Status of Application
Claim(s) 1-20 were previously pending and were rejected in the previous office action. Claim(s) 1,8, and 15 were amended. Claim(s) 2-6, 9-13, and 16-20 were left as previously/originally presented. Claim(s) 7 and 14 were cancelled. Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13, and 15-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Claim Interpretation
Applicant's arguments, see page 8 of Applicant’s Response, filed June 29, 2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C 112(f) have been fully considered and are persuasive for the terms “system for,” “receiving component,” “creating component,” “filtering component,” “providing component,” “second filtering component,” “forming component,” and “limiting component.”
However, applicant's arguments, see page 8 of Applicant’s Response, filed June 29, 2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C 112(f) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant first argues, on page 8, that Prong A of the three-prong analysis, in MPEP 2181, for interpreting 112(f) limitations is not met. Examiner, respectfully, disagrees with applicant’s arguments. Examiner, notes, that Prong A is met because the claim recites “system,” “receiving component,” “creating component,” “filtering component,” “providing component,” “second filtering component,” “forming component,” and “limiting component,” which is a generic placeholder for “means.” One of ordinary skill in the art would not recognize the term “system,” and “component,” in this limitation as sufficiently definite meaning of structure and the phrase “a system,” and “a component,” are simply a recitation of the function. No specific definition of the term “system for,” “receiving component,” “creating component,” “filtering component,” “providing component,” “second filtering component,” “forming component,” and “limiting component,” is provided or recognized in the art.
Applicant also argues, on page 7, that Prong B of the three-prong analysis, in MPEP 2181, for interpreting 112(f) limitations is not met. Examiner, respectfully, disagrees with applicant’s argument. Examiner, notes, that Prong B is met because the generic placeholder system for,” “receiving component,” “creating component,” “filtering component,” “providing component,” “second filtering component,” “forming component,” and “limiting component,” are modified by functional language. Examiner, notes, that although the claim limitation will use the linking word “for,” to associate “means,” or a generic placeholder with the function it is possible to have other linking words such as “so that,” and “configured to.” (See, MPEP 2181 (I)(B)). Here, applicant’s limitation is modified by “for.”
Applicant also argues, on page 8, that Prong C of the three-prong analysis, in MPEP 2181, for interpreting 112(f) limitations is not met. Examiner, respectfully, disagrees with applicant’s argument. Examiner, notes, that Prong C is met because the claim, which, recites system for,” “receiving component,” “creating component,” “filtering component,” “providing component,” “second filtering component,” “forming component,” and “limiting component,” is not further modified by sufficient structure or material for performing the claimed function. Therefore, as the limitation(s) are written applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Applicant’s arguments, see page(s) 8-9 Applicant’s Response, filed June 29, 2026, with respect to 35 USC § 101 rejection of Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13, and 15-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, Applicant argues, on page 8, that the amended Independent
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 15, do not fall within the revised Step 2A Prong 1 framework under the grouping of “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity.” Examiner, respectfully, disagrees.
As an initial matter, Courts have provided various sub groupings within organizing human activity grouping encompass both activity of a single person (for example, a person following a set of instructions or a person signing a contract online) and activity that involves multiple people (such as a commercial interaction), and thus, certain activity between a person and a computer (for example a method of anonymous loan shopping that a person conducts using a mobile phone) may fall within the "certain methods of organizing human activity" grouping. It is also noted that the number of people involved in the activity is not dispositive as to whether a claim limitation falls within this grouping. Instead, the determination should be based on whether the activity itself falls within one of the sub-groupings, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II).
Examiner, respectfully, notes that the specific limitation(s) that fall within the subject matter groupings of the abstract idea. Independent Claim(s) 1, 8, and 15, recites “receiving a plurality of locations as selected by a user,” “creating an initial data set, that have submitted ad-tech data for the plurality of locations, wherein the ad-tech data comprises geographic location, being identified within the ad-tech data by anonymized advertising identifiers and without subscriber identity information,” “filtering the initial data set to identify a set of key-devices that have visited a plurality of plurality of location selected by the user,” “plotting the ad-tech data pertaining to the set of key-devices on a geohash map,” “identifying, from the geohash map, one or more common unknown key-locations comprising geographic locations, other than the plurality of locations selected by the user, at which at least two of the key-devices came within a predetermined proximity of one another,” and “providing, to the user, the ad-tech data pertaining to the set of key-devices and the one or more common unknown key-locations,” function(s)/step(s) are merely certain methods of organizing human activity: managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (e.g., social activities and/or following rules or instructions) and/or fundamental economic principles/practices (e.g., hedging and/or mitigating risk) and/or commercial or legal interactions (e.g., business relations and/or sales activities and/or advertising).
