DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Germany on 02/27/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the DE10 2024 105 417.4 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the ground compaction device; the tamping foot; the unbalanced exciter; and ground contacting plate must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the voltage measuring device" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Steffen (2015/0167259).
With regard to claim 1, Steffen discloses a ground compaction device (abstract; fig. 1), comprising: a working device (1) for generating a working movement for ground compaction (abstract); an electric drive (3) for driving the working device; an electrical energy storage (6) for providing electrical energy for the electric drive (para 0035); and a converting apparatus (para 0021; “transformer”) for converting a direct current voltage that can be drawn from the energy storage into an alternating current voltage for the electric drive (para 0054); wherein the converting apparatus is designed to provide the alternating current voltage at a predetermined control frequency when the direct current voltage drawn from the energy storage is at a direct current voltage value above a predetermined threshold voltage value (paras 0037-0038); and to provide the alternating current voltage at a reduced frequency that is lower than the control frequency when the direct current voltage drawn from the energy storage has a direct current voltage value equal to or below the threshold voltage value (paras 0037-0038, 0042-0043).
With regard to claim 2, Steffen further discloses the converting apparatus is designed to reduce the frequency of the alternating current voltage in accordance with a predetermined rule when the direct current voltage falls below the threshold voltage value (paras 0037-0038).
With regard to claim 3, Steffen further discloses the converting apparatus is designed to gradually reduce the frequency of the alternating current voltage when the direct current voltage falls below the threshold voltage value (paras 0037-0038).
With regard to claim 6, Steffen further discloses the converting apparatus and the energy storage are integrated in one structural unit (fig. 1).
With regard to claim 7, Steffen further discloses the ground compaction device is a tamper (1); the working movement is a tamping movement (abstract); a tamping foot is provided for compacting a ground (13); and the working device has a tamping device for generating the tamping movement of the tamping foot (para 0055).
With regard to claim 8, Steffen further discloses the ground compaction device is a vibrating plate (para 0002); the working movement is a vibrating movement (para 0005); a ground contact plate (13) is provided; the working device has an unbalance exciter for generating the vibrating movement for ground compaction (para 0046); and the vibrating movement is transmitted to the ground contact plate (para 0014).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steffen (2015/0167259) in view of Myers et al. (2020/0169088).
With regard to claims 4-5, Steffen discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding a voltage measuring device is provided for measuring the direct current voltage drawn from the energy storage and the direct current voltage measured by the voltage measuring device can be used as a signal for adjusting the frequency through the converting apparatus.
Myers discloses a system with a voltage measuring device is provided for measuring the direct current voltage drawn from the energy storage (para 0032) and the direct current voltage measured by the voltage measuring device can be used as a signal for adjusting the frequency through the converting apparatus (via variable frequency drives “VFD”; paras 0011, 0018-0019, 0040, 0044).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Steffen and utilize sensors to adjust frequency as taught in Myers with a reasonable expectation of success in order to save energy based on the demands of the system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/BENJAMIN F FIORELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
BF
06/08/2026