DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/24/2025, 03/11/2025, and 03/26/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,271,012. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application’s claims are anticipated by the reference patent’s claims. Examiner notes that in the table provided below, the bolded text represents differences in claimed subject matter, the italicized text represents differences in semantics but not structural limitations, and claim 1 has been reorganized to depict parallel teachings without altering any of the structural limitations.
Instant application 19/061064
Reference U.S. Patent 12,271,012
Claim No.
Claim Language
Claim No.
Claim Language
1.
A glass for an optical filter,
the glass having:
an average transmittance of 3% or less at a wavelength of 1000 nm to 1200 nm;
and an average transmittance of 5% or less at a wavelength of 700 nm to 1200 nm.
a transmittance of 25% or more at a wavelength of 1550 nm.
1.
A glass for an optical filter,
the glass being a phosphate glass comprising Cu,
wherein the glass has:
an average transmittance of 80% or more at a wavelength of 430 nm to 550 nm;
an average transmittance of 2% or less at a wavelength of 800 nm to 950 nm;
an average transmittance of 3% or less at a wavelength of 1000 nm to 1200 nm;
an average transmittance of 5% or less at a wavelength of 700 nm to 1200 nm;
a transmittance of 25% or more at a wavelength of 1550 nm;
and a wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% of 615 nm or more in a wavelength range of 600 nm to 800 nm.
2.
The glass for an optical filter according to claim 1, wherein
the glass is a phosphate glass comprising Cu,
and the glass has: an average transmittance of 80% or more at a wavelength of 430 nm to 550 nm;
and an average transmittance of 2% or less at a wavelength of 800 nm to 950 nm.
1.
…
the glass being a phosphate glass comprising Cu,
…
an average transmittance of 80% or more at a wavelength of 430 nm to 550 nm;
an average transmittance of 2% or less at a wavelength of 800 nm to 950 nm;
3.
The glass for an optical filter according to claim 1, having
a wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 600 nm to 800 nm of 615 nm or more.
1.
…and
a wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% of 615 nm or more in a wavelength range of 600 nm to 800 nm.
4.
The glass for an optical filter according to claim 1, comprising, in terms of mass % based on oxide: P.sub.2O.sub.5: 50% to 80%; Al.sub.2O.sub.3: 5% to 20%; ΣR.sub.2O: 0.5% to 20% where R.sub.2O is one or more components selected from Li.sub.2O, Na.sub.2O, K.sub.2O, Rb.sub.2O, and Cs.sub.2O, and ΣR.sub.2O is a total content of R.sub.2O; ΣR′O: 0% to 15% where R′O is one or more components selected from CaO, MgO, BaO, SrO, and ZnO, and ΣR′O is a total content of R′O; and CuO: 4% to 20%.
2.
The glass for an optical filter according to claim 1, comprising, in terms of mass % based on oxide: P.sub.2O.sub.5: 50% to 80%; Al.sub.2O.sub.3: 5% to 20%; ΣR.sub.2O: 0.5% to 20% where R.sub.2O is one or more components selected from Li.sub.2O, Na.sub.2O, K.sub.2O, Rb.sub.2O, and Cs.sub.2O, and ΣR.sub.2O is a total content of R.sub.2O; ΣR′O: 0% to 15% where R′O is one or more components selected from CaO, MgO, BaO, SrO, and ZnO, and ΣR′O is a total content of R′O; and CuO: 4% to 20%.
5.
The glass for an optical filter according to claim 4, further comprising more than 7% of CuO in terms of mass % based on oxide.
3.
The glass for an optical filter according to claim 2, further comprising more than 7% of CuO in terms of mass % based on oxide.
6.
The glass for an optical filter according to claim 4, further comprising 60% to 75% of P.sub.2O.sub.5 in terms of mass % based on oxide.
4.
The glass for an optical filter according to claim 2, further comprising 60% to 75% of P.sub.2O.sub.5 in terms of mass % based on oxide.
7.
The glass for an optical filter according to claim 4, further comprising 9% to 16.5% of Al.sub.2O.sub.3 in terms of mass % based on oxide.