Similar to, Credit Acceptance Corp v, Westlake Services, where the court found that that processing a credit application between a customer and dealer, where the business relation is the relationship between the customer and the dealer during the vehicle purchase was merely a commercial transaction, which, is a form of certain methods of organizing human activity. In this case, the claim(s) are similar to a business
relationship between an entity and user(s), which, the entity receives location
information of a user, which the entity can map the location information. The entity can then provide the location information to a user. Thus, the entity is merely determining whether a group of people have common travel patterns or meeting places, which, the claims are directed to the abstract idea of a business relation such as determining, mapping, and presenting location information. Therefore, applicant’s claims fall within at least the enumerated grouping of certain methods of organizing human activity.
Second, Applicant argues, on page 8, that the Independent Claim(s) 1, 8, and 15, do not fall within the revised Step 2A Prong 1 framework under the grouping of “Mental Processes.” Examiner, respectfully, disagrees.
As an initial matter, the courts do not distinguish between mental processes that are performed by humans and claims that recite mental processes performed on a computer, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III). As the Federal Circuit has explained, "[c]ourts have examined claims that required the use of a computer and still found that the underlying, patent-ineligible invention could be performed via pen and paper or in a person’s mind." Versata Dev. Group v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1335, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1702 (Fed. Cir. 2015).
Similar to, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., when the court provided that a claim to "collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis," where the data analysis steps, which, were recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind. Also, see University of Florida Research Foundation, Inc. v. General Electric Co., (See, MPEP2106.04(a)(2)(III)(B)), the court found that the claimed analysis and manipulation of data as being performed mentally “using pen and paper methodologies.” The court also stated that data from bedside machines was previously collected, analyzed, manipulated, and displayed manually, and it simply proposes doing so with a computer, which the court(s) have previously held such claims to be directed to an abstract idea(s). See, e.g., Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Fin. Corp., 850 F.3d 1332 1340(Fed. Cir. 2017) (holding abstract claims "directed to ... collecting, displaying, an manipulating data").
Here, applicant’s claim limitations are recited at a high level of generality that can be performed in the human mind when the limitations recite receiving a plurality of locations (i.e., collecting). The system can create an initial data set for the plurality of locations (i.e., analyzing). The system will filter the initial data set to identify a set of key-devices of the plurality of locations (i.e., analyzing). The system can plot the ad tech data pertaining to the set of devices on a map (i.e., analyzing/manipulating). The system will then identify the one or more common unknown key-locations (e.g., analyzing). The system can then provide the ad-teach data to the user (i.e., displaying). Thus, collecting location data, analyzing that data, and then displaying the data are merely related to a mental processes. Therefore, the claim(s) recite at least an abstract idea of mental processes. However, even assuming arguendo, that applicant has some merit that the claims cannot be performed mentally. The claims would still fall under certain methods of organizing human activity, see the above analysis.
Third, Applicant argues, on page(s) 11-13, that the invention provides that the application is now integrated into a practical application thus sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Examiner, respectfully, disagrees with applicant’s arguments.
As an initial matter, it is important to note that first the specification should be evaluated to determine if the disclosure provides sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. The specification need not explicitly set forth the improvement, but it must describe the invention such that the improvement would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. Conversely, if the specification explicitly sets forth an improvement but in a conclusory manner (i.e., a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art), the examiner should not determine the claim improves technology. Second, if the specification sets forth an improvement in technology, the claim must be evaluated to ensure that the claim itself reflects the disclosed improvement. That is, the claim includes the components or steps of the invention that provide the improvement described in the specification. The claim itself does not need to explicitly recite the improvement described in the specification (e.g., "thereby increasing the bandwidth of the channel"), see MPEP 2106.04(d)(1). An important consideration in determining whether a claim improves technology is the extent to which the claim covers a particular solution to a problem or a particular way to achieve a desired outcome, as opposed to merely claiming the idea of a solution or outcome. McRO, 837 F.3d at 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d at 1102-03; DDR Holdings, 773 F.3d at 1259, 113 USPQ2d at 1107. In this respect, the improvement consideration overlaps with other considerations, specifically the particular machine consideration (see MPEP § 2106.05(b)), and the mere instructions to apply an exception consideration (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). Thus, evaluation of those other considerations may assist examiners in making a determination of whether a claim satisfies the improvement consideration.
Here, in this case the specification discloses a solution to conveniently investigate criminal activity, see applicant’s specification paragraph 0002. This is at best an improvement to the abstract idea itself rather than a technological improvement.
First, the step(s) of accomplishing this desired improvement in the specification is made in blanket conclusory manner by merely stating investigating or uncovering alleged illegal activities by utilizing information received from the multitude of mobile devices, see applicant’s specification paragraph 0031. Thus, when the specification states the improvement in a conclusory manner the examiner should not determine the claim improves technology.
