Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/21/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6-7, and 9-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-7, 16, and 22-25 of U.S. Patent No. 11,890,139. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending claims are an obvious variant of the claim set from the patent only including minor differences in structure.
Claim 1 of the instant invention and claim 1 of US patent ‘139 similarly recites an ultrasound system comprising a case configured to receive a handheld computer and a probe head coupled to the case, the probe head configured to couple to the handheld computer, the probe head including an array of ultrasonic transducers and a needle-guide holder; and a needle guide coupled to the needle-guide holder.
Claim 2 of the instant invention and claim 4 of US patent ‘139 similarly recites the probe head is removable from the case.
Claim 3 of the instant invention and claim 1 of US patent ‘139 similarly recites the camera of the handheld computer is configured to capture graphical data and textual data including technical details of a needle to be used with the ultrasound system.
Claim 4 of the instant invention and claim 1 of US patent ‘139 similarly recites the textual data is obtained from one-dimensional or two-dimensional barcodes.
Claim 6 of the instant invention and claim 1 of US patent ‘139 similarly recites the rechargeable battery is positioned in the case opposite of the anterior opening.
Claim 7 of the instant invention and claim 3 of US patent ‘139 similarly recites the case further comprises a handle selected from the group consisting of a knob, one or more finger loops, and an adjustable strap.
Claim 9 of the instant invention and claim 6 of US patent ‘139 similarly recites the probe head is coupled to the case via a joint to permit the probe head to articulate about the joint when moving the probe head over a skin surface of a patient.
Claim 10 of the instant invention and claim 25 of US patent ‘139 similarly recites a button configured to switch between longitudinal and transverse scanning when the array of ultrasonic transducers is a 2-dimensional ("2D") array of ultrasonic transducers.
Claim 11 of the instant invention and claim 2 of US patent ‘139 similarly recites one or more side buttons to switch among various functions or modes of the portable ultrasound system.
Claim 12 of the instant invention and claim 7 of US patent ‘139 similarly recites the probe head includes a wireless module configured to communicate information from the probe head to the handheld computer.
Claim 13 of the instant invention and claim 22 of US patent ‘139 similarly recites the probe head includes an array of magnetic sensors configured to detect changes in a magnetic field to assist with guidance of a magnetized needle.
Claim 14 of the instant invention and claim 23 of US patent ‘139 similarly recites the array of magnetic sensors is configured to convert magnetic signals from the needle into electronic signals, and wherein the handheld computer is configured to process the electronic signals into distance and orientation information for an iconographic representation of the needle on the display during the on-screen guidance.
Claim 15 of the instant invention and claim 24 of US patent ‘139 similarly recites the handheld computer is configured to generate notifications selected from haptic feedback, visual notifications on the display screen, and aural notifications through a speaker of the handheld computer if the needle is not expected to intersect with a cross section of an anatomical target in accordance with the distance and orientation information.
Claim 16 of the instant invention and claim 16 of US patent ‘139 similarly recites the handheld computer is a smartphone including one or more programs or modules, the one or more programs or modules driving the array of ultrasonic transducers and processing reflected ultrasound signals into ultrasound images for the display.
Claims 1-4, 6-7, and 9-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,232,909. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending claims are an obvious variant of the claim set from the patent only including minor differences in structure.
Claim 1 of the instant invention and claim 1 of US patent ‘909 similarly recites an ultrasound system comprising a case configured to receive a handheld computer and a probe head coupled to the case, the probe head configured to couple to the handheld computer, the probe head including an array of ultrasonic transducers and a needle-guide holder; and a needle guide coupled to the needle-guide holder.
Claim 2 of the instant invention and claim 2 of US patent ‘909 similarly recites the probe head is removable from the case, further comprising a secondary probe head configured to be coupled to the case.
Claim 3 of the instant invention and claim 1 of US patent ‘909 similarly recites the camera of the handheld computer is configured to capture graphical data and textual data including technical details of a needle to be used with the ultrasound system.
Claim 4 of the instant invention and claim 1 of US patent ‘909 similarly recites the textual data is obtained from one-dimensional or two-dimensional barcodes.
