Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “the base” there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okada (US20110116890A1).
Claim 1
A twist-lock fastener comprising: an anchor (30) configured for attaching to a first article (Figure 7A) and comprising: a body (Figure 2A) having a semi-cylindrical shape (Figure 2A shows the body of the anchor includes (“having”) a semi cylindrical shape at the upper region.) and forming a cavity (Figure 2A, cavity extending through in the top of the body), wherein the body comprises a first arc end and a second arc end spaced away from the first arc end to form an opening (Figure 2A shows the notches (31b, 31c) separate the opening into two spaced arcs that each have ends.) in the body such that the body flexes in response to a radially inward force to reduce a chord dimension of the anchor and expands upon removal of the force (Figures 2A-2B show the body has portions that are forced inward to reduce the cross sectional dimension of the body when force is applied.); a first anchor tab (33) extending radially outward from the body proximate the first arc end (Figure 2A shows the anchor tabs (33) are each closer to one set of arc ends than the other.); a second anchor tab (33) extending radially outward from the body proximate the second arc end (Figure 2A shows the anchor tabs (33) are each closer to one set of arc ends than the other.); and a lip extending radially outward from the body (Figure 2A shows the anchor has a lip at the end of the tabs (33).) opposite the opening (The lip extends away from the opening.); and a retainer (10) comprising: a locking portion (19) configured for inserting in the cavity and selectively locking to the body (Figure 8A); and a holding portion (11) extending from the locking portion and configured for holding a second article. (Figure 8B shows the holding portion (11) holds articles (2, 4, 50).)
Claim 3
Okada teaches the twist-lock fastener of Claim 1, wherein: (Figure 3C, opening in the top of the body); and the locking portion of the retainer comprises a base (15) configured for inserting in the opening in a first angular orientation and engaging the body in a second angular orientation. (Figures 6 and 8A show the angular orientation of the body (in particular the portions (40)) and the base (15) changes between the insertion and engagement steps.)
Claim 10
Okada teaches the twist-lock fastener of Claim 1, wherein the anchor further comprises at least one of: first teeth extending from at least a portion of the first anchor tab(Figure 2A shows teeth (36) extending from each anchor tab (33) region.); and second teeth extending from at least a portion of the second anchor tab. (Figure 2A shows teeth (36) extending from each anchor tab (33) region.)
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leverger (EP-3482089-B1).
Claim 1
Leverger teaches a twist-lock fastener comprising: an anchor (16) configured for attaching to a first article (Figure 1) and comprising: a body (16) having a semi-cylindrical shape (Figure 5) and forming a cavity (Figure 5), wherein the body comprises a first arc end (ends of the rim of the receptacle (24)) and a second arc end (ends of the rim of the receptacle (24)) spaced away from the first arc end to form an opening (Figure 5) in the body such that the body flexes in response to a radially inward force to reduce a chord dimension of the anchor and expands upon removal of the force (The fastener of Leverger is capable of performing this intended use based on the structure.); a first anchor tab (Figure 5 shows protruding portions on each side of the top face (22b) that are “anchor tab”s.) extending radially outward from the body proximate the first arc end; a second anchor tab (Figure 5 shows protruding portions on each side of the top face (22b) that are “anchor tab”s.) extending radially outward from the body proximate the second arc end; and a lip extending radially outward from the body opposite the opening (Figure 5 shows a protruding portion extending from the top surface (22b) opposite the opening.); and a retainer (18) comprising: a locking portion (54) configured for inserting in the cavity and selectively locking to the body (Figure 8A-8C); and a holding portion (46) extending from the locking portion and configured for holding a second article. (¶0029 teaches the indentation (46) is for holding a tool.)
Claim 2
Leverger teaches the twist-lock fastener of Claim 1, wherein, with the locking portion of the retainer inserted in the cavity of the body of the anchor, the retainer is configured for rotating relative to the anchor between an unlocked position and a locked position. (Figures 11-13, ¶0049)
Claim 3
Leverger teaches the twist-lock fastener of Claim 1, wherein: the locking portion (54) of the retainer comprises a base (56) configured for inserting in the opening in a first angular orientation and engaging the body in a second angular orientation. (Figures 8a-8c or ¶0040)
Claim 4
Leverger teaches the twist-lock fastener of Claim 1, wherein the body of the anchor comprises a first slot and a second slot (32); the base of the retainer comprises a first retainer flange and a second retainer flange (42); with the retainer in a first angular orientation, the first retainer flange is receivable by the first slot and the second retainer flange is receivable by the opening (Figure 8a shows a first angular orientation where the first flange (42) is within the first slot and the second (42) is “receivable” into the opening, since it is within the opening.); and with the retainer in a second angular orientation, the first retainer flange is receivable by the first slot and the second retainer flange is receivable by the second slot are configured for mating together. (Figure 8c shows a second angular orientation where the first and second flanges (42) are within the slots (32).)
