data of the first speech;
generating, using the first audio data, first encoded data representing semantic
information and feature data of the first speech;
Same
processing the first encoded data using a computer model to generate second encoded data, the second encoded data representing a predicted continuation of the first speech, wherein the computer model is trained to predict a subsequent portion of encoded audio data based on a preceding portion of encoded audio data; and
training a computer model to predict a subsequent portion of the first encoded data based on a preceding portion of the first encoded data; receiving second audio data representing second speech; processing the second encoded data using the computer model to generate third encoded data, the third encoded data representing a predicted continuation of the second speech; and
Similar
generating, using the second encoded data, second audio data representing first synthesized speech having voice characteristics similar to those of the first speech.
generating, using the second audio data, second encoded data representing semantic information and feature data of the second speech; generating, using the third encoded data, third audio data representing first synthesized speech having voice characteristics similar to those of the second speech.
Similar
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haidar et al. (US PAP 2022/0122590) in view of Finkelstein et al. (US PAP 2022/0051654).
As per claims 1, 11, Haidar et al. teach computer-implemented method/system, comprising:
receiving first audio data representing first speech ("obtaining an input speech sequence that comprises an input set of speech frame feature vectors that each represent a respective speech frame that corresponds to a respective time step"; paragraph 11);
generating, using the first audio data, first encoded data representing semantic information and feature data of the first speech ("processing the input speech sequence, using a subsampling operation of the encoder NN, into the first speech sequence, wherein the first speech sequence includes fewer speech frame feature vectors than the input speech sequence."; paragraphs 11-14);
processing the first encoded data using a computer model to generate second encoded data, the second encoded data representing a predicted of the first speech ("transform the second speech sequence, using a self-attention operation of the encoder NN, into a third speech sequence that comprises a third set of speech frame feature vectors; process the third speech sequence, using a probability operation of the encoder NN, to predict a sequence of first labels corresponding to the third set of speech frame feature vectors; and process the third speech sequence using a decoder NN to predict a sequence of second labels corresponding to the third set of speech frame feature vectors."; paragraphs 17- 19);
wherein the computer model is trained to predict a subsequent portion of encoded audio data based on a preceding portion of encoded audio data ("during a training stage of the encoder NN and the decoder NN: computing a loss function based on the predicted sequence of first labels and the predicted sequence of second labels; performing back propagation using gradient decent to update learnable parameters of the decoder NN and the encoder NN to reduce the loss function. "; paragraphs 7 - 10).
However, Haidar et al. do not specifically teach predicted continuation speech; generating, using the second encoded data, second audio data representing first synthesized speech having voice characteristics similar to those of the first speech.
Finkelstein et al. teach providing the intermediate synthesized speech representation to the second TTS model includes providing the sequence of fixed-length reference frames sampled from the intermediate synthesized speech representation to the encoder portion, whereby the encoder portion is configured to encode the sequence of fixed-length reference frames into the utterance embedding. The prosodic features that represent the intended prosody possessed by the intermediate synthesized speech representation may include duration, pitch contour… the corresponding utterance embedding into a sequence of fixed-length predicted frames providing a prosodic representation of the input text utterance. Here, the prosodic representation represents the intended prosody specified by the utterance embedding. The second TTS model may be trained so that a number of the fixed-length predicted frames decoded by the decoder portion is equal to a number of the fixed-length reference frames sampled from the intermediate synthesized speech representation (decoding portion is equal to a number of the fixed-length reference frames sampled from the intermediate synthesized speech representation implies continuation of the speech; paragraphs 5, 6, see also 60- 63).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to generate synthesized speech having voice characteristics as taught by Finkelstein et al. in Haidar et al., because that would help improve the naturalness of synthesized speech and provide potential for robustly synthesizing speech (paragraph 29, lines 6, 7).
As per claims 2, 12, Haidar et al. in view of Finkelstein et al. further disclose processing the first encoded data using a computer model comprises processing the first encoded data using a language model (“trained RNN language model”; Haidar et al., paragraphs 77, 93).
As per claims 3, 13, Haidar et al. in view of Finkelstein et al. further disclose the first audio data is captured by a first device and the method further comprises: using, by the first device, a vocoder to generate the second audio data (“during a training stage of the encoder NN and the decoder NN”; Haidar et al., paragraphs 7 – 9; Finkelstein et al. paragraphs 58, 59).
