Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 9, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the minimum wall thickness of the body portion". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the maximum wall thickness of the body portion". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the maximum wall thickness in the neck portion". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 11 recites the limitation "the maximum wall thickness in the neck portion". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 5,874,141 (Matsui hereinafter).
In re claim 1, with reference to Fig. 1 below, Matsui discloses: An injection molded (“injection molding” column 4, lines 11-17) plastic (“suitable plastic”, “PET” column 4, lines 20-23) container, comprising: a base portion (15/16) configured to support the plastic container on a surface, the base portion including an outer peripheral edge portion (16) and a central base portion (15) disposed inwardly from the outer peripheral edge portion; a body portion (at 11) extending above the base portion; and a neck portion (13) extending above the body portion, the neck portion including a formation (“threads” T) configured to receive a cap or closure (column 4, lines 25-29); wherein the body portion and the base portion are not biaxially oriented (interpreted as a result of blow molding, parison 10 shown in Fig. 1 has not been blow molded); and a wall thickness of the neck portion, excluding the formation, is less than a minimum wall thickness of the base portion (see fig. 1 below where the claimed relative size limitations are clearly gleaned from the disclosure).
[AltContent: textbox (Wall Thickness of Neck Portion)]
[AltContent: textbox (Min Wall Thickness of Body Portion)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Min Wall Thickness of Base Portion)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: ]
In re claim 2, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Matsui discloses the claimed invention including wherein the formation in the neck portion comprises threading (at “T”, see in re claim 1 above).
In re claim 3, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Matsui discloses the claimed invention including wherein the plastic container comprises a jar (the term “jar” does not apply any further structural limitations to the container, and the shape of Fig. 1 above can be considered to be a jar inasmuch as is taught by Applicant’s specification in paragraph 0075, there being no special definition of the term).
In re claims 4, 5, and 6, with reference to the figs. Noted above, Matsui discloses the claimed invention including wherein a ratio of an outer diameter of the container to an overall length/height of the container is about 0.70 or greater (though absent specific literal teaching of the claimed ratio, the container shown in fig. 1 above is clearly greater in outer diameter than it is in height, and therefore has at least such a ratio of greater than 1.0, which satisfies the 0.7 or greater, 0.75 or greater, and 0.8 or greater limitations of the claims).
In re claim 7, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Matsui discloses the claimed invention including wherein the wall thickness of the neck portion, excluding the formation, is less than the minimum wall thickness of the body portion (see fig. 1 above).
In re claim 17, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Matsui discloses the claimed invention including wherein the base portion has a variable wall thickness (i.e. at portions 15 and 16, see Fig. 1 above).
In re claim 18, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Matsui discloses the claimed invention including wherein the base portion has a maximum thickness at or about an outer edge portion (at 16) of the base portion (see Fig. 1 above).
In re claim 19, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Matsui discloses the claimed invention including wherein the central base portion includes a raised central portion (at recess 17, see Fig. 1 above).
In re claim 20, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Matsui discloses the claimed invention including wherein the plastic comprises polyethylene terephthalate (PET) (as in re claim 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsui.
In re claims 8 and 10, with reference to the figs. Noted above, Matsui discloses the claimed invention including wherein the minimum wall thickness of the base portion (at portion 15) is greater than a maximum wall thickness of the neck portion, excluding the formation (see Fig. 1 above), and the base portion has a wall thickness in at least a portion thereof (at 16) that is greater than the maximum wall thickness in the neck portion, excluding the formation (see Fig. 1 above), but not specifically wherein the minimum wall thickness of the base portion is at least 1.09 times a maximum wall thickness of the neck portion, excluding the formation, and the base portion has a wall thickness in at least a portion thereof that is more than two times the maximum wall thickness in the neck portion, excluding the formation
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have minimally tailored the dimensions/proportions of the wall thicknesses as claimed while retaining essentially the same proportions as shown in Matsui, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, paragraph 0058, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations/ratios.
