Notice of Final Rejection
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 09/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner Respectfully disagrees with applicant’s remarks and respond to the issues related.
Issue 1: Applicant argues that Mano does not discuss “ a memory configured to store a plurality of mathematical functions for generating a corresponding plurality of predetermined image types”. as recited in claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicants arguments. Fig. 2 of instant application vs Fig. 2, 3 are together anticipates all the limitations recited in claim 1 explicitly and/or inherently. Hence, claim 1 rejecting under anticipation is appropriate. Claim language has been met by the local processors and main controller. Hence, applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive.
Issue 2 : Applicant argues that the way prior art equipment works different from the instant application. The equations relied upon in the office action do not appear to remedy this difference. However, examiner respectfully disagree with applicant. If applicant’s arguments are incorporated in the independent claims appropriately, examiner is willing to consider. Paragraph [0058], [0067], [0084] etc along with cited paragraphs anticipates the same claimed language under broadest reasonable interpretations (BRI). Accordingly, claim 1, under BRI of the claim limitations anticipates the claim 1. Hence, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant has not made any specific arguments to claims 2-9, amended claim 10 and depending claims 11-16 and claim 17 and depending claims 18-20 Hence, claims 1-9, amended method claims 10, depending claims 11-16, and claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 USC 102 anticipation in view of broadest reasonable interpretation. However, examiner is willing consider if can amend the claims by incorporating his arguments such as device components, mathematical equations and their functionality in a non-obvious way will be considered to further the prosecution accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by US20230096367 A1 by Mano et al (Mano).
Referring to claim 1, Mano Fig 1 -13 C teaches: A remote node (Fig 3 item 300 light distribution controller regarded as remote node controller) for controlling a vehicle headlamp light array (Fig 2, paragraphs [0056] -[0059] and Fig 3 paragraph [0063]) teaches, the remote node comprising: .a memory (Fig 3 item 320) configured to store a plurality of mathematical functions for generating a corresponding plurality of predetermined image types, wherein the plurality of image types comprises at least a low beam image and a high beam image (See paragraph [0030] [0058]. Mano teaches non-volatile memory 320 stores a software program to generate a light distribution image a light distribution image IMG_LD according to a high beam and/or a low beam using variations according to equations (1)-(3); it is evident and considered at least implicitly disclosed that the mathematical functions used in combination must be stored in some form, either separately or as a module of the software program]);
a receive interface (Fig 2 item 220 receiving interface) configured to receive frame data, wherein the frame data comprises selection data indicative of a selected one of the plurality of image types (see paragraphs [0061]- [0064] where Mano teaches light distribution controller 300 receives lighting command CMD for instructing on/off of a low beam or a high beam together with information INFO) ; a rendering engine configured to generate, using a mathematical function of the plurality of mathematical functions corresponding to the selected one of the plurality of image types, a signal usable by the vehicle headlamp light array to generate an output image (See Fig 3 signal processor 310 including a processor 312 and a hardware logic circuit 314 executes a program for generating the image data IMG_LD according to a high beam, low beam, or combinations thereof etc paragraphs [0067]-[0071]); and
an output interface configured to output the signal to the vehicle headlamp light array. (See Fig. 3, paragraph [0066] output interface 306).
Referring to claim 2 Mono teaches the remote node of claim 1, wherein the frame data comprises overlay information for generating an overlay to be applied to the selected one of the plurality of image types, wherein the rendering engine is configured to generate the signal further using the overlay information. (See Fig 4 and paragraph [0071]-[0076] where Mano's mask region discloses the transmission of overlay information).
Referring to claim 3 Mono teaches the remote node of claim 2, wherein the overlay information comprises mask information for generating at least one mask region for inclusion in the overlay. (See Fig 4-7 and paragraph [0071] [0075] [0076] and [0081] where Mano's mask region discloses the transmission of overlay information).
Referring to claim 4 Mono teaches the remote node of claim 3, wherein each at least one mask region has a defined light intensity. (See Fig 4-7 and paragraph [0071] [0075] [0076] ] and [0081] where Mano's mask region discloses the transmission of overlay information).
Referring to claim 5 Mono teaches the remote node of claim 3, wherein the mask information is indicative of at least one mask coordinate and an intensity value for each at least one mask region. (See Fig 4-7 and paragraph [0071] [0075] [0076] ] and [0081] where Mano's mask region discloses the transmission of overlay information).
Referring to claim 6 Mono teaches the remote node of claim 2, wherein the overlay information comprises supplementary information for inclusion of a supplementary image in the overlay. (See Fig 4-7 and paragraph [0071] [0075] [0076] and [0081] where Mano's mask region discloses the transmission of overlay information).
Referring to claim 7 Mono teaches the remote node of claim 6, wherein the supplementary information comprises a compressed version of the supplementary image and the rendering engine is configured to generate the supplementary image using the supplementary information. (See Fig 4-7 and paragraph [0098] where Mano's mask region discloses the compressing pattern).Referring to claim 8 Mono teaches the remote node of claim 1, wherein the plurality of mathematical functions are received from a processing unit. (See paragraphs [0075] -[0081]).
