DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP 24160703.5, filed on February 29, 2024
Response to Amendment
In the amendment filed on June 24, 2026, the following has occurred: claim(s) 1, 13-15 have been amended and claim(s) 16-20 have been added. Now, claim(s) 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 objected to because of the following informalities: “a seasonality of the augmented historical medical sample event data” in p. 5, ll. 24-25. This appears to be a typographical error. Appropriate correction is required. For examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret the claimed portion as “a seasonality of the augmented medical sample event data”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 recite(s):
processing a medical sample associated with the medical sample event data to generate laboratory data;
augmenting the medical sample event data with the laboratory data;
creating a feature set from the augmented medical sample event data, the feature set including time bracketed data derived from the augmented medical sample event data;
predict a future medical sample event within a forecast time range
These limitations, as drafted, given the broadest reasonable interpretation, but for the recitation of generic computer components, encompass managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions), which is a subgrouping of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. That is, other than reciting, “computer-implemented method”, “, using one or more laboratory devices,” to perform these functions, nothing in the claim precludes the limitations from practically being performed by a person monitoring resource information. Further, claim 3 recites “a pre-laboratory sample tracking system” and “an information system”. For example, the claim encompasses a person following instructions to determine laboratory data from processing a medical sample, a person following instructions to add laboratory data to the medical sample event data, a person following instructions to create a feature set from the augmented medical sample event data, and person following instructions to predict a future medical event within a forecast time range. These steps could be accomplished by a person following instructions to make determinations by using obtained information, and therefore encompass Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity.
Claim 1: Step 2A Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the remaining
elements amount to no more than general purpose computer components programmed to perform
the abstract idea, insignificant extra-solution activity, and generally linking the abstract idea to a
technical environment.
Claim 1, directly or indirectly, recites the following generic computer components
configured to implement the abstract idea: “computer-implemented method”. As set forth in
the 2019 Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. at 55 “merely including instructions to implement an
abstract idea on a computer” is an example of when an abstract idea has not been integrated into
a practical application.
Additionally, the claim recites “receiving medical sample event data describing events relating to one or more medical samples to be processed by the healthcare laboratory;”, “, using one or more laboratory devices,”, “receiving, a prediction of future medical sample events for the forecast time range as an output” at a high degree of generality, amount no more than receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information), and determining the level of a biomarker in blood, Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968. See also PerkinElmer, Inc. v. Intema Ltd., 496 Fed. App'x 65, 73, 105 USPQ2d 1960, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 2012) (assessing or measuring data derived from an ultrasound scan, to be used in a diagnosis). As set forth in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) and MPEP 210.05(d)(2), computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity, is an example of when an abstract idea has not been integrated into a practical application.
Additionally, the claim recites “from the trained machine learning model”, “using the feature set as an input for a trained machine learning model, the trained machine learning model having been trained on historical feature sets to” at a high degree of generality, amount no more than generally linking the abstract idea to a particular technical environment. The recitation is also similar to adding the words “apply it” to the abstract idea. As set forth in MPEP 2106.05(f), merely reciting the words “apply it” or an equivalent, is an example of when an abstract idea has
not been integrated into a practical application.
Claim 1: Step 2B
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to
significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using a computer
configured to perform above identified functions amounts to no more than mere instructions to
apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception
using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. See Alice 573 U.S. at 223 (“mere recitation of a generic computer cannot transform a patent-ineligible abstract idea
into a patent-eligible invention.”)
Insignificant, extra solution, data gathering activity has been found to not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(g)). Therefore, whether considered
alone or in combination, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the
abstract idea.
Additionally, generally linking the abstract idea to a particular technological environment
does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea (See MPEP 2016.05(h) and Affinity
Labs of Texas v. DirectTV, LLC, 838 F.3d 1253, 120 USP12d 1201 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
Dependent claims 2-12, 16-18 incorporate the abstract idea identified above and recite additional limitations that expand on the abstract idea. For example, claims 2-3 further describe the medical sample event data. Similarly, claims 4 and 6 further describe augmenting the medical sample event data. Similarly, claim 5 further describes the input. Similarly, claims 7 and 9 further describe the feature set. Similarly, claim 8 further describes the laboratory data. Similarly, claim 10 further describes the forecast time range. Similarly, claims 11-12 describe determining a recommendation. Similarly, claim 16 further describes the one or more laboratory devices. Similarly, claim 17 describes a step to follow after receiving the prediction. Finally, claim 18 describes comparing actual medical sample events to the prediction of future medical sample events.
