DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-9 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 7-9 and 18-19 depend upon rejected claim 1 and inherit the deficiency thereby.
Claim 6, Line 3; and Claim 17, Line 3, “a second direction” is unclear to one of ordinary skill in the art as to whether this “first direction” that is orthogonal to a second direction is related to the “a direction” as previously defined in Claim 1, from which this claim depends, or a differing “second direction” completely, thereby leaving the boundaries of the claim unclear.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Claims 1-2, 6, 12-13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Konaka (US 20240235523) in view of Yamanouchi (JPH088680A), a reference as cited by applicant and examiner is depending on examiner’s attached translation.
As per Claims 1-2, 6, 12-13, and 17: Konaka discloses in Figure 2:
A filter device (“filter”, 1) with a plurality of bulk acoustic wave resonators connected in parallel (as per claim 12, “parallel arm resonators”, P1-P4, as shown in related Figure 21, due to the bulk wave propagating, [0052] the acoustic resonators are inherently bulk acoustic resonators, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art), wherein at least one acoustic resonator of the plurality of bulk acoustic resonators (P1-P4) having a piezoelectric layer (100), an IDT (11) over the piezoelectric layer having a first and second busbar (as per claims 6 and 17, “busbar electrode”, 11c) disposed on the surface of the piezoelectric layer (100) and extend along a first direction (d2, as evident by Figure 2 and related Figure 1) orthogonal to a second direction (d1, as evident by Figure 2) in which the first and second plurality extend (extending in the d1 direction, as is evident by Figure 2 and related Figure 1), and comprising a first (“comb-shaped electrode”, 11b) and second plurality of interleaved fingers (“comb-shaped electrode”, 11a), wherein the second plurality (11a) has a pair of subsections disposed on each side of the first plurality in a lengthwise direction of the IDT (11a is disposed on each side of 11b, as is evident by related Figure 1), and a first pitch (“first end-side pitch”, as shown in Figure 2) of the first plurality (11b) is different than a second pitch (“n-th end-side pitch”, as shown in Figure 2) of the second plurality (11a, the first pitch is different than that of the second due to a pitch between the eighth end-side electrode finger and a ninth end-side electrode finger, is smaller than the average IDT pitch PIDT, thereby inherently having a different first and second pitch [0067]).
Konaka does not disclose:
The first plurality has a first thickness different and greater than the second thickness of the second plurality, and the thickness is measured in a direction orthogonal to the surface of the piezoelectric layer.
Yamanouchi discloses in Figure 2:
The first plurality (“electrode”, 6) has a first thickness different and greater (as per claims 2 and 13, as is evident by electrode 6 in Figure 2) than the second thickness of the second plurality (“electrodes”, 5 and 7, “have different electrode film thicknesses”, [Col. 2, Lines 41-43] as is evident by the thickness of electrode 6 being larger than the thickness of 5 and 7, as evident by Fig. 2), and the thickness is measured in a direction orthogonal to the surface of the piezoelectric layer (IDT electrodes 4-7 are formed on the piezoelectric substrate 1, [Col. 2, Lines 25-27], and therefore the thickness direction would inherently be orthogonal, as is evident by Figure 2).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the thickness of the first and second plurality of Konaka to the thicknesses of Yamanouchi to provide the benefit of obtaining a low insertion loss filter (Yamanouchi, [Objective]).
Claims 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Konaka (US 20240235523) in view of Yamanouchi (JPH088680A), a reference as cited by applicant and examiner is depending on examiner’s attached translation, and Nakamura (US 11689178).
As per Claim 20:
Konaka discloses in Figure 2:
The limitations as defined above.
Yamanouchi discloses in Figure 2:
The limitations as defined above.
Konaka and Yamanouchi do not disclose:
A radio frequency module comprising a radio frequency circuit coupled to the filter device, and the filter device and the radio frequency circuit being enclosed within a common package.
Nakamura discloses in Figure 7A:
A radio frequency module (“module”, 90) comprising a radio frequency circuit (“antenna switch”, 92, an antenna switch is inherently a RF circuit, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art) coupled to the filter device (“filters”, 91), and the filter device and the radio frequency circuit being enclosed within a common package (as is evident by Figure 7A and the radio frequency switch and acoustic wave filter packaged together, [Col. 2, Lines 28-29]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the filter device of Konaka and Yamanouchi to include the radio frequency module and the associated circuit with packaging as taught by Nakamura to provide the benefit of enclosing elements and implementations within a wireless communication device (Nakamura, [Col. 15, Lines 45-48, Col. 16, Lines 22-24]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 10-11, and 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ABIGAIL AMIR YALDO/ Examiner, Art Unit 2843
/ANDREA LINDGREN BALTZELL/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843