In re claim 9, with reference to the figs. Noted above, Matsui discloses the claimed invention except wherein the minimum wall thickness of the base portion is at least 1.12 times the maximum wall thickness of the body portion.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have slightly modified the relative thicknesses of the base and body, since the court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant (MPEP 2144.04, IV, B). Please note that in the instant application, paragraph 0058, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations/ratio.
In re claim 11, with reference to the figs. Noted above, Matsui discloses the claimed invention including wherein at least a portion of the body portion has a wall thickness that is greater than the maximum wall thickness in the neck portion, excluding the formation (see Fig. 1 above), but not specifically wherein at least a portion of the body portion has a wall thickness that is more than 1.43 times the maximum wall thickness in the neck portion, excluding the formation.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have minimally tailored the dimensions/proportions of the wall thicknesses of the body portion and neck portion as claimed while retaining essentially the same proportions as shown in Matsui, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, paragraph 0058, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations/ratios.
Claim(s) 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsui as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US PG Pub No. 2014/0069884 (Paredes hereinafter).
In re claim 12, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Matsui discloses the claimed invention except wherein in cross section, at least a portion of the body portion has a non-circular shape.
However, with reference to Figs. 3-5, Paredes discloses a container (22) wherein in cross section (Xsec, annotated below), at least a portion of the body portion (26) has a non-circular shape.
[AltContent: textbox (Ribs)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Xsec)][AltContent: connector]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the shape of the body to have included a portion which is non-circular, such as for the purposes of allowing for a tilted position without rolling (paragraphs 0031-0033), since the court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant (MPEP 2144.04, IV, B). Please note that in the instant application, paragraph 0054, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
In re claim 13, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Matsui in view of Paredes discloses the claimed invention including wherein in cross section, at least a portion of the body portion has a polygonal shape (as in re claim 12 above).
In re claim 14, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Matsui in view of Paredes discloses the claimed invention except wherein in cross section, at least a portion of the body portion has an octagonal shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have formed the six-sided cross-sectional shape as instead an eight sided cross-sectional shape, such as an octagon, since the court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant (MPEP 2144.04, IV, B). Please note that in the instant application, paragraph 0054, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
In re claim 15, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Matsui in view of Paredes discloses the claimed invention including wherein the body portion includes a plurality of panels (at 60 when modified to have the non-circular cross section as in re claim 12 above).
In re claim 16, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Matsui in view of Paredes discloses the claimed invention including wherein each of the plurality of panels is separated by a vertical rib (as in Fig. 3 above).
Claim(s) 21, 22, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsui as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Us PG Pub No. 2017/0058119 (Brun et al. hereinafter).
In re claim 21, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Matsui discloses the claimed invention except wherein the plastic comprises high-density polyethylene (HDPE).
However, Brun et al. teaches utilizing a known material such as HPDE for injection molding of containers (paragraphs 0160 and 0176).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have utilized a known plastic such as HPDE for the injection molded container of Matsui, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. MPEP 2144.07. Please note that in the instant application, paragraph 0047, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
In re claims 22 and 23, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Matsui discloses the claimed invention except wherein the plastic comprises a multilayer configuration, and wherein the multilayer configuration comprises an inner layer of PET, an outer layer of PET, and a layer of PEF therebetween.
However, with reference to Figs. 2 and 4, Brun et al. discloses an injection molded container formed with a multilayer configuration having an inner layer (421) and outer layer (411) (both formed of PET, paragraph 0176), and a PEF barrier layer (410) (paragraphs 0123 and 0174-0176).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have utilized a multilayer/barrier layer configuration, and formed the layers of materials as claimed for the injection molded container of Matsui, in order to provide an improved gas barrier layer (Brun et al. paragraph 0123) and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. MPEP 2144.07. Please note that in the instant application, paragraphs 0047 and 0099-0100, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
/ANDREW T KIRSCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733