Dependent claims 2-12, 16-18 recite additional subject matter which amounts to limitations consisted with the additional elements in independent claim 1 (such as claim 5, “the input for the trained machine learning model” at a high degree of generality, amounts to no more than generally linking the abstract idea to a particular technical environment). The recitation is also similar to adding the words “apply it” to the abstract idea. As set forth in MPEP 2106.05(f), merely reciting the words “apply it” or an equivalent, is an example of when an abstract idea has not been integrated into a practical application.
Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claims 13 and 14 recite similar functions as claim 1, but in system and computer-implemented method form.
The additional element of “the system comprising one or more processors and memory, wherein the memory contains machine executable instructions which, when executed on the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:” in independent claim 13 are recited at a high-level of generality that amounts to generic computer components. The claim is not patent eligible.
The elements of “historical medical sample event”, “historical feature set”, “predict a volume of future medical sample events” in independent claim 14 are recited as similar to the elements of “medical sample event”, “feature set”, “a prediction of future medical sample events” in independent claim 1.
The dependent claims 19-20 that depend on independent claim 13 incorporate the abstract idea identified above and recite additional limitations that expand on the abstract idea. For example, claim 19 describes performing a mathematical calculation. Finally, claim 20 further describes augmenting the medical sample event data.
Dependent claims 19-20 recite additional subject matter which amounts to limitations consisted with the additional elements in independent claim 13 (such as claim 19, “the one or more processors” at a high degree of generality, amounts to no more than generic computer components). The recitation is recited at a high-level of generality that amounts to “merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer” as set forth in the 2019 Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. at 55, and is an example of when an abstract idea has not been integrated into a practical application.
Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claims are not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 15 that depends on independent claim 14 incorporates the abstract idea identified above and recites additional limitations that expand on the abstract idea. For example, claim 15 further describes the historical medical sample event data.
Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claims are not patent eligible.
Therefore, whether considered alone or in combination, the additional elements do not
amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 13-17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Bruin et al. (U.S. Patent Pre-Grant Publication No. 2011/0119212) in view of Eierdal et al. (U.S. Patent Pre-Grant Publication No. 2024/0331855).
As per independent claim 1, De Bruin discloses a computer-implemented method for predicting future operating conditions of a healthcare laboratory, the healthcare laboratory containing one or more in-vitro diagnostic laboratory instruments configured to process medical samples, the computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving medical sample event data describing events relating to one or more medical samples to be processed by the healthcare laboratory (See Fig. 3 and [0079]: The data acquisition step, in which neurophysiologic parameters that may include, but are not limited to, clinical and laboratory data are collected (101, 154 and FIG. 3), and then sent to the central processing system, which the Examiner is interpreting clinical and laboratory data to encompass one or more medical samples to be processed by the healthcare laboratory);
augmenting the medical sample event data with the laboratory data (See [0112]: The first level is `feature-level data fusion` in which the data and information from variety of sources of information and features, including a variety of clinical and laboratory assessments and tests are combined in an efficient way, which the Examiner is interpreting feature-level data fusion to encompass augmenting the medical sample event data with the laboratory data);
creating a feature set from the augmented medical sample event data, the feature set including time bracketed data derived from the augmented medical sample event data (See [0112], [0128]: The medical diagnosis and treatment planning can be done by collecting all available clinical and laboratory data at each consecutive time step, then analyzing and reporting the results in each time, which the Examiner is interpreting clinical and laboratory data at each consecutive time step to encompass including time bracketed data derived from the augmented medical sample event data, and interpreting the combination of variety of sources of information and features to encompass creating a feature set from the augmented medical sample event data);
using the feature set as an input for a trained machine learning model, the trained machine learning model having been trained on historical feature sets to predict a future medical sample event within a forecast time range (See [0083], [0106]-[0108], [0112]-[0114]: The medical digital expert system disclosed in this invention includes a machine learning, machine inference and computational learning and information processing procedure including the following key components: user-interface, data management, data communication, data encoding, data security, diagnosis and treatment data bases, data preprocessing, feature extraction, feature selection, detection, estimation, prediction models and data fusion, which the Examiner is interpreting a machine learning to encompass a trained machine learning model as the parameters and structure of data fusion is determined using training data, and interpreting prediction models to encompass predict a future medical sample event within a forecast time range as the prediction can be an outcome ([0106])); and
receiving, from the trained machine learning model, a prediction of future medical sample events for the forecast time range as an output (See [0128], [0184]: A collection of preliminary or low-level estimation/detection/prediction models (or processors) are employed which each use the discriminative features to calculate preliminary estimation, decision and prediction results, which the Examiner is interpreting prediction results to encompass a prediction of future medical sample events for the forecast time range as an output as the "digital clinician" or the "medical digital expert system" is used to estimate indicators or critical parameters of a condition, or to detect the presence of a condition when the condition is changing over time ([0128]).)
