DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 1 and 6 each recite, “…configured to be allowed to…” which fails to positively recite the limitations which follow. That is, a device being configured “to be allowed” to do something merely indicates the device may have the capability to do something, but it does not require the device to actively perform said language. The examiner will interpret the limitation under its broadest reasonable interpretation, in each instance, the respective device having the ability to perform the recited action with the respective action being non-required within the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 3 recites, “…the control unit is configure to…” (emphasis added). This appears to be a minor grammatical issue. The examiner will examine the claim as, “…the control unit is configured to…” (emphasis added). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 6 recites, “…the control unit is configured to acquire characteristic information, which corresponds to the power transmission device, of a system that charges the power supply unit, and transmit the acquired characteristic information to the power transmission device…” (emphasis added). As best understood from review of the Specification and respective claims, it appears the characteristic information is meant to correspond to a system that charges the power supply unit, and not to the power transmission device as currently claimed. As can be seen within claim 1, for example, the characteristic information to be transmitted/communicated to a power transmission device is intended to be in regards to a system for charging a power supply unit associated with a power reception device. Furthermore, it would not make sense for a power reception device to receive characteristic information associated with a power transmission device to then transmit that same characteristic information back to the power transmission device itself. For these reasons, inter alia, the examiner believes the claim should read, “…the control unit is configured to acquire characteristic information, which corresponds to a system that charges the power supply unit…” (emphasis added) and will examine the claim as such. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 7 recites, “…control based on the characteristic information” which appears to be a minor antecedent basis issue. The examiner will examine the claim as, “…control based on the acquired characteristic information” (emphasis added). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a power transmission unit configured to transmit power…” in claim 1
“a power conversion unit configured to generate supply power…” in claim 1
“a control unit configured to be allowed to acquire information about a terminal voltage of a second power supply unit…” in claim 1
“a power reception unit configured to receive power transmitted from a power transmission device…” in claim 6
“a power supply unit configured to be allowed to be charged with power received…” in claim 6
“a control unit is configured to acquire characteristic information…” in claim 6
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2012/0286726).
Regarding Claim 1:
Kim et al. discloses a power transmission device (Fig. 1, source device 110 and its related discussion) comprising: a power transmission unit (Fig. 1, source resonator 116 and its related discussion) configured to transmit power to a power reception device by contactless power transmission (Fig. 1, source resonator 116 transmitting power to a power reception device, read on by target device 120, and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0066-0067, etc.); a power conversion unit (Fig. 1, power converter 114 and its related discussion) configured to generate supply power to be supplied to the power transmission unit using power of a first power supply unit (Fig. 1, power converter 114 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0057-0062, etc. which disclose a first power supply unit, read on by power supply 112 with AC/DC converter 111, which supplies power to power converter 114 which is configured to generate supply power to be supplied to the power transmission unit, read on by source resonator 116), and supply the supply power to the power transmission unit (Fig. 1, power converter 114 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0057-0062, etc. which disclose a power supply 112 with AC/DC converter 111 supply power to power converter 114 which is configured to generate supply power supplied to source resonator 116); and a control unit (Fig. 1, control/communication unit 115 and its related discussion) configured to be allowed to acquire information about a terminal voltage of a second power supply unit charged with power received by the power reception device (Fig. 1, control/communication unit 115, control/communication unit 126 of target device 120, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0074-0076, etc. which disclose the control/communication unit 115 is ‘configured to be allowed’ to acquire information from control/communication unit 126 about a terminal voltage of a second power supply unit, read on by the information about the amount of the power received by the target resonator which corresponds to an input voltage value and an input current value provided to an input terminal of the second power supply unit, read on by the charging unit 125) and control the power conversion unit (Fig. 1, control/communication unit 115, power converter 114, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0057-0062, etc. which disclose the control/communication unit 115 controls the power converter 114), and configured to execute power feeding control for controlling the supply power via the power conversion unit such that the terminal voltage comes to a target voltage (Figs. 1, 4-6, etc. control/communication unit 115, power converter 114, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0057-0062, 0101-0114, 0118-0121, etc. which disclose the control/communication unit 115 controls the level of the output voltage and the output current of the source resonator in order to adjust the resonance frequency for transmitting charging power to achieve a target voltage, read on by an amount of power to be used for the corresponding target device as discussed within paragraph 0102 for example. That is, the control/communication unit 115 controls the respective power supply provide to source resonator 116 in order to transmit charging power to a target device 120 to correspond to the required amount of power to be used, various device information and associated needs, etc. Furthermore, the examiner notes that the recited clause, “such that the terminal voltage comes to a target value,” merely expressed an intended result of the power feeding control at the receiver and does not impose any additional structural or operational limitations on the power transmitter itself. That is, the claim does not recite any specific transmitter-side decision logic that ensures achievement of the target voltage. Instead, the clause merely describes the desired outcome at the receiver resulting from the transmission of power.); wherein the control unit is configured to: acquire characteristic information of a system that charges the second power supply unit, from the power reception device, before executing the power feeding control (Figs. 1, 4, etc. control/communication unit 115, control/communication unit 126 of target device 120, operations 430, etc., and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0057-0062, 0101-0114, etc. which disclose the target device 120 communicating identifier information which may include a product type, various information, battery type, charging scheme, amount of power to be used, DC/DC output voltage and current values, etc. related to the components of the target device, such as rectification unit 122, DC/DC converter 123, etc.); and control the supply power during the power feeding control based on the acquired characteristic information (Figs. 1, 4-6, etc. control/communication unit 115, power converter 114, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0057-0062, 0101-0114, 0118-0121, etc. which disclose the control/communication unit 115 controls the level of the output voltage and the output current of the source resonator in order to adjust the resonance frequency for transmitting charging power to achieve a target voltage, read on by an amount of power to be used for the corresponding target device as discussed within paragraph 0102 for example. That is, the control/communication unit 115 controls the respective power supply provide to source resonator 116 in order to transmit charging power to a target device 120 to correspond to the required amount of power to be used, various device information and associated needs, etc.).
