DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: on line 5, after “shield,”, --a magnet-- should be inserted (note “the magnet” on line 6). Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,262,166 and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,382,210. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are claiming an earphone, comprising a core module, the core module including a core housing, a core, and a core bracket, wherein the core and the core bracket are disposed in the core housing (claims 1 and 7 in U.S. Patent No. 12,262,166, and claims 1, 10 and 20 in U.S. Patent No. 12,382,210), and the core comprises a magnetic conduction shield, the magnetic conduction shield including a bottom plate and an annular side plate integrally connected with the bottom plate, and the magnet being disposed in the annular side plate and fixed on the bottom plate, a magnetic conduction plate, the magnetic conduction plate being fixed on one side of the magnet that is away from the bottom plate; and a coil, the coil being disposed in a magnetic gap between the magnet and the annular side plate and fixed on the core bracket (claims 1 and 7 in U.S. Patent No. 12,262,166, and claims 1 and 10 in U.S. Patent No. 12,382,210).
The limitations in claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,262,166 and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,382,210 cover the limitations in claims 1-20 of the present invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 9 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 2021/0168484).
Regarding claim 1, Li et al. teaches an earphone comprising a core module (figures 1, 2, paragraphs [0004] and [0030]), the core module including a core housing (20, 220, 224, 226, 2224, 2226, and see figures 2, 5, 6, 7, 8), a core (210, 202, 204, 206, 212, 2210, 2240, 2270 and see figures 5, 6, 7, 8, 15), and a core bracket (228, 2228, 2258, 2288), wherein the core and the core bracket are disposed in the core housing (figures 5, 6, 7, 8), and the core comprises a magnet (202, 2202, 2232, 2262, figures 5, 6, 7, 8, paragraphs [0066] and [0115]), a magnetic conduction shield (206, 2206, 2236, 2266, figures 5, 6, 7, 8, 15, and paragraphs [0066] and [0116]), the magnetic conduction shield (206, 2206, 2236, 2266) including a bottom plate and an annular side plate integrally connected with the bottom plate (figures 5, 6, 7, 8, 15), and the magnet (202, 2202, 2232, 2262, figures 5, 6, 7, 8, paragraphs [0066] and [0115]) being disposed in the annular side plate and fixed on the bottom plate, a magnetic conduction plate (204, 2204, 2234, 2264, figures 5, 6, 7, 8, 15, and paragraphs [0066] and [0116]), the magnetic conduction plate being fixed on one side of the magnet that is away from the bottom plate (figures 5, 6, 7, 8, 15), and a coil (212, figures 5, 6, 7, 8, 15), wherein the coil is disposed in a magnetic gap between the magnet and the annular side plate and fixed on the core bracket (figures 5, 6, 7, 8 and see paragraph [0066]).
Regarding claim 4, Li et al. shows a diameter of the magnetic conduction plate that is equal to a diameter of the magnet (figures 5, 6, 7, 8).
Regarding claim 9, Li et al. teaches an ear hook assembly (10, 30, 50, figures 1, 2), wherein one end of the ear hook assembly is connected to the core module (20, 40, figures 1, 2).
Regarding claim 18, Li et al. teaches one or more sound guiding holes (3012) that are provided on a side wall of the earphone, and when a user wears the earphone, the side wall with the one or more sound guiding holes faces an ear canal of a user as claimed (figure 22, and see paragraphs [0165]-[0167]).
