Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ISHIKAWA (US 20080238814, of record).
Regarding claim 1, ISHIKAWA teaches (Figs. 1-2) A head-up display device comprising:
a display unit that is provided in a vehicle and displays a virtual image (4) by reflecting display light emitted toward a light transmissive reflecting member (9) toward an eye (3) point by the reflecting member; and
a housing (2) that has an opening (2a) facing the reflecting member and in which the display unit is assembled, wherein
the display unit includes
a display (5) that is accommodated in the housing and emits the display light,
a reflection mirror (6) that is accommodated in the housing and reflects enlarged display light obtained by enlarging ([58], “6...magnifying”) the display light emitted from the display toward the reflecting member through the opening, and
a transparent cover (7) that closes the opening and transmits light, the transparent cover having a free-form face ([121,125], “free-form”) that performs aberration correction on the enlarged display light reflected by the reflection mirror, and
the transparent cover enlarges the enlarged display light at an enlargement ratio smaller than the enlargement ratio of the reflection mirror (Fig. 9 shows 6 as a 2D lens, 7 being a cylinder lens as shown in Figs. 3,5, at least in one dimension the enlargement ratio of 7 is smaller than 6, since the free-form is expected to have minimum enlargement effects, e.g., along the non-action dimension in Fig. 3, either positive or negative if any for aberration correction purposes).
ISHIKAWA does not explicitly teach the transparent cover has a function of further enlarging the enlarged display light by the free-form face.
Absent any showing of criticality and/or unpredictability, having the transparent cover has a function of further enlarging the enlarged display light by the free-form face would have been known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purposes of design choices (being a free-form face over a non-action dimension as shown in Fig. 3, it’s more likely than not to have a magnification effects either positive or negative, and considering the various scenarios of the application, at least some applications will have positive magnification effects for along the non-action dimension).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of ISHIKAWA by having the transparent cover has a function of further enlarging the enlarged display light by the free-form face for the purposes of design choices.
Regarding claim 2, ISHIKAWA further teaches The head-up display device according to claim 1, wherein
the display (5) directly emits the display light to the reflection mirror (6), and
the reflection mirror reflects the enlarged display light obtained by enlarging the display light directly emitted from the display to the reflecting member through the transparent cover (Figs. 1,9, concave mirror).
Regarding claim 3 or 4, the modified ISHIKAWA teaches all the limitations as stated in claim 1 or 2 respectively, but does not explicitly teach the free-form face is formed at the reflection mirror side of the transparent cover.
Absent any showing of criticality and/or unpredictability, having the free-form face is formed at the reflection mirror side of the transparent cover would have been known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purposes of design choices.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the teaching of ISHIKAWA by having the free-form face is formed at the reflection mirror side of the transparent cover for the purposes of design choices.
Conclusion
/WEN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
wen.huang2@uspto.gov
(571)270-0234