DETAIL ACTION
Priority
This application claims priority to U.S provisional Patent Application No. ***, filed on *** and is hereby incorporated by references.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
(f) ELEMENT IN CLAIM FOR A COMBINATION.—An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
As explained in MPEP 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
5. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a speech recognition module for converting the voice commands to text and a horn control module for activating a horn in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 10-11 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KRISTINSSON et al (US 20190092283 A1) in view of Basyal (“Voice Recognition Robot with Real-Time Surveillance and Automation”, Stevens Institute of Technology, 12/7/2023).
Regarding claim 1, KRISTINSSON discloses a motor vehicle voice-activated horn system [e.g. FIG. 1; a vehicle including a horn], comprising:
a microphone for receiving voice commands [e.g. FIG. 1; microphone to receive voice prompt];
a speech recognition module for the voice command to invoke functions on the computing platform [e.g. [0017-0018]; speech recognition according to grammar associated with available commands];
a horn control module for activating a horn, wherein the horn is activated based on message [e.g. FIG. 1-2; [0034]; the controller based on the message to only allow activating an attention creating measure including flashing exterior lights or activating a horn of the vehicle]; and
a processor for coupling the microphone [e.g. FIG. 1; controller or processor], the speech recognition module, and the horn control module, wherein the processor is configured to:
receive a voice command from the microphone [e.g. FIG. 1; microphone to receive voice prompt];
convert the voice command to message using the speech recognition module; and
activate the horn using the horn control module [e.g. FIG. 1-2; [0034]; the controller based on the message to only allow activating an attention creating measure including flashing exterior lights or activating a horn of the vehicle]
Although KRISTINSSON discloses a voice interface may support a speech recognition from audio received via the microphone according to grammar associated with available commands including activating the horn [e.g. e.g. FIG. 1-2; [0017-0018 and 0034], it is noted that KRISTINSSON differs to the present invention in that KRISTINSSON fails to disclose the detail of the speech recognition.
However, Basyal teaches the well-known concept of a vehicle [e.g. a movable robot] using speech recognition [e.g. Fig. 13; introduction; speech recognition] to the voice command to message text [e.g. FIG. 1 and 13; converting input voice signal into corresponding text] and generating a command if the text matches at least one of: a predetermined keyword and a phrase [e.g. FIG. 13; introduction, section D and section IV; check the received string with predefined commands, if match, controlling lighting and horn mechanism through voice commands].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the activation of a vehicle alert system disclosed by KRISTINSSON to exploit the well-known speech recognition for activating a horn technique taught by Basyal as above, in order to provide enabling robots to perform specific tasks with precision [See Basyal; abstract].
Regarding claim 5, KRISTINSSON and Basyal further disclose the horn is mounted either on interior or exterior of the motor vehicle [e.g. Basyal: FIG. 24-26; FIG. 14-15; horn mechanical mounting].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the activation of a vehicle alert system disclosed by KRISTINSSON to exploit the well-known speech recognition for activating a horn technique taught by Basyal as above, in order to provide enabling robots to perform specific tasks with precision [See Basyal; abstract].
Regarding claim 10, KRISTINSSON and Basyal further disclose the horn control module for activating a horn is programmable to broadcast a variety of types of signals, including a short honk, a long honk, or a series of honks [e.g. KRISTINSSON: FIG. 1-2; [0034]; modulating the intensity of the horn; Basyal: FIG. 1-2 and 12-13].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the activation of a vehicle alert system disclosed by KRISTINSSON to exploit the well-known speech recognition for activating a horn technique taught by Basyal as above, in order to provide enabling robots to perform specific tasks with precision [See Basyal; abstract].
Regarding claim 11 and 17, this is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that includes same limitation as in claim 1 and 10 above, the rejection of which are incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 18-19, this is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that includes same limitation as in claim 1 above, the rejection of which are incorporated herein.
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KRISTINSSON et al (US 20190092283 A1) in view of Basyal (“Voice Recognition Robot with Real-Time Surveillance and Automation”, Stevens Institute of Technology, 12/7/2023) and Automation”, Stevens Institute of Technology, 12/7/2023) and Domeyer et al (US 20220161823 A1).