Regarding Claim 2:
Kim teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. Kim further discloses wherein the control unit is configured to further: acquire the characteristic information corresponding to a current state of the system, from the power reception device, during execution of the power feeding control (Figs. 1, 4, etc. control/communication unit 115, control/communication unit 126 of target device 120, operations 430, etc., and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0057-0062, 0101-0114, etc. which disclose the target device 120 continuously performs the respective communications above in a continuous fashion, see paragraph 0108 for example. That is, the control/communication unit 115 will continuously transmit a charging power, receive identifier information from the target device 120, including DC/DC output voltage and current values, perform the respective power feeding control in response, and subsequently continue to transmit charging power); and control the supply power during the power feeding control based on the acquired characteristic information (Figs. 1, 4, etc. control/communication unit 115, control/communication unit 126 of target device 120, operations 430, etc., and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0057-0062, 0101-0114, etc. which disclose the target device 120 continuously performs the respective communications above in a continuous fashion, see paragraph 0108 for example. That is, the control/communication unit 115 will continuously transmit a charging power, receive identifier information from the target device 120, including DC/DC output voltage and current values, perform the respective power feeding control in response, and subsequently continue to transmit charging power).
Regarding Claim 3:
Kim teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. Kim further discloses wherein the characteristic information includes transfer function information related to a transfer function of the system (Figs. 1, 4, etc. control/communication unit 115, control/communication unit 126 of target device 120, operations 430, etc., and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0057-0062, 0101-0114, etc. which disclose the target device 120 communicating identifier information which may include a product type, various information, battery type, charging scheme, impedance value of the load, characteristic of the target resonator, amount of power to be used, DC/DC output voltage and current values, etc. related to the components of the target device, such as rectification unit 122, DC/DC converter 123, etc.), and the control unit is configured to control the supply power during the power feeding control based on the transfer function information (Figs. 1, 4, etc. control/communication unit 115, control/communication unit 126 of target device 120, operations 430, etc., and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0057-0062, 0101-0114, etc. which disclose the control/communication unit 115 controls the level of the output voltage and the output current of the source resonator in order to adjust the resonance frequency for transmitting charging power. That is, the control/communication unit 115 controls the respective power supply provide to source resonator 116 in order to transmit charging power to a target device 120 to correspond to the device information received).
