Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8583932 to Furukawa in view of US 20130117824 to Naslund.
Regarding claim 1,
Furukawa teaches a computer-implemented method performed by an authentication system for authenticating a computing device, the method comprising:
receiving, from a third-party entity system, a request to authenticate a user, wherein the request to authenticate the user includes a set of credentials provided by the user as part of a login procedure for an application associated with the third-party entity system (receiving input including credential to authenticate user at device 30 of fig. 8; see col. 15-16);
generating an authentication identifier based on the set of credentials and a cryptographically secure hash function (col. 15-16, fig. 8, generation of ID based on credentials and hash function);
obtain a stored authentication identifier (col. 15-16, col: 17:1-15, obtaining stored ID);
comparing the authentication identifier to the stored authentication identifier (col 16:25-67; col. 17:1-15); and
communicating an authentication decision to the third-party entity system based at least in part on said comparing, wherein the authentication decision indicates an approval of the user based on a determination that the authentication identifier matches the stored authentication identifier, wherein the authentication decision indicates a denial of the user based on a determination that the authentication identifier does not match the stored authentication identifier (col. 16:25-67, output of authentication decision; col. 17:1-15).
Furukawa fails to teach but Naslund teaches:
creating a decryption key based on the set of credentials (¶ 24, generation of decryption key based on credentials; ¶ 13, access request including credentials); and
decrypting client authentication data using the decryption key to obtain a stored authentication identifier (¶ 28, decrypting client data using decryption key to obtain stored ID);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Naslund. The motivation to do so is that the teachings of Naslund would have been advantageous in terms of preserving privacy and the provision of user authentication, access control, and accountability capabilities (Naslund, abstract, ¶ 11).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furukawa and Naslund in view of US 20180183608 to Koyun.
Regarding claim 2,
Furukawa fails to teach but Koyun teaches:
wherein the decryption key is assigned an expiration period, wherein the authentication decision indicates a denial of the user based on a determination that the expiration period is expired (¶ 90-92, denial based on expired decryption key).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Koyun. The motivation to do so is that the teachings of Koyun would have been advantageous in terms of facilitating secure transmission of data objects (Koyun, ¶ 4-12).
CONCLUSION
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RYAN J JAKOVAC whose telephone number is (571)270-5003. The examiner can normally be reached on 8-4 PM EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Oscar A. Louie can be reached on 572-270-1684. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/RYAN J JAKOVAC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445