Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/24/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 24 February 2025. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “a viewing mechanism” in claims 1 and 10.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “a viewing mechanism” is being interpreted as a mirror as supported by the specification (see paragraph [0030]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, the claim is indefinite because it is not clear which limitation “is locked” in line 5 is meant to be describing. For purposes of examination, the examiner has interpreted the claim to mean that “rotation of the cover body…is locked.” As such, the examiner suggests that a comma be added in line 3, so the beginning of the lines reads “of the cover body, in a direction…”
Regarding claims 7-8, the claims inherit the deficiencies of claim 6 through their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2015016730 to Fujisaki et al., all citations are to the attached English language machine translation (hereafter Fujisaki), in view of US 2019/0359137 to Yoshida et al. (hereafter Yoshida).
Regarding claim 1, Fujisaki discloses a vehicular viewing device comprising: a viewing mechanism that assists viewing by an occupant (see at least the abstract and Fig. 1, where the device is a vehicular door mirror device); a support body that is attached to a vehicle body side and that supports the viewing mechanism (see at least the abstract and Figs. 1 and 2, where the base 22 is a support body); and a cover body that is provided with an insertion hole (see at least Figs. 1 and 2 and page 2, eighth paragraph, where upper cover 32A is a cover body), , and that covers the support body (see at least Fig. 1).
Fujisaki does not specifically disclose that the cover body is rotated in an insertion hole circumferential direction in a state in which the support body is inserted into the insertion hole whereby the cover body is locked in an insertion hole axial direction and the insertion hole circumferential direction to the support body.
However, Yoshida teaches a vehicular viewing device (see at least the abstract and Fig. 1), wherein a cover body is provided with an insertion hole, that is rotated in an insertion hole circumferential direction in a state in which a support body is inserted into the insertion hole whereby the cover body is locked in an insertion hole axial direction and the insertion hole circumferential direction to the support body (see at least Figs. 3 and 4 and paragraph [0046], where engaging protrusions are inserted into engaging grooves by rotating).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Fujisaki to include the teachings of Yoshida so that the cover body is rotated in an insertion hole circumferential direction in a state in which the support body is inserted into the insertion hole whereby the cover body is locked in an insertion hole axial direction and the insertion hole circumferential direction to the support body for the purpose of using a known technique for locking separate components into a fixed arrangement in order to provide a stable configuration for the device.
Regarding claim 2, Fujisaki as modified by Yoshida discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Yoshida also teaches that the device further comprises a raised portion that is provided at one of the support body or the cover body, and a recessed portion that is provided at another of the support body or the cover body and into which the raised portion is inserted whereby the cover body is locked in the insertion hole axial direction and the insertion hole circumferential direction to the support body (see at least Figs. 3-4 and paragraph [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Fujisaki as modified by Yoshida to include further teachings of Yoshida so that the device further comprises a raised portion that is provided at one of the support body or the cover body, and a recessed portion that is provided at another of the support body or the cover body and into which the raised portion is inserted whereby the cover body is locked in the insertion hole axial direction and the insertion hole circumferential direction to the support body for the purpose of using a known technique for locking separate components into a fixed arrangement in order to provide a stable configuration for the device.
Regarding claim 3, Fujisaki as modified by Yoshida discloses all of the limitations of claim 2.
Yoshida also teaches that the raised portion is inserted into the recessed portion whereby the cover body is locked in an insertion hole radial direction to the support body (see at least Figs. 3-4 and paragraph [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Fujisaki as modified by Yoshida to include further teachings of Yoshida so that the raised portion is inserted into the recessed portion whereby the cover body is locked in an insertion hole radial direction to the support body for the purpose of using a known technique for locking separate components into a fixed arrangement in order to provide a stable configuration for the device.
Regarding claim 4, Fujisaki as modified by Yoshida discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Yoshida also teaches a locking surface that is provided at a peripheral surface of the insertion hole and that is abutted against the support body whereby the cover body is locked in an insertion hole radial direction to the support body (see at least Fig. 3, where a portion of the cover locks into the shaft 16B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Fujisaki as modified by Yoshida to include further teachings of Yoshida so that the device further comprises a locking surface that is provided at a peripheral surface of the insertion hole and that is abutted against the support body whereby the cover body is locked in an insertion hole radial direction to the support body for the purpose of using a known technique for locking separate components into a fixed arrangement in order to provide a stable configuration for the device.
