Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
The amendment to the independent claims is supported by at least ¶0040 of the specification.
Interview
An interview was held 3/10/2026 in regards to potential allowable subject matter. No agreement was reached on amendments to the claims. After further search and consideration of the prior art, the discussed claim(s) are no longer considered allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites “a first anchor tab” and “a second anchor tab”. These recitations are present in Claim 1, from which Claim 17 depends, so it is unclear whether Claim 17 is introducing new anchor tabs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 12-13, 15, 18-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Slobodecki (US20100066061A1).
Claim 1
Slobodecki teaches a twist-lock fastener (Figure 1)comprising: an anchor (12) configured for attaching to a first article (94) and comprising: a body (12) forming a cavity (58), wherein the body has an arcuate shape (There are several portions of the body (12) that have an arcuate shape.) and is configured to flex (Figure 11 shows the body includes deflectable wings (20, 22) that are configured to flex.) in response to a radially inward force to reduce a chord dimension of the anchor and expand upon removal of the force (The wings (20, 22) are configured to perform the claimed intended use.); a first anchor tab (24) extending radially outwardly from the body (Figure 3.): and a second anchor tab (28) extending radially outwardly from the body (Figure 3); and a retainer (14) comprising: a locking portion (32) configured for inserting in the cavity (Figure 11) and selectively locking to the body (Figure 19); and a holding portion (104) extending from the locking portion (Figure 18 shows the port (44) where the member (104) is inserted is positioned away from the locking portion (32) and therefore the member (104) extends away from the locking portion when inserted.) and configured for holding a second article. (¶0052 teaches the member (102, 104, 106) can hold wires.)
Claim 2
Slobodecki teaches the twist-lock fastener of Claim 1, wherein, with the locking portion of the retainer inserted in the cavity of the body of the anchor, the retainer is configured for rotating relative to the anchor between an unlocked position and a locked position. (Figure 15 and ¶0048)
Claim 3
Slobodecki teaches the twist-lock fastener of Claim 1, wherein: the body of the anchor comprises an opening (58); and the locking portion of the retainer comprises a base configured for inserting in the opening in a first angular orientation and engaging the body in a second angular orientation. (Figure 15 and ¶0048)
Claim 4
Slobodecki teaches the twist-lock fastener of Claim 3, wherein the body of the anchor comprises a first slot and a second slot (66, 68); the base of the retainer comprises a first retainer flange (80) and a second retainer flange (81); with the retainer in the first angular orientation, the first retainer flange and the first slot are configured for mating together; and with the retainer in the second angular orientation, the second retainer flange and the second slot are configured for mating together. (¶0051)
Claim 5
Slobodecki teaches the twist-lock fastener of Claim 4, wherein: the first slot comprises a first end and a second end (Figure 3); the second slot comprises a first end and the second end (Figure 3); the second end of first slot and the second end of second slot are configured for stopping rotation of the retainer at the second angular orientation (Figure 9 shows the pins (80, 81) are located at areas corresponding to the tips of the “S” shaped engagement walls. Figure 11 shows the starting position of the engagement walls is where the pins are not in the slots. Figure 19 and ¶0051 teach the rotation occurs in the engagement direction causing the pins to contact walls of the slots until the engagement walls have been rotated 90 degrees. A 90 degree rotation of the pins puts them at the ends of the slots, or a stopping portion.); and the first end of second slot is configured for receiving the second retainer flange when rotating the retainer relative to the anchor from the first angular orientation to the second angular orientation. (The pins (80, 81) are configured for insertion into the slots (66, 68) at an angular orientation and to move along the slots during rotation (See ¶0051).)
12. (Original) The twist-lock fastener of Claim 1, wherein the holding portion comprises a clip. (Figure 17 shows the holding portion comprises a clip (104).)
Claim 12
Slobodecki teaches the twist-lock fastener of Claim 1, wherein the holding portion comprises a clip. (Figure 17 shows the holding portion comprises a clip (104).)