Also, another important consideration in determining whether a claim improves technology is the extent to which the claim covers a particular solution to a problem or a particular way to achieve a desired outcome, as opposed to merely claiming the idea of a solution or outcome. McRO, 837 F.3d at 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d at 1102-03; DDR Holdings, 773 F.3d at 1259, 113 USPQ2d at 1107. In this respect, the improvement consideration overlaps with other considerations, specifically the particular machine consideration (see MPEP §2106.05(b)), and the mere instructions to apply an exception consideration (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). Thus, evaluation of those other considerations may assist examiners in making a determination of whether a claim satisfies the improvement consideration.
Similar to, Affinity Labs v. DirecTv., the court has held that the use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. Here, in this case applicant’s limitations merely receiving, creating, filtering, plotting, identifying, and providing, location information using computer components that operate in their ordinary capacity (e.g., non-transitory computer readable medium, processor, mobile devices, general-purpose computing device, software applications, system, receiving component, creating component, filtering component, and providing component), which are no more than using instructions to implement the abstract idea using generic computer components wherein the focus of the claim as a whole is directed to a result or effect that itself is the abstract idea thus merely amounting to “applying,” the judicial exception.
Also, similar to, TLI Communications, where the court found that there
was no improvement upon computers or technology when mere gathering and
analyzing information using conventional techniques and displaying the result. In
this case, location information is received (e.g., gathering). The system creates an initial data set from a plurality of locations (e.g., analyzing). The system will then filter the initial data set to identify a plurality of locations (e.g., analyzing). The system will then plot the location data on a map and identify one or more common unknown locations (e.g., analyzing). The system will then provide the ad-tech data to the user (e.g., displaying) thus merely gathering location data, filtering and mapping that data, and then presenting the locations to users are not sufficient to show an improvement in computers or technology of determining and displaying ad-tech location information.
Also, see the recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it". See Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1356, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1743-44 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Intellectual Ventures I v. Symantec, 838 F.3d 1307, 1327, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1366 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Internet Patents Corp. v. Active Network, Inc., 790 F.3d 1343, 1348, 115 USPQ2d 1414, 1417 (Fed. Cir. 2015). In this case, applicant hasn’t provided any technical details, in the claim(s) or specification, of how the mobile device ad-tech location data is determined nor how the ad-tech location is being plotted other than using generic computer components, which at best amounts to “Apply it.” Also, see NantWorks LLC v. Niantic, Inc. (2026), courts held that claims directed to "providing information based on a location on a map" are abstract. Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13, and 15-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“system for providing…,” in Claim 15.
“a receiving component for receiving…,” in Claim(s) 15 and 18-19
“a creating component for creating…,” in Claim 15
“a filtering component for filtering…,” in Claim 15
“a plotting component ,” in Claim 15
“an identifying component,” in Claim 15
“a providing component for providing…,” in Claim(s) 15 and 18-19
“a second filtering component for second filtering…,” in Claim 17
“a forming component for forming a pattern…,” in Claim(s) 18-19
“a limiting component for limiting…,” in Claim 20
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 2A Prong 1: Independent Claim(s) 1, 8, and 15 recites an entity that receives location information, which the entity can determine locations users have visited. The entity can map those locations and then provide the location information to a user. Independent Claim(s) 1, 8, and 15 as a whole recite limitation(s) that are directed to an abstract idea(s) of certain methods of organizing human activity: managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (e.g., social activities and/or following rules or instructions) and/or fundamental economic principles/practices (e.g., hedging and/or mitigating risk) and/or commercial or legal interactions (e.g., business relations and/or sales activities and/or advertising) and/or mental processes (e.g., observation, evaluation, and/or judgment).
