DETAILED ACTION
Applicant(s) Response to Official Action
The response filed on August 31, 2026 has been entered and made of record. Claims 1, 9 and 17 have been amended. Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s submitted Amendments to the Specification have overcome the objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed June 15, 2026. Accordingly, the objection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments see pages 8 – 10 with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-5, 9-13 and 17-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guo et al., (US 2013/0107950 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of the newly discovered reference to the transform block partition type indicating, for a block, a number of sub-blocks in a plurality of sub-blocks of the block, a size of each sub-block of the plurality of sub-blocks, and a row and column offset of each sub-block of the plurality of sub-blocks within the block, as claimed in the amended Claims 1, 9 and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 5, 9 – 13 and 17 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (US 2013/0107950 A1) referred to as Guo hereinafter, and in view of Li et al., (US 2017/0208336 A1) referred to as Li hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Guo teaches a method for decoding a video stream (Fig. 15, Par. [0029] system 10 may be configured to support one-way or two-way video transmission to support applications such as video streaming, video playback, video broadcasting, and/or video telephony)) comprising:
decoding a transform block partition type (Par. [0112] video decoder 30 may be configured to receive a first syntax element indicating a transform type), the transform block partition type indicating, for a block, a size of each sub- block of the plurality of sub-blocks, (Par. [0112] the transform type is selected from at least one of a square transform partition and a non-square transform partition (220), and, in the case that the first syntax element indicates the non-square transform type, to receive a second syntax element indicating a transform direction for each transform partition having the non-square transform type, wherein the transform direction is selected from at least one of a horizontally-oriented direction and a vertically-oriented direction (222));
determining the plurality of sub-blocks for the block based on the decoded transform block partition type (Par. [0115] video decoder 30 may be further configured to partition the one or more of the multiple prediction units into sub-blocks (i.e. first sub-block) according to the determined transform partition, and to determine a further partition type for each of the sub-blocks (i.e. second sub-block)), wherein a first sub-block of the plurality of sub-blocks has a different shape and a different size as compared to a second sub-block of the plurality of sub-blocks (Par. [0074] As shown in FIG. 9, the first N.times.N PU (e.g., PU0 in FIG. 8 with NS_Flag=1, NS_direction_flag=0) may be first split into four vertically oriented, non-square transform sub-blocks 43A, 43B, 43C and 43D (i.e. first sub-block) of size (1/4N).times.N. For each sub-block, an additional flag(s) may be signaled to indicate if the sub-block (i.e. second sub-block) will be further split. For example, if this flag is 1, the (1/4N).times.N block is further split (i.e. different shape and size) 43A);
performing an intra prediction for the first sub-block to produce a first predictor for the first sub-block (Par. [0113] the coding unit is encoded using intra-prediction (224));
performing an inverse transform for the first sub-block to produce a first residual for the first sub-block (Par. [0116] Video decoder 30 may be further configured to apply an inverse transform to each of the transform partitions to decode residual prediction data (228)); and
generating decoded pixels for the first sub-block using the first predictor and first residual (Par. [0116] Video decoder 30 may be further configured to decode the residual prediction data using intra-prediction to produce decoded video data (230), where residual data represents pixel differences between the original block to be coded and the predictive block, see Par. [0004]).
Guo does not specifically teach the transform block partition type indicates a number of sub-blocks and the row and column offset of each sub-block. Therefore, Guo fails to explicitly teach the transform block partition type indicating, for a block, a number of sub-blocks in a plurality of sub-blocks of the block, a size of each sub- block of the plurality of sub-blocks, and a row and column offset of each sub-block of the plurality of sub-blocks within the block.
However, Li teaches the transform block partition type indicating, for a block, a number of sub-blocks in a plurality of sub-blocks of the block (Fig. 3, Par. [0067] there are eight partition modes for a CU coded, Par. [0068] A CU coded with partition mode PART_2N×nU is asymmetrically horizontally split into one PU0 (the upper PU) having ¼ the size of the CU and one PU1 (the lower PU) having ¾ the size of the CU (i.e. number of sub-blocks is 2)), a size of each sub-block of the plurality of sub-blocks (Par. [0068] A CU coded with partition mode PART_2N×nU is asymmetrically horizontally split into one PU0 (the upper PU) having ¼ the size of the CU (i.e. size of first sub-block is ¼) and one PU1 (the lower PU) having ¾ the size of the CU (i.e. size of second sub-block is ¾, which is a different shape and size from the first sub-block)), and a row and column offset of each sub-block of the plurality of sub-blocks within the block (Par. [0068] A CU coded with partition mode PART_2N×nU is asymmetrically horizontally split into one PU0 (the upper PU) (i.e. row offset) having ¼ the size of the CU (and one PU1 (the lower PU) having ¾ the size of the CU. A CU coded with partition mode PART_nL×2N is asymmetrically vertically split into one PU0 (the left PU) (i.e. column offset) having ¼ the size of the CU and one PU1 (the right PU) having ¾ the size of the CU).