Claims 1, 4-5, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (US 20070253794A1).
Claim 1
Zhang teaches a twist-lock fastener (Figure 1) comprising: an anchor (20) configured for attaching to a first article (Figure 3) and comprising: a body (20) having a semi-cylindrical shape (Figure 1) and forming a cavity (26), wherein the body comprises a first arc end and a second arc end spaced away from the first arc end to form an opening in the body (Figure 1 shows at least two two arc ends that are spaced from one another the are part of the opening (top opening of 26).) such that the body flexes in response to a radially inward force to reduce a chord dimension of the anchor and expands upon removal of the force (The structure of Zhang meets the claimed spacing of arc ends, so it is capable of performing the claimed intended use.); a first anchor tab (222) extending radially outward from the body proximate the first arc end (The term “proximate” is a term of degree not currently defined in the claim. Each anchor tab (222) is “proximate” an arc end.); a second anchor tab (222) extending radially outward from the body proximate the second arc end (The term “proximate” is a term of degree not currently defined in the claim. Each anchor tab (222) is “proximate” an arc end.); and a lip extending radially outward from the body opposite the opening (The bottom surface of the anchor tabs (222) forms a lip that extends radially outward.); and a retainer (40) comprising: a locking portion (44) configured for inserting in the cavity (Figure 3) and selectively locking to the body (Figure 3); and a holding portion (42) extending from the locking portion and configured for holding a second article. (The holding portion (42) is for holding the articles (60, 80) or an external force application member (See ¶0015).)
Claim 4
Zhang teaches the twist-lock fastener of Claim 1, wherein the body of the anchor comprises a first slot (24) and a second slot (24); the base of the retainer comprises a first retainer flange and a second retainer flange (442); with the retainer in a first angular orientation, the first retainer flange is receivable by the first slot and the second retainer flange is receivable by the opening (The first angular orientation is where the blocks (442) are inserted into the openings (242) and then the slots (244).); and with the retainer in a second angular orientation, the first retainer flange is receivable by the first slot and the second retainer flange is receivable by the second slot are configured for mating together. (The second angular orientation is when the retainer (40) is rotated to move the blocks (442) further into the slots (244).)
Claim 5
Zhang teaches the twist-lock fastener of Claim 4, wherein: the first slot comprises a first end and a second end (Figure 1); the second slot comprises a first end and the second end (Figure 1); the second end of first slot and the second end of second slot are configured for stopping rotation of the retainer at the second angular orientation (Figure 4); and the first end of second slot is configured for receiving the second retainer flange when rotating the retainer relative to the anchor from the first angular orientation to the second angular orientation. (Figures 3-4)
Claim 18
Zhang teaches teaches an assembly comprising : a first article (60) comprising a hole (Figure 3); an anchor (20) situated in the hole and coupled to the first article (Figure 3), the anchor comprising: a body having a semi-cylindrical shape (Figure 1) and forming a cavity (26), wherein the body comprises a first arc end and a second arc end spaced away from the first arc end to form an opening in the body (Figure 1 shows at least two two arc ends that are spaced from one another the are part of the opening (top opening of 26).) such that the body flexes in response to radially inward force to reduce a chord dimension of the anchor and expands upon removal of the force (The structure of Zhang meets the claimed spacing of arc ends, so it is capable of performing the claimed intended use.); a first anchor tab extending radially outward from the body proximate the first arc end (The term “proximate” is a term of degree not currently defined in the claim. Each anchor tab (222) is “proximate” an arc end.); a second anchor tab extending radially outward from the body proximate the second arc end (The term “proximate” is a term of degree not currently defined in the claim. Each anchor tab (222) is “proximate” an arc end.); and a lip extending radially outward from the body opposite the opening (The bottom surface of the anchor tabs (222) forms a lip that extends radially outward.); and a retainer (40) comprising: a locking portion (44) inserted in the cavity and selectively locked to the body (Figure 3); and a holding portion (42) extending from the locking portion; and a second article (60) coupled to the first article by the holding portion. (Figure 3-4)
Claim 19
Zhang teaches the assembly of Claim 18, wherein with the locking portion of the retainer inserted in the cavity of the body of the anchor, the retainer is configured for rotating relative to the anchor between an unlocked position and a locked position. (Figures 3-4)
Claims 1, 11-12, 18, 21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arisaka (US 20070253794A1).
