92Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed February 24, 2025, claims 1-20 are presented for examination. Claim 1 is an independent claim.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), and based on application # 10-2023-0012512 filed in Korea on January 31, 2023 which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Oath/Declaration
The Office acknowledges receipt of a properly signed Oath/Declaration submitted February 24, 2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement filed (February 24, 2025) has been received, entered into the record, and considered.
Drawings
The drawings filed February 24, 2025 are accepted by the examiner.
Abstract
An abstract has not been filed. The abstract should be limited to 150 words. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. It is important that the abstract not exceed 150 words in length since the space provided for the abstract on the computer tape used by the printer is limited. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. implied language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahara et al. (US 20200402462 Al) in view of Choi (US 20210183900 A1).
As to Claim 1:
Takahara et al. discloses a display device (Takahara, see Abstract, where Takahara discloses that an EL display apparatus is provided. A display screen includes pixels arranged in a matrix, with each pixel including an EL device and a pixel circuit. A source driver circuit is configured to output an analog video signal to each pixel. A gate driver circuit is on at least one side of the display screen, with the gate driver circuit including first and second gate driver circuits. Each pixel includes a driving transistor, a first switch transistor, and a second switch transistor. A gate terminal of the first switch transistor is connected to a first gate signal line of the first gate driver circuit, and a gate terminal of the second switch transistor is connected to a second gate signal line of the second gate driver circuit. The first and second switch transistors are on/off controlled, independently, by the first and second gate driver circuits) comprising: a glass substrate (Takahara, see paragraph [0108], where Takahara discloses that as shown in FIG. 10, an organic EL display panel includes at least one organic functional layer (EL layer) 15 (15R, 15G and 15B) comprising an electron transport layer, a luminescent layer, hole transport layer and the like, and a metal electrode (reflective film) (cathode) 106, which are stacked on a glass plate 71 (array substrate) formed with a transparent electrode 105 as a pixel electrode. The organic functional layer (EL layer) 15 is caused to emit light by applying the anode consisting of the transparent electrode (pixel electrode) 105 and the cathode consisting of the metal electrode (reflective electrode) 106 with a positive voltage and a negative voltage, respectively; stated otherwise, by applying direct current across the transparent electrode 105 and the metal electrode 106) including a display area (Takahara, see display region 53 in figure 5) and a non-display area (Takahara, see non-display region 52 in figure 5); a light shielding layer and a plurality of metal lines on the glass substrate (Takahara, see paragraph [0202], where Takahara discloses that a light-shielding film underlying gate driver 12 (source driver 14 in some cases) and pixel transistors 11); a buffer layer provided on the light shielding layer and the plurality of metal lines (Takahara, see paragraph [0117], where Takahara discloses that thin film encapsulation to be applied to the case where light is taken out from the substrate 71 side, which is referred to as downward takeout (see FIG. 10 in which the arrow indicates the light takeout direction), an aluminum film to be used as the cathode is formed over the EL film formed in advance. Subsequently, a resin layer to serve as a buffer layer is formed over the aluminum film); at least one transistor disposed on the buffer layer and including an active layer formed of an oxide-based semiconductor (Takahara, see paragraphs [0006], [0118], [0128] and [0203], where Takahara discloses that a resin film as a buffer layer over the electrode film. Further, encapsulating film 111 is formed over the buffer film. The pixel electrode is formed as overlapping the source signal lines, each pixel electrode being part of a pixel having a thin film transistor (TFT). More specifically, source signal lines 18 are insulated by the formation of an insulating film or a planarizing film comprising an acrylic material over the source signal lines 18, and then pixel electrode 105 is formed on the insulating film. Such a structure that a pixel electrode overlaps at least a part of source signal lines is called a high aperture (HA) structure. A planarization film comprises an inorganic material, formed over the light-shielding film. The light-shielding film is formed from aluminum and a silicon oxide film. On the planarization film are formed pixel electrodes of a high aperture (HA) structure, the pixel electrode teaching or suggesting an active layer), and