While De Bruin teaches a method for receiving medical sample event data describing events relating to one or more medical samples to be processed by the healthcare laboratory; and augmenting the medical sample event data with the laboratory data, De Bruin may not explicitly teach processing a medical sample associated with the medical sample event data, using one or more laboratory devices, to generate laboratory data.
Eierdal teaches a method for processing a medical sample associated with the medical sample event data, using one or more laboratory devices, to generate laboratory data (See Fig. 2 and [0069]-[0070], [0082]-[0083]: The analyzer unit 100 performs a measurement on a blood sample, e.g. a sample of whole blood obtained from a human subject, such as from a patient at a healthcare facility, which the Examiner is interpreting the analyzer unit to encompass one or more laboratory devices, and interpreting one or more measurement results to encompass laboratory data.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the computer-implemented method of De Bruin to include processing a medical sample associated with the medical sample event data, using one or more laboratory devices, to generate laboratory data as taught by Eierdal. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify De Bruin with Eierdal with the motivation of providing an accurate and reliable prediction of component malfunctions of an apparatus for analyzing biological samples (See Background of Eierdal in [0010]).
Claims 13 and 14 recite similar functions as claim 1, but in system and computer-implemented method form.
The elements of “historical medical sample event”, “historical feature set”, “predict a volume of future medical sample events” in independent claim 14 are recited as similar to the elements of “medical sample event”, “feature set”, “a prediction of future medical sample events” in independent claim 1.
As per claim 2, De Bruin/Eierdal discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1 as described above. De Bruin further teaches wherein the medical sample event data is augmented with dynamic laboratory data and static laboratory data (See [0106]: The classifier/predictor/estimator explores statistical, dynamic, geometrical or structural and hierarchical information, or combinations thereof, inherent in the training data, and employs predetermined optimal criteria to construct the discrimination/decision/estimation schemes or models, which the Examiner is interpreting dynamic or structural and hierarchical information to encompass dynamic laboratory data and static laboratory data.)
As per claim 3, De Bruin/Eierdal discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1 as described above. De Bruin further teaches wherein the medical sample event data includes data from a pre-laboratory sample tracking system, and wherein the laboratory data used to augment the medical sample event data comprises data from one or more of:
in-vitro diagnostic laboratory instruments, an information system of the healthcare laboratory, or a database of laboratory data (See [0108]: The unlabeled data corresponds to clinical and laboratory data derived from patients, but for which the true diagnosis or reference diagnosis is not known for the medical expert system, or not clinically confirmed, which the Examiner is interpreting the unlabeled data corresponds to clinical and laboratory data derived from patients to encompass an information system of the healthcare laboratory.)
As per claim 4, De Bruin/Eierdal discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1 as described above. De Bruin further teaches wherein augmenting the medical sample event data includes identifying one or more specific medical samples referenced in data obtained from more than one data source and combining the data from each data source of the more than one data source which relates to each specific medical sample (See [0112]: The first level is `feature-level data fusion` in which the data and information from variety of sources of information and features, including a variety of clinical and laboratory assessments and tests are combined in an efficient way, which the Examiner is interpreting the feature-level data fusion to encompass the claimed portion as the parameters and structure of data fusion and processor fusion is determined using training data.)
As per claim 5, De Bruin/Eierdal discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1 as described above. De Bruin further teaches wherein augmenting the medical sample event data includes identifying one or more specific medical samples referenced in data obtained from more than one data source and combining the data from each data source of the more than one data source which relates to each specific medical sample (See [0111]: The system can then process the clinical, personal and laboratory information in a manner similar to that employed by an expert physician, which the Examiner is interpreting laboratory information to encompass current state data relating to the healthcare relating to the healthcare laboratory.)