Independent Claim(s) 1, 8, and 15, limitations of “receiving a plurality of locations as selected by a user,” “creating an initial data set, that have submitted ad-tech data for the plurality of locations, wherein the ad-tech data comprises geographic location, being identified within the ad-tech data by anonymized advertising identifiers and without subscriber identity information,” “filtering the initial data set to identify a set of key-devices that have visited a plurality of plurality of location selected by the user,” “plotting the ad-tech data pertaining to the set of key-devices on a geohash map,” “identifying, from the geohash map, one or more common unknown key-locations comprising geographic locations, other than the plurality of locations selected by the user, at which at least two of the key-devices came within a predetermined proximity of one another,” and “providing, to the user, the ad-tech data pertaining to the set of key-devices and the one or more common unknown key-locations,” function(s)/step(s) are merely certain methods of organizing human activity: managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (e.g., social activities and/or following rules or instructions) and/or fundamental economic principles/practices (e.g., hedging and/or mitigating risk) and/or commercial or legal interactions (e.g., business relations and/or sales activities and/or advertising) and/or mental processes (e.g., observation, evaluation, and/or judgment. Furthermore, as explained in the MPEP and the October 2019 update, where a series of step(s) recite judicial exceptions, examiners should combine all recited judicial exceptions and treat the claim as containing a single judicial exception for purposes of further eligibility analysis. (See, MPEP 2106.04, 2016.05(II) and October 2019 Update at Section I. B.). For instance, in this case, Independent Claim(s) 1, 8, and 15, are similar to an entity receiving mobile location data, which is used to analyze, filter, and provide possible criminal activity to the entity. The mere recitation of generic computer components (Claim 1: a non-transitory computer readable medium, processor, software applications, and mobile devices; Claim 8: mobile devices; and Claim 15: a general-purpose computing device, software applications, a system, software applications, a receiving component, a creating component, mobile devices, a filtering component, and a providing component) do not take the claims out of the enumerated group of certain methods of organizing human activity and mental processes. Therefore, Independent Claim(s) 1, 8, and 15, recites the above abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims as a whole describes how to generally “apply,” the concept(s) of “receiving,” “creating,” “filtering,” “plotting,” “identifying,” and “providing,” respectively, information in a computer environment. The limitations that amount to “apply it,” are as follows (Claim 1: a non-transitory computer readable medium, processor, software applications, and mobile devices; Claim 8: mobile devices; and Claim 15: a general-purpose computing device, software applications, a system, software applications, a receiving component, a creating component, mobile devices, a filtering component, and a providing component). Examiner, notes that the non-transitory computer readable medium, processor, mobile devices, general-purpose computing device, software applications, system, receiving component, creating component, filtering component, and providing component, respectively, are recited so generically that they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer.
Similar to, Affinity Labs v. DirecTv, the court has held that task to receive, store, or transmit data are additional elements that amount to no more than “applying,” the judicial exception, see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Here, the additional elements are merely receiving, creating, filtering, plotting, identifying, and providing, ad information which is no more than “applying,” the judicial exception. Also, see a method of using advertising as an exchange or currency being applied or implemented on the Internet, Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, 772 F.3d 709, 715, 112 USPQ2d 1750, 1754 (Fed. Cir. 2014).
Furthermore, see the recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it". See Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1356, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1743-44 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Intellectual Ventures I v. Symantec, 838 F.3d 1307, 1327, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1366 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Internet Patents Corp. v. Active Network, Inc., 790 F.3d 1343, 1348, 115 USPQ2d 1414, 1417 (Fed. Cir. 2015). Each of the above limitations simply implement an abstract idea that is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component, which, is not practical application(s) of the abstract idea. Therefore, when viewed in combination these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claims are directed to the above abstract idea(s).
Step 2B: The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, as noted previously, the claims as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply,” the abstract idea in a computer environment. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claims adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claims are ineligible.
Claim(s) 2-6, 9-13, and 16-20: The various metrics of Dependent Claim(s) 2-6, 9-13, and 16-20 merely narrows the previously recited abstract idea limitations. For the reasons described above with respect to Independent Claim 1, 8, and 15, these judicial exceptions are not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, or significantly more than an abstract idea.
The dependent claim(s) 2-6, 9-13, and 16-20, above do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) in the dependent claim(s) above are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer component(s), which, do not provide an inventive concept. Therefore, Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13, and 15-20 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8-9, 11-13, 15-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartzell et al. (US 2020/0019994 A1) in view of Gordon et al. (US 2014/0045530 A1) and Semnani et al. (US 2020/0400458 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Hartzell et al., teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by a processor, result in the processor performing the following steps: (Paragraph(s) 0020 and 0042)(Hartzell et al. teaches a machine readable medium that stores instructions used to program a computer and processors)
receiving a plurality of locations as selected by a user. (Paragraph(s) 0036, 0161, and 0242-0243)(Hartzell et al. teaches the system can receive/collect user mobile device location information. Hartzell et al., further, teaches a user can provide via an interface a location or set of locations that can be used to query devices that have been within a location. The system will then identify all devices that have been at these locations, see paragraph(s) 0242-0243. Hartzell et al., also, teaches using the application for public safety, see paragraph 0036)
creating an initial data set from mobile devices that have submitted ad-tech data for the plurality of locations. (Paragraph(s) 0049, 0054, and 0243)(Hartzell et al. teaches the system can build a list of devices that have visited a requested location. The report can be for users that have visited the location and/or near the location. Hartzell et al., further, teaches the location data can come from mobile applications and location data such as latitude and longitude or address information (e.g., ad-tech data), see paragraph(s) 0049 and 0054)
wherein the ad-tech data comprises geographic location data generated by one or more software applications executing on the mobile devices. (Paragraph(s) 0049 and 0054)(Hartzell et al. teaches the location data can come from mobile applications and location data such as latitude and longitude or address information (e.g., ad-tech data), see paragraph(s) 0049 and 0054)
the mobile devices being identified within the ad-tch data by anonymized advertising identifiers and without subscriber identity information. (Paragraph(s) 0008, 0016, and 0055)(Hartzell et al. teaches that the system does not require any subscriber data (e.g., anonymized). Hartzell et al., further, teaches that the system anonymizes the data to provide enhanced security for the gathered and linked data and ensure that PII information is not disclosed. Hartzell et al., also, teaches identification of the mobile devices can be used with any type of unique mobile device identifier such as UDID, Wi - Fi MAC Address, Bluetooth ID, browser cookies, or any other persistent or semi-persistent identifier. A semi-persistent identifier is one that exists for some period of time before it is changed, which could be a day, week, month, or more (e.g., anonymized))
.