Regarding claim 19, Li et al. teaches one or more sound guiding holes (3012) that are arranged on different side walls of the earphone (figure 22 and see paragraphs [0165]-[0167]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 5-8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2021/0168484).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Li et al. teaches the magnet (202, 2202, 2232, 2262, figures 5, 6, 7, 8, paragraphs [0066] and [0115]) that is a cylinder (paragraph [0120]). Li et al. does not specifically disclose a diameter and a thickness of the magnet as claimed. However, Li et al. does not restrict any size and/or any dimensions for the magnet in the system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide any size and/or any dimensions for the magnet in the system of Li et al. such as providing a diameter of the magnet being in the range of 10.5 mm-11.5 mm, and a thickness of the magnet being in the range of 3.0 mm-4.0 mm depending on the applications and/or for providing a better magnetic flux and the desired frequency characteristics in the system.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Li et al. does not specifically disclose a thickness of the magnetic conduction plate and the magnetic conduction shield as claimed. However, Li et al. does not restrict any size and/or any dimensions for the magnetic conduction plate and the magnetic conduction shield in the system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide any size and/or any dimensions for the magnetic conduction plate and the magnetic conduction shield in the system of Li et al. such as providing a thickness of the magnetic conduction plate that is equal to a thickness of the magnetic conduction shield, and providing the thickness of the magnetic conducting shield that is in the range of 0.4 mm-0.8 mm depending on the applications and/or for providing a better magnetic flux and the desired frequency characteristics in the system.
Regarding claim 7, Li et al. does not specifically disclose a height of the annular side plate of the magnetic conduction shield as claimed. However, Li et al. does not restrict any size and/or any dimensions for the annular side plate of the magnetic conduction shield.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide any size and/or any dimensions for the annular side plate in the system of Li et al. such as providing the height of the annular side plate of the magnetic conduction shield being in the range of 3.4 mm-4.0mm depending on the applications and/or for providing a better magnetic flux and the desired frequency characteristics in the system.
Regarding claim 8, Li et al. does not specifically disclose the magnetic gap as claimed. However, Li et al. does not restrict any size and/or any dimensions for the magnetic gap and the magnetic circuit in the system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide any size and/or any dimensions for the magnetic gap and the magnetic circuit in the system of Li et al. such as providing the magnetic gap between the magnet and the annular side plate being in the range of 1.0 mm-1.5 mm depending on the applications and/or for providing a better magnetic flux and the desired frequency characteristics in the system.
Regarding claims 10-11, Li et al. teaches the ear hook assembly (10, 30, 50, figures 1, 2) comprising an ear hook housing (figures 1, 2), and an elastic metal wire is disposed in the ear hook housing (paragraphs [0031]-[0032]). Lie et al. does not specifically disclose that an elastic modulus of the core housing (20, 220, 224, 226, 2224 and/or 2226, figures 2, 5, 6, 7, 8) is larger than an elastic module of the ear hook housing. However, Li et al. does estimate and/or teach a soft material for the ear hook housing (paragraph [0033]) and a hard material for the core housing (paragraph [0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide any material for the core housing and the ear hook housing such as providing a material having an elastic modulus of the core housing that is larger than an elastic modulus of the ear hook housing for the desired purpose of better providing improved frequency characteristics in the system.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2021/0168484) in view of Laffon de Mazieres et al. (US 8,891,798) or Lee et al. (US 2014/0140561).
Li et al. teaches the earphone including two core modules (figures 1, 2). Li et al. does not specifically disclose the magnets of the two core modules having different polarities as claimed. However, providing the magnets of two core modules of the earphone having different polarities on one side close to a bottom wall of the core housing is known in the art.
Laffon de Mazieres et al. or Lee et al. teaches the magnets of two core modules of the earphone having different polarities on one side close to a bottom wall of the core housing and the two core modules being attractable to each other (214, 224, 314, 324, 414, 424, figures 2, 3, 4 in Laffon de Mazieres et al.; and 24, figures 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 in Lee et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide the magnets of two core modules of the earphone having different polarities on one side close to a bottom wall of the core housing, and the two core modules being attractable to each other, as taught by Laffon de Mazieres et al. or Lee et al. in the system of Li et al. for better holding and securing the speakers or the audio transducers to each other when the earphone or the speakers are not in use.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Harper (US 7,436,974) teaches a system for securing headphone transducers, wherein the system comprises a left ear-bud transducer device having a left mechanical housing (205) and a right ear-bud transducer having a right mechanical housing (204), wherein a magnet (305) with a positive polarity is attached to the left mechanical housing (205), and a magnet (304) with a negative polarity is attached to the right mechanical housing (204).
Fu (US 2024/0348971) teaches an earphone comprising a support element and a core module connected to the support element, wherein the core module includes a core housing, a transducer device and a vibration panel.
/HUYEN D LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694 HL
August 6, 2026