As per claim 6, De Bruin/Eierdal discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1 as described above. De Bruin further teaches wherein augmenting the medical sample event data includes identifying incomplete data fields for one or more medical samples (See [0078]: Therefore the disclosed system is designed to flexibly operate with incomplete data, provided that required minimum data requirements have been met (e.g. age, sex and EEG data in psychiatric illnesses and disorders).)
As per claim 7, De Bruin/Eierdal discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1 as described above. De Bruin further teaches wherein both augmented medical sample event data and data relating to the healthcare laboratory are used to create the feature set (See [0112], [0128]: The medical diagnosis and treatment planning can be done by collecting all available clinical and laboratory data at each consecutive time step, then analyzing and reporting the results in each time, which the Examiner is interpreting clinical and laboratory data at each consecutive time step to encompass the claimed portion.)
As per claim 9, De Bruin/Eierdal discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1 as described above. De Bruin further teaches wherein the feature set includes a fitted partial Fourier sum for a given time bracket or for given coefficients of a fit (See [0027], [0047]: The first level features can be transformed variables (e.g. Fourier coefficients at specific frequencies), and other types of coefficients that need some processing to extract, which the Examiner is interpreting to encompass the feature set includes a fitted partial Fourier sum for given coefficients of a fit.)
As per claim 10, De Bruin/Eierdal discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1 as described above. De Bruin further teaches wherein the forecast time range is defined at least in part by user input (See [0083], [0106]-[0108], [0112]-[0114]: The medical digital expert system disclosed in this invention includes a machine learning, machine inference and computational learning and information processing procedure including the following key components: user-interface, data management, data communication, data encoding, data security, diagnosis and treatment data bases, data preprocessing, feature extraction, feature selection, detection, estimation, prediction models and data fusion, which the Examiner is interpreting user interface to encompass the forecast time range is defined at least in part by user input.)
As per claim 15, De Bruin/Eierdal discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 14 as described above. De Bruin further teaches wherein the historical medical sample event data describes one or more of: a medical sample being ordered, or a medical sample arriving at the healthcare laboratory (See [0256]-[0257]: The basic principles described (i.e. using EEG alone or in combination with a variety of clinical, laboratory, physical, historical, psychological, cognitive and biological assessment information and variables and analyzing these in the described manner) can be applied to any of a number of other types of diseases or conditions., which the Examiner is interpreting laboratory information to encompass a medical sample arriving at the healthcare laboratory.)
As per claim 16, De Bruin/Eierdal discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1 as described above. De Bruin may not explicitly teach wherein the one or more laboratory devices comprise one or more in-vitro diagnostic laboratory instruments.
Eierdal teaches a computer-implemented method wherein the one or more laboratory devices comprise one or more in-vitro diagnostic laboratory instruments (See Fig. 2 and [0069]-[0070]: A measurement system of an apparatus for analyzing biological samples, which the Examiner is interpreting the measurement system apparatus of Fig. 2 to encompass one or more in-vitro diagnostic laboratory instruments.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the computer-implemented method of De Bruin to include one or more in-vitro diagnostic laboratory instruments as taught by Eierdal. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify De Bruin with Eierdal with the motivation of providing an accurate and reliable prediction of component malfunctions of an apparatus for analyzing biological samples (See Background of Eierdal in [0010]).
As per claim 17, De Bruin/Eierdal discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1 as described above. De Bruin may not explicitly teach further comprising, in response to receiving the prediction, ordering supplies to the healthcare laboratory based on the output.
Eierdal teaches a computer-implemented method further comprising, in response to receiving the prediction, ordering supplies to the healthcare laboratory based on the output (The data processing system may forward the estimated failure time to a maintenance scheduling system and/or an inventory management system allowing scheduling of a maintenance visit of an operator and/or ordering of spare parts, which the Examiner is interpreting ordering of spare parts to encompass ordering supplies to the healthcare laboratory, and interpreting estimated failure time to encompass the prediction.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the computer-implemented method of De Bruin to include in response to receiving the prediction, ordering supplies to the healthcare laboratory based on the output as taught by Eierdal. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify De Bruin with Eierdal with the motivation of providing an accurate and reliable prediction of component malfunctions of an apparatus for analyzing biological samples (See Background of Eierdal in [0010]).
