DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Borkholder et al (US 12,036,044), hereinafter Borkholder.
Regarding claim 1, Borkholder teaches a smart toilet seat assembly for a toilet bowl for measuring physiological parameters of a user, the smart toilet seat assembly comprises: a seat comprising a plurality of physiological sensors (as shown in Fig 1), each of the plurality of physiological sensors configured to generate at least one physiological parameter measurement data of the user (Col 4, Ln 4-18), and a plurality of load sensors (as shown in Fig 2) configured to support the seat on the toilet bowl when used by the user and further to generate a weight measurement data of the user (Col 5, Ln 43-45, 63-67, Col 6, Ln 1-24); and a fixing arrangement (floating hinge in Fig 1-2, 5) configured to attach a lid to the seat and further to attach the smart toilet seat assembly to the toilet bowl, wherein the fixing arrangement is configured to transfer a weight of the lid to the toilet bowl and further to transfer a weight applied on the seat to the plurality of load sensors (Col 5, Ln 66-67 to Col 6, Ln 1-6).
Borkholder further teaches in claim 2 wherein the plurality of physiological sensors are arranged on a top surface of the seat in physical contact with the user (Col 4, Ln 4-21);
in claim 3 wherein at least one sensor of the plurality of physiological sensors is configured to be in contact with the user (as shown in Fig 1, which is the top surface of the toilet seat that comes into contact with the user);
in claim 4 wherein the plurality of load sensors are arranged on a bottom surface of the seat in contact with the toilet bowl (Col 5, Ln 43-45, 63-67, Col 6, Ln 1-24; also as shown in Fig 2 which is the bottom surface of the toilet seat that comes into contact with the toilet bowl);
in claim 5 wherein the plurality of physiological sensors comprise at least one electrocardiogram sensor, at least one bio-impedance sensor, at least one photoplethysmography sensor, and at least one temperature sensor (Col 5, Ln 49-62);
in claim 6 wherein the at least one physiological parameter measurement data comprises an electrocardiogram measurement data, a bio-impedance measurement data, a photoplethysmography measurement data, or a temperature measurement data of the user (Col 5, Ln 49-62); and
and in claim 14 wherein the seat comprises a supply unit configured to provide an electrical supply to the plurality of physiological sensors or the plurality of load sensors (Col 4, Ln 31-38).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borkholder.
Regarding claim 7, Borkholder is silent wherein the seat comprises a switching arrangement configured to switch on the plurality of physiological sensors or the plurality of load sensors based on a presence of the user, and wherein the switching arrangement is configured to switch off the plurality of physiological sensors or the plurality of load sensors based on an absence of the user.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to add a switching arrangement configured to switch on the plurality of physiological sensors or the plurality of load sensors based on a presence of the user as a matter or design choice, since it was known in the art that electrical switches that turn on/off sensors are old and well known. Applicant also has not disclosed that the use of the on/off switch achieves any unexpected result other than what is already known. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to further modify Borkholder to arrive at the claimed invention as specified in claim 7 because such a modification would have been a mere design consideration. (See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A)).
Regarding claims 8-13, 15, Borkholder further teaches in claim 8 a receiving unit configured to receive the at least one physiological parameter measurement data from the plurality of physiological sensors (Col 4, Ln 31-38);
in claim 9 a receiving unit configured to receive the weight measurement data from the plurality of load sensors (Col 4, Ln 31-38);
in claim 10 a processing unit configured to process the at least one physiological parameter measurement data or the weight measurement data and further to extract one or more physiological parameters of the user from the at least one physiological parameter measurement data or the weight measurement data (Col 4, Ln 31-38);
in claim 11 a display unit configured to display a notification corresponding to the extracted one or more physiological parameters of the user (Col 4, Ln 31-38; therefore inherent feature);
in claim 12 a transmitting unit configured to transmit the one or more physiological parameters of the user to a remote device or to a cloud storage (Col 4, Ln 31-38);
in claim 13 wherein transmission of the one or more physiological parameters is performed wirelessly (Col 4, Ln 31-38); and
in claim 15 a charging unit operably coupled to the supply unit of the seat, the charging unit configured to transmit an electrical power to the supply unit to charge or recharge the supply unit (Col 4, Ln 31-38).
Borkholder teaches substantially all features of the claimed invention for claims 8-12 and 15 except for those data receiving/storage/display/transmitting devices are located on the toilet seat lid.
At the time the invention was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to place all data handling devices on the toilet seat lid. Applicant has not disclosed that having these devices on the lid provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Borkholder and the applicant’s invention to perform equally well as claimed because both are equally capable of handling data generated from those sensors.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Borkholder to obtain the invention as specified in claims 8-12 and 15 because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Borkholder.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for allowance: claims 16, 18 are allowed primarily because the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by the combination of more than one reference.
The prior art of record, Borkholder et al (US 12,036,044), does not teach “wherein the foot segment comprises a crest configured to protrude towards the holding segment through the sensor body, and wherein the holding segment comprises a magnet configured to align the crest of the foot segment through the sensor body and further to attach the foot segment with the holding segment” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claim 16.
The prior art of record, Borkholder et al (US 12,036,044), does not teach “a second bracket coupled to the hinge body via a coupler, wherein the second bracket is configured to attach a seat of the smart toilet seat assembly to the hinge body via the coupler and further to rotate the seat with respect to the hinge body, wherein the coupler is configured to move the seat along a vertical axis based on a weight applied on the seat” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claim 18.
Therefore, the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by the combination of more than one reference.
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 11,311,156 and US 10,888,278 to Hall et al are directed to the state of the art as relevant teachings of the claimed invention.
/JENNIFER C CHIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754