References Guo and Li are considered to be analogous art because they relate to transform block partitioning types. Therefore, it would be obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the number of sub-blocks, size of sub-blocks and offset of sub-block in the transform partitioning type as suggested by Li in the invention of Guo. This modification would allow the partitioning of video blocks to be performed in a manner that leads to more efficient coding (See Li, Par. [0006]).
Regarding Claim 2, Guo in view of Li teaches claim 1. Guo further teaches wherein the first sub-block has a first dimension that is one quarter of a first corresponding dimension of the block (Par. [0074] As shown in FIG. 9, the first N.times.N PU (e.g., PU0 in FIG. 8 with NS_Flag=1, NS_direction_flag=0) may be first split into four vertically oriented, non-square transform sub-blocks 43A, 43B (i.e. first sub-block), 43C and 43D of size (1/4N).times.N.) and the second sub-block has a first dimension that is one half of the first corresponding dimension of the block (Par. [0075] sub-block 43A (i.e. second sub-block) may be split into four (1/4N).times.(1/4N) transform partitions or split into four (1/8N).times.(1/2N) transform partitions) .
Regarding Claim 3, Guo in view of Li teaches claim 2. Guo further teaches wherein the first dimension of the first sub-block, the first dimension of the second sub-block, and the first corresponding dimension of the block each correspond to either a width or a height (Fig. 9, Par. [0060] A video block may correspond to a coding node within a CU. The video blocks may have fixed or varying sizes, and may differ in size according to a specified coding standard, Par. [0065] The partition of block 33 is sometimes referred to as an hN.ti] mes.2N partition. In this context, the h refers to "half." As such, the width (i.e., hN) of an hN.times.2N partition is 1/4 the length of the height (i.e., 2N) of the partition).
Regarding Claim 4, Guo in view of Li teaches claim 3. Guo further teaches wherein decoding the transform block partition type includes decoding a first syntax element and a second syntax element (Par. [0007] syntax elements are signaled to indicate the type of partition (e.g., square or non-square) (i.e. first syntax element), and the direction of the partition (e.g., vertical or horizontal) (i.e. second syntax element) in the case of a non-square partition), and determining the transform block partition type based on the first syntax element, the second syntax element, an indication of whether horizontal partitioning is allowed, and an indication of whether vertical partitioning is allowed (Par. [0067]-[0071] NS_Flag (Non-square flag): this flag indicates if the N.times.N transform partition is selected. For example, if NS_Flag=0, it means the N.times.N transform is selected; if NS_Flag=1, it means that a non-square (e.g., hN.times.2N or 2N.times.hN) transform is selected (i.e. vertical and horizontal partitioning is allowed). NS_direction_Flag: this flag indicates which non-square transform has been selected (i.e. NS_Flag = 1). For example, if NS_direction_Flag=0, it means the vertically-oriented transform (hN.times.2N) is selected; if NS_direction_Flag=1, it means the horizontally-oriented transform (2N.times.hN) is selected.).
Regarding Claim 5, Guo in view of Li teaches claim 1. Guo further teaches further comprising determining an ordering of the sub-blocks based on the decoded transform block partition type (Par. [0005] The quantized transform coefficients, initially arranged in a two-dimensional array, may be scanned in a particular order to produce a one-dimensional vector of transform coefficients for entropy coding. Par. [0093] a scan position of the coefficient corresponding to the syntax elements, block type, and/or transform type), wherein performing the intra prediction for the first sub-block is based on the ordering (Par. [0086] Intra-prediction unit 46 may predict the received block relative to neighboring, previously coded blocks, e.g., blocks above, above and to the right, above and to the left, or to the left of the current block, assuming a left-to-right, top-to-bottom encoding order for blocks. Intra-prediction unit 46 may be configured with a variety of different intra-prediction modes. For example, intra-prediction unit 46 may be configured with a certain number of directional prediction modes, e.g., thirty-five directional prediction modes, based on the size of the CU being encoded).
Claims 9 – 13 are drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in Claims 1 – 5, respectively. Therefore apparatus Claims 9 – 13 correspond to method Claims 1 – 5, respectively, and are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above. Claim 9 further recites a video decoding apparatus comprising a circuitry that performs operations (See Guo, Par. [0039] Video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 each may be implemented as any of a variety of suitable encoder circuitry).