plotting the ad-tech data pertaining to the set of key-devices on a geohash map. (Paragraph 0163)(Hartzell et al. teaches the system can calculate a locational hash (i.e., an S2 geometry hash)(e.g., geohash map) at a coarse level and a fine level. The map includes a fine and coarse levels 12 and 20. Level 12 buckets are approximately 2 kilometers per side, while level 20 buckets are roughly 10 meters per side. The specific levels are a parameter and can be changed)
providing, to the user, the ad-tech data pertaining to the set of key-devices
With respect to the above limitations: while Hartzell et al. teaches receiving location data of mobile user devices, which a user selected a geographic location. Hartzell et al., also, teaches a data set can be created, which the location information is created based on location and mobile application information. The system can anonymize the data for the mobile devices location. The system can plot the data in using a geometry hash, which a user will be provided with mobile device id information. However, Hartzell et al., doesn’t explicitly teach filtering the data and identifying one or more common unknown key locations which will be provided to the user.
But, Gordon et al. in the analogous art of determining wireless terminal locations, teaches filtering the initial data set to identify a set of key-devices that have visited a plurality of the plurality of locations selected by the user. (Paragraph(s) 119, 0121, 0128-0131, 0179, 0188, and 0191)(Gordon et al. teaches the geo-temporal analysis system will receive a plurality or data and a pre-defined geo-temporal pattern. The temporal pattern is generated from analyzing a plurality of records for each candidate gathered over a period of time. The temporal patterns can include a set of locations visited by the wireless terminal over a given period of time and/or the set of locations where the wireless terminal spends more than a certain amount of time. The system can then filter/remove out the records)
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of receiving location information and mapping the location information onto a geohash to determine mobile device locations of Hartzell et al., by incorporating the teachings of filtering pre-defined location data, which the system can use the pre-defined information to collect mobile devices location information based on visits within an area of Gordon et al., with the motivation to reduce the number or potential targets in an criminal investigation. (Gordon et al.: Paragraph 0021)
With respect to the above limitations: while Gordon et al. teaches filtering the data. However, Hartzell et al. and Gordon et al., do not explicitly teach identifying one or more common unknown key locations which will be provided to the user.
But, Semnani in the analogous art of geohashing mobile device locations, teaches
identifying, from the geohash map, one or more common unknown key-locations comprising geographic locations, other than the plurality of locations selected by the user, at which at least two of the key-devices came within a predetermined proximity of one another. (Paragraph(s) 0073-0077)(Semnani et al. teaches a graphical representation of a geohash mapping area. The system can map location points of the user, which the system can determine that no mobile location points are present in certain grid sections (e.g., unknown locations). The system can then start to map the locations of the users once they are within a tracking radius of the location such fifty meters and/or a tracking area (e.g., proximity of one another))
providing, to the user, the ad-tech data pertaining to the set of key-devices and one or more common unknown key-locations. (Paragraph(s) 0074-0077)(Semnani et al. teaches displaying a graphical geohash representation of the location points that are mapped on the gird section, which includes location points of the mobile devices and gird sections that have no location points (e.g., unknown locations))
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of receiving location information and mapping the location information onto a geohash to determine mobile device locations of Hartzell et al., and filtering pre-defined location data, which the system can use the pre-defined information to collect mobile devices location information based on visits within an area of Gordon et al., by incorporating the teachings of using a geohash to determine unknown locations of mobile locations and proximities of the users. The system will provide the unknown geohash data to the user of Semnani et al., with the motivation to improve accuracy. (Semnani et al.: Paragraph 0063)
Regarding Claim 2, Hartzell et al./Gordon et al./Semnani, teaches all the limitations as applied to Claim 1.
However, Hartzell et al., doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the processor further performs the step of: receiving a time frame from the user prior to the step of creating.