Regarding claim 2, KRISTINSSON and Basyal further disclose the motor vehicle voice-activated horn system by determining if the input string matches the predetermined command [e.g. KRISTINSSON: FIG. 1-2; Basyal: FIG. 12-13], but KRISTINSSON and Basyal fail to explicitly disclose the details of the command.
However, Domeyer the predetermined keyword or the phrase comprises "honk the horn" [e.g. FIG. 3; [0053]; a command to honk the horn].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the activation of a vehicle alert system disclosed by KRISTINSSON to exploit the well-known speech recognition for activating a horn technique taught by Basyal and the well-known controlling horn command technique taught by Domeyer as above, in order to provide enabling robots to perform specific tasks with precision [See Basyal; abstract] and an autonomous host vehicle to mitigate risk to one or more road users [See Domeyer; [0001]].
Regarding claim 3, KRISTINSSON, Basyal and Domeyer further disclose the processor is further configured to activate the horn for a predetermined duration of time [e.g. KRISTINSSON: FIG. 2; [0038]; Domeyer: [0033 and 0053]; time duration for performing an action].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the activation of a vehicle alert system disclosed by KRISTINSSON to exploit the well-known speech recognition for activating a horn technique taught by Basyal and the well-known controlling horn command technique taught by Domeyer as above, in order to provide enabling robots to perform specific tasks with precision [See Basyal; abstract] and an autonomous host vehicle to mitigate risk to one or more road users [See Domeyer; [0001]].
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KRISTINSSON et al (US 20190092283 A1) in view of Basyal (“Voice Recognition Robot with Real-Time Surveillance and Automation”, Stevens Institute of Technology, 12/7/2023) and NAKAYAMA (US 20110304445 A1)
Regarding claim 4, KRISTINSSON and Basyal further disclose adjusting volume of the horn [e.g. KRISTINSSON: FIG. 2; [0034]]; but KRISTINSSON and Basyal fail to disclose the detail of adjusting the volume of the horn.
However, NAKAYAMA teaches the well-known concept of the processor is further configured to adjust volume of the horn based on an ambient noise level [e.g. FIG. 1; controller 6; [0066]; adjust automatically sound output levels (sound volumes) of the vehicular horn device 4 and the ultrasonic wave speaker 5 based on an ambient noise surrounding the vehicle].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the activation of a vehicle alert system disclosed by KRISTINSSON to exploit the well-known speech recognition for activating a horn technique taught by Basyal and the well-known controlling horn volume technique taught by NAKAYAMA as above, in order to provide enabling robots to perform specific tasks with precision [See Basyal; abstract] and enabling the pedestrian to easily notice the approach or presence of the vehicle [See NAKAYAMA; abstract].
Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KRISTINSSON et al (US 20190092283 A1) in view of Basyal (“Voice Recognition Robot with Real-Time Surveillance and Automation”, Stevens Institute of Technology, 12/7/2023) and STEPHENS et al (US 20220311468 A1).
Regarding claim 6, KRISTINSSON and Basyal further disclose a motor vehicle voice-activated horn system [e.g. KRISTINSSON: FIG. 1-2; Basyal: FIG. 12-13], but KRISTINSSON and Basyal fail to explicitly disclose the motor vehicle voice-activated horn system is implemented in a bicycle
However, STEPHENS teaches the well-known concept of the motor vehicle voice-activated horn system is implemented in a bicycle [e.g. FIG. 1 and 6; [0104]; determine a security action to perform by the electric bicycle 100 and/or by one or more components (e.g., a horn or alarm)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the activation of a vehicle alert system disclosed by KRISTINSSON to exploit the well-known speech recognition for activating a horn technique taught by Basyal and the well-known controlling horn volume for a bicycle technique taught by STEPHENS as above, in order to provide enabling robots to perform specific tasks with precision [See Basyal; abstract] and performing safe action for a bicycle [See STEPHENS; [0102-0104]].
Regarding claim 14, KRISTINSSON, Basyal and STEPHENS further disclose activating the motor vehicle voice-activated horn by a driver while holding a steering wheel [e.g. STEPHENS: FIG. 1-2].
Claim(s) 7-8 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KRISTINSSON et al (US 20190092283 A1) in view of Basyal (“Voice Recognition Robot with Real-Time Surveillance and Automation”, Stevens Institute of Technology, 12/7/2023) and Elswick et al (US 20200156537 A1).
