Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8,10,11,15,16,17,19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 20040085828) in view of Nazarathy et al (US 20100097677).
Regarding Claim 1,
Kim et al discloses (Fig. 4) an optical logic gate comprising [0041-0045]: signal providing means for providing a first optical signal based on a first logic input signal and a second optical signal based on a second logic input signal, wherein the respective phases of the first and second optical signals are the same [0033-0034][0040]; phase modulating means (220) for shifting the phase of the first optical signal with respect to the phase of the second optical signal by a predetermined phase difference [0042-0045]; interference means configured to cause the first and second optical signals shifted with respect to their phases by the phase modulating means to interfere with each other [0044].
Kim et al does not disclose an optically non-linear element configured to interact with a pump signal and with the first and second optical signals shifted with respect to their phases by the phase modulating means and caused to interfere by the interference means and, as a result of this non-linear interaction, to couple out an optical output signal as a logic output signal.
Nazarathy discloses (Fig. 5) an optically non-linear element [00167-0168][0175][0181] configured to interact with a pump signal and with the first and second optical signals shifted with respect to their phases by the phase modulating means and caused to interfere by the interference means and, as a result of this non-linear interaction, to couple out an optical output signal as a logic output signal [0185].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim et al to include Nazarathy’s an optically non-linear element [00167-0168][0175][0181] configured to interact with a pump signal and with the first and second optical signals shifted with respect to their phases by the phase modulating means and caused to interfere by the interference means and, as a result of this non-linear interaction, to couple out an optical output signal as a logic output signal [0185] motivated by the desire to remove dependence on the interference outputs phase and facilitate cascading.
Regarding Claim 2,
In addition to Kim et al and Nazarathy as disclosed above, Kim et al discloses wherein the predetermined phase difference is
π
[0042-0044].
Regarding Claim 3,
In addition to Kim et al and Nazarathy as disclosed above, Nazarathy discloses wherein the optically non- linear element is configured such that the non-linear interaction is phase-insensitive [0184-0186].
Regarding Claim 4,
In addition to Kim et al and Nazarathy as disclosed above, Kim et al discloses wherein the optical logic gate is an XOR gate [0042-0045].
Regarding Claim 5,
In addition to Kim et al and Nazarathy as disclosed above, Kim et al discloses wherein the signal providing means together with the optically non-linear element are configured to associate the intensity of the logic output signal with the respective intensities of the first and second logic input signals such that the logic output signal as a function of the first and second logic input signals is the result of a logical XOR function, wherein the respective logical states of the first and second logic input signals and the logic output signal are intensity modulated [0044-0046] see also TABLE 2.
Regarding Claim 6,
In addition to Kim et al and Nazarathy as disclosed above, Kim et al discloses wherein the signal providing means is configured such that the logical state of the first logic input signal corresponds to thelogical state of the first optical signal and the logical state of the second logic input signal corresponds to the logical state of the second optical signal [0033-0035][0038][0046].
Regarding Claim 7,
In addition to Kim et al and Nazarathy as disclosed above, Kim et al discloses wherein the signal providing means together with the optically non-linear element are configured such that when the first and second logic input signals have different intensities or correspond to different logical states, the phase of the logic output signal is always the same regardless of which logical state the first and second logic input signals are respectively associated with [0044] and Nazarthay [0095-0094].
Regarding Claim 8,
In addition to Kim et al and Nazarathy as disclosed above, Nazarathy discloses wherein the optical output signal corresponds to the portion of the pump signal transmitted through the optically non-linear element [0185].
Regarding Claim 10,
Kim et al discloses (Fig. 4) an optical logic gate comprising [0041-0045]: signal providing means for providing a first optical signal based on a first logic input signal and a second optical signal based on a second logic input signal [0033-0034]; phase modulating means (220) for shifting the phase of the first optical signal with respect to the phase of the second optical signal by a predetermined phase difference [0042-0043]; interference means configured to cause the first and second optical signals shifted with respect to their phases by the phase modulating means to interfere with each other [0044]; and an optically non-linear element configured to interact with a pump signal and with the first and second optical signals shifted with respect to their phases by the phase modulating means and caused to interfere by the interference means and, as a result of this non-linear interaction, to couple out an optical output signal as a logic output signa [0167][0184-0186]
Kim et al does not disclose wherein the optically non-linear element comprises an optically saturable absorber for mediating the non-linear interaction in the optically non-linear element.