As per claim 19, De Bruin/Eierdal discloses the system of claim 13 as described above. De Bruin further teaches wherein the machine executable instructions that cause the one or more processors to create the feature set comprise machine executable instructions which, when executed on the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to compute a fitted partial Fourier sum from the time bracketed data to represent a seasonality of the augmented medical sample event data (See [0027], [0046]-[0048], [0135]-[0136]: There are two steps to acquiring a set of reduced features: 1) the "raw" measured patient related clinical and/or laboratory data is processed to obtain a set of N.sub.c first-level features, and these can be statistical quantities, can be transformed variables (e.g. Fourier coefficients at specific frequencies), and other types of coefficients that need some processing to extract, and the objective is to determine the function f ([0047]), which the Examiner is interpreting f establishes decision boundaries in the feature space which effectively separate patterns belonging to different classes to encompass a seasonality of the augmented medical sample event data.)
As per claim 20, De Bruin/Eierdal discloses the system of claim 13 as described above. De Bruin further teaches wherein the machine executable instructions that cause the one or more processors to augment the medical sample event data with the laboratory data comprise machine executable instructions which, when executed on the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to identify one or more incomplete data fields associated with a medical sample (See [0075]-[0078]: The disclosed system is designed to flexibly operate with incomplete data, provided that required minimum data requirements have been met (e.g. age, sex and EEG data in psychiatric illnesses and disorders) and interpolate the one or more incomplete data fields based on a mean time difference between adjacent events for the medical sample (See [0075]-[0078], [0198]: Machine learning can also be used to construct models that do regression or interpolation, where the target variable is continuous, and the fuzzy system must be tuned or trained to resolve the uncertainties, and find unknown parameters, since usually there are incomplete, wrong or contradictory knowledge about how to make the decision.)
Claims 8, 11-12, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Bruin et al. (U.S. Patent Pre-Grant Publication No. 2011/0119212) in view of Eierdal et al. (U.S. Patent Pre-Grant Publication No. 2024/0331855) in further view of Amarasingham et al. (U.S. Patent Pre-Grant Publication No. 2015/0213206).
As per claim 8, De Bruin/Eierdal discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1 as described above. De Bruin/Eierdal may not explicitly teach wherein the laboratory data comprises any of: in-vitro diagnostic laboratory instrument availability data, in-vitro diagnostic laboratory instrument throughput data, staff data, or laboratory layout data.
Amarasingham teaches a computer-implemented system wherein the laboratory data comprises any of: in-vitro diagnostic laboratory instrument availability data, in-vitro diagnostic laboratory instrument throughput data, staff data, or laboratory layout data (See [0038]: The holistic hospital patient care and management system 10 further receives input and data from a number of additional sources, including RFID (Radio Frequency Identification) tags 21 that are worn, associated with, or affixed to patients, medical staff, hospital equipment, hospital instruments, medical devices, supplies, and medication.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the computer-implemented method of De Bruin/Eierdal to include the laboratory data comprises any of: in-vitro diagnostic laboratory instrument availability data, in-vitro diagnostic laboratory instrument throughput data, staff data, or laboratory layout data as taught by Amarasingham. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify De Bruin/Eierdal with Amarasingham with the motivation of ensure that appropriate interventions and resources are available and deployed according to patients' needs (See Background of Amarasingham in [0012]).
As per claim 11, De Bruin/Eierdal discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1 as described above. De Bruin/Eierdal may not explicitly teach further comprising generating a recommendation of a distribution of staff throughout areas of the healthcare laboratory.
Amarasingham teaches a computer-implemented method further comprising generating a recommendation of a distribution of staff throughout areas of the healthcare laboratory (See [0047]: The system may further generate recommendations based on the simulated outcome to avoid adverse events or unfavorable results, which the Examiner is interpreting to encompass the claimed portion as the user may select one or more constraints, such as staffing level, hours of operation, the number of new patients, the number of available patient beds, the availability of certain medical equipment, the amount of supplies, and simulation time period, varying values to create a simulated scenario for purposes of generating possible outcomes.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the computer-implemented method of De Bruin/Eierdal to include generating a recommendation of a distribution of staff throughout areas of the healthcare laboratory as taught by Amarasingham. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify De Bruin/Eierdal with Amarasingham with the motivation of ensure that appropriate interventions and resources are available and deployed according to patients' needs (See Background of Amarasingham in [0012]).
As per claim 12, De Bruin/Eierdal discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1 as described above. De Bruin/Eierdal may not explicitly teach further comprising generating a recommendation of a volume of supplies to be made available.