the active layer overlapped with the light shielding layer (Takahara, see paragraphs [0118] and [0203], where Takahara discloses that a resin film as a buffer layer over the electrode film. Further, encapsulating film 111 is formed over the buffer film. A planarization film comprises an inorganic material, formed over the light-shielding film. The light-shielding film is formed from aluminum and a silicon oxide film. On the planarization film are formed pixel electrodes of a high aperture (HA) structure, the pixel electrode teaching or suggesting an active layer); a data line arranged adjacent to the plurality of metal lines and in parallel to the plurality of metal lines (Takahara, see paragraph [0166], where Takahara discloses that the configuration shown in FIG. 38 comprises driving transistor 11a allowing signal current to pass therethrough, driving transistor llb for controlling driving current to be passed through a light-emitting device comprising EL device 15 or the like, take-in transistor llc for connecting or disconnecting the pixel circuit to or from a data line (data) by control over gate signal line 17al, switching transistor lld for short circuiting the gate and the drain of transistor lla during a writing period by control over gate signal line 17 a2, storage capacitor 19 for holding a voltage across the gate and the source of transistor lla even after completion of writing of the voltage, and EL device 15 as a light-emitting device); a pixel power line disposed on the plurality of metal lines and overlapped with the plurality of metal lines (Takahara, see metal lines overlapping with each other as shown in 18, 17a1, 17a2 and 17b of pixel 16 in figure 38); a planarization layer disposed on the pixel power line (Takahara, see paragraph [0203], where Takahara discloses that planarization film are formed pixel electrodes of a high aperture (HA) structure), the plurality of metal lines (Takahara, see metal lines overlapping with each other as shown in 18, 17a1, 17a2 and 17b of pixel 16 in figure 38) and the transistor (Takahara, see transistors 11a, 11b, 11c, 11d and 11e in figure 38) ; a light emitting element including a first electrode (Takahara, see light emitting element 15 with electrode in figure 38), a light emitting layer and a second electrode provided on the planarization layer (Takahara, see paragraph [0203], where Takahara discloses that planarization film are formed pixel electrodes); and an encapsulation layer provided over the second electrode and including at least one organic layer and one inorganic layer (Takahara, see paragraph [0117], where Takahara discloses that thin film encapsulation to be applied to the case where light is taken out from the substrate 71 side, which is referred to as downward takeout (see FIG. 10 in which the arrow indicates the light takeout direction), an aluminum film to be used as the cathode is formed over the EL film formed in advance. Subsequently, a resin layer to serve as a buffer layer is formed over the aluminum film. Examples of materials for the buffer layer include organic materials such as acrylic resin and epoxy resin), wherein the plurality of electrode lines comprising a first electrode line and a second electrode line (Takahara, see first electrode line 17 and second electrode line 18 in figure 9), and the second electrode line (Takahara, see second metal line 18 in figure 9) is intersected to the first electrode line and connected to the first electrode line (Takahara, see second electrode line 18 intersecting first electrode line 17 in figure 9).
Takahara differs from the claimed subject matter in that Takahara does not explicitly disclose metal line. However in an analogous art, Choi discloses metal line (Choi, see paragraph [0013], where Choi discloses that a light emitting display apparatus comprises a substrate, a first metal line and a second metal line spaced apart from each other along a first direction on the substrate and disposed along a second direction crossing the first direction, and a subpixel overlapped with at least one of the first metal line and the second metal line, wherein the subpixel includes a first light emission portion between the first metal line and the second metal line, and a second light emission portion overlapped with at least one of the first metal line and the second metal line).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Takahara with Choi. One would be motivated to modify Takahara by disclosing metal line as taught by Choi, and thereby luminance and color temperature have been improved (Choi, see paragraph [0015]).
As to Claim 3:
Takahara in view of Choi discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the first metal line extends in a first direction (Takahara, see data lines 18 and scan lines 17 in figure 9), and the second metal line extends in a second direction, further comprising a scan line disposed parallel to the second metal line (Takahara, see data lines 18 and scan lines 17 in figure 9) and intersected with the first metal line (Takahara, see second metal line 18 intersecting first metal line 17 in figure 9).