Regarding claim 7, KRISTINSSON and Basyal further disclose the speech recognition module converts a driver's voice command to the text [e.g. KRISTINSSON: FIG. 1-2; Basyal: FIG. 12-13]; but KRISTINSSON and Basyal fail to explicitly disclose the detail of the conversion.
However, Elswick teaches the well-known concept of the speech recognition module converts a driver's voice command to the text using a machine learning algorithm to train the system to recognize the driver's voice command [e.g. FIG. 1-2; ASR system; [0040-0043]; training commands known and used for the system].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the activation of a vehicle alert system disclosed by KRISTINSSON to exploit the well-known speech recognition for activating a horn technique taught by Basyal and the well-known speech recognition technique taught by Elswick as above, in order to provide enabling robots to perform specific tasks with precision [See Basyal; abstract] and the best matching sub word is that which corresponds to the stored known reference pattern[See Elswick; [0046-0048]].
Regarding claim 8, KRISTINSSON, Basyal and Elswick further disclose the speech recognition module converts a driver's voice command to the text by converting and processing an electrical signal received from the microphone through a comparator chip [e.g. Elswick: FIG. 1-2; processors; ASR system; [0039-0042 and 0046]; comparing acoustic data to stored sub word data].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the activation of a vehicle alert system disclosed by KRISTINSSON to exploit the well-known speech recognition for activating a horn technique taught by Basyal and the well-known speech recognition technique taught by Elswick as above, in order to provide enabling robots to perform specific tasks with precision [See Basyal; abstract] and the best matching sub word is that which corresponds to the stored known reference pattern[See Elswick; [0046-0048]].
Regarding claim 12-13, this is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that includes same limitation as in claim 7-8 above, the rejection of which are incorporated herein.
Claim(s) 9and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KRISTINSSON et al (US 20190092283 A1) in view of Basyal (“Voice Recognition Robot with Real-Time Surveillance and Automation”, Stevens Institute of Technology, 12/7/2023) and LIU et al (CN 110765837 A).
Regarding claim 9, KRISTINSSON and Basyal further disclose a motor vehicle voice-activated horn system [e.g. KRISTINSSON: FIG. 1-2; Basyal: FIG. 12-13], but KRISTINSSON and Basyal fail to explicitly disclose the detail of control of the horn.
However, LIU teaches the well-known concept of the horn is deactivated when the motor vehicle is within an area where louder sounds above a sound threshold are prohibited [e.g. FIG. 1-2; detecting violation whistling vehicle in the area that horn or whistle is prohibited if the noise is exceed the threshold]].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the activation of a vehicle alert system disclosed by KRISTINSSON to exploit the well-known speech recognition for activating a horn technique taught by Basyal and the well-known controlling horn technique taught by LIU as above, in order to provide enabling robots to perform specific tasks with precision [See Basyal; abstract] and reduced vehicle violation [See LIU; abstract].
Regarding claim 16, this is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that includes same limitation as in claim 9 above, the rejection of which are incorporated herein
Claim(s) 15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KRISTINSSON et al (US 20190092283 A1) in view of Basyal (“Voice Recognition Robot with Real-Time Surveillance and Automation”, Stevens Institute of Technology, 12/7/2023) and Campbell et al (US 20020067245 A1).
Regarding claim 15, KRISTINSSON and Basyal further disclose a motor vehicle voice-activated horn system [e.g. KRISTINSSON: FIG. 1-2; Basyal: FIG. 12-13], but KRISTINSSON and Basyal fail to explicitly disclose details of activating the motor vehicle voice-activated horn.
However, Campbell teaches the well-known concept of activating the motor vehicle voice-activated horn when a driver cannot access a horn button [e.g. FIG. 1-2; [0006-0011]; hands free control operation of several different devices, including door locks, trunk, and horn on a vehicle].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the activation of a vehicle alert system disclosed by KRISTINSSON to exploit the well-known speech recognition for activating a horn technique taught by Basyal and the well-known controlling horn technique taught by Campbell as above, in order to provide enabling robots to perform specific tasks with precision [See Basyal; abstract] and a voice activated input capability to allow the transmitter to be operated hands-free [See Campbell; [0006]].
Regarding claim 20, this is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that includes same limitation as in claim 15 and 17 above, the rejection of which are incorporated herein.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lavoie et al (US 20190243380 A1).
Joh (US 20210166683 A1).
/ZHUBING REN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2658