Claim 13
Slobodecki teaches the twist-lock fastener of Claim 1, wherein the holding portion comprises an eyelet. (Figure 17 shows the holding portion comprises an eyelet (opening in Item 104 or Item 42).)
Claim 15
Slobodecki teaches the twist-lock fastener of Claim 1, wherein the holding portion comprises a cable holder. (¶0052 teaches the member (106) supports a wire assembly.)
Claim 18
Slobodecki teaches the an assembly comprising: a first article (94) comprising a hole (92); an anchor (12) situated in the hole and coupled to the first article (Figure 16), the anchor comprising a body (12) forming a cavity (58) wherein the body has an arcuate shape (There are several portions of the body (12) that have an arcuate shape.) and is configured to flex (Figure 11 shows the body includes deflectable wings (20, 22) that are configured to flex.) in response to radially inward force to reduce a chord dimension of the anchor and expand upon removal of the force (The wings (20, 22) are configured to perform the claimed intended use.); a first anchor tab (24) extending radially outwardly from the body (Figure 3); and a second anchor tab (28) extending radially outwardly from the body (Figure 3); a retainer (14) comprising: a locking portion (32) inserted in the cavity (Figure 11) and selectively locked to the body (Figure 19); and a holding portion (104) extending from the locking portion (Figure 18 shows the port (44) where the member (104) is inserted is positioned away from the locking portion (32) and therefore the member (104) extends away from the locking portion when inserted.); and a second article coupled to the first article by the holding portion. (¶0052 teaches the member (102, 104, 106) can hold wires.)
Claim 19
Slobodecki teaches the assembly of Claim 18, wherein with the locking portion of the retainer inserted in the cavity of the body of the anchor, the retainer is configured for rotating relative to the anchor between an unlocked position and a locked position. (Figure 15 and ¶0048)
Claim 21
Slobodecki teaches the assembly of Claim 18, wherein the holding portion comprises one of a clip, an eyelet, a magnet, a cable holder, or a threaded insert. (Figure 17 shows the holding portion comprises a clip (104).)
Claims 1, 3, 6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okada (US20110116890A1).
Claim 1
Okada teaches a twist-lock fastener comprising: an anchor (30) configured for attaching to a first article (2 or 4) and comprising: a body (Figure 2A) forming a cavity (Figure 2A, cavity extending through in the top of the body), wherein the body has an arcuate shape (Figure 3C) and is configured to flex in response to a radially inward force to reduce a chord dimension of the anchor and expand upon removal of the force (Figures 2A-2B show the body has portions that are forced inward to reduce the cross sectional dimension of the body when force is applied.); a first anchor tab (33) extending radially outwardly from the body (Figure 2A), and a second anchor tab (33) extending radially outwardly from the body (Figure 2A); and a retainer (10) comprising: a locking portion (19) configured for inserting in the cavity and selectively locking to the body (Figure 8A); and a holding portion extending from the locking portion and configured for holding a second article.
Claim 3
Okada teaches the twist-lock fastener of Claim 1, wherein: the body of the anchor comprises an opening (Figure 3C, opening in the top of the body); and the locking portion of the retainer comprises a base (15) configured for inserting in the opening in a first angular orientation and engaging the body in a second angular orientation. (Figures 6 and 8A show the angular orientation of the body (in particular the portions (40)) and the base (15) changes between the insertion and engagement steps.)
Claim 6
Okada teaches the twist-lock fastener of Claim 3, wherein: the body of the anchor has a semi-cylindrical shape (Figure 2A shows the body comprises a cylindrical shape.) to form a cylindrical shape of the cavity (Figure 2A); and the body comprises a first arc end and a second arc end spaced away from the first arc end to form the opening. (Figure 2A shows the notches (31b, 31c) separate the opening into two spaced arcs that each have ends.)
Claim 8
Okada teaches the twist-lock fastener of Claim 6, wherein the anchor further comprises: the first anchor tab (33) extending outwardly from the body is located proximate the first arc end (Figure 2A shows the anchor tabs (33) are each closer to one set of arc ends than the other.); and the second anchor (33) tab extending outwardly from the body is located proximate the second arc end. (Figure 2A shows the anchor tabs (33) are each closer to one set of arc ends than the other.)