Nazarathy discloses wherein the optically non-linear element comprises an optically saturable absorber for mediating the non-linear interaction in the optically non-linear element [0167].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim et al to include Nazarathy’s optically non-linear element comprises an optically saturable absorber for mediating the non-linear interaction in the optically non-linear element [0167] motivated by the desire to remove interference-output phase dependence and facilitate cascading while preserving the XOR intensity relationship.
Regarding Claim 11,
In addition to Kim et al and Nazarathy, Nazarathy discloses wherein the optical output signal corresponds to a portion of the pump signal not absorbed by the optically saturable absorber and transmitted through the non-linear element [0189].
Regarding Claim 15,
In addition to Kim et al and Nazarathy as disclosed above, Kim et al discloses wherein the respective phases of the first and second optical signals are the same [0033-0043].
Regarding Claim 16,
Kim et al discloses an optical logic gate comprising [0041-0045]: signal providing means for providing a first optical signal based on a first logic input signal and a second optical signal based on a second logic input signal [0033-0034]; phase modulating means for shifting the relative phase of the first optical signal with respect to the phase of the second optical signal by a predetermined phase difference [0042-0043]; interference means configured to cause the first and second optical signals shifted with respect to their phases by the phase modulating means to interfere with each other [0044], wherein the signal providing means comprise a first and a second additional optically non-linear element [0034-0042], and wherein the first additional optically non-linear element is configured to interact with a first additional pump signal and the first logic input signal and, as a result of this non-linear interaction, to couple out and provide the first optical signal [0033-0034]; and the second additional optically non-linear element is configured to interact with a second additional pump signal and the second logic input signal and, as a result of this non-linear interaction, to couple out and provide the second optical signal [0034-0034].
Kim et al does not disclose an optically non-linear element configured to interact with a pump signal and with the first and second optical signals shifted with respect to their phases by the phase modulating means and caused to interfere by the interference means and, as a result of this non-linear interaction, to couple out an optical output signal as a logic output signal,
Nazarathy discloses (Fig. 5) an optically non-linear element configured to interact with a pump signal and with the first and second optical signals shifted with respect to their phases by the phase modulating means and caused to interfere by the interference means and, as a result of this non-linear interaction, to couple out an optical output signal as a logic output signal [0184-0186].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim et al to include Nazarathy’s an optically non-linear element [00167-0168][0175][0181] configured to interact with a pump signal and with the first and second optical signals shifted with respect to their phases by the phase modulating means and caused to interfere by the interference means and, as a result of this non-linear interaction, to couple out an optical output signal as a logic output signal [0185] motivated by the desire to remove dependence on the interference outputs phase and facilitate cascading.
Regarding Claim 17,
In addition to Kim et al and Nazarathy as disclosed above, Kim et al discloses wherein the first optical signal corresponds to a portion of the first additional pump signal transmitted through the first additional optically non-linear element; and the second optical signal corresponds to a portion of the second additional pump signal transmitted through the second additional optically non-linear element [0033-0034].
Regarding Claim 19,
Kim et al discloses further comprising: a first connection waveguide passing through the first additional optically non- linear element and connecting it to the optically non-linear element, wherein the first connection waveguide is configured to [0168]: receive the first additional pump signal propagating in a first direction and coupling it into or to the first additional optically non-linear element [033-034]; and receive the first optical signal propagating in the first direction and forwarding it to or into the optically non-linear element; and a second connection waveguide passing through the second additional optically non-linear element and connecting it to the optically non-linear element, wherein the second connection waveguide is configured to: receive the second additional pump signal propagating in a first direction and coupling it into or to the second additional optically non-linear element; and receive the second optical signal propagating in the first direction and forwarding it to or into the optically non-linear element [0033-0034].
Claim(s) 9, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 20040085828) and of Nazarathy et al (US 20100097677) in view of Guo (US 20220180175 A1)
Regarding Claim 9,
Kim et al and Nazarathy et al discloses everything as disclosed above.
Kim et al and Nazarathy et al do not disclose wherein the phase of the optical output signal corresponds to the phase of the pump signal.
Guo discloses wherein the phase of the optical output signal corresponds to the phase of the pump signal [0112-0115].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim et al and Nazarathy et al to include Guo’s phase of the optical output signal corresponds to the phase of the pump signal motivated by the desire to prevent unwanted probe phase modulation.
Claim(s) 12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 20040085828) and of Nazarathy et al (US 20100097677) in view of Lu et al (US 20140023321 A1)
Regarding Claim 12,
Kim et al and Nazarathy et al discloses everything as disclosed above.
