DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the instant application publication, figure 29, figure 44, paragraphs [0408]-[0417], applicant discloses that the intra prediction of the displacement of the subdivided vertex is performed by predicting displacement of subdivision point from displacements of vertices of both ends (figure 44 step S6). In the instant application publication, paragraphs [0418]-[0423], applicant discloses predicting the displacement of the subdivided vertex using a normal vector for the subdivided vertex calculated from normal vectors of the end points on the base mesh.
TOKUMO teaches (figure 11, [0124], [126], figure 16, [0146], [0070]) that three vectors (including a normal vector) at a vertex on a subdivided mesh is calculated using three vectors at each of vertexes of both ends on a base mesh. The calculated three vectors are used as the intra prediction of three vectors at a vertex on a deformed mesh corresponding to the vertex on the subdivided mesh. Then the calculated three vectors are added by the mesh displacements to obtain the vertex on the deformed mesh.
TOKUMO’s teaching is consistent with the application specification. See detailed rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by TOKUMO et al. (US 20240054684 A1).
Regarding claim 1. TOKUMO discloses A mesh decoding device comprising a circuit (abstract, A 3D data decoding apparatus for decoding 3D coded data includes an image decoder configured to decode the 3D coded data into a mesh displacement image) that:
outputs a base mesh (figure 3 unit 303, figure 4),
outputs an intra prediction residual ([0126] The mesh deformation unit 3072 receives the mesh displacement input; [0147] The mesh displacement derivation unit derives and outputs, based on the mesh and the subdivided mesh, displacements d4, d5, and d6, as mesh displacements, of the vertices v4, v5, and v6 for vertices v4′, v 5′, and v6′ (FIG. 16(d)) (corresponding encoding)), and
decodes a displacement by performing intra prediction of a displacement of a subdivided vertex based on the outputted base mesh to calculate an intra prediction value based on a normal vector calculated for the subdivided vertex (figure 11, [0124] v1, v2, and v3 are three-dimensional vectors. The mesh subdivision unit 3071 adds new vertices v12, v13, and v23 to intermediates of respective sides of the triangle to generate and output a subdivided mesh (FIG. 11(b)). v12=(v1+v2)/2, v13=(v1+v3)/2, v23=(v2+v3)/2; figure 16, [0146] The mesh subdivision unit 1152 subdivides the base mesh to generate a subdivided mesh like the mesh subdivision unit 3071 (FIG. 16(c)). v4′=(v1+v2)/2, v5′=(v1+v3)/2, v6′=(v2+v3)/2; [0070] Local coordinate system: an orthogonal coordinate system defined per region or vertex in the 3D space. Specifically, this is an orthogonal coordinate system consisting of a first axis (D), a second axis (U), and a third axis (V), the first axis (D) being indicated by a normal vector n_vec at a vertex (or a surface including a vertex). n_vec, t_vec, and b_vec are three-dimensional vectors), and adding the calculated intra prediction value and the outputted intra prediction residual ([0126] The mesh deformation unit 3072 receives the subdivided mesh and the mesh displacement input and adds mesh displacements d12, d13, and d23 to generate and output a deformed mesh (FIG. 11(c)). v12′=v12+d12, v13′=v13+d13, v23′=v23+d23).
Regarding claim 2. TOKUMO discloses The mesh decoding device according to claim 1, wherein
the circuit decodes the displacement based on normal vectors of points at both ends of the subdivided vertex (figure 11, [0124] v1, v2, and v3 are three-dimensional vectors. The mesh subdivision unit 3071 adds new vertices v12, v13, and v23 to intermediates of respective sides of the triangle to generate and output a subdivided mesh (FIG. 11(b)). v12=(v1+v2)/2, v13=(v1+v3)/2, v23=(v2+v3)/2; figure 16, [0146] The mesh subdivision unit 1152 subdivides the base mesh to generate a subdivided mesh like the mesh subdivision unit 3071 (FIG. 16(c)). v4′=(v1+v2)/2, v5′=(v1+v3)/2, v6′=(v2+v3)/2; [0070] Local coordinate system: an orthogonal coordinate system defined per region or vertex in the 3D space. Specifically, this is an orthogonal coordinate system consisting of a first axis (D), a second axis (U), and a third axis (V), the first axis (D) being indicated by a normal vector n_vec at a vertex (or a surface including a vertex). n_vec, t_vec, and b_vec are three-dimensional vectors; [0126] The mesh deformation unit 3072 receives the subdivided mesh and the mesh displacement input and adds mesh displacements d12, d13, and d23 to generate and output a deformed mesh (FIG. 11(c)). v12′=v12+d12, v13′=v13+d13, v23′=v23+d23).
Regarding claim 3. TOKUMO discloses The mesh decoding device according to claim 1, wherein
the circuit decodes the displacement based on a decoded displacement of the subdivided vertex ([0126] The mesh deformation unit 3072 receives the subdivided mesh and the mesh displacement input and adds mesh displacements d12, d13, and d23 to generate and output a deformed mesh (FIG. 11(c)). v12′=v12+d12, v13′=v13+d13, v23′=v23+d23).
Regarding claim 4. The same analysis has been stated in claim 1.
Furthermore, TOKUMO discloses
performing inverse quantization on a quantized intra prediction residual (figure 3 unit 305, figure 5, [0066] the mesh displacement decoder 305 may further include an image decoder 3051; [0100] The image decoder 3051 decodes the mesh displacement image coding stream coded in VVC, HEVC, or the like, and outputs a decoded image having pixel values of quantized mesh displacement (mesh displacement image, mesh displacement array); [0120] In the image decoder 3051, typically, an intra-prediction method or an inter-prediction method is used (inherently, an intra-prediction residual of mesh displacement image is first inverse quantized and then added to an intra prediction value to obtain the displacement within the image decoder 3051 when an intra-prediction method is used)).
Regarding claim 5. The same analysis has been stated in claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIAOLAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488