As per claims 4, 14, Haidar et al. in view of Finkelstein et al. further disclose receiving, by the computer model, an input prompt, wherein the input prompt corresponds to a request to generate the first synthesized speech (“using a first text-to-speech (TTS) model, an intermediate synthesized speech representation for the input text utterance. The intermediate synthesized speech representation possesses the intended prosody. The method also includes providing, by the data processing hardware, the intermediate synthesized speech representation to a second TTS model including an encoder portion and a decoder portion.”; Finkelstein et al., Abstract, paragraphs 4 – 16).
As per claims 5, 15, Haidar et al. in view of Finkelstein et al. further disclose receiving, an indication that the input prompt corresponds to a particular speaker identity associated with the voice characteristics (“features containing information about a speaker, a gender of the speaker, and/or whether the utterance is a question or phrase.”; Finkelstein et al., paragraphs 4 – 16, 29 - 39).
As per claims 6, 16, Haidar et al. in view of Finkelstein et al. further disclose generating second audio data representing the first synthesized speech comprises generating a prediction of a continuation of the first speech (“the corresponding utterance embedding into a sequence of fixed-length predicted frames providing a prosodic representation of the input text utterance. Here, the prosodic representation represents the intended prosody specified by the utterance embedding. The second TTS model may be trained so that a number of the fixed-length predicted frames decoded by the decoder portion is equal to a number of the fixed-length reference frames sampled from the intermediate synthesized speech representation”; Finkelstein et al., paragraphs 4 – 16, 29 - 39).
As per claims 7, 17, Haidar et al. in view of Finkelstein et al. further disclose determining, using the second encoded data, first data representing a first transcript of the predicted continuation of the first speech; processing the first data using a TTS model to generate third audio data representing second synthesized speech; and
training the TTS model based on processing the second audio data and the third audio data (Finkelstein et al., paragraphs 4 – 16, 29 - 39).
As per claims 8, 18, Haidar et al. in view of Finkelstein et al. further disclose receiving second data representing a second transcript of content to be output as synthesized speech having second voice characteristics of second speech; and processing the second data using the trained TTS model to generate fourth audio data representing third synthesized speech having the second voice characteristics of the second speech (Finkelstein et al., paragraphs 4 – 16, 29 - 39).
As per claims 9, 19, Haidar et al. in view of Finkelstein et al. further disclose prior to receiving the first audio data: receiving third audio data representing third speech;
generating, using the third audio data, third encoded data representing semantic information and feature data of the first speech; and training the computer model to predict a subsequent portion of the third encoded data based on a preceding portion of the third encoded data ("transform the second speech sequence, using a self-attention operation of the encoder NN, into a third speech sequence that comprises a third set of speech frame feature vectors; process the third speech sequence, using a probability operation of the encoder NN, to predict a sequence of first labels corresponding to the third set of speech frame feature vectors; and process the third speech sequence using a decoder NN to predict a sequence of second labels corresponding to the third set of speech frame feature vectors."; Haidar et al., paragraphs 11 – 19).
As per claims 10, 20, Haidar et al. in view of Finkelstein et al. further disclose performing ASR processing on the third audio data to generate ASR output data, the ASR output data including at least a first indication of a first phoneme and a second indication of a second phoneme; determining a first portion of the third encoded data that represents a first portion of the third audio data corresponding to the first phoneme; and determining a second portion of the third encoded data that represents a second portion of the third audio data corresponding to the second phoneme (“the encoder portion may be configured to encode the sequence of fixed-length reference frames into the utterance embedding by, for each syllable in the intermediate synthesized speech representation encoding phone-level linguistic features associated with each phoneme in the syllable into a phoneme feature-based syllable embedding…The encoder portion 300a includes hierarchical levels of reference frames 211, phonemes”: Finkelstein et al., paragraphs 4 – 16, 29 – 39, 48).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hakkani-Tur et al. teach token level utterance encodings corresponding to different tokens of transcription. Wu et al. teach voice synthesis method, model training method. Zhang et al. teach speech processing method, wherein speech synthesis model includes a plurality of encoders. Lim et al. teach generating a second audio signal using linear prediction coefficients. Kao et al. teach predicting a subsequent portion of audio data (e.g., a subsequent frame of audio data).
/LEONARD SAINT-CYR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2658