DETAILED ACTION
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The Information Disclosure Statement filed 24 February 2025 has been fully considered by Examiner. An annotated copy is included herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1, 10-12, 14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Agrawal (US-2024/0106982).
Regarding claim 1: Agrawal discloses an image processing system (fig 1(101) and [0026] of Agrawal) comprising: one or more memories storing instructions (fig 1 (130) and [0028] of Agrawal); and one or more processors executing the instructions (fig 1(120) and [0027] of Agrawal) to: set a first imaging parameter and a second imaging parameter of a virtual camera corresponding to a virtual viewpoint image generated based on a plurality of captured images, the second imaging parameter being different from the first imaging parameter (fig 5(152,508,524), fig 12, [0044]-[0045], and [0092] of Agrawal – first and second imaging parameters are the fields of view of first and second captured images at first and second physical camera locations, such as 508 and 524; the physical locations 508 and 524 each correspond to virtual locations and virtual fields of view in the virtual space 152; thus, the physical cameras, viewpoint images, and so on have a virtual analog in the virtual space; also, multiple physical view from multiple users, which are used to generate multiple virtual viewpoints for each person in a virtual space); generate a first virtual viewpoint image based on the first imaging parameter (fig 5(510) and [0044] of Agrawal) and a second virtual viewpoint image based on the second imaging parameter (fig 5(510a) and [0045] of Agrawal, also see fig 12 and [0092]-[0093] of Agarwal, which shows multiple virtual viewpoints images for multiple people in the virtual space); generate a composite image by combining the first virtual viewpoint image and the second virtual viewpoint image (fig 12, [0031], [0046], and [0093]-[0096] of Agrawal – combines multiple virtual viewpoints into a composite image stream); obtain content of operation of a user for the first imaging parameter or the second imaging parameter (fig 12(1240,1242) and [0095] of Agrawal); and display the generated composite image (fig 12(1224) and [0094]-[0096] of Agrawal).
Regarding claim 10: Agrawal discloses the image processing system according to claim 1 (as rejected above), wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to: obtain user input ([0029] of Agrawal); and set the second imaging parameter based on the first imaging parameter and the user input (fig 12 and [0091]-[0092] of Agrawal).
Regarding claim 11: Agrawal discloses the image processing system according to claim 1 (as rejected above), wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to: set a predetermined number of imaging parameters different from the first imaging parameter and the second imaging parameter (fig 12 and [0092]-[0093] of Agarwal, which shows multiple virtual viewpoints images for multiple people in the virtual space, and thus multiple different imaging parameters different from the first and second imaging parameters); generate virtual viewpoint images, each based on a respective one of the predetermined number of imaging parameters (fig 12 (1230) and [0093]-[0094] of Agrawal); and generate a composite image by combining the virtual viewpoint images, each based on a respective one of the predetermined number of imaging parameters, in addition to the first virtual viewpoint image and the second virtual viewpoint image (fig 12(1224) and [0093]-[0094] of Agrawal).
Regarding claim 12: Agrawal discloses the image processing system according to claim 11 (as rejected above), wherein the predetermined number is set based on user input ([0095]-[0096] of Agrawal).
Regarding claim 14: Agrawal discloses the image processing system according to claim 1 (as rejected above), wherein the second imaging parameter includes information indicating a position of the virtual camera in virtual space for generating the second virtual viewpoint image (fig 5(524) and [0045] of Agrawal).
Regarding claim 16: Agrawal discloses the image processing system according to claim 1 (as rejected above), wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to present the generated composite image; and obtain content of operation of the user for the first imaging parameter and the second imaging parameter (fig 12(1224) and [0093]-[0094] of Agrawal).
Regarding claim 17: Agrawal discloses the image processing system according to claim 16 (as rejected above), wherein the first imaging parameter or the second imaging parameter are set based on the content of operation (fig 5 and [0044]-[0045] of Agrawal).