Claim 6 of the instant invention and claim 1 of US patent ‘909 similarly recites the rechargeable battery is positioned in the case opposite of the anterior opening.
Claim 7 of the instant invention and claim 3 of US patent ‘909 similarly recites the case further comprises a handle selected from the group consisting of a knob, one or more finger loops, and an adjustable strap.
Claim 9 of the instant invention and claim 4 of US patent ‘909 similarly recites the probe head is coupled to the case via a joint to permit the probe head to articulate about the joint when moving the probe head over a skin surface of a patient.
Claim 10 of the instant invention and claim 5 of US patent ‘909 similarly recites the case further comprises a button configured to switch between longitudinal and transverse scanning when the array of ultrasonic transducers is a 2-dimensional ("2D") array of ultrasonic transducers.
Claim 11 of the instant invention and claim 6 of US patent ‘909 similarly recites the case further comprises one or more side buttons to switch among various functions or modes of the portable ultrasound system.
Claim 12 of the instant invention and claim 7 of US patent ‘909 similarly recites the probe head includes a wireless module configured to communicate information from the probe head to the handheld computer.
Claim 13 of the instant invention and claim 8 of US patent ‘909 similarly recites the probe head includes an array of magnetic sensors configured to detect changes in a magnetic field to assist with guidance of a magnetized needle.
Claim 14 of the instant invention and claim 9 of US patent ‘909 similarly recites the array of magnetic sensors is configured to convert magnetic signals from the needle into electronic signals, and wherein the handheld computer is configured to process the electronic signals into distance and orientation information for an iconographic representation of the needle on the display during the on-screen guidance.
Claim 15 of the instant invention and claim 10 of US patent ‘909 similarly recites the handheld computer is configured to generate notifications selected from haptic feedback, visual notifications on the display screen, and aural notifications through a speaker of the handheld computer if the needle is not expected to intersect with a cross section of an anatomical target in accordance with the distance and orientation information.
Claim 16 of the instant invention and claim 11. of US patent ‘909 similarly recites the handheld computer is a smartphone including one or more programs or modules, the one or more programs or modules driving the array of ultrasonic transducers and processing reflected ultrasound signals into ultrasound images for the display.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2, 6, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonnenschein (US 20180014811 A1, published January 18, 2018), from IDS, in view of Liu (US 20160213398 A1, published July 28, 2016), from IDS, hereinafter referred to as Sonnenschein and Liu, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Sonnenschein teaches an ultrasound system (Fig. 3), comprising:
a case (Fig. 3, smartphone 104) configured to receive a handheld computer, the case comprising: a posterior opening configured to align with a camera of the handheld computer; an anterior opening configured to align with a display of the handheld computer; and a rechargeable battery (Fig. 3, smartphone 104 inherently having a computer, a camera, a display, and a rechargeable battery within a case);
a probe head (Fig. 3, base 100) coupled to the case, the probe head configured to couple to the handheld computer, the probe head including an array of ultrasonic transducers (see para. 0115 – “The connector is configured to electrically connect electronics of an ultrasound array located on the base to a data input port of the smart device that is to be used in conjunction with base 100.”).
Sonnenschein teaches a probe head, but does not explicitly teach where the probe head includes a needle-guide holder, and a needle guide coupled to the needle-guide holder.
Whereas, Liu, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches a probe head including a needle-guide holder; and a needle guide coupled to the needle-guide holder (Fig. 3; see para. 0015 – “In this embodiment the needle positioning aid element 40 includes a body 41 [needle guide holder] fixed on the ultrasound detection device 20 [probe head] and a positioning aid support portion 42 [needle guide] at one side of the body 41 remote from the ultrasound detection device 20.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a probe head, as taught in Sonnenschein, by having the probe head include a needle-guide holder, and a needle guide coupled to the needle-guide holder, as disclosed in Liu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to perform blood vessel puncturing operation while the user is directly looking at the blood vessel image, thereby improving operation precision and reliability, as taught in Liu (see para. 0020).