5.
The glass for an optical filter according to claim 2, further comprising 9% to 16.5% of Al.sub.2O.sub.3 in terms of mass % based on oxide.
8.
The glass for an optical filter according to claim 4, being substantially free from BaO.
6.
The glass for an optical filter according to claim 2, being substantially free from BaO.
9.
The glass for an optical filter according to claim 4, being substantially free from a divalent cation other than Cu.
7.
The glass for an optical filter according to claim 2, being substantially free from a divalent cation other than Cu.
10.
The glass for an optical filter according to claim 4, further comprising more than 7% and 18% or less of ΣR.sub.2O where R.sub.2O is one or more components selected from Li.sub.2O, Na.sub.2O, K.sub.2O, Rb.sub.2O, and Cs.sub.2O, and ΣR.sub.2O is a total content of R.sub.2O.
8.
The glass for an optical filter according to claim 2, further comprising more than 7% and 18% or less of ΣR.sub.2O where R.sub.2O is one or more components selected from Li.sub.2O, Na.sub.2O, K.sub.2O, Rb.sub.2O, and Cs.sub.2O, and ΣR.sub.2O is a total content of R.sub.2O.
11.
The glass for an optical filter according to claim 4, further comprising two or more components selected from Li.sub.2O, Na.sub.2O, K.sub.2O, Rb.sub.2O, and Cs.sub.2O.
9.
The glass for an optical filter according to claim 2, further comprising two or more components selected from Li.sub.2O, Na.sub.2O, K.sub.2O, Rb.sub.2O, and Cs.sub.2O.
12.
The glass for an optical filter according to claim 4, being substantially free from Li.sub.2O.
10.
The glass for an optical filter according to claim 2, being substantially free from Li.sub.2O.
13.
The glass for an optical filter according to claim 4, being substantially free from B.sub.2O.sub.3.
11.
The glass for an optical filter according to claim 2, being substantially free from B.sub.2O.sub.3.
14.
The glass for an optical filter according to claim 4, being substantially free from F.
12.
The glass for an optical filter according to claim 2, being substantially free from F.
15.
An optical filter, comprising the glass for an optical filter according to claim 1.
13.
An optical filter, comprising the glass for an optical filter according to claim 1.
16.
A solid-state image sensor, comprising the glass for an optical filter according to claim 1.
14.
A solid-state image sensor, comprising the glass for an optical filter according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ritter et al. (2012/0165178).
Regarding claim 1, Ritter discloses a glass for an optical filter ([0003]), the glass having: a transmittance of 25% or more at a wavelength of 1550 nm (at least Figure 1 depicts the transmittance at 1500 nm to be around 43%; Examiner notes the reading of the disclosure does not indicate that the glass exhibits a stop band over 1500 nm, thus Examiner infers that given the trajectory of the transmittance shown, the transmittance at 1550 nm is viewed to necessarily be greater than 25%); an average transmittance of 3% or less at a wavelength of 1000 nm to 1200 nm (at least Figure 1 depicts the transmittance at 1000 nm is less than 3%, thus indicating a wavelength exhibiting 3% or less transmittance); and an average transmittance of 5% or less at a wavelength of 700 nm to 1200 nm (at least Figure 1 depicts the transmittance at 700 nm to 1150 nm is 5% or less, thus including a wavelength exhibiting 5% or less transmittance).
Regarding claim 2, Ritter discloses the glass for an optical filter according to claim 1, wherein the glass is a phosphate glass comprising Cu (at least Abstract), and the glass has: an average transmittance of 80% or more at a wavelength of 430 nm to 550 nm (at least Figure 1 depicts the transmittance at 450 to 550 nm to be greater than 80%, thus including a wavelength exhibiting 80% or more transmittance); and an average transmittance of 2% or less at a wavelength of 800 nm to 950 nm (at least Figure 1 depicts all wavelengths from 800 nm to 950 nm to have a transmittance of less than 2%).