Claim 9
Okada teaches the twist-lock fastener of Claim 8, wherein the anchor further comprises a lip (Figure 2A shows the anchor has a lip at the end of the tabs (33).) extending outwardly from the body opposite the opening. (The lip extends away from the opening.)
Claim 10
Okada teaches the twist-lock fastener of Claim 8, wherein the anchor further comprises: first teeth extending from the first anchor tab (Figure 2A shows teeth (36) extending from each anchor tab (33) region.); and second teeth extending from the second anchor tab. (Figure 2A shows teeth (36) extending from each anchor tab (33) region.)
Claims 1, 3, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barina (US20050123379A1).
Claim 1
Barina teaches a twist-lock fastener comprising: an anchor (116) configured for attaching to a first article (Figure 3e) and comprising: a body (Figure 4a) forming a cavity (hollow space in between the perimeter (418)), wherein the body has an arcuate shape (Figure 4a) and is configured to flex in response to a radially inward force to reduce a chord dimension of the anchor and expand upon removal of the force (¶0023 teaches that the projection (308) in the anchor (116) is compressed when inserted into the rack. The compression is a radially inward force that elastically deforms the shape of the body and causes the claimed intended use.); a first anchor tab (306) extending radially outwardly from the body (Figure 3d shows the anchor tabs (306) are dimensioned to extend radially from the central axis of the body.), and a second anchor tab (306) extending radially outwardly from the body (Figure 3d shows the anchor tabs (306) are dimensioned to extend radially from the central axis of the body); and a retainer (108) comprising: a locking portion (404, 428, 424) configured for inserting in the cavity (Figure 4a and 3c) and selectively locking to the body (¶0049); and a holding portion (threaded passage, 20) extending from the locking portion (Figure 1) and configured for holding a second article. (¶0042)
Claim 3
Barina teaches the twist-lock fastener of Claim 1, wherein: the body of the anchor comprises an opening (the top opening located at the top of the perimeter (418)); and the locking portion of the retainer comprises a base (404) configured for inserting in the opening in a first angular orientation and engaging the body in a second angular orientation. (Figures 5a-5b)
Claim 11
Barina teaches the twist-lock fastener of Claim 3, wherein: the anchor further comprises a receiver (Figure 4a shows the anchor (116) has a receiving surface (surrounding 426 at the base of the perimeter (418).) extending inwardly from the body opposite the opening (The receiving surface extends inwardly from the exterior of the body and is located at the opposite ends of the walls forming the perimeter (418) from the opening.); the receiver comprises an aperture (Figure 4d, Item 420); and the retainer comprises a pin (Figure 4c, Item 414) extending from the base and configured for inserting in the aperture. (¶0028)
Claims 1 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Milekovic (US20200347866A1).
Claim 1
Milekovic teaches a twist-lock fastener comprising: an anchor (14) configured for attaching to a first article (¶0041) and comprising: a body (Figure 1) forming a cavity (26), wherein the body has an arcuate shape (Figure 1) and is configured to flex in response to a radially inward force to reduce a chord dimension of the anchor and expand upon removal of the force (¶0050 teaches that manual manipulation of the arms (62) causes them to engage the hub of a pulley. This manual manipulation is a force applied to the arms. Therefore, the arms of Milekovic are capable of performing the claimed intended use.); a first anchor tab (62) extending radially outwardly from the body (Figure 4), and a second anchor tab (62) extending radially outwardly from the body (Figure 4); and a retainer (12) comprising: a locking portion (54) configured for inserting in the cavity and selectively locking to the body (¶0049); and a holding portion (threaded passage, 20) extending from the locking portion (Figure 1) and configured for holding a second article. (¶0042)
Claim 16
Milekovic teaches the twist-lock fastener of Claim 1, wherein the holding portion comprises a threaded insert. (Figure 1 or ¶0042)
Claims 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pino (US20210381536A1).