Claims 17 – 20 are drawn to the non-transitory computer readable medium of using the corresponding method claimed in Claims 1 – 4, respectively. Therefore apparatus Claims 17 – 20 correspond to method Claims 1 – 4, respectively, and are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above. Claim 17 further recites a non-transitory computer readable medium including an encoded bitstream (See Guo discloses in Fig. 1 and Par. [0027] Encoded video data (i.e. bitstream) may also be stored on storage medium 34) that, when processed by a decoder, causes a production of an output video stream, wherein the decoder processes the encoded bitstream using operations (See MPEP §2113 recites: "Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps", See Guo, Fig. 13, Par. [0039] a device may store instructions for the software in a suitable, non-transitory computer-readable medium and execute the instructions in hardware using one or more processors to perform the techniques of this disclosure. Each of video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 may be included in one or more encoders or decoders, either of which may be integrated as part of a combined encoder/decoder (CODEC) in a respective device).
Claims 6, 7, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (US 2013/0107950 A1), in view of Li et al., (US 2017/0208336 A1), and in further view of JUNG et al., (US 2011/0038412 A1) referred to as JUNG hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 6, Guo in view of Li teaches claim 5. Guo further teaches the ordering is not a raster scan order (Par. [0005] The quantized transform coefficients, initially arranged in a two-dimensional array, may be scanned in a particular order to produce a one-dimensional vector of transform coefficients for entropy coding). Guo in view of Li does not specifically disclose the type of scan order. Therefore, Guo in view of Li fails to explicitly teach the ordering is not a raster scan order.
However, JUNG teaches the ordering is not a raster scan order (Par. [0036] when a first coding unit, of the plurality of coding units, which is adjacent to a second coding unit, of the plurality of coding units, is scanned later than the second coding unit according to a raster scanning order and the first coding unit is scanned earlier than the second coding unit according to a zigzag scanning order).
References Guo, Li and JUNG are considered to be analogous art because they relate to transform block partitioning. Therefore, it would be obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specifying not a raster scan order as suggested by JUNG in the inventions of Guo and Li. This modification would allow the use of hierarchical coding to consider a maximum height, a maximum width, and a maximum depth of coding units which may be adaptively determined according to the characteristics of the image, or may be differently set by a use (See JUNG, Par. [0138]).
Regarding Claim 7, Guo in combination with Li and JUNG teaches claim 6. Guo further teaches wherein the ordering is based on availability of pixels required to perform intra prediction (Par. [0005] An intra-coded block is encoded according to an intra-coding mode and the residual data. For further compression, the residual data may be transformed from the pixel domain to a transform domain, resulting in residual transform coefficients, which then may be quantized. The quantized transform coefficients, initially arranged in a two-dimensional array, may be scanned in a particular order to produce a one-dimensional vector of transform coefficients for entropy coding).
Claims 14 and 15 are drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in Claims 6 and 7, respectively. Therefore apparatus Claims 14 and 15 correspond to method Claims 6 and 7, respectively, and are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (US 2013/0107950 A1), in view of Li et al., (US 2017/0208336 A1), in view of JUNG (US 2011/0038412 A1), and in further view of Li et al., (US 2020/0336741 A1) referred to as Li ‘741 hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 8, Guo in combination with Li and JUNG teaches claim 7. Guo further teaches wherein determining the plurality of sub-blocks for the block (Par. [0115] video decoder 30 may be further configured to partition the one or more of the multiple prediction units into sub-blocks (i.e. first sub-block) according to the determined transform partition, and to determine a further partition type for each of the sub-blocks) and the ordering of the sub-blocks based on the decoded transform block partition type (Par. [0093] a scan position of the coefficient corresponding to the syntax elements, block type, and/or transform type).
Guo in combination with Li and JUNG does not specifically teach lookup table. Therefore, Guo in combination with Li and JUNG fails to explicitly teach obtaining information from a row of a lookup table including information associated with the decoded transform block partition type.
However, Li ‘741 teaches obtaining information from a row of a lookup table including information associated with the decoded transform block partition type (Par. [0058] to indicate the availability of all possibilities of partition traces (a partition trace is how a block is partitioned to a given partition pattern, i.e., the partition type of each depth) in a pre-defined look-up table that is accessible to both encoder and decoder. When deciding whether a split type and/or direction is allowed or signaled, the corresponding partition will be converted to a number and indexed to the pre-defined look-up table (i.e. row of a look-up table), and the availability is given from that look-up table).
References Guo, Li, JUNG and Li ‘741 are considered to be analogous art because they relate to transform block partitioning. Therefore, it would be obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specifying a lookup table as suggested by Li ‘741 in the inventions of Guo, Li and JUNG in order to provide the corresponding partitioning type and direction with a number and indexed in the pre-defined look-up table (See Li ‘741, Par. [0058]).
Claim 16 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in Claim 8. Therefore apparatus Claim 16 corresponds to method Claim 8 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Brian T. Pendleton, can be reached on (571) . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Susan E. Hodges/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425