Amarasingham teaches a computer-implemented method further comprising generating a recommendation of a volume of supplies to be made available (See [0047]: The system may further generate recommendations based on the simulated outcome to avoid adverse events or unfavorable results, which the Examiner is interpreting to encompass the claimed portion as the user may select one or more constraints, such as staffing level, hours of operation, the number of new patients, the number of available patient beds, the availability of certain medical equipment, the amount of supplies, and simulation time period, varying values to create a simulated scenario for purposes of generating possible outcomes.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the computer-implemented method of De Bruin/Eierdal to include generating a recommendation of a volume of supplies to be made available as taught by Amarasingham. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify De Bruin/Eierdal with Amarasingham with the motivation of ensure that appropriate interventions and resources are available and deployed according to patients' needs (See Background of Amarasingham in [0012]).
As per claim 18, De Bruin/Eierdal discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1 as described above. De Bruin further teaches further comprising:
retraining the trained machine learning model based on the accuracy falling below a threshold accuracy (See [0072], [0078], [0083]: Machine learning techniques and information processing methods are applied to the medical diagnosis and treatment databases, and all computational parts of the system including pre-processing, estimation, detection, and prediction models are revised and re-trained when the size of the these databases are increased, which the Examiner is interpreting re-trained when the size of the these databases are increased to encompass retraining the trained machine learning model based on the accuracy falling below a threshold accuracy when combined with Amarasingham below.)
While De Bruin/Eierdal teaches the computer-implemented method as described above, De Bruin/Eierdal may not explicitly teach determining an accuracy of the trained machine learning model by comparing actual medical sample events within the forecast time range to the prediction of future medical sample events for the forecast time range.
Amarasingham teaches a computer-implemented method for determining an accuracy of the trained machine learning model by comparing actual medical sample events within the forecast time range to the prediction of future medical sample events for the forecast time range (See [0064], [0067]: The artificial intelligence model tuning process may compare the actual observed outcome of the event to the predicted outcome then separately analyze the variables within the model that contributed to the incorrect outcome, which the Examiner is interpreting compare the actual observed outcome of the event to the predicted outcome to encompass the claimed portion.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the computer-implemented method of De Bruin/Eierdal to include determining an accuracy of the trained machine learning model by comparing actual medical sample events within the forecast time range to the prediction of future medical sample events for the forecast time range as taught by Amarasingham. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify De Bruin/Eierdal with Amarasingham with the motivation of ensure that appropriate interventions and resources are available and deployed according to patients' needs (See Background of Amarasingham in [0012]).
Response to Arguments
In the Remarks filed on June 24, 2026, the Applicant argues that the newly amended and/or added claims overcome the Claim Objection(s), 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection(s), 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection(s), and 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection(s). The Examiner acknowledges that the newly added and/or amended claims overcome the previous Claim Objection(s) and 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection(s). However, the Examiner does not acknowledge that the newly added and/or amended claims overcome the newly added Claim Objection(s), 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection(s), and 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection(s).
The Applicant argues that:
(1) independent claim 1, as amended herein, recites ''processing a medical
sample associated with the medical sample event data, using one or more laboratory devices, to generate laboratory data''. Independent claims 13 and 14, as amended herein, recited substantially similar subject matter. As discussed in the interview, this aspect is a concrete, physical act performed on a tangible medical sample using a particular machine, and cannot practically be performed by a person managing human activity or following instructions, which is the activity asserted in the Office Action's Step 2A Prong One analysis. The aspect of processing a medical sample using a laboratory device to generate laboratory data integrates any alleged judicial exception into a practical application by tying the claimed method to the operation of a particular machine and to the physical processing of a tangible medical sample. See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(II), 2106.05(a)-(b). Accordingly, the subject matter of independent claims 1, 13, and 14, and all claims depending therefrom, is directed to patentable subject matter. Reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1-15 under 35 U.S.C. § 101 are respectfully requested;