Furthermore, regarding claim 2, Sonnenschein further teaches wherein the probe head is removable from the case, further comprising a secondary probe head configured to be coupled to the case (Fig. 13B, base 1300 (probe head) removable from case (smartphone 1304), so inherent to replace the base with another base).
Furthermore, regarding claim 6, Sonnenschein further teaches wherein the rechargeable battery is positioned in the case opposite of the anterior opening (Fig. 3, smartphone 104 inherently having a rechargeable battery within a case).
Furthermore, regarding claim 9, Sonnenschein further teaches wherein the probe head is coupled to the case via a joint to permit the probe head to articulate about the joint when moving the probe head over a skin surface of a patient (Fig. 1, probe head 20 connected to display 30 (case) via joint (hinges 23 and 31)).
Furthermore, regarding claim 12, Sonnenschein further teaches wherein the probe head includes a wireless module configured to communicate information from the probe head to the handheld computer (see para. 0193 – “The invention is meant to cover any device of the type described above, regardless of the type of smart device, such as a smart phone or other digital assistant for which it may be adapted, and regardless of any changes in the shape of the ultrasonic array or of the base itself and/or any form of wire or wireless communication in any protocol form.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 16, Sonnenschein further teaches wherein the handheld computer is a smartphone including one or more programs or modules, the one or more programs or modules driving the array of ultrasonic transducers and processing reflected ultrasound signals into ultrasound images for the display (see para. 0119 – “Smart device 104 runs the software that performs the operations that will be described hereinafter and is used to display images created from data gathered by the ultrasound transducer.”).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonnenschein in view of Liu, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Hagy et al. (US 20140275990 A1, published September 19, 2014), hereinafter referred to as Hagy.
Regarding claim 3, Sonnenschein in view of Liu teaches all of the elements disclosed in claim 1 above, and further comprising the handheld computer (Sonnenschein: Fig. 3, smartphone 104 as handheld computer),
Sonnenschein in view of Liu teaches a camera of a handheld computer, but does not explicitly teach where the camera is configured to capture graphical data and textual data including technical details of a needle.
Whereas, Hagy, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches wherein the camera of the handheld computer is configured to capture graphical data and textual data including technical details of a needle to be used with the ultrasound system (Fig. 2A; see para. 0040 – “As the needle assembly passes an optical sensor located, for example, on the post 204, it can be read by the sensor (with rotation of the assembly, if necessary) and the information can be sent to the processor.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified camera of a handheld computer, as disclosed in Sonnenschein in view of Liu, by having the camera configured to capture graphical data and textual data including technical details of a needle, as disclosed in Hagy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to accurately determine a characteristic distance of the probe assembly, for instance the distance from the center of the target to the tip of the probe, which can then be used to accurately correlate the location of the probe tip as determined by the probe detection system with the actual location of the probe tip in the subdermal environment, as taught in Hagy (see para. 0029)
Furthermore, regarding claim 4, Hagy further teaches wherein the textual data is obtained from one-dimensional or two-dimensional barcodes (see para. 0040 – “For example, in one embodiment the tag may be an optical tag, and can utilize optical methods including, without limitation, QR- or Bar-code, color coding, etc. By way of example, a bar code can be printed on the target, the needle hub, the syringe, or any other suitable component of the probe assembly.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 5, Sonnenschein further teaches wherein the handheld computer is integrated into the case (Fig. 3, smartphone 104 inherently having a computer within a case).
The motivation for claim 4 was shown previously in claim 3.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonnenschein in view of Liu, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Bonutti et al. (US 20210353785 A1, published November 18, 2021 with a priority date of April 15, 2020), hereinafter referred to as Bonutti.
Regarding claim 7, Sonnenschein in view of Liu teaches all of the elements disclosed in claim 1 above.
Sonnenschein in view of Liu teaches a case, but does not explicitly teach where the case includes a knob.
Whereas, Bonutti, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches wherein the case further comprises a handle selected from the group consisting of a knob, one or more finger loops, and an adjustable strap (Fig. 2; see para. 0037 – “The UVC device may be part or integrally formed with another device attachable to the phone/tablet or phone/tablet case 111, such as a grip and/or stand device 113 (e.g., a POPSOCKET device sold by PopSockets) [knob]…”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a case, as disclosed in Sonnenschein in view of Liu, by having the case include a knob, as disclosed in Bonutti. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to facilitate holding the phone in the user's hand or propping the phone on a surface, as taught in Bonutti (see para. 0037).