Claim 20
Pino teaches a method for fastening, the method comprising: coupling an anchor (40) of a twist-lock fastener to a first article by flexing an arcuate shape of a body of the anchor to reduce a chord dimension of the anchor in response to a radially inward force (¶0032 teaches the resilient deformation of the retaining arms (46) in order to pass through holes in a metal plate (5). The arms are arcuately shaped. The inward deformation reduced a cross sectional dimension of the anchor.); inserting a portion of the anchor into a hole of the first article (¶0032 teaches the body (40) is inserted into a hole in the metal plate (5).); expanding the body in response to removal of the force (Resilient deformation is a temporary deformation, such that once the anchor body (40) is inserted through the hole, the arms (46) relax. See also ¶0029 “The resilient retaining arms 46 are adapted to resiliently deform towards and away from the central axis (so as to provide a bias back towards its undeformed position)”.); and engaging the first article within the hole by first and second anchor tabs extending radially outwardly from the body (46); coupling a retainer (20) of the twist-lock fastener and the anchor by: in a first angular orientation, mating the retainer with the anchor (Figure 7B shows the first orientation where the locking legs (26) of the retainer are not in engagement with the recesses (58) of the anchor body.); rotating the retainer relative to the anchor from the first angular orientation to a second angular orientation (Figure 7A shows the locked orientation where the locking legs (26) are engaged with the recesses (58) of the anchor body.); and in the second angular orientation, engaging the retainer to the anchor (Figure 7A shows the locked orientation where the locking legs (26) are engaged with the recesses (58) of the anchor body.) and coupling a second article to the first article using the retainer. (Figure 1B shows a coupling of a second article (12) to the first (5) using the fastener assembly (10), that includes the retainer (20).)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slobodecki, as applied in Claim 1, in view of Zalme (US20200015604A1).
Claim 14
Slobodecki teaches the twist-lock fastener of Claim 1, wherein the holding portion comprises a magnet.
However, Zalme teaches a twist lock fastener assembly where the retainer (50) has a holding portion that comprises a magnet. (130)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the known magnetic member of Zalme to the holding portion of Slobodecki in order to a holding member that allows for quick connect/disconnect (Based on general engineering knowledge.) and is a known alternative to a spring clamp or loop (¶0039), which is what the holding member of Slobodecki resembles.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed, to combine the known magnetic member of Zalme to the holding portion of Slobodecki because it has been held to be prima facie obvious to combine prior art structures according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
The predictable result is the holding portion of Slobodecki will include a magnet.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
See the office action dated 11/20/2025 for the reasons for allowance for Claim 17.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 02/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of the claims under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Slobodecki, Milekovic, Barina, Pino, and Okada.
Conclusion
See form PTO-892 for the prior art found during the search period for this filing.
Document
Date
Description of Relevant Subject Matter
US20100146747A1
2009-07-09
Figure 1 shows an anchor (10) that has a body and a cavity (14). The body has numerous portions (30, 40) that are configured to flex when an external force is applied. The body includes anchor tabs (30, 40). A retainer (Figure 5) is used with the body and has a locking portion (102) and a holding portion (where item 100 connects).
US20050123379A1
2003-12-09
Figure 4a shows a pin (108) and sleeve (116) that cooperate to form a twist lock fastener assembly. The sleeve has: a cavity (426); and deforms when inserted into the hole in the workpiece (¶0023); anchor tabs (306); and a semi-cylindrical opening delimited by arc segments (418). The pin has a locking portion (424) that locks the connection by rotating (See Figures 3e-3f) and a holding portion (114) that is capable of connecting to another object. The locking portion of the retainer (108) has a base (404) that includes a pin (414) that is inserted into an aperture (420) in the body.
US20110020092A1
2010-07-23
Figure 1 shows a fastener assembly including an anchor (13) that has a cavity (18) and portion (21) that are configured to deform when force is applied. The anchor includes anchor tabs (12). The retainer (11) has a locking portion (7, 17) and a holding portion (10).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL W HOTCHKISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726