Referring to claim 9 Mono teaches the remote node of claim 1, wherein the frame data further comprises parameter changes to the mathematical function. t. (See paragraphs [0075] -[0081]).
Referring to claim 10 Mono Fig 3 teaches: A processing unit (Fig 3 item 312 [0068]) for controlling a vehicle headlamp light array (See abstract), comprising:
a processor (item 312 paragraph [0068]) configured to generate frame data comprising selection data indicative of a selected one of a plurality of image types, wherein the plurality of image types comprises at least a low beam image and a high beam image (See paragraph [0030] [0058] , wherein the selection data is indicative of a mathematical function, of a plurality of mathematical functions stored at a remote node, for generating the selected one of the plurality of image types(See paragraph [0030] [0058]. Mano teaches non-volatile memory 320 stores a software program to generate a light distribution image; By applying BRI to claim 10, Mano further teaches non-volatile memory 320 stores a software program to generate a light distribution image a light distribution image IMG_LD according to a high beam and/or a low beam using variations according to equations (1)-(3); it is evident and considered at least implicitly disclosed that the mathematical functions used in combination must be stored in some form, either separately or as a module of the software program]); and
a transmit interface configured to send the frame data to a remote node for generating a signal at the remote node usable by the vehicle headlamp light array to generate an output image, the signal being generated using the mathematical function corresponding to the selected one of the plurality of image types. (See Fig 3 and paragraphs [0061] -[0068] where Mano teaches the data is transmitted through interfaces 302 and 304).
Referring to claim 11 Mono teaches the processing unit of claim 10, wherein the frame data comprises overlay information for generating an overlay to be applied to the selected one of the plurality of image types. (See Fig 4 and paragraph [0071]-[0076] where Mano's mask region discloses the transmission of overlay information).
Referring to claim 12 Mono teaches the processing unit of claim 11, wherein the overlay information comprises mask information for generating at least one mask region for inclusion in the overlay. (See Fig 4 and paragraph [0071]-[0076] where Mano's mask region discloses the transmission of overlay information).
Referring to claim 13 Mono teaches the processing unit of claim 12, wherein each at least one mask region has a defined light intensity. (See Fig 4 and paragraph [0071]-[0076] where Mano's mask region discloses the transmission of overlay information).
Referring to claim 14 Mono teaches the processing unit of claim 12, wherein the mask information is indicative of at least one mask coordinate and an intensity value for each at least one mask region. (See Fig 4 and paragraph [0094]-[0099] where Mano's mask region discloses the transmission of overlay information).
Referring to claim 15 Mono teaches the processing unit of claim 11 wherein the overlay information comprises supplementary information for inclusion in the overlay (See Fig 4 and paragraph [0071]-[0076] where Mano's mask region discloses the transmission of overlay information).
Referring to claim 16 Mono teaches the processing unit of claim 15, wherein the supplementary information is compressed. (See paragraph [0098] where Mano teaches compressing the lighting pattern).
Referring to claim 17 Mono Fig 2,3, 9-13C teaches a method for controlling a vehicle headlamp light array using a remote node, comprising: receiving frame data, wherein the frame data comprises selection data indicative of a selected one of a plurality of image types, wherein the plurality of image types comprises at least a low beam image and a high beam image; generating, using a mathematical function corresponding to the selected one of the plurality of image types, a signal usable by the vehicle headlamp light
array to generate an output image; and outputting the signal to the vehicle headlamp light array. (See paragraph [0030] [0058] [0061]-[0068], [0104] -[0114] Mano teaches non- volatile memory 320 stores a software program to generate a light distribution image a light distribution image IMG_LD according to a high beam and/or a low beam using variations according to equations (1)-(3); it is evident and considered at least implicitly disclosed that the mathematical functions used in combination must be stored in some form, either separately or as a module of the software program]);
Referring to claim 18 Mono teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the frame data comprises overlay information for generating an overlay to be applied to the selected one of the plurality of image types, wherein a remote note is configured to generate the signal further using the overlay information. (See Fig 4-7 and paragraph [0071] [0075] [0076] ] and [0081] where Mano's mask region discloses the transmission of overlay information).
Referring to claim 19 Mono teaches the method of claim 18, wherein the overlay information comprises mask information for generating at least one mask region for inclusion in the overlay. (See Fig 4-7 and paragraph [0071] [0075] [0076] ] and [0081] where Mano's mask region discloses the transmission of overlay information).
Referring to claim 20 Mono teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the frame data comprises overlay information that comprises supplementary information for inclusion in the overlay. (See Fig 4-7 and paragraph [0071] [0075] [0076] ] and [0081] where Mano's mask region discloses the transmission of overlay information).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
The prior of art made of record and not relied upon is considered to pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the notice of references cited PTOL 892 attached here with. The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicants. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
/SRINIVAS SATHIRAJU/ 11/04/2026
SRINIVAS . SATHIRAJU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2845