DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application 19/060,897 filed on 02/24/2025.
Claims 1-19 have been examined and are pending in this application.
first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Election/Restrictions
For the record, the Examiner acknowledges that NO restrictions warranted at applicants
initial time of filing for patent.
Priority
This application claims priority under 35 U.S.C. §119 from German Patent
Application No. 10 2024 105 933.8, filed March 1, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
For the record, NO information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on initial time of filing for patent.
Oath/Declaration
For the record, the Examiner acknowledges that the Oath/Declaration submitted on
03/20/2025 has been accepted.
Drawings
For the record, the Examiner acknowledges that the drawings filed on 02/24/2025 has
been accepted.
Specification
For the record, the Examiner acknowledges that the Applicant's specification filed on
02/24/2025 has been accepted.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 4; the acronyms ‘CCC’ used without spelling out in full at their first occurrences in the claim.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Sun, Pub. No.: US 2024/0317179.
Referring to claim 1, Sun teaches a method for communicating data between a terminal, which has a first signature key pair for a vehicle, and the vehicle (abstract, para. 0056 communication between a terminal device and a device/vehicle which includes key management/CA signature), the method comprising:
providing a vehicle encryption key pair in the vehicle for encrypting the data during transmission between the terminal and the vehicle (paras. 0046-0047, TA element used for data encryption);
providing a terminal encryption key pair in the terminal for encrypting the data during transmission between the terminal and the vehicle (paras. 0046-0047, 0051, TA element is for encryption);
transmitting a public vehicle encryption key of the vehicle encryption key pair from the vehicle to the terminal (para. 0055 and fig. 5, At step 53, in a case that the key activating condition is satisfied, the vehicle transmits a vehicle public key certificate [F] to the terminal device );
combining a public terminal encryption key of the terminal encryption key pair with an identification feature of the terminal or a third party (para. 0047; TA element can also be used to verify user identity; para. 0100, and fig. 8, step 87, verifying an identity of the vehicle and preventing counterfeit vehicles from obtaining information of the mobile terminal);
transmitting the combined public terminal encryption key from the terminal to the vehicle (paras. 0055, 0058, the vehicle transmits a vehicle public key certificate [F] to the terminal device);
verifying the identification feature of the combined public terminal encryption key by means of the vehicle (paras. 0047, 0056 and fig. 5, steps 541-543); and
encrypting communication between the vehicle and the terminal via the third party based on the vehicle encryption key and the terminal encryption key (abstract, paras. 0046-0047 and fig. 4, 0056 and fig. 5, the communication device comprises an encryption white box element for communication).
Referring to claim 2, Sun further teaches wherein the public vehicle encryption key is integrated in a configuration data container of the vehicle for transmission from the vehicle to the terminal (paras. 0046-0047, encryption white box).
Referring to claim 3, Sun further teaches wherein the public vehicle encryption key is integrated in a vehicle key certificate for transmission from the vehicle to the terminal (paras. 0046-0047, 0056; vehicle public key certificate to the encryption white box.).
Referring to claim 4, Sun further teaches wherein the public vehicle encryption key is integrated in a certificate extension according to the CCC standard for transmission from the vehicle to the terminal (para. 0043, digital vehicle key/CCC).
Referring to claim 5, Sun further teaches wherein during the combining, the terminal combines the public terminal encryption key with a public first signature key of the first signature key pair as an identification feature of the terminal in a key certificate, wherein an object identifier for the public first signature key and an object identifier for the public terminal encryption key are integrated in the key certificate, and the key certificate is transmitted to the vehicle for transmission of the public terminal encryption key (abstract, paras. 0055-0058, key management element CA signature).
Referring to claim 6, Sun further teaches wherein during the combining, the terminal combines the public terminal encryption key with a public first signature key of the first signature key pair as an identification feature of the terminal in a key certificate, wherein an object identifier for the public first signature key and an object identifier for the public terminal encryption key are integrated in the key certificate, and the key certificate is transmitted to the vehicle for transmission of the public terminal encryption key (abstract, paras. 0055-0058, key management element CA signature).
