DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 and 16-17 are currently pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Such claim limitation is: “means for attachment” in claims 4 and 6.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-13, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 11,571,995 to Last (“Last”).
Regarding claim 1, Last discloses mounting system for mounting an object to a surface in two or more orientations relative to the surface (FIGS. 1-10), the mounting system comprising; a first portion (104) configured to be attached to the object, in use; and a second portion (101, 103, 106) configured to be attached to the surface, in use, wherein the first portion and the second portion are rotatable relative to each other (FIGS. 1-10); and a locking mechanism (150) configured to lock the first portion relative to the second portion when the first portion is at a predetermined rotational position relative to the second portion (FIGS. 1-10).
Regarding claim 2, Last discloses wherein the first portion is rotatably accommodated in the second portion (FIGS. 1-10).
Regarding claim 3, Last discloses wherein the second portion defines a housing having an opening therethrough to receive the first portion (FIGS. 1-10).
Regarding claim 4, Last discloses wherein the first portion comprises a means for attachment to the object, in use (FIGS. 1-10).
Regarding claim 5, Last discloses wherein the means for attachment comprises a hole through the first portion (FIGS. 1-10).
Regarding claim 6, Last discloses wherein the second portion (101, 103, 106) comprises a means for attachment to the surface, in use (FIGS. 1-10).
Regarding claim 7, Last discloses wherein the means for attachment comprises a rail (120) formed integrally with and extending from the second portion (FIGS. 1-10)
Regarding claim 8, Last discloses wherein the rail is provided with a hole for attachment with the surface, in use (FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Last discloses wherein the locking mechanism is configured to lock in two or more distinct rotational positions (FIGS. 1-10).
Regarding claim 11, Last discloses wherein the locking mechanism is configured to lock in two rotational positions of the two or more distinct rotational positions separated by substantially 90 degrees (FIGS. 1-10).
Regarding claim 12, Last discloses wherein the first portion is configured to be attached to a vehicle seat and the second portion is configured to be attached to a track (120) on a floor or a platform (FIGS. 1-10).
Regarding claim 13, Last discloses wherein the second portion is configured to be fitted into a track groove of the track (FIGS. 1-10).
Regarding claim 16, Last discloses a vehicle seat system comprising: a seat (FIG. 10); a floor (120) track arranged in a given orientation of a floor or a platform of a vehicle; and a mounting system for mounting the seat to the floor or the platform in two or more orientations relative to the surface (FIGS. 1-10), wherein the mounting system comprises: a first portion (104) configured to be attached to the seat, in use; a second portion (106) configured to be attached to the track, in use, wherein the first portion and the second portion are rotatable relative to each other (FIGS. 1-10); and a locking mechanism (150) configured to lock the first portion relative to the second portion when the first portion is at a predetermined rotational position relative to the second portion (FIGS. 1-10), wherein an orientation of the two or more orientations of the seat relative to the track is varied by relative rotation of the first portion and the second portion of the mounting system (FIGS. 1-10).
Regarding claim 17, Last discloses wherein the seat comprises an aircraft seat (Abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Last fails to disclose or render obvious the mounting system, as claimed, wherein the locking mechanism comprises a spring loaded ball mounted to the first portion, biased towards the second portion and two or more recesses formed in the second portion arranged to receive the spring loaded ball when the spring loaded ball is rotationally aligned with a respective recess of the two or more recesses such that when the spring loaded ball is located in the respective recess, relative rotation between the first portion and the second portion is blocked. Modifying the teachings of Last to arrive at this claimed subject matter would require impermissible hindsight reasoning.
Conclusion
/MARISA V CONLON/Examiner, Art Unit 3643