Kim et al and Nazarathy et al do not disclose wherein the optically non- linear element comprises a graphene layer as an optically saturable absorber for mediating the non-linear interaction in the optically non-linear element.
Lu et al discloses (Fig. 4a) wherein the optically non- linear element comprises a graphene layer as an optically saturable absorber for mediating the non-linear interaction in the optically non-linear element [0036].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim et al and Nazarathy et al to include Lu et al’s optically non- linear element comprises a graphene layer as an optically saturable absorber for mediating the non-linear interaction in the optically non-linear element motivated by the desire to provide a compact, waveguide integrated element emplying nonlinear absorption to control optical transmission.
Claim(s) 13,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 20040085828) and of Nazarathy et al (US 20100097677) in view of Hilliger (WO-0188610-A2)
Regarding Claim 13,
Kim et al and Nazarathy et al discloses everything as disclosed above.
Kim et al and Nazarthy et al discloses further comprising at least one waveguide passing through the optically non-linear element or coupling to the optically non- linear element, wherein the at least one waveguide is configured to Nazarathy [0168]
Nazarathy discloses receive the optical output signal propagating in the first direction from the optically non-linear element [0185]
Kim et al discloses receive the first and second optical signals propagating in a second direction opposite to the first direction and coupling them into or to the optically non-linear element, wherein the first and second optical signals are shifted with respect to their phases by the phase modulating means and caused to interfere by the interference means [0167-0168].
Kim et al and Nazarathy et al do not disclose couple the pump signal propagating in a first direction into or to the optically non- linear element
Hilliger discloses (Fig. 5) couple the pump signal propagating in a first direction into or to the optically non- linear element (page 10 lines 29-31 to column 11, lines 1-6);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim et al and Nazarathy et al to include Hilliger’s couple the pump signal propagating in a first direction into or to the optically non- linear element (page 10 lines 29-31 to column 11, lines 1-6) motivated by the desire to reduce additional optical separation components.
Regarding Claim 20,
In addition to Kim et al, Nazarathy et al and Hilliger, Hilliger discloses the first logic input signal propagating in a second direction opposite to the first direction is coupling into or to the first additional optically non-linear element; and the second logic input signal propagating in a second direction opposite to the first direction is coupling into or to the second additional optically non-linear element (Fig. 5, claims 7-8).
Claim(s) 14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 20040085828) and of Nazarathy et al (US 20100097677) in view of Lu et al (US 20140023321 A1)
Regarding Claim 14,
Kim et al and Nazarathy et al and Lu et al discloses everything as disclosed above.
Kim et al and Nazarathy et al and Lu et al do not disclose wherein the graphene layer and the at least one waveguide are integrated in a CMOS-based layer structure and arranged over each other such that an electromagnetic coupling is ensured between the graphene layer and the at least one waveguide.
Lu et al discloses wherein the graphene layer and the at least one waveguide are integrated in a CMOS-based layer structure and arranged over each other such that an electromagnetic coupling is ensured between the graphene layer and the at least one waveguide [0087-0091].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim et al, Nazarathy et al and Lu et al’s the graphene layer and the at least one waveguide are integrated in a CMOS-based layer structure and arranged over each other such that an electromagnetic coupling is ensured between the graphene layer and the at least one waveguide motivated by the desire to enable fabrication and integration with CMOS photonic circuitry while providing evanescent coupling between the guided light and the graphene layer [0138-0145].
Claim(s) 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 20040085828) and of Nazarathy et al (US 20100097677) in view of Guo (US 20220180175)
Regarding Claim 18,
Kim et al and Nazarathy et al and Lu et al discloses everything as disclosed above.
Kim et al and Nazarathy et al and Lu et al do not disclose wherein the phase of the first optical signal corresponds to the phase of the first additional pump signal; and wherein the phase of the second optical signal corresponds to the phase of the second additional pump signal.
Guo discloses wherein the phase of the first optical signal corresponds to the phase of the first additional pump signal; and wherein the phase of the second optical signal corresponds to the phase of the second additional pump signal [0114-0115].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim et al, Nazarathy et al to include Guo’s phase of the first optical signal corresponds to the phase of the first additional pump signal; and wherein the phase of the second optical signal corresponds to the phase of the second additional pump signal [0114-0115] motivated by the desire to maintain a predictable phase relationship between the branch outputs before the downstream phase shifter and interference stage.
Conclusion
/LUCY P CHIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871