DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 09/01/2026, in which claims 1-19 are pending and ready for examination.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 7, and 18-19 are currently amended.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims rejected under 35 USC 103 in Remarks filed on 09/01/2026 have been considered but are moot upon further consideration and a new ground of rejection made under 35 USC 103 based on Becker (US Pat. 11076085 B2) in view of Hollenbeck (US Pub. 20150085080 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 12-13, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker (US Pat. 11076085 B2) in view of Hollenbeck (US Pub. 20150085080 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Becker discloses, in a first embodiment, a control device applied to a moving object equipped with an imaging apparatus and a light source (Becker; Fig. 8, Col. 22, Ln. 6-40. A control system for a moving object including an imaging device and light source is used.),
in which the imaging apparatus images a first imaging target region and a second imaging target region of a subject according to a movement position of the moving object (Becker; Fig. 8, Col. 22, Ln. 6-40. A first imaging device is used to image a first imaging region and a second imaging region of a subject in accordance with movement position of a moving object.), and
a first region that is a part of the first imaging target region overlaps with a second region that is a part of the second imaging target region (Becker; Fig. 8, Col. 22, Ln. 6-40. A first region of a first imaging region overlaps with a second region of a second imaging region.), but the control device comprising a processor, wherein the processor is configured to perform control of causing the light source to irradiate the first imaging target region with light, and an intensity of the light with which the first region is irradiated is higher than an intensity of the light with which a periphery of the first region is irradiated.
However, Becker, in a second embodiment, teaches the control device comprising a processor, wherein the processor is configured to perform control of causing the light source to irradiate the first imaging target region with light (Becker; Col. 17, Ln. 10-27. An imaging device, i,e, a camera, see Col. 9, Ln. 13-26, includes a processor used to perform control of light source to illuminate a first imaging region with light.), and
an intensity of the light with which the first region is irradiated is higher than an intensity of the light with which a periphery of the first region is irradiated (Becker; Col. 17, Ln. 10-27. A first region of a first imaging region is illuminated with higher intensity than the intensity of a neighboring non-overlapping region of a second region receiving less or no illumination of narrow exposure window.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the moving imaging system of Becker in a first embodiment to adapt an imaging approach, by incorporating Becker’s teaching in a second embodiment wherein a illumination system is controlled to illuminate different regions of captured images, for the motivation to perform synchronization of multiple cameras (Becker; Abstract.).
But modified Beck does not specifically teach wherein the light source is disposed such that an optical axis of the light source passes through the first region, and the intensity of the light from the light source decreases as a distance from a light center increases.
However, Hollenbeck teaches wherein the light source is disposed such that an optical axis of the light source passes through the first region (Hollenbeck; Para. [0064-65]. A light source is disposed that its optical axis passes through a first region of overlapping FOVs of two cameras.), and the intensity of the light from the light source decreases as a distance from a light center increases (Hollenbeck; Para. [0031]. The intensity profile of a light source is a Gaussian such that the intensity decreases as a distance from the light center increases.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the moving imaging system of modified Becker to adapt an illumination approach, by incorporating Hollenbeck’s teaching wherein a illumination source is disposed to emit light through the overlapping image reigon, for the motivation to provide 3D imaging with illuminated light patterns (Hollenbeck; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 2, modified Becker teaches composite a first captured image obtained by imaging the first imaging target region and a second captured image obtained by imaging the second imaging target region to generate a composite image (Becker; Fig. 1B. Col. 4, Ln. 3-15. A first captured image by a first imaging region and a second captured image by a second imaging region is combined into a combined image, see Fig. 1B.); and
use, in a case where the composite image is generated, a pixel value of an image region corresponding to the second region in the second captured image as a pixel value of an overlap image region corresponding to the first region and the second region in the composite image (Becker; Fig. 1B. Col. 4, Ln. 3-15. For having a combined image, a pixel value of an image region for a second region in a second captured image is used as a pixel value of an overlap region corresponding to a first region and a second region of a combined image.).