Furthermore, regarding claim 8, Bonutti further teaches wherein the handle is a knob configured to reside in a compartment in the case and extend out of the case when ready for use (Fig. 2; see para. 0037 – “The UVC device may be part or integrally formed with another device attachable to the phone/tablet or phone/tablet case 111, such as a grip and/or stand device 113 (e.g., a POPSOCKET device sold by PopSockets) [knob]…”).
The motivation for claim 8 was shown previously in claim 7.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonnenschein in view of Liu, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Hopkins (US 20110320143 A1, published December 29, 2011), hereinafter referred to as Hopkins.
Regarding claim 10, Sonnenschein in view of Liu teaches all of the elements disclosed in claim 1 above, and
Sonnenschein further teaches a button on the case (Fig. 3, smart phone 104 inherently has buttons) and a 2D array of ultrasound transducers (see para. 0057 – “…the ultrasonic array comprises a 2D square array…”).
Sonnenschein in view of Liu teaches a button on a case, but does not explicitly teach where the button is configured to switch between longitudinal and transverse scanning.
Whereas, Hopkins, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches wherein the case further comprises a button configured to switch between longitudinal and transverse scanning when the array of ultrasonic transducers is a 2-dimensional ("2D") array of ultrasonic transducers (Fig. 1, probe switch 12 as button; see para. 0019 – “The piezoelectric element may consist of a number of elements as used in a phased array…” where a 2D array of ultrasound transducers is known in the art; see para. 0037 – “Pressing the probe switch 12 or the START button on the monitor screen starts the transverse scan…After having obtained the transverse scan, the sagittal scan can then be obtained manually when the operator rotates the probe 90° to the previous scan and repeats the process of scanning [pressing probe switch 12 again]…”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a button on a case, as disclosed in Sonnenschein in view of Liu, by having the button configured to switch between longitudinal and transverse scanning, as disclosed in Hopkins. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to calculate for the bladder volume using the transverse and sagittal frame images stored showing the bladder with the maximum area, as taught in Hopkins (see para. 0038).
Furthermore, regarding claim 11, Hopkins further teaches wherein the case further comprises one or more side buttons to switch among various functions or modes of the portable ultrasound system (see para. 0037 – “Pressing the probe switch 12 or the START button on the monitor screen starts the transverse scan…After having obtained the transverse scan, the sagittal scan can then be obtained manually when the operator rotates the probe 90° to the previous scan and repeats the process of scanning [pressing probe switch 12 again]…”).
The motivation for claim 11 was shown previously in claim 10.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonnenchein in view of Liu, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Ikeda et al. (US 20150223774 A1, published August 13, 2015), hereinafter referred to as Ikeda.
Regarding claim 13, Sonnenschein in view of Liu teaches all of the elements disclosed in claim 1 above.
Sonnenschein in view of Liu teaches a probe, but does not explicitly teach where the probe includes magnetic sensors.
Whereas, Ikeda, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches wherein the probe head includes an array of magnetic sensors configured to detect changes in a magnetic field to assist with guidance of a magnetized needle (Fig. 9 and 11; see para. 0065 – “The position/direction analyzing unit 58 and the coordinate conversion unit 59 specifies the guideline of the puncture needle 28 and the position of the needlepoint by converting the moving distance and the moving direction of the puncture needle 28 into the 3-dimensional positional coordinate based on the detected signals from the first magnet sensor 36 and the second magnet sensor 70.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a probe, as disclosed in Sonnenschein in view of Liu, by including to the probe magnetic sensors, as disclosed in Ikeda. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the accuracy of needle placement, as taught in Ikeda (see para. 0062-0063).