But, Gordon et al. in the analogous art of determining wireless terminal locations, wherein the processor further performs the step of: receiving a time frame from the user prior to the step of creating. (Paragraph(s) 0044, 0118-0119, and 0187-0189)(Gordon et al. teaches that the geo-temporal pattern information can be received days, weeks, and/or months (e.g., time frame). The system can collect the user data based on the wireless terminal at a certain point in time such as noon and/or every weekday. The system will then filter the records and build a set of records that satisfy at least one of the applied geo-temporal attributes)
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of receiving location information and mapping the location information onto a geohash to determine mobile device locations of Hartzell et al., by incorporating the teachings of filtering pre-defined location data, which the system can use the pre-defined temporal pattern to collect information days, weeks, and/or months. The system can then build records that satisfy the applied geo-temporal attributes of Gordon et al., with the motivation to reduce the number or potential targets in an criminal investigation. (Gordon et al.: Paragraph 0021)
Regarding Claim 4, Hartzell et al./Gordon et al./Semnani, teaches all the limitations as applied to Claim 1.
However, Hartzell et al., doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the processor further performs the steps of:
receiving an interest key device from a user selected from the set of key devices.
forming a pattern of life for the interest key-device.
providing the pattern of life to the user.
But, Gordon et al. in the analogous art of determining wireless terminal locations, teaches wherein the processor further performs the steps of:
receiving an interest key-device from a user selected from the set of key devices. (Paragraph(s) 0142-0145 and 0179)(Gordon et al. teaches an investigator can have intelligence that suggest of known terrorist that meet with a close collaborator every day. The geo-temporal analysis logic can be used to measure how each candidate’s geo-temporal pattern matches with the geo-temporal pattern of each of the other candidate patterns. Gordon et al., further, teaches that the system can receive location information)
forming a pattern of life for the interest key-device. (Paragraph(s) 0146-0148, and 0150-0151)(Gordon et al. teaches the system can measure preciseness, geo-temporal analysis to infer a collaborative relationship between a first user of a first candidate wireless terminal and another user and generate a corresponding indication of the inference. The system can infer that more than two users have mutually collaborative relationships or that a user has a first collaborative relationship with a first person and a second collaborative relationship with a second person. The system can also receive location information from both users to determine if the pattern location information matches the pre-defined geo-temporal pattern. The geo-temporal patten analysis is rooted in the users location and movement over time)
providing the pattern of life to the user. (Paragraph 0152)(teaches that the system can display the preciseness measurements and the outcome relationship between the individuals. The system will display the information to an external surveillance system operated by law enforcement authorities)
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of receiving location information and mapping the location information onto a geohash to determine mobile device locations of Hartzell et al., by incorporating the teachings of determining a first and second persons location patterns. The system can determine the preciseness of the information and then provide the information to a law enforcement agent of Gordon et al., with the motivation to reduce the number or potential targets in an criminal investigation. (Gordon et al.: Paragraph 0021)
Regarding Claim 5, Hartzell et al./Gordon et al./Semnani, teaches all the limitations as applied to Claim 1.
However, Hartzell et al., doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the processor further performs the steps of:
receiving a plurality of interest key-devices from a user selected from the set of key devices.
forming a cooperative pattern of life for the plurality interest key-devices to determine the interaction therebetween.
providing the cooperative pattern of life to the user.
But, Gordon et al. in the analogous art of determining wireless terminal locations, teaches wherein the processor further performs the steps of:
receiving a plurality of interest key-devices from a user selected from the set of key devices. (Paragraph(s) 0142-0145 and 0179)(Gordon et al. teaches an investigator can have intelligence that suggest of known terrorist meet with a close collaborator every day. The geo-temporal analysis logic can be used to measure how each candidate’s geo-temporal pattern matches with the geo-temporal pattern of each of the other candidate patterns)
forming a cooperative pattern of life for the plurality interest key-devices to determine the interaction therebetween. (Paragraph(s) 0146-0148 and 0150-0151)(Gordon et al. teaches the system can measure preciseness, geo-temporal analysis to infer a collaborative relationship between a first user of a first candidate wireless terminal and another user and generate a corresponding indication of the inference. The system can infer that more than two users have mutually collaborative relationships or that a user has a first collaborative relationship with a first person and a second collaborative relationship with a second person. The system can also receive location information from both users to determine if the pattern location information matches the pre-defined geo-temporal pattern. The geo-temporal patten analysis is rooted in the users location and movement over time)
providing the cooperative pattern of life to the user. (Paragraph 0152)(teaches that the system can display the preciseness measurements and the outcome relationship between the individuals. The system will display the information to an external surveillance system operated by law enforcement authorities)
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of receiving location information and mapping the location information onto a geohash to determine mobile device locations of Hartzell et al., by incorporating the teachings of determining a first and second persons location patterns. The system can determine the preciseness of the information and then provide the information to a law enforcement agent of Gordon et al., with the motivation to reduce the number or potential targets in an criminal investigation. (Gordon et al.: Paragraph 0021)
Regarding Claim 6, Hartzell et al./Gordon et al./Semnani, teaches all the limitations as applied to Claim 1.