Regarding claim 3, modified Becker teaches the control includes control of making an image of the light source fit in an image region corresponding to the first region in a first captured image obtained by imaging the first imaging target region (Becker; Col. 17, Ln. 10-41. An image associated with a light source corresponds to a first region of a first captured image by a first imaging region.).
Regarding claim 4, modified Becker teaches the imaging apparatus includes an image sensor having a light-receiving surface (Becker; Col. 17, Ln. 10-41. A camera includes an image sensor having light-receiving surface.), and the processor is configured to, in a case where the imaging apparatus images the first imaging target region, adjust an exposure amount of the light-receiving surface based on brightness of a third region other than the first region of the first imaging target region (Becker; Col. 17, Ln. 10-41. A processor is used to adjust exposure window of a sensor in accordance with detected reflected light being detected from area including a non-overlapping region.).
Regarding claim 5, modified Becker teaches the exposure amount is adjusted by changing an irradiation position and/or an intensity of the light (Becker; Col. 17, Ln. 10-41. An exposure is adjusted by changing intensity of illuminated light.).
Regarding claim 6, modified Becker teaches the exposure amount is adjusted by changing exposure to the light-receiving surface (Becker; Col. 17, Ln. 10-41. An exposure amount is adjusted by changing exposure to a sensor having a light-receiving surface.).
Regarding claim 12, modified Becker teaches the light source is disposed on a front side of the moving object in a movement direction with respect to the imaging apparatus (Becker; Fig. 8. Col 22, Ln. 7-40. Two illumination sources associated with two cameras, at least one of which is disposed on a front side of a moving object in a movement direction with respect to the cameras.), and
the first imaging target region and the second imaging target region are regions that are imaged in an order of the first imaging target region and the second imaging target region (Becker; Fig. 8. Col 22, Ln. 7-40. A first imaging region and a second imaging region are regions that are imaged in an order of a first imaging region and a second imaging region.).
Regarding claim 13, modified Becker teaches the light source is disposed on a rear side of the moving object in a movement direction with respect to the imaging apparatus (Becker; Fig. 8. Col 22, Ln. 7-40. Two illumination sources associated with two cameras, at least one of which is disposed on a rear side of a moving object in a movement direction with respect to the cameras.), and
the first imaging target region and the second imaging target region are regions that are imaged in an order of the second imaging target region and the first imaging target region (Becker; Fig. 8. Col 22, Ln. 7-40. A first imaging region and a second imaging region are regions that are imaged in an order of a second imaging region and a first imaging region.).
Regarding claim 15, modified Becker teaches light irradiation is performed along a normal direction of the first region (Becker; Fig. 8. Col 22, Ln. 7-40. An illumination is performed along a normal direction of a first region.).
Regarding claim 16, modified Becker teaches the control is control of causing the light source to be in a state of performing irradiation with the light in a case where the moving object is moved to a position where the imaging apparatus images the first imaging target region (Becker; Col. 17, Ln. 10-27. An illumination source is used to perform illumination for a moving object being moved to a position where an imaging camera is used to image a first imaging region.).
Regarding claim 17, modified Becker teaches the control is control of causing the light source to perform irradiation with the light in a case where the moving object is moved to a position where the imaging apparatus images the first imaging target region (Becker; Col. 17, Ln. 10-27. An illumination source is used to perform illumination for a moving object being moved to a position where an imaging camera is used to image a first imaging region.).
Claim 18 is directed to a control method applied to a moving object equipped with an imaging apparatus and a light source, the control method comprising a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claim 1, and is non-patentable over the prior art for the same reason as previously indicated.
Claim 19 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer, which is applied to a moving object equipped with an imaging apparatus and a light source, to execute a process comprising a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claim 1, and is non-patentable over the prior art for the same reason as previously indicated.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 7-11 are allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cho (US Pub. 20260009906 A1) teaches a camera system that uses multiple light receiving parts and illumination parts.
Suzuki (US Pub. 20220316867 A1) teaches a three-dimensional shape measuring system.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALBERT KIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485