Furthermore, regarding claim 14, Ikeda further teaches wherein the array of magnetic sensors is configured to convert magnetic signals from the needle into electronic signals, and wherein the handheld computer is configured to process the electronic signals into distance and orientation information for an iconographic representation of the needle on the display during the on-screen guidance (Fig. 9 and 11; see para. 0065 – “The position/direction analyzing unit 58 and the coordinate conversion unit 59 specifies the guideline of the puncture needle 28 and the position of the needlepoint by converting the moving distance and the moving direction of the puncture needle 28 into the 3-dimensional positional coordinate based on the detected signals from the first magnet sensor 36 and the second magnet sensor 70. Then the coordinate conversion unit 59 transmits the guideline of the puncture needle 28 and the positional information of the needlepoint to the composition unit 52. The composition unit 52 displays the guideline of the puncture needle and the position of the needlepoint on the image display unit 56 based on the received positional information.”).
The motivation for claim 14 was shown previously in claim 13.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonnenschein in view of Liu and Ikeda, as applied to claim 14 above, and in further view of Swan et al. (US 20200390416 A1), from IDS, hereinafter referred to as Swan.
Regarding claim 15, Sonnenchein in view of Liu and Ikeda teaches all of the elements disclosed in claim 14 above.
Sonnenschein in view of Liu and Ikeda teaches a screen displaying a needle within an ultrasound image (Liu: see para. 0020 – “…display images detected by the probe head 21 to allow the user to directly and intuitively judge the blood vessel position. Then the puncturing needle 11 can be positioned via the aid of the needle positioning aid element 40 to perform blood vessel puncturing operation while the user is directly looking at the blood vessel image…”), but does not explicitly teach notifying if the needle is not expected to intersect with a cross section of an anatomical target in accordance with the distance and orientation information.
Whereas, Swan, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches wherein the handheld computer is configured to generate notifications selected from haptic feedback, visual notifications on the display screen, and aural notifications through a speaker of the handheld computer if the needle is not expected to intersect with a cross section of an anatomical target in accordance with the distance and orientation information (Fig. 7; see para. 0045 – “At step 740, the ultrasound imaging system may determine one or more high-confidence areas for where an inserted needle may intersect the first plane. The determining may be based on the ultrasound image and information regarding the out of plane needle insertion. At step 750, the ultrasound imaging system may display one or more on-screen markers corresponding to the one or more high-confidence areas in conjunction with the plurality of ultrasound images on the display.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified teaches a screen displaying a needle within an ultrasound image, as disclosed in Sonnenschein in view of Liu and Ikeda, by also notifying if the needle is not expected to intersect with a cross section of an anatomical target in accordance with the distance and orientation information, as disclosed in Swan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide providing additional feedback to the operator on not only where the needle should intersect the ultrasound image plane, but also where it could intersect, as taught in Swan (see para. 0047).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Pelissier et al. (US 20090043204 A1, published February 12, 2009) discloses a hand-held ultrasonic imaging device is provided with a removable transducer array; the imaging device has a housing, a display on the housing, and a transducer assembly including a transducer array detachably coupled to the housing; the transducer array may be coupled to the housing by a pivotable Swivel connector; the device may have suitable user controls provided on a user interface which allow a user to select a functional mode or type of transducer array which is plugged in.
Cheng et al. (US 20030065260 A1, published April 3, 2003) discloses ultrasound transducers that can electronically Switch from longitudinal to transverse imaging (by pressing a button) are now commercially available and widely used in prostate imaging.
Costa (US 20110055447 A1, published March 3, 2011) discloses a handheld device such as a PDA or a Smartphone, on in particular an iPhone, as made by Apple Inc., whilst providing means for connection of a probe unit to the handheld device.
Brattain et al. (US 20210045711 A1, published February 18, 2021 with a priority date of August 16, 2019) discloses image analysis provides for guidance for insertion of a cannulation system into a subject via an indicator or a mechanical guide to guide a user for inserting the vascular cannulation system into a subject to penetrate the vessel of interest.
Poland et al. (US 20230101257 A1, published March 30, 2023 with a priority date of March 5, 2020) discloses handheld ultrasound devices with display-retaining designs that allow the processor/display assembly to be removed and/or repositioned.
/Nyrobi Celestine/Examiner, Art Unit 3798