Claim 1
Arisaka teaches a twist-lock fastener (Figure 1) comprising: an anchor (1) configured for attaching to a first article (Figure 8) and comprising: a body having a semi-cylindrical shape (Figure 4) and forming a cavity (interior cavity of the anchor), wherein the body comprises a first arc end and a second arc end spaced away from the first arc end to form an opening (Figure 4) in the body such that the body flexes in response to a radially inward force to reduce a chord dimension of the anchor and expands upon removal of the force (Arisaka teaches the structural requirements (arc ends and a gap) and therefore teaches the claimed intended use of said structure.); a first anchor tab extending radially outward from the body proximate the first arc end (The term “proximate” is a term of degree not currently defined in the claim. Each anchor tab (6) is “proximate” an arc end.); a second anchor tab extending radially outward from the body proximate the second arc end (The term “proximate” is a term of degree not currently defined in the claim. Each anchor tab (6) is “proximate” an arc end.); and a lip extending radially outward from the body opposite the opening (Figure 1 shows a lip (bottom of 6) extends in a direction opposite the opening.); and a retainer (3) comprising: a locking portion (12) configured for inserting in the cavity and selectively locking to the body (Figure 10); and a holding portion (10) extending from the locking portion and configured for holding a second article. (Figure 10)
Claim 11
Arisaka teaches the twist-lock fastener of Claim 1, wherein: the anchor further comprises a receiver (8) extending inwardly from the body into the cavity (Figure 7); and with the locking portion of the retainer inserted in the cavity of the anchor, the locking portion engages the receiver. (Figure 10)
Claim 12
Arisaka teaches the twist-lock fastener of Claim 1, wherein the holding portion comprises a clip. (¶0027 teaches the fastener is a clip. The holding portion (10) is part of this clip.)
Claim 18
Arisaka teaches an assembly comprising : a first article (P1) comprising a hole (Figure 7); an anchor (1) situated in the hole and coupled to the first article (Figure 7), the anchor comprising: a body having a semi-cylindrical shape (Figure 4) and forming a cavity (interior cavity of the anchor), wherein the body comprises a first arc end and a second arc end spaced away from the first arc end to form an opening in the body (Figure 4) such that the body flexes in response to radially inward force to reduce a chord dimension of the anchor and expands upon removal of the force (Arisaka teaches the structural requirements (arc ends and a gap) and therefore teaches the claimed intended use of said structure.); a first anchor tab extending radially outward from the body proximate the first arc end (The term “proximate” is a term of degree not currently defined in the claim. Each anchor tab (6) is “proximate” an arc end.); a second anchor tab extending radially outward from the body proximate the second arc end (The term “proximate” is a term of degree not currently defined in the claim. Each anchor tab (6) is “proximate” an arc end.); and a lip extending radially outward from the body opposite the opening (Figure 1 shows a lip (bottom of 6) extends in a direction opposite the opening.); and a retainer (3) comprising: a locking portion (12) inserted in the cavity and selectively locked to the body (Figure 10); and a holding portion (10) extending from the locking portion; and a second article (P2) coupled to the first article by the holding portion. (Figure 7)
Claim 21
Arisaka teaches the assembly of Claim 18, wherein the holding portion comprises one of a clip, an eyelet, a magnet, a cable holder, or a threaded insert. (¶0027 teaches the fastener is a clip. The holding portion (10) is part of this clip.)
Claim 24
Arisaka teaches the assembly of Claim 18, wherein the anchor further comprises at least one of: first teeth extending from at least a portion of the first anchor tab; and second teeth extending from at least a portion of the second anchor tab. (Figure 1 shows teeth (8) extending from a region of each anchor tab (6).)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-17, 20 and 22-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The most relevant prior art found during the search and consideration period for the application does not teach, or in combination, obviate the limitations of Claims 13-17, 20 and 22-23.
The prior art does not teach the limitations regarding the receiver/retainer interaction in Claims 17, 21 or 23 and while the prior art does provide teachings of clips in use with fasteners or assemblies as recited in Claims 1 or 18, there was no teaching found of the other alternatives for the holding portion in combination with the features of amended Claims 1 or 18.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/22/2026 with respect to the rejections using Okada have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Okada does not tech the new amendments to Claim 1.
A new rejection is presented above to indicate the portions of Okada that are relevant to applicant’s amendments to Claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 05/22/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Leverger, Zhang or Arisaka as presented above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found on the PTO-892 Form.
US5387065A – Figure 1 teaches an anchor (12) and a retainer (10) where the anchor has a cylindrical shape (20) with openings (30) and arc ends. The retainer fits into the anchor (Figure 2).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL W HOTCHKISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726