However, Hartzell et al., doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the processor further performs the step of: limiting the plurality of locations to no more than ten locations.
But, Gordon et al. in the analogous art of determining wireless terminal locations, teaches wherein the processor further performs the step of: limiting the plurality of locations to no more than ten locations. (Paragraph(s) 0179-0180)(Gordon et al. teaches an investigator can define a geo-temporal attribute of the pre-defined geo-temporal pattern such as a person that regularly visits a given location and makes calls to certain countries of interest. The investigator can define the geo-temporal attribute to include a location and a period of time, such as location H (i.e., one location)(e.g., locations no more than ten locations) from 9:30 to 10:30 am on Jul. 11, 2012. Examiner, respectfully, notes per MPEP 2144.05(I), the claimed periodic range (i.e., no more than ten locations) are obvious because the claimed ranges are overlapped and/or lie inside the ranges disclosed in the above prior art (i.e., location H, (e.g., one location)) thus they are similar/overlapping)
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of receiving location information and mapping the location information onto a geohash to determine mobile device locations of Hartzell et al., by incorporating the teachings of an investigator define at least one location to investigate of Gordon et al., with the motivation to reduce the number or potential targets in an criminal investigation. (Gordon et al.: Paragraph 0021)
Regarding Claim 8, Hartzell et al./Gordon et al./Semnani, teaches a computer implemented method comprising the steps of:
receiving a plurality of locations as selected by a user. (See, relevant rejection of Claim 1(a))
creating an initial data set from mobile devices that have submitted ad-tech data for the plurality of locations. (See, relevant rejection of Claim 1(b))
wherein the ad-tech data comprises geographic location data generated by one or more software applications executing on the mobile devices. (See, relevant rejection of Claim 1(c))
the mobile devices being identified within the ad-tech data by anonymized advertising identifiers and without subscriber identity information. (See, relevant rejection of Claim 1(d))
filtering the initial data set to identify a set of key-devices that have visited a plurality of the plurality of locations selected by the user. (See, relevant rejection of Claim 1(e))
plotting the ad-tech data pertaining to the set of key-devices on a geohash map. (See, relevant rejection of Claim 1(f))
Identifying, from the geohash map, one or more common unknown key-locations comprising geographic locations, other than the plurality of locations selected by the user, at which at least two of the key-devices came within a predetermined proximity of one another. (See, relevant rejection of Claim 1(g))
Providing, to the user, the ad-tech data pertaining to the set of key-devices and the one or more common unknown key-locations. (See, relevant rejection of Claim 1(h))
Regarding Claim 9, Hartzell et al./Gordon et al./Semnani, teaches all the limitations as applied to Claim 8 and receiving a time frame from the user prior to the step of creating. (See, relevant rejection(s) of Claim(s) 2 and 8)
Regarding Claim 11, Hartzell et al./Gordon et al./Semnani, teaches all the limitations as applied to Claim 8 and
receiving an interest key device from a user selected from the set of key devices. (See, relevant rejection(s) of Claim(s) 4(a) and 8)
forming a pattern of life for the interest key-device. (See, relevant rejection(s) of Claim(s) 4(b) and 8)
providing the pattern of life to the user. See, relevant rejection(s) of Claim(s) 4(c) and 8)
Regarding Claim 12, Hartzell et al./Gordon et al./Semnani, teaches all the limitations as applied to Claim 8 and
receiving a plurality of interest key-devices from a user selected from the set of key devices. (See, relevant rejection(s) of Claim(s) 5(a) and 8)
forming a cooperative pattern of life for the plurality interest key-devices to determine the interaction therebetween. (See, relevant rejection(s) of Claim(s) 5(b) and 8)
providing the cooperative pattern of life to the user. (See, relevant rejection(s) of Claim(s) 5(a) and 8)
Regarding Claim 13, Hartzell et al./Gordon et al./Semnani, teaches all the limitations as applied to Claim 8 and limiting the plurality of locations to no more than ten locations. (See, relevant rejection(s) of Claim(s) 6 and 8)
Regarding Claim 15, Hartzell et al./Gordon et al./Semnani, teaches a system comprising:
a general-purpose computing device associated with a user.
