DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: operation portion in claims 1, 3-5, 7-9; display portion in claims 1, 4, 8; notification portion in claims 1, 2, 6; light emitting portion in claims 2, 3, 5; sound generation portion in claims 6, 7, 9; notification device in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (WO 2023/069138; “Kim”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses an image forming apparatus for forming an image on a recording material (Fig. 1 [0020]), comprising:
an apparatus main body 10 having an image forming portion (print engine) that forms an image on a recording material P (Fig. 1 [0022]); and
an operation portion 100 that has a display portion 110 that displays information on image forming and a notification portion 120 that notifies a state of the image forming apparatus (Fig. 2 [0028-0029, 0044, 0046]), the operation portion 100 being slidably provided in the apparatus main body 10 between a first position (extraction position) where the entirety of the display portion 110 is exposed from the apparatus main body 10 and a second position (insertion position, or alternatively, a position between the extraction position and insertion position) where the display portion 110 is stored in the apparatus main body 10 such that at least a part of the display portion is invisible from outside the apparatus main body (Fig. 2 [0030-0031]),
wherein the notification portion 120 is provided in a position where the notification portion is visible from outside the apparatus main body 10 when the operation portion is in the second position (Fig. 2 [0032]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the notification portion has a light emitting portion (e.g., LCD, LED, DLP) that emits light, the notification portion being configured to notify the status of the image forming apparatus by the lighting of the light emitting portion (Fig. 5 [0029, 0044]).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a controller 140 (Fig. 3) that controls a notification device 160 provided to be always exposed outside the apparatus main body 10 such that the state of the image forming apparatus is notified in synchronism with a timing of the notifying portion notifying the state of the image forming apparatus (Fig. 5 [0037, 0048]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (WO 2023/069138) in view of Asakawa et al. (JP 2012-010137; “Asakawa”). (Note: paragraphs of Asakawa correspond to the machine translation of Asakawa provided herewith.)
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 2, wherein a light amount of the light emitting portion is adjustable (controlling a light-emission color, a light-emission period, and the like of the light-emitting element 160 which may be a part of 120; [0048]).
Kim fails to explicitly disclose wherein the light emitting portion emits light with a first light amount when the operation portion is in the first position and the light emitting portion emits light with a second light amount larger than the first light amount when the operation portion is in the second position.
Asakawa teaches providing a light emitting portion L1-L4 within a notification portion 7 of an operation portion 5 in a similar image forming apparatus 1 (Fig. 1 [0030]). Further, Asakawa teaches controlling a light amount of the light emitting portion L1-L4 such that the amount of light directed forward (horizontally) is made greater than the amount of light directed upward, so that a user can more easily visually recognize information displayed from a distance while an appropriate amount of light that is gentle on the eyes is directed to a user who is standing near the apparatus ([0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the light emitting portion of Asakawa into the apparatus of Kim. In doing so, it would have further been obvious light the light emitting portion with a first light amount when the operation portion is in the first position and to light the light emitting portion with a second light amount larger than the first light amount when the operation portion is in the second position. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the apparatus of Kim requires a user to be physically present at the apparatus in order to manually slide the operation portion from the second position (that in which the operation portion is either fully inserted) to the first position (Kim [0031]), and that if the operation portion was in the second position, i.e., fully inserted, a user could be at a greater distance away from the apparatus and still be able to view the notification portion. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow a user to more easily visually recognize information displayed from a distance while providing an appropriate amount of light that is gentle on the eyes directed to a user who is standing near the apparatus (Asakawa [0038]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Kim teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the operation portion is movable to the first portion, the second position (in the alternative, a position between fully extracted and fully inserted), and a third position (insertion position) where the operation portion is stored in the apparatus main body such that the entirety of the display portion is invisible from outside (Kim Fig. 2 [0030]).
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (WO 2023/069138) in view of Sakata et al. (US 2003/0218643; “Sakata”).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the notification portion has a sound generation portion that emits sound, and wherein the notification portion is configured to notify the state of the image forming apparatus by the sound emitted by the sound generation portion.
Sakata teaches providing a sound generation portion 12e that emits sound to a notification portion 12a/12e of an operation portion 12 of an image forming apparatus 1 (Figs 1-2 [0044]), wherein the notification portion is configured to notify the state of the image forming apparatus by the sound emitted by the sound generation portion ([0055]).
Based on the teachings of Sakata, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a sound generation portion that emits sound in the notification portion of Kim, and wherein the notification portion is configured to notify the state of the image forming apparatus by the sound emitted by the sound generation portion. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to guide handicapped persons (for example, the completely blind and the weak-sighted person) with sounds for operating the image forming apparatus (Sakata [0061]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Kim teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 6, wherein a volume of the sound generation portion is adjustable (Sakata [0020]).
Modified Kim does not explicitly teach the sound generation portion emits sound with a first volume when the operation portion is in the first position and the sound generation portion emits sound with a second volume larger than the first volume when the operation portion is in the second position.
However, in modifying Kim to include the sound generation portion/speaker on the operation portion that slides into and out of the image forming apparatus, it would have been apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art that sound emitted from the speaker would be muffled when the operation portion was housed within the image forming apparatus. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the apparatus such that the sound generation portion emits sound with a first volume when the operation portion is in the first position and the sound generation portion emits sound with a second volume larger than the first volume when the operation portion is in the second position. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order for a user to be able to hear the emitted sound when the operation portion is housed within the apparatus.
Regarding claim 8, modified Kim teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the operation portion is movable to the first portion, the second position (in the alternative, a position between fully extracted and fully inserted), and a third position (insertion position) where the operation portion is stored in the apparatus main body such that the entirety of the display portion is invisible from outside (Kim Fig. 2 [0030]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior art of record does not disclose or suggest the claimed “wherein the light emitting portion emits light with a third light amount larger than the second light amount when the operation portion is in the third position” in combination with the remaining limitations of claim 5.
Prior art of record does not disclose or suggest the claimed “wherein the sound generation portion emits sound with a third volume larger than the second volume when the operation portion is in the third position” in combination with the remaining limitations of claim 9.
Although modified Kim teaches the operation portion able to be positioned at the claimed first through third positions, it would not have been obvious to increase the light amount or the volume amount when positioned at each of the first through third positions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have only found it obvious to increase the light amount or the volume amount at the third position (fully inserted position) versus the first position (fully exposed position). There is no teaching or suggestion of increasing the light amount or the volume amount when the operation portion is in the second position between the first and third positions.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 provided herewith and not relied upon is cited as related art.
Conclusion
/CARLA J THERRIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852