DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8, and 14-16 are pending.
Claims 1-8, and 14-16 have been examined.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The specification is objected to for inconsistent use of reference numerals. Specifically, in paragraph [0025], “lifting assembly 7” should read “lifting assembly 6” to match the drawings and the remainder of the specification. Applicant is required to amend the specification to ensure consistent use of reference numerals throughout the application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the "locking means" (as recited in at least claim 2) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 14 recite “…wherein the first end of at least an additional leg is fixedly connected to the lower bar and the second end of the at least the additional leg is slidably connected to the lower bar…”, which appears to require that both ends of the “additional leg” are connected to the lower bar. This is structurally unclear, as it is not apparent how a leg can be connected at both ends to the same bar while also being part of the claimed scissor mechanism. The specification describes legs crossing between the upper and lower bars, not both ends attached to the lower bar.
Claims 1 and 14 first recite “a pair of legs,” but then refers to “at least an additional leg.” It is unclear whether “an additional leg” is one of the pair, a third leg, or otherwise. The claim lacks clear antecedent basis for “an additional leg,” causing confusion as to the number and identification of the legs involved in the lifting assembly.
Claim 7 recites “the lower bar of each lifting assembly,” but claim 1, from which claim 7 depends, only recites a single lifting assembly. There is no clear antecedent basis for “each lifting assembly” unless claim 6, which introduces two lifting assemblies, is incorporated. As written, it is unclear whether claim 7 is intended to cover a system with one or more lifting assemblies, and which lower bar is being referenced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keiper (DE 20320522) in view of Meng (CN 110861553).
As concerns claim 1, Keiper teaches a foldable table system for incorporation in a seat pan (fig. 1: 9), the system comprising: a table (fig. 1: 22) having a first end (see below annotated fig. 1), a second end (see below annotated fig. 1), a tabletop surface (see below annotated fig. 1) extending from the first end (see below annotated fig. 1) to the second end (see below annotated fig. 1), and a table bottom surface (see below annotated fig. 1) extending from the first end (see below annotated fig. 1) to the second end (see below annotated fig. 1); and a lifting assembly (fig. 2:7) coupled to the table (fig. 1: 22), the lifting assembly (fig. 2:7) configured to expand from a lowered position (From the English translation: “It is for the use of the table and arm support advantageous if at the transition the scissors frame from the stowed position to the use position”) to a raised position (shown in fig. 1) as the table (fig. 1: 22) is raised from a stowed state to an open state (shown in fig. 1), wherein the lifting assembly (fig. 2:7) comprises: an upper bar (fig. 2: 15) and a lower bar extending substantially parallel to each other, the upper bar (fig. 2: 15) being coupled to the table (fig. 1: 22); and a pair of legs (fig. 2: 11 and 12) where each leg (fig. 2: 11 and 12) of the pair of legs (fig. 2: 11 and 12) includes a first end (see below annotated fig. 2) connected to the upper bar (fig. 2: 15) and a second end (see below annotated fig. 2) connected to the lower bar, the legs (fig. 2: 11 and 12) arranged to cross each other at a point between the upper bar (fig. 2: 15) and the lower bar, wherein the first end (see below annotated fig. 2) of at least one of the legs (fig. 2: 12) is fixedly connected to the upper bar (fig. 2: 15) and the second end (see below annotated fig. 2) is slidably connected to the lower bar, wherein the first end (see below annotated fig. 2) of at least an additional leg (fig. 2: 11) is fixedly connected to the lower bar and the second end (see below annotated fig. 2) of the at least the additional leg (fig. 2: 11) is slidably connected to the lower bar, such that as the upper bar (fig. 2: 15) is raised relative to the lower bar, the ends of the legs (fig. 2: 11 and 12) which are slidably connected slide along the respective bar towards the end of the opposite leg (fig. 2: 11 and 12) that is fixedly connected to that bar in a scissor motion.
However, Keiper does not teach the lower bar. Meng teaches a seat including similar scissor assembly including an upper bar and a pair of crossing legs with a lower bar (Meng, fig. 2: 11111).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the foldable table system of Keiper by incorporating a lower bar as taught by Meng. The inclusion of a lower bar, as shown in Meng, would provide enhanced structural stability and improved guidance for the scissor mechanism during the raising and lowering of the table. By adding the lower bar, the movement of the crossing legs becomes more controlled and reliable, thereby facilitating smoother transitions between stowed and open positions and reducing the risk of misalignment or mechanical binding. Such improvements are routinely sought in the design of foldable table assemblies, and Meng demonstrates that this configuration is known and advantageous in the art.
As concerns claim 2, Keiper teaches a releasably locking means (fig. 2: 18) for releasably locking the slidably connected end of each leg (fig. 2: 11 and 12) to the respective bar when the upper bar (fig. 2: 15) has reached a given height relative to the lower bar.
As concerns claim 3, Keiper teaches a foldable table system with an upper bar (fig. 2: 15) and a lower structural element (fig. 2: base), where the ends of the legs are slidably connected to the upper bar via slots (see fig. 2). While Keiper’s lower element may not be explicitly labeled as a “bar,” it is functionally equivalent, and the legs are slidably connected to it, as evidenced by the slots shown in Keiper’s figures and described in the translation (“the scissors frame from the stowed position to the use position”).
