DETAILED ACTION
*** The Office Action mailed 10/5/2026 is vacated in favor of the instant Office Action in light of entry of the claim amendments dated 9/30/2025. ***
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the monocyte, macrophage or dendritic cell" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-10, 12, 15-19, 21, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shiku et al (WO 2013/051718, April 2013, reference below to the English language equivalent cited by applicants, US 2014/0242701).
Claim(s) 1, 3-10, 12, 15-19, 21, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shiku et al (US 2014/0242701, of record).
Shiku et al teach macrophages transfected with a nucleic acid encoding a CAR (comprising the recited domains) with effector functions such as cytokine secretion (¶’s [0028], [0054], [0063], [0082]-[0090], Fig. 2). The effector activity, e.g. cytokine expression, may remain after exposure to said cytokines which are considered “suppressive” as they suppress target cells (Figs 19, 20, Example 12). The CAR may comprise an scFv (¶[0055]), a CD28 transmembrane domain (¶[0070]), dual signaling domains (¶’s [0064]), [0068], Fig. 2), a CD3 zeta domain ([0068]), a CD19 specific binding domain (¶[0060]), and be specific for cells expressing an antigen (¶’s [0004], [0054]). The cells may further comprise “synthetic” or “organic” molecules (¶’s [0080], [0085]). The cells are intended as therapeutics and thus are considered pharmaceuticals in a carrier which are administered for diseases such as cancer and tumors (¶ [0091]). Regarding claim 9, cytokine secretion is an M1 phenotype. The cells may comprise CD80 (¶[0070]). The cells are used to treat disease via antigen recognition on target cells (¶ [0091]). The cells can be prepared using viral vectors or electroporation (¶’s [0082]-[0085]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-12, 15-19, 21, 23, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiku et al (WO 2013/051718, April 2013, reference below to the English language equivalent cited by applicants, US 2014/0242701) in view of Weiskopf et al (Science, 2013, cited by applicants).
The teachings of Shiku et al are as above and applied as before. Shiku et al do not teach inhibition of CD47 or SIRP activity.
Weiskopf et al teaches the use of SIRPvariants and anti-CD47/SIRP antibodies to inhibit the activity of these molecules to improve antibody-mediated phagocytic effect of macrophages in immunotherapy protocols.
The claimed cells and methods are essentially disclosed by Shiku et al with the exception of the inhibition of CD47 or SIRP limitation. The ordinary skilled artisan, seeking a method to prepare CAR-expressing macrophages, would have been motivated to use the CD47/SIRP inhibitors of Weiskopf et al because they are taught to be a well-known means for overcoming tumor immunity to antibody-mediated immunotherapy such as CARs. It would have been obvious for the skilled artisan to do this because of the known benefit of improving CAR therapy as taught by Shiku and Weiskopf et al. Given the teachings of the cited references and the level of skill of the ordinary skilled artisan at the time of applicants’ invention, it must be considered, absent evidence to the contrary, that the ordinary skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in practicing the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 3-10, 12, 15-21, 23, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiku et al (WO 2013/051718, April 2013, reference below to the English language equivalent cited by applicants, US 2014/0242701) in view of Wang et al et al (US 9,777,064, e.f.d. 3/7/2015).
The teachings of Shiku et al are as above and applied as before. Although Shiku et al teach electroporation of nucleic acids, Shiku et al do not electroporation of mRNA.
Wang et al teach the electroporation of T cells with CAR-encoding nucleic acids, such as mRNA. See col. 45, lines 35-60, col. 47 line 63- col. 48; col. 55, lines 45-55.
The claimed cells and methods are essentially disclosed by Shiku et al with the exception of the mRNA limitation. The ordinary skilled artisan, seeking a method to prepare CAR-expressing macrophages, would have been motivated to use the mRNA electroporation of Wang et al because it is taught to be an effective technique for introducing nucleic acids such as mRNA into cells. It would have been obvious for the skilled artisan to do this because of the known benefit of generating CAR T cells as taught by Shiku and Wang et al. Given the teachings of the cited references and the level of skill of the ordinary skilled artisan at the time of applicants’ invention, it must be considered, absent evidence to the contrary, that the ordinary skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in practicing the claimed invention.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-12, 15-21, 23, 24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No. 11,034,749.
The ‘749 patent claims CAR-modified monocytes/macrophages and methods of treatment and making such cells, wherein the CAR comprises the domains recited by the instant claims. The only significant difference from the instant claims is the ‘749 cells include an Ad5f35 component.
Claims 1, 3-10, 12, 15-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5, 7, 11, 12, 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,306,133.
The ‘133 patent claims CAR-modified monocytes/macrophages and a pharmaceutical composition, wherein the CAR comprises the domains recited by the instant claims. The only significant difference from the instant claims is the ‘133 cells include an Ad5f35 component and recite the specific antibodies of instant claim 4.
Claims 1, 3-12, 15-21, 23, 24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14, 16-27 of U.S. Patent No. 11,306,134.
The ‘134 patent claims CAR-modified monocytes/macrophages and methods of treatment and making such cells, wherein the CAR comprises the domains recited by the instant claims. The only significant difference from the instant claims is that the ‘134 cells include a lentiviral component and possess effector activity.
Claims 1, 3-12, 15-21, 23, 24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 11,319,358.
The ‘358 patent claims CAR-modified monocytes/macrophages and methods of treatment and making such cells, wherein the CAR comprises the domains recited by the instant claims. The only significant difference from the instant claims is the ‘358 cells include CAR expression and viability percentages.
Claims 1, 3-12, 15-21, 23, 24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 9-14, 16-25, 27-30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,332,511.
The ‘511 patent claims CAR-modified monocytes/macrophages (CD14+/CD11b+ cells are monocytes/macrophages) and methods of treatment and making such cells, wherein the CAR comprises the domains recited by the instant claims. The only significant difference from the instant claims is the ‘511 cells are CD14+/CD11b+ (i.e. monocyte/macrophages) and are directed to pharmaceutical compositions.
Claims 1, 3-12, 15-19, 23, 24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,359,002.
The ‘002 patent claims CAR-modified monocytes/macrophages and methods of treatment and making such cells, wherein the CAR comprises the domains recited by the instant claims. The only significant difference from the instant claims is the ‘002 cells have an upregulated M1 marker or a downregulated M2 marker.
Claims 1, 3-12, 15-19, 23, 24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 4, 6-16, 19-24 of U.S. Patent No. 11,498,954.
The ‘954 patent claims CAR-modified monocytes/macrophages and methods of treatment and making such cells, wherein the CAR comprises the domains recited by the instant claims. The only significant difference from the instant claims is the ‘954 cells have reduced SIRPalpha activity.
Claims 1, 3-12, 15-21, 23, 24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-13, 15-17, 19-29 of U.S. Patent No. 11,407,805.
The ‘805 patent claims CAR-modified monocytes/macrophages and methods of treatment and making such cells, wherein the CAR comprises the domains recited by the instant claims. The only significant difference from the instant claims is the ‘805 cells have effector activity or an M1 phenotype.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/MICHAEL D BURKHART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638