a system for providing information to the user including:
a receiving component for receiving a plurality of locations Claim 1(a))
a creating component for creating an initial data set from mobile devices that have submitted ad-tech data for the plurality of locations. (See, relevant rejection of Claim 1(b))
wherein the ad-tech data comprises geographic location data generated by one or more software applications executing on the mobile devices. (See, relevant rejection of Claim 1(c))
the mobile devices being identified within the ad-tech data by anonymized advertising identifiers and without subscriber identity information. (See, relevant rejection of Claim 1(d))
a filtering component filtering the initial data set to identify a set of key-devices that have visited a plurality of the plurality of locations selected by the user. (See, relevant rejection of Claim 1(e))
a plotting component the ad-tech data pertaining to the set of key-devices on a geohash map. See, relevant rejection of Claim 1(f))
an identifying component that can identify from the geohash map, one or more common unknown key-locations comprising geographic locations, other than the plurality of locations selected by the user, at which at least two of the key-devices came within a predetermined proximity of one another. See, relevant rejection of Claim 1(g))
a providing component providing, to the user, the ad-tech data pertaining to the set of key-devices and the one or more common unknown key-locations. (See, relevant rejection of Claim 1(d))
Regarding Claim 16, Hartzell et al./Gordon et al./Semnani, teaches all the limitations as applied to Claim 15 and a receiving component receiving a time frame from the user prior to the step of creating. (See, relevant rejection(s) of Claim(s) 2 and 8)
Regarding Claim 18, Hartzell et al./Gordon et al./Semnani, teaches all the limitations as applied to Claim 15 and
a receiving component receiving an interest key device from a user selected from the set of key devices. (See, relevant rejection(s) of Claim(s) 4(a) and 8)
a forming component forming a pattern of life for the interest key-device. See, relevant rejection(s) of Claim(s) 4(b) and 8)
a providing component providing the pattern of life to the user. (See, relevant rejection(s) of Claim(s) 4(c) and 8)
Regarding Claim 19, Hartzell et al./Gordon et al./Semnani, teaches all the limitations as applied to Claim 8 and
a receiving component receiving a plurality of interest key-devices from a user selected from the set of key devices. See, relevant rejection(s) of Claim(s) 5(a) and 8)
a forming component forming a cooperative pattern of life for the plurality interest key-devices to determine the interaction therebetween. (See, relevant rejection(s) of Claim(s) 5(b) and 8)
a providing component providing the cooperative pattern of life to the user. (See, relevant rejection(s) of Claim(s) 5(c) and 8)
Regarding Claim 20, Hartzell et al./Gordon et al./Semnani, teaches all the limitations as applied to Claim 8 and a limiting component limiting the plurality of locations to no more than ten locations. (See, relevant rejection of Claim 6 and 8)
Claim(s) 3, 10, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartzell et al. (US 2020/0019994 A1) in view of Gordon et al. (US 2014/0045530 A1) and Semnani et al. (US 2020/0400458 A1) and further in view of Khann et al. (US 2015/0006279 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Hartzell et al./Gordon et al./Semnani, teaches all the limitations as applied to Claim 1.
However, Hartzell et al./Gordon et al./Semnani, do not explicitly teach wherein the processor further performs the step of: second filtering out coincidental or false positive/negative data prior to the step of providing.
But, Khann et al. in the analogous art of filtering out clusters, teaches wherein the processor further performs the step of: second filtering out coincidental or false positive/negative data prior to the step of providing. (Paragraph(s) 0029-0031)(Khann et al. teaches clustering locations of a user device into valid clusters and associating the locations of the user device with a commercial entity. The system can then filter out the cluster by proximity to relevant store locations. The clusters can be further filtered based on a cluster duration in order to filter out false positives such as user device passing a store location or remaining at a commercial entity location for an extended period of time)
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of receiving location information and mapping the location information onto a geohash to determine mobile device locations, which the system can filter certain information of Hartzell et al., filtering pre-defined location data, which the system can use the pre-defined temporal pattern to collect information days, weeks, and/or months. The system can then build records that satisfy the applied geo-temporal attributes of Gordon et al., and using a geohash to determine unknown locations of mobile locations and proximities of the users. The system will provide the unknown geohash data to the user of Semnani et al., by incorporating the teachings of filtering out false positives of user location data of Khann et al., with the motivation to improve the indication of user activity at a commercial entity. (Khann et al.: Paragraph 0002)
Regarding Claim 10, Hartzell et al./Gordon et al./Semnani/Khann et al., teaches all the limitations as applied to Claim 8 and second filtering out coincidental or false positive/negative data prior to the step of providing. (See, relevant rejection(s) of Claim(s) 3 and 8)
Regarding Claim 17, Hartzell et al./Gordon et al./Semanni/Khann et al., teaches all the limitations as applied to Claim 15 and a second filtering component for second filtering out coincidental or false positive/negative data prior to the step of providing. (See, relevant rejection(s) of Claim(s) 3 and 8)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.A.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3628
/MICHAEL P HARRINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628