Regarding claim 18: Agrawal discloses an information processing method comprising setting a first imaging parameter and a second imaging parameter of a virtual camera corresponding to a virtual viewpoint image generated based on a plurality of captured images, the second imaging parameter being different from the first imaging parameter (fig 5(152,508,524), fig 12, [0044]-[0045], and [0092] of Agrawal – first and second imaging parameters are the fields of view of first and second captured images at first and second physical camera locations, such as 508 and 524; the physical locations 508 and 524 each correspond to virtual locations and virtual fields of view in the virtual space 152; thus, the physical cameras, viewpoint images, and so on have a virtual analog in the virtual space; also, multiple physical view from multiple users, which are used to generate multiple virtual viewpoints for each person in a virtual space); generating a first virtual viewpoint image based on the first imaging parameter (fig 5(510) and [0044] of Agrawal) and a second virtual viewpoint image based on the second imaging parameter (fig 5(510a) and [0045] of Agrawal, also see fig 12 and [0092]-[0093] of Agarwal, which shows multiple virtual viewpoints images for multiple people in the virtual space); generating a composite image by combining the first virtual viewpoint image and the second virtual viewpoint image (fig 12, [0031], [0046], and [0093]-[0096] of Agrawal – combines multiple virtual viewpoints into a composite image stream); obtaining content of operation of a user for the first imaging parameter or the second imaging parameter (fig 12(1240,1242) and [0095] of Agrawal); and displaying the generated composite image (fig 12(1224) and [0094]-[0096] of Agrawal).
Regarding claim 19: Agrawal discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program which, when executed by a computer comprising a processor and memory, causes the computer (fig 1(120,130) and [0027]-[0028] of Agrawal) to: set a first imaging parameter and a second imaging parameter of a virtual camera corresponding to a virtual viewpoint image generated based on a plurality of captured images, the second imaging parameter being different from the first imaging parameter (fig 5(152,508,524), fig 12, [0044]-[0045], and [0092] of Agrawal – first and second imaging parameters are the fields of view of first and second captured images at first and second physical camera locations, such as 508 and 524; the physical locations 508 and 524 each correspond to virtual locations and virtual fields of view in the virtual space 152; thus, the physical cameras, viewpoint images, and so on have a virtual analog in the virtual space; also, multiple physical view from multiple users, which are used to generate multiple virtual viewpoints for each person in a virtual space); generate a first virtual viewpoint image based on the first imaging parameter (fig 5(510) and [0044] of Agrawal) and a second virtual viewpoint image based on the second imaging parameter (fig 5(510a) and [0045] of Agrawal, also see fig 12 and [0092]-[0093] of Agarwal, which shows multiple virtual viewpoints images for multiple people in the virtual space); generate a composite image by combining the first virtual viewpoint image and the second virtual viewpoint image (fig 12, [0031], [0046], and [0093]-[0096] of Agrawal – combines multiple virtual viewpoints into a composite image stream); obtain content of operation of a user for the first imaging parameter or the second imaging parameter (fig 12(1240,1242) and [0095] of Agrawal); and display the generated composite image (fig 12(1224) and [0094]-[0096] of Agrawal).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agrawal (US-2024/0106982) in view of Dsouza (US-2019/0355172).
Regarding claim 13: Agrawal discloses the image processing system according to claim 1 (as rejected above). Agrawal does not disclose wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to: set a transparency of the second virtual viewpoint image at which combining for the composite image is performed.
Dsouza discloses wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to: set a transparency of the second virtual viewpoint image at which combining for the composite image is performed ([0017], and [0057]-[0058] of Dsouza).
Agrawal and Dsouza are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely virtual composite image generation. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to set a transparency of the second virtual viewpoint image at which combining for the composite image is performed as taught by Dsouza. The motivation for doing so would have been to allow a user to apply different virtual backgrounds for a virtual meeting or virtual tour. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Agrawal according to the relied-upon teachings of Dsouza to obtain the invention as specified in claim 13.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 2-9 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
/JAMES A THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615