Referring to claim 7, Sun further teaches wherein for combining the public terminal encryption key with the identification feature of the third party, the terminal first sends the public terminal encryption key to the third party, the third party returns an attestation containing the public terminal encryption key to the terminal, and the terminal sends the attestation containing the public terminal encryption key to the vehicle (abstract, paras. 0055-0058, key management element CA signature).
Referring to claim 8, Sun further teaches wherein for combining the public terminal encryption key with the identification feature of the third party, the terminal first sends the public terminal encryption key to the third party, the third party returns an attestation containing the public terminal encryption key to the terminal, and the terminal sends the attestation containing the public terminal encryption key to the vehicle (abstract, paras. 0055-0058, key management element CA signature).
Referring to claim 9, Sun further teaches wherein the attestation is provided with a signature of the third party (paras. 0055-0058, key management element CA signature).
Referring to claim 10, Sun further teaches wherein the attestation is provided with a signature of the third party (paras. 0055-0058, key management element CA signature).
Referring to claim 11, This claim is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 12, Sun further teaches wherein the terminal transmits the public vehicle encryption key in a vehicle configuration file within a key generation request to the second device (paras. 0046-0047, encryption white box).
Referring to claim 13, Sun further teaches wherein a) after verifying the public second signature key and the public second device encryption key, the third party returns a signed version of the public second device encryption key to the second device, and the second device sends the signed version of the public second device encryption key to the vehicle for verification, and/or b) after verifying the public second signature key and the public second device encryption key, the third party returns a signed version of the public second device encryption key directly to the vehicle for verification (paras. 0056 and fig. 5, after successful verification….).
Referring to claim 14, Sun further teaches wherein a) after verifying the public second signature key and the public second device encryption key, the third party returns a signed version of the public second device encryption key to the second device, and the second device sends the signed version of the public second device encryption key to the vehicle for verification, and/or b) after verifying the public second signature key and the public second device encryption key, the third party returns a signed version of the public second device encryption key directly to the vehicle for verification (paras. 0056 and fig. 5, after successful verification….).
Referring to claim 15, Sun further teaches wherein the second device sends the signed version of the public second device encryption key, together with a second device signature key of the second device, to the vehicle (paras. 0057, 0060-0061 and fig. 5, steps 581-583).
Referring to claim 16, Sun further teaches wherein the second device sends the signed version of the public second device encryption key, together with a second device signature key of the second device, to the vehicle (paras. 0057, 0060-0061 and fig. 5, steps 581-583).
Referring to claim 17, Sun further teaches comprising: communicating data between a second device, which has a second signature key pair for the vehicle, and the vehicle (abstract, para. 0056 communication between a terminal device and a device/vehicle which includes key management/CA signature),, including: transmitting the public vehicle encryption key from the terminal to the second device (para. 0055 and fig. 5, At step 53, in a case that the key activating condition is satisfied, the vehicle transmits a vehicle public key certificate [F] to the terminal device ); providing a second device encryption key pair in the second device for encrypting the data during transmission between the second device and the vehicle (paras. 0046-0047, TA element used for data encryption); transmitting a public second signature key of the second signature key pair and a public second device encryption key to a third party (paras. 0055, 0058, the vehicle transmits a vehicle public key certificate [F] to the terminal device); signing the public second device encryption key by the third party; sending the signed public second device encryption key from the third party to the vehicle (paras. 0057, 0060-0061 and fig. 5, steps 581-583); and encrypting communication between the vehicle and the second device via the third party based on the vehicle encryption key and the second device encryption key (abstract, paras. 0046-0047 and fig. 4, 0056 and fig. 5, the communication device comprises an encryption white box element for communication).
Referring to claim 18, This claim is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 19, This claim is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the attached PTO-892.
/YONAS A BAYOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499 07/02/2026