(2) De Bruin describes ''Data fusion occurs in two levels. The first level is 'feature-level data fusion' (180, 181) in which the data and information from variety of sources of information and features, including a variety of clinical and laboratory assessments and tests are combined in an efficient way. The second level is 'processor data fusion' (184, 185), which is alternatively called 'algorithm fusion', 'decision fusion', or 'classifier fusion'. During 'processor fusion', the results of a small library of preliminary or low-level processing models (detection, decision, assessment, estimation and prediction models) are combined such that the overall system provides more efficient and more robust results than each individual preliminary processor, in determining medical diagnosis and treatment planning. The parameters and structure of data fusion and processor fusion is determined using training data." However, as discussed in the interview, neither this section nor the remainder of De Bruin teach ''processing a medical sample associated with the medical sample event data using one or more laboratory devices to generate laboratory data'' and then ''augmenting the medical sample event data with the laboratory data," as recited in amended claim 1. For at least the reasons presented herein, De Bruin does not disclose all of the features of claim 1. For similar reasons, De Bruin does not disclose all of the features of independent claims 13 and 14. Accordingly, Applicant submits that De Bruin does not anticipate claims 1, 13, and 14, and respectfully requests that the Office withdraw the§ 102 rejection of claims 1, 13, and 14;
(3) claims 8, 11, and 12 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as allegedly being obvious over a combination of De Bruin in view of Amarasingham. Claims 8, 11, and 12 ultimately depend from independent claim 1. As discussed above, claim 1 is allowable over De Bruin. The Office cites Amarasingham as allegedly teaching the respective features of dependent claims 8, 11, and 12. Without conceding the propriety of the combination of De Bruin and Amarasingham, the combination fails to teach or suggest one or more features of independent claim 1. Therefore, claims 8, 11, and 12 are allowable over the cited documents of record for at least their dependency from an allowable base claim, and also for the additional features that each recites. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the Office withdraw the § 103 rejection of claims 8, 11, and 12;
(4) newly added dependent claims 16-20 depend from independent claims 1 and 13 and are therefore allowable for at least their dependency from an allowable base claim, and also for the additional features that each recites. Accordingly, examination and allowance of claims 16-20 are respectfully requested.
In response to argument (1), the Examiner does not find the Applicant’s argument(s) persuasive. The Examiner maintains that the step of “processing a medical sample associated with the medical sample event data, using one or more laboratory devices, to generate laboratory data” in independent claim 1, and similarly recited in independent claims 13 and 14 is directed to an abstract idea, and the additional element of “using one or more laboratory devices, to generate laboratory data” at a high degree of generality, amount no more than receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information), and determining the level of a biomarker in blood, Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968. See also PerkinElmer, Inc. v. Intema Ltd., 496 Fed. App'x 65, 73, 105 USPQ2d 1960, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 2012) (assessing or measuring data derived from an ultrasound scan, to be used in a diagnosis). The 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection(s) stand.
In response to argument (2), the Examiner does find the Applicant’s argument(s) persuasive. The Examiner has withdrawn the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection(s), and has supplemented the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection(s) of De Bruin with Eierdal et al. (U.S. Patent Pre-Grant Publication No. 2024/0331855) to teach the step of “processing a medical sample associated with the medical sample event data using one or more laboratory devices to generate laboratory data” as described above in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection(s) above. The Examiner maintains the combination of De Bruin/Eierdal teaches the subsequent step of “'augmenting the medical sample event data with the laboratory data,” as described above. The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection(s) stand.
In response to argument (3), the Examiner does not find the Applicant’s argument(s) persuasive. The Examiner maintains that the combination of De Bruin/Eierdal/Amarasingham teaches the claims 8, 11, and 12 as described above in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection(s). The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection(s) stand.
In response to argument (4), the Examiner does not find the Applicant’s argument(s) persuasive. The Examiner maintains that the combination of De Bruin/Eierdal teaches the claims 16-17 and 19-20 the combination of De Bruin/Eierdal/Amarasingham teaches the claim 18. The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection(s) stand.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Avinash et al. (U.S. Patent Pre-Grant Publication No. 2007/0118399), describes an informatics system permits data entities from a wide range of data sources to be accessed and evaluated.
Dirghangi et al. (U.S. Patent Pre-Grant Publication No. 2019/0320898), describes a method of automating the collection, association, and coordination of multiple medical data sources using a coordinating service application, computer, database, and/or server system to manage devices, examinations, and people involved in the medical examination and treatment process.
Kolling et al. (“Data Mining in Healthcare: Applying Strategic Intelligence Techniques to Depict 25 Years of Research Development”), describes results that make it possible to form the basis for future research and facilitate decision-making by researchers and practitioners, institutions, and governments interested in data mining in healthcare.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Bennett Stephen Erickson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3683