DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a non-Final office action in merits. Claims 9-16, after preliminary amendment, are presently pending and have been elected and considered below.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application Nos. KR10-2009-0104586, filed on 10/30/2009, and KR10-2010-0088151, filed on 9/8/2010.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/5/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 9-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over all its parents, including claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. US8538411, claims 1-10 of Patent No. US9265034, Patent No. US9392582, claims 1-15 of Patent No. US10299251, claim 1 of US10736084, and claims 1-8 of US11765727.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Claims 9-16 of instant application are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. US8538411. Similarly they are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the claim sets of other parent applications.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claims 9, 11, 13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0302964 A1, Guo et al. (hereinafter Guo) in view of US 2009/0285141 A1, Cai et al. (hereinafter Cai).
1-8. (Canceled).
As to claim 9, Guo discloses a method for supporting activation/deactivation of component carriers by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system,
wherein M component carriers are configured in the UE, wherein the M component carriers form a group of component carriers and are selected from a plurality of component carriers (Figs 4-5, a plurality of component carriers being configured), the method comprising:
receiving a medium access control (MAC) message from the base station (Fig 4; pars 0012, 0015-0016, 0032, UE receiving configuration signaling via MAC CE for activation/deactivation of component carriers);
confirming that an information included in the received MAC message indicates activation/deactivation of the M component carriers, wherein a bit of the information set to 1 denotes activation of a corresponding component carrier (pars 0015-0016, 0033, 0035), and
a bit of the information set to 0 denotes deactivation of a corresponding component carrier (par 0045); and
receiving a downlink control channel or a downlink data channel from the base station or transmitting an uplink data channel to the base station by using an activated component carrier based on the confirmed information (pars 0009, 0012, 0045, downlink or uplink control channel to setup/confirm CC activation/deactivation).
Guo does not expressly disclose establishing synchronization with a base station using a component carrier that is a primary serving cell.
Cai, in the same or similar field of endeavor, further teaches establishing synchronization with a base station using a component carrier that is a primary serving cell (Fig 9; pars 0004-0005, 0053, 0155, 0158, UE and a serving base station perform synchronized communication via assigned CC)
Therefore, consider Guo and Cai’s teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of skill in at the time of invention to incorporate Cai’s teachings in Guo’s method to support carrier component configuration in a synchronized wireless communication system.
As to claim 11, it is a device claim encompassed claim 9. Rejection of claim 9 is therefore incorporated herein.
As to claim 13, it essentially recites equivalent functions and features as claim 9 but performed by a base station. Guo as modified teaches such functions and features can be performed by a network (Guo: Fig 1; par 0025, the network comprises a plurality of base stations (node Bs); par 0036, the network may need to activate/deactivate a part of configured component carriers of the UE, the network outputs a MAC CE to indicate the UE to activate or deactivate specified component carriers and perform appropriate operations accordingly, par 0044-0045). Therefore, claim 13 is rejected with the same reason as set forth in claim 9.
As to claim 15, it is a device claim (a base station) encompassed claim 13. Rejection of claim 13 is therefore incorporated herein.
Claims 10, 12, 14, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Cai and further in view of US 2012/0076103 A1, Dai et al. (hereinafter Dai).
As to claim 10, Guo as modified discloses the method of The method of wherein the information indicates the activation/deactivation of the M component carriers but does not expressly teach CCs being sorted from an outmost bit of the information in an ascending order. Dai, in the same or similar field of endeavor, further teaches a method for scheduling uplink radio resources in which component carriers being sorted in ascending and/or descending order (pars 0026-0027, 0054-0055,05, 0154). Therefore, consider Guo as modified and Dai’s teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Dai’s teachings on sorting based on priority to configure/aggregate component carriers for more effective or convenient implementation.
As to claim 12, it is rejected with the same reason as set forth in claim 10.
As to claim 14, it is rejected with the same reason as set forth in claim 10.
As to claim 16, it is rejected with the same reason as set forth in claim 14.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular column, line number, paragraphs and/or figure(s) in the reference(s) as applied to the claims for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the reference(s) in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Qun Shen whose telephone number is (571) 270-7927. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Friday from 9:00-5:00. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's Supervisor, Amandeep Saini can be reached on (571) 272-3382. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/QUN SHEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2662