DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/17/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/24/2025 was filed and is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2024/0181962 A1) in view of Huger et al (US 2019/0023129 A1) and Na et al (US 2018/0372303 A1).
In regard to claim 16, Kim et al disclose a steering wheel with an LED strip embedded within the steering wheel and enclosed in a casing, the LED strip being configured to operate in a lighting mode including a static, a dynamic, and a reactive mode in response to a vehicle safety sensor and a vehicle signaling system. (Figure 1; see at least [0043])
Kim et al fail to disclose a control interface, a mobile application, an illuminated emblem, and haptic feedback.
Huger et al disclose a lighted steering wheel device comprising:
a control interface integrated into the steering wheel for selecting the lighting mode; and
a mobile application configured to wirelessly communicate with the steering wheel assembly for remotely customizing the lighting mode and synchronizing a lighting effect. (See [0050])
The Examiner takes notice that this illumination can be anywhere on the vehicle, including the steering wheel. Huger et al further teaches haptic output. It does not teach where the haptic output occurs.
Na et al teaches haptic vibration of the steering wheel. (See [0108]) The Examiner considers it obvious for the haptic vibration to occur for any event on the vehicle.
Finally, the Examiner takes notice that illuminated emblems are notoriously old and well-known.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to dispose a steering wheel with an embedded an LED strip of Kim et al and give it the control by the application of Huger et al and the haptic feedback of Na et al in order to combine known elements into a steering wheel.
In regard to claim 17, the combination of Kim et al, Huger et al, and Na et al fail to disclose an illuminated emblem. However, illuminated emblems are notoriously old and well-known, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide an illuminated emblem for decorative purposes.
In regard to claim 18, the combination of Kim et al, Huger et al, and Na et al fail to disclose the vibration motor provides a haptic feedback for an emergency braking alert.
However, Kim et al teach emergency lighting effect on the steering wheel, and Na et al teach haptic feedback at the steering wheel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a haptic feedback effect for an emergency alert.
In regard to claim 19, Kim et al disclose the LED strip is positioned on an inner rim of the steering wheel.
In regard to claim 20, Kim et al disclose the LED strip is positioned on an outer rim of the steering wheel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Meissner (US 2006/0070795 A1) disclose a steering wheel.
Strumolo et al (US 2011/0187518 A1) disclose a steering wheel.
Green et al (US 2014/0139341 A1) disclose a steering wheel.
Piasecki et al (US 2014/0159887 A1) disclose a steering wheel.
Salter et al (US 2015/0375677 A1) disclose a steering wheel.
/CHRISTOPHER E DUNAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875