As to Claim 4:
Takahara in view of Choi discloses that the display device of claim 1, further comprising a sensing line intersected with the second metal line (Choi, see paragraph [0068], where Choi discloses that the data driving circuit 50 can convert a digital type sensing data signal to a sensing data voltage based on the data control signal and the plurality of reference gamma voltages in the sensing mode, supply the converted sensing data voltage to the corresponding subpixels 12a, 12b, 12c and 12d through the corresponding data line DL, sense the characteristic value of the driving transistor disposed in the corresponding subpixels 12a, 12b, 12c and 12d through each of the plurality of reference voltage lines RL, and supply the sensing data per pixel to the control circuit 30. For example, the data driving circuit 50 can sequentially sense the first to fourth subpixels 12a, 12b, 12c and 12d, which constitute the unit pixel 12).
As to Claim 5:
Takahara in view of Choi discloses that the display device of claim 1, wherein the first metal line is a touch line and the second metal line is a touch bridge line (Choi, see paragraph [0068], where Choi discloses that the data driving circuit 50 can convert a digital type sensing data signal to a sensing data voltage based on the data control signal and the plurality of reference gamma voltages in the sensing mode, supply the converted sensing data voltage to the corresponding subpixels 12a, 12b, 12c and 12d through the corresponding data line DL, sense the characteristic value of the driving transistor disposed in the corresponding subpixels 12a, 12b, 12c and 12d through each of the plurality of reference voltage lines RL, and supply the sensing data per pixel to the control circuit 30. For example, the data driving circuit 50 can sequentially sense the first to fourth subpixels 12a, 12b, 12c and 12d, which constitute the unit pixel 12).
As to Claim 6:
Takahara in view of Choi discloses that the display device of claim 1, wherein an opened area is disposed in at least one side of a light emission area, and wherein at least a portion of the second electrode is separated by the opened area (Choi, see paragraph [0107], where Choi discloses that the light emission portions EPw and EPg disposed in some subpixel areas SPA2 and SPA4 of the plurality of
subpixel areas SPAl to SPA4 according to one embodiment can be overlapped with at least one of the metal lines PL, DL and RL adjacent along the first direction X).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 7-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Referring to claim 2, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “a bank on the first electrode; color filters in each of the plurality of subpixels on the encapsulation layer; and a black matrix between the color filters; wherein the black matrix overlaps the bank, and wherein the plurality of metal lines has a mesh structure”.
Referring to claim 7 and dependent claims 8-20, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “further comprising: a touch line on the substrate in a non-transmissive area; a touch bridge line in the non-transmissive area; a touch contact electrode electrically connected to the touch bridge line; a touch sensor in a transmissive area and including a touch sensor electrode overlapping with the touch contact electrode; and a cathode electrode disposed on the substrate, wherein the touch sensor contacts the touch contact electrode so the touch sensor is electrically connected to the touch bridge line, wherein the cathode electrode is separated from the touch sensor via an undercut area, and wherein the cathode electrode and the touch sensor comprise a same material and are formed on a same layer”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure. Kaisha (US 10516131 B2) discloses an organic EL device of one aspect of the disclosure includes: a base material; an insulating layer provided with a recessed portion on an upper face thereof; and a light-emitting element including a reflective layer provided on at least a surface of the recessed portion, a filling layer having optical transparency and filling the inside of the recessed portion with the reflective layer interposed between the filling layer and the recessed portion, a first electrode having optical transparency and provided on at least an upper layer side of the filling layer, an organic layer containing at least a light-emitting layer provided on an upper layer of the first electrode, a second electrode having optical transparency and provided on an upper layer side of the organic layer, and an edge cover layer covering at least an end portion of the first electrode, wherein the organic electroluminescence device includes a plurality of unit light emitting regions separated from one another, an excavated portion is provided in the insulating layer between adjacent unit light emitting regions, and at last the filling layer is provided inside the excavated portion.
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NELSON ROSARIO whose telephone number is (571)270-1866. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday, 7:30am- 5:00pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Eason can be reached on (571) 270-7230. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NELSON M ROSARIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624