DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-11, 13-15, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grossmann et al. (2022/0350382). With respect to claim 1, Grossmann et al. discloses a thermal management apparatus (400) comprising: a housing (404) defining: a first end (402b); and a second end (402a) opposite the first end (402b); an electronic component (408,410) supported within the housing (404); a primary inlet (430a, 434a) configured to receive a primary airflow (700, 702, 704, 706) having a first temperature; and a secondary inlet (432a, 436a) configured to receive a secondary airflow (800a, 802a, 804a, 806a, 800b, 802b, 804b, 806b) having a second temperature, wherein the second temperature is different than the first temperature, wherein the primary airflow (700, 702, 704, 706) and the secondary airflow (800a, 802a, 804a, 806a, 800b, 802b, 804b, 806b) are collectively configured to dissipate heat generated by the electronic component (408, 410). With respect to claim 2, Grossmann et al. discloses the thermal management apparatus (400) of Claim 1, wherein the primary inlet (430a, 434a) and the secondary inlet (432a, 436a) are disposed proximate the first end (402b) of the housing (404). With respect to claim 5, Grossmann et al. discloses the thermal management apparatus (400) of Claim 1, wherein the second temperature is less than the first temperature (see claim 14 for example). With respect to claim 6, Grossmann et al. discloses the thermal management apparatus (400) of Claim 1, wherein a temperature of the airflow exiting the housing (404) via the second end (402b) is greater than the dew point of the external environment of the housing (404). With respect to claim 7, Grossmann et al. discloses the thermal management apparatus (400) of Claim 1, further comprising a computing device (400) communicably coupled to the primary airflow (700, 702, 704, 706) and the secondary airflow (800a, 802a, 804a, 806a, 800b, 802b, 804b, 806b). With respect to claim 8, Grossmann et al. discloses the thermal management apparatus (400) of Claim 7, wherein the computing device (400) is configured to modify one or more parameters of the primary airflow (700, 702, 704, 706) or the secondary airflow (800a, 802a, 804a, 806a, 800b, 802b, 804b, 806b) based upon one or more operating characteristics of the electronic component (408, 410). With respect to claim 9, Grossmann et al. discloses the thermal management apparatus (400) of Claim 8, wherein the computing device (400) is configured to modify the second temperature of the secondary airflow (800a, 802a, 804a, 806a, 800b, 802b, 804b, 806b). With respect to claim 10, Grossmann et al. discloses the thermal management apparatus (400) of Claim 8, wherein the computing device (400) is configured to modify a flow rate of the primary airflow or the secondary airflow. With respect to claim 11, Grossmann et al. discloses the thermal management apparatus (400) of Claim 1, further comprising a plurality of electronic components (408, 410, 422, 424) including the electronic component (408, 410). With respect to claim 13, Grossmann et al. discloses the thermal management apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the electronic component(408, 410) is a graphics processing unit (GPU). With respect to claim 14, Grossmann et al. discloses a method for thermal management comprising: providing a primary airflow (700, 702, 704, 706) having a first temperature to a housing (404); and providing to the housing (404) a secondary airflow (800a, 802a, 804a, 806a, 800b, 802b, 804b, 806b) having a second temperature, wherein the second temperature is different than the first temperature, wherein the primary airflow (700, 702, 704, 706), and the secondary airflow (800a, 802a, 804a, 806a, 800b, 802b, 804b, 806b) are collectively configured to dissipate heat generated by an electronic component (408, 410) supported within the housing (404) while maintaining an air temperature internal to the housing (404) greater than a dew point associated with an interior of the housing (404). With respect to claim 15, Grossmann et al. discloses the method of Claim 14, wherein the housing (404) defines a first end (402b) and a second end (402a) opposite the first end (402b), the primary airflow (700, 702, 704, 706) and the secondary airflow (800a, 802a, 804a, 806a, 800b, 802b, 804b, 806b) provided to the housing (404) proximate the first end (402b). With respect to claim 18, Grossmann et al. discloses the method of Claim 14, wherein the second temperature is less than the first temperature (see claim 14 for example). With respect to claim 20, Grossmann et al. discloses the method of Claim 14, wherein the electronic component (408, 410) is a graphics processing unit (GPU).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 12, 16, 17, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: as to claims 3, 4, 12, 16, 17, and 19, patentability resides, at least in part, in each and every limitations as presently claimed and including all of the other limitations of the base claim(s) respectfully.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LISA LEA-EDMONDS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/LISA LEA-EDMONDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847 2026-08-28