Meng teaches a seat system with both an upper bar and a lower bar, each having slots (Meng, fig. 2: 11111) for slidably connecting the ends of the crossing legs to the respective bars.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Keiper’s foldable table system to include upper and lower bars, each having a slot for slidably connecting the ends of the legs, as taught by Meng. Such a modification would facilitate reliable movement of the legs within the scissor mechanism, provide improved guidance and stability, and is a routine design choice in the art for foldable table assemblies, as evidenced by Meng.
As concerns claim 4, Keiper teaches the table (fig. 1: 22) is pivotably attached at a pivot point (fig. 2: 21) to the upper bar (fig. 2: 15).
As concerns claim 5, While Keiper and Meng do not explicitly disclose providing cushioning on the bottom surface of the table, it is Official Notice that it is common practice in the art of stowable tables and vehicle seating to provide cushioning, padding, or bumpers on surfaces that come into contact with other components (such as a seat pan or recess) when stowed. Such cushioning reduces noise and vibration during movement or stowage, prevents marring or scratching of the table or seat pan, and improves passenger comfort and perceived quality. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide cushioning on the bottom surface of Keiper’s table to achieve these known benefits, as is routinely done in analogous stowable or foldable table systems.
As concerns claim 6, Keiper teaches two said lifting assemblies (fig. 2: 7), one provided on each side of the table (fig. 1: 22).
As concerns claim 7, Keiper teaches a seat pan (fig. 1: 9) having a recess (fig. 1: 9) within which the lower bar of each lifting assembly (fig. 2:7) is mounted and into which the lifting assembly (fig. 2:7) and the table (fig. 1: 22) is stowed when the lifting assembly (fig. 2:7) is in a lowered position (From the English translation: “It is for the use of the table and arm support advantageous if at the transition the scissors frame from the stowed position to the use position”).
As concerns claim 8, Keiper teaches at least one of a tab (fig. 1: 19) or a strap attached to the table (fig. 1: 22), wherein the at least one of the tab (fig. 1: 19) or the strap is configured to lift the table (fig. 1: 22).
As concerns claim 14, Keiper teaches A seat comprising: a seat pan (fig. 1: 9); and a foldable table (fig. 1: 22) system for incorporation in the seat pan (fig. 1: 9), the system comprising: a table (fig. 1: 22) having a first end (see below annotated fig. 1), a second end (see below annotated fig. 1), a tabletop surface (see below annotated fig. 1) extending from the first end (see below annotated fig. 1) to the second end (see below annotated fig. 1), and a table bottom surface (see below annotated fig. 1) extending from the first end (see below annotated fig. 1) to the second end (see below annotated fig. 1); and a lifting assembly (fig. 2:7) coupled to the table (fig. 1: 22), the lifting assembly (fig. 2:7) configured to expand from a lowered position (From the English translation: “It is for the use of the table and arm support advantageous if at the transition the scissors frame from the stowed position to the use position”) to a raised position (shown in fig. 1) as the table (fig. 1: 22) is raised from a stowed state to an open state (shown in fig. 1), wherein the lifting assembly (fig. 2:7) comprises: an upper bar (fig. 2: 15) and a lower bar extending substantially parallel to each other, the upper bar (fig. 2: 15) being coupled to the table (fig. 1: 22); and a pair of legs (fig. 2: 11 and 12), where each leg (fig. 2: 11 and 12) of the pair of legs (fig. 2: 11 and 12) includes a first end (see below annotated fig. 2) connected to the upper bar (fig. 2: 15) and a second end (see below annotated fig. 2) connected to the lower bar, the legs (fig. 2: 11 and 12) arranged to cross each other at a point between the upper bar (fig. 2: 15) and the lower bar, wherein the first end (see below annotated fig. 2) of at least one of the legs (fig. 2: 12) is fixedly connected to the upper bar (fig. 2: 15) and the second end (see below annotated fig. 2) is slidably connected to the lower bar, wherein the first end (see below annotated fig. 2) of at least an additional leg (fig. 2: 11) is fixedly connected to the lower bar and the second end (see below annotated fig. 1) of the at least the additional leg (fig. 2: 11) is slidably connected to the lower bar, such that as the upper bar (fig. 2: 15) is raised relative to the lower bar, the ends of the legs (fig. 2: 11 and 12) which are slidably connected slide along the respective bar towards the end of the opposite leg (fig. 2: 11 and 12) that is fixedly connected to that bar in a scissor motion.
Keiper does not teach the lower bar. However, Meng does teach a lower bar (Meng, fig. 2: 11111).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the foldable table system of Keiper by incorporating a lower bar as taught by Meng. The inclusion of a lower bar, as shown in Meng, would provide enhanced structural stability and improved guidance for the scissor mechanism during the raising and lowering of the table. By adding the lower bar, the movement of the crossing legs becomes more controlled and reliable, thereby facilitating smoother transitions between stowed and open positions and reducing the risk of misalignment or mechanical binding. Such improvements are routinely sought in the design of foldable table assemblies, and Meng demonstrates that this configuration is known and advantageous in the art.
As concerns claim 15, Keiper teaches the seat includes a vehicle seat (fig. 1: 1; see also abstract “seat for car”.)
As concerns claim 16, Keiper teaches a vehicle seat as noted above. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use such a foldable table system in other types of vehicle seats, including aircraft seats, as the structural and functional requirements for stowable tables in transportation seating are similar across automobiles, trains, and aircraft. The use of foldable or stowable tables in aircraft seating is well known, and adapting Keiper’s system for use in an aircraft seat would have been a routine design choice to provide similar passenger convenience and functionality in the aircraft environment.
Conclusion
JESSICA K THOMPSON
Examiner
Art Unit 3636
/DAVID R DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3636