Regarding claim 3, Ritter discloses the glass for an optical filter according to claim 1, having a wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 600 nm to 800 nm of 615 nm or more (at least Figure 1 depicts the transmittance at slightly above 600 nm to be 50%).
Regarding claim 4, Ritter discloses the glass for an optical filter according to claim 1, comprising, in terms of mass % based on oxide: P.sub.2O.sub.5: 50% to 80% (at least [0042]; [0008]); Al.sub.2O.sub.3: 5% to 20% (at least [0043]; [0008]); ΣR.sub.2O: 0.5% to 20% where R.sub.2O is one or more components selected from Li.sub.2O, Na.sub.2O, K.sub.2O, Rb.sub.2O, and Cs.sub.2O, and ΣR.sub.2O is a total content of R.sub.2O ([0008], range shown for ΣR.sub.2O falls within claimed range); ΣR′O: 0% to 15% where R′O is one or more components selected from CaO, MgO, BaO, SrO, and ZnO, and ΣR′O is a total content of R′O ([0008], range shown for ΣRO includes a minimum value of 15%, which falls within the claimed range); and CuO: 4% to 20% (at least [0021]; [0008]).
Regarding claim 6, Ritter discloses the glass for an optical filter according to claim 4, further comprising 60% to 75% of P.sub.2O.sub.5 in terms of mass % based on oxide (at least [0042]; [0008] teaches 60%, thus including a value within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 7, Ritter discloses the glass for an optical filter according to claim 4, further comprising 9% to 16.5% of Al.sub.2O.sub.3 in terms of mass % based on oxide (at least [0043]; [0008]).
Regarding claim 8, Ritter discloses the glass for an optical filter according to claim 4, being substantially free from BaO ([0008] teaches a minimum amount of BaO to be 1%, thus interpreted to be substantially free of BaO).
Regarding claim 9, Ritter discloses the glass for an optical filter according to claim 4, being substantially free from a divalent cation other than Cu ([0008] teaches minimum values of potential divalent cations such as for exemplary purposes Mg, to be 1%, thus considered to be substantially free from other divalent cations; the disclosure does not indicate other divalent cations).
Regarding claim 10, Ritter discloses the glass for an optical filter according to claim 4, further comprising more than 7% and 18% or less of ΣR.sub.2O where R.sub.2O is one or more components selected from Li.sub.2O, Na.sub.2O, K.sub.2O, Rb.sub.2O, and Cs.sub.2O, and ΣR.sub.2O is a total content of R.sub.2O ([0008]).
Regarding claim 11, Ritter discloses the glass for an optical filter according to claim 4, further comprising two or more components selected from Li.sub.2O, Na.sub.2O, K.sub.2O, Rb.sub.2O, and Cs.sub.2O ([0008]).
Regarding claim 12, Ritter discloses the glass for an optical filter according to claim 4, being substantially free from Li.sub.2O ([0008] teaches a minimum amount of Li2O to be 0).
Regarding claim 13, Ritter discloses the glass for an optical filter according to claim 4, being substantially free from B.sub.2O.sub.3 ([0008] teaches no inclusion of B2O3; [0041] teaches at most 1% of boron oxide, thus interpreted to be B2O3 free).
Regarding claim 14, Ritter discloses the glass for an optical filter according to claim 4, being substantially free from F ([0008] teaches no inclusion of just F).
Regarding claim 15, Ritter discloses an optical filter, comprising the glass for an optical filter according to claim 1 ([0003, 0007]).
Regarding claim 16, Ritter discloses a solid-state image sensor, comprising the glass for an optical filter according to claim 1 ([0012, 0073]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ritter et al. (2012/0165178).
Regarding claim 5, Ritter discloses the glass for an optical filter according to claim 4, but fails to teach further comprising more than 7% of CuO in terms of mass % based on oxide.
Although Ritter teaches a maximum value of 7% of CuO, Examiner notes that it still would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to adjust the value of CuO present to be greater than 7%, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233). Doing so would allow for increased steepness in the IR cut range with a higher absorption at 850 nm, thereby improving IR filtering.
Conclusion
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872