Regarding claim 5, Fujisaki as modified by Yoshida discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Yoshida also teaches a peripheral wall of the cover body is abutted against the support body whereby the cover body is locked in an insertion hole radial direction to the support body (see at least Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Fujisaki as modified by Yoshida to include the further teachings of Yoshida so that a peripheral wall of the cover body is abutted against the support body whereby the cover body is locked in an insertion hole radial direction to the support body for the purpose of using a known technique for locking separate components into a fixed arrangement in order to provide a stable configuration for the device.
Regarding claim 6, Fujisaki as modified by Yoshida discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Yoshida also teaches an engagement portion that is provided at the cover body and that is engaged with the support body whereby rotation of the cover body, in a direction in which the locking of the cover body in the insertion hole axial direction and the insertion hole circumferential direction to the support body is canceled, is locked (see at least Figs. 3 and 4 and paragraph [0046], where engaging protrusions 40B are engagement portions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Fujisaki as modified by Yoshida to include the further teachings of Yoshida so that the device further comprises an engagement portion that is provided at the cover body and that is engaged with the support body whereby rotation of the cover body, in a direction in which the locking of the cover body in the insertion hole axial direction and the insertion hole circumferential direction to the support body is canceled, is locked for the purpose of using a known technique for locking separate components into a fixed arrangement in order to provide a stable configuration for the device.
Regarding claim 7, Fujisaki as modified by Yoshida discloses all of the limitations of claim 6.
Yoshida also teaches that the engagement portion extends on an insertion hole circumferential direction side (see at least Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Fujisaki as modified by Yoshida to include the further teachings of Yoshida so that the engagement portion extends on an insertion hole circumferential direction side for the purpose of using a known technique for locking separate components into a fixed arrangement in order to provide a stable configuration for the device.
Regarding claim 8, Fujisaki as modified by Yoshida discloses all of the limitations of claim 6.
Fujisaki also discloses that the cover is made of resin (see at least page 2, seventh paragraph).
Yoshida also teaches that the cover is made of resin (see at least paragraph [0034]).
Fujisaki as modified by Yoshida does not specifically disclose that the engagement portion is elastic.
However, Official Notice is taken that elastic materials are old and well-known in the art for use in vehicular components.
Additionally, it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Fujisaki as modified by Yoshida so that the engagement portion is elastic for the purpose of choosing a known material that is flexible and durable since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 9, Fujisaki as modified by Yoshida discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Fujisaki also discloses that the support body supports the cover body in the insertion hole axial direction (see at least Figs. 1 and 2).
Yoshida also teaches that the support body guides the rotation of the cover body in the insertion hole circumferential direction (see at least Figs. 3 and 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Fujisaki as modified by Yoshida to include the further teachings of Yoshida so that the support body guides the rotation of the cover body in the insertion hole circumferential direction for the purpose of using a known technique for locking separate components into a fixed arrangement in order to provide a stable configuration for the device.
Regarding claim 10, Fujisaki discloses a method of assembling a vehicular viewing device including a viewing mechanism that assists viewing by an occupant, a support body that is attached to a vehicle body side and that supports the viewing mechanism, and a cover body that is provided with an insertion hole and that covers the support body (see at least Figs. 1 and 2 and the abstract).
Fujisaki does not specifically disclose that the cover body is rotated in an insertion hole circumferential direction in a state in which the support body is inserted into the insertion hole whereby the cover body is locked in an insertion hole axial direction and the insertion hole circumferential direction to the support body.
However, Yoshida teaches a vehicular viewing device (see at least the abstract and Fig. 1), wherein a cover body is rotated in an insertion hole circumferential direction in a state in which the support body is inserted into the insertion hole whereby the cover body is locked in an insertion hole axial direction and the insertion hole circumferential direction to the support body (see at least Figs. 3 and 4 and paragraph [0046], where engaging protrusions are inserted into engaging grooves by rotating).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Fujisaki to include the teachings of Yoshida so that the cover body is rotated in an insertion hole circumferential direction in a state in which the support body is inserted into the insertion hole whereby the cover body is locked in an insertion hole axial direction and the insertion hole circumferential direction to the support body for the purpose of using a known technique for locking separate components into a fixed arrangement in order to provide a stable configuration for the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2019/0315277 to Sawada et al. discloses a viewing device for a vehicle comprising a viewing mechanism (mirror), a support body, and a cover body (see at least Fig. 1).
/A.W.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872