Regarding Claim 6:
Kim et al. discloses a power reception device (Fig. 1, target device 120 and its related discussion) comprising: a power reception unit (Fig. 1, target resonator 121 and its related discussion) configured to receive power transmitted from a power transmission device by contactless power transmission (Fig. 1, target resonator 121 configured to received power transmitter from source device 110, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0066-0067, etc.); a power supply unit (Fig. 1, charging unit 125 and its related discussion) configured to be allowed to be charged with power received by the power reception unit, and allowed to supply stored power to a load (Fig. 1, charging unit 125 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0069-0074, etc. which disclose the charging unit may be allowed to be charged with power received via target resonator 121 provided through rectification unit 122 and DC/DC converter 123, ultimately utilized by a load, not shown, of the corresponding target device); and a control unit (Fig. 1, control/communication unit 126 and its related discussion), wherein the power transmission device is configured to execute power feeding control for controlling supply power from the power transmission device to the power reception unit such that a terminal voltage of the power supply unit comes to a target voltage (Figs. 1, 4-6, etc. control/communication unit 115, power converter 114, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0057-0062, 0101-0114, 0118-0121, etc. which disclose the control/communication unit 115 controls the level of the output voltage and the output current of the source resonator in order to adjust the resonance frequency for transmitting charging power to achieve a target voltage, read on by an amount of power to be used for the corresponding target device as discussed within paragraph 0102 for example. The examiner notes, limitations directed towards the power transmission device are considered to be non-limiting and not positively recited or required, as they fail to further limit the power reception device to which the claim is directed), before the power transmission device executes the power feeding control, the control unit is configured to acquire characteristic information, which corresponds to a system that charges the power supply unit, and transmit the acquired characteristic information to the power transmission device (Figs. 1, 4, etc. control/communication unit 115, control/communication unit 126 of target device 120, operations 430, etc., and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0057-0062, 0101-0114, etc. which disclose the target device 120 communicating identifier information which may include a product type, various information, battery type, charging scheme, amount of power to be used, DC/DC output voltage and current values, etc. related to the components of the target device, such as rectification unit 122, DC/DC converter 123, etc.), and the power transmission device controls the supply power during the power feeding control based on the characteristic information (Figs. 1, 4-6, etc. control/communication unit 115, power converter 114, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0057-0062, 0101-0114, 0118-0121, etc. which disclose the control/communication unit 115 controls the level of the output voltage and the output current of the source resonator in order to adjust the resonance frequency for transmitting charging power to achieve a target voltage, read on by an amount of power to be used for the corresponding target device as discussed within paragraph 0102 for example. That is, the control/communication unit 115 controls the respective power supply provide to source resonator 116 in order to transmit charging power to a target device 120 to correspond to the required amount of power to be used, various device information and associated needs, etc. The examiner notes, limitations directed towards the power transmission device are considered to be non-limiting and not positively recited or required, as they fail to further limit the power reception device to which the claim is directed).
Regarding Claim 7:
Kim teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 6. Kim further discloses wherein the control unit is configured to further acquire the characteristic information corresponding to a current state of the system, and transmit the acquired characteristic information to the power transmission device during execution of the power feeding control by the power transmission device (Figs. 1, 4, etc. control/communication unit 115, control/communication unit 126 of target device 120, operations 430, etc., and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0057-0062, 0101-0114, etc. which disclose the target device 120 continuously performs the respective communications above in a continuous fashion, see paragraph 0108 for example. That is, the control/communication unit 115 will continuously transmit a charging power, receive identifier information from the target device 120, including DC/DC output voltage and current values, perform the respective power feeding control in response, and subsequently continue to transmit charging power), and the power transmission device controls the supply power during the power feeding control based on the acquired characteristic information (Figs. 1, 4, etc. control/communication unit 115, control/communication unit 126 of target device 120, operations 430, etc., and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0057-0062, 0101-0114, etc. which disclose the target device 120 continuously performs the respective communications above in a continuous fashion, see paragraph 0108 for example. That is, the control/communication unit 115 will continuously transmit a charging power, receive identifier information from the target device 120, including DC/DC output voltage and current values, perform the respective power feeding control in response, and subsequently continue to transmit charging power. The examiner notes, limitations directed towards the power transmission device are considered to be non-limiting and not positively recited or required, as they fail to further limit the power reception device to which the claim is directed).
Regarding Claim 8:
Kim teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 7. Kim further discloses wherein the characteristic information includes transfer function information related to a transfer function of the system (Figs. 1, 4, etc. control/communication unit 115, control/communication unit 126 of target device 120, operations 430, etc., and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0057-0062, 0101-0114, etc. which disclose the target device 120 communicating identifier information which may include a product type, various information, battery type, charging scheme, impedance value of the load, characteristic of the target resonator, amount of power to be used, DC/DC output voltage and current values, etc. related to the components of the target device, such as rectification unit 122, DC/DC converter 123, etc.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claims 4-5 and 9: while the prior art of record discloses communication of resonator characteristics of the receiver to the transmitter, including that the resonator may exhibit a zeroth-order resonance, thereby indicating the system necessarily has poles, the prior art fails to appropriately teach or suggest the transfer function information is information indicating a pole and a zero of the transfer function (as currently presented within claims 4 and 9). Said limitation, when taken into consideration with the claim language in its entirety, appears to be directed towards a non-obvious improvement over the prior art of record. Dependent claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon claim 4.
Conclusion
Prior art deemed relevant, but not currently relied upon:
Ichikawa et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2014/0132212)
Ichikawa (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2016/0311337)
Omori et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2022/0037926)
Mao et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2022/0250487)
Lebens et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